(2008) Brides of year 2008

green> Hahaha... okie.. Mmm.. i just had an exchange with Lois on MSN..she went for her BQ le.. at OCC!! MY AD Venue.. hehehe... :P
Ohh.. we wanted to make do with just Buffet initially..My dad opposed..coz I'm an only child..so have to be a "Grand-er" one... hehe.. :P

Ah Net> I beg to differ... go check out my BS.. no bad comments le..the only i can find is like... months back where a couple waited for a while to be served and thats coz they went down without appt i think.. and everyone was really caught up.. and didnt get to serve them... but other than that, so far MBR are only happy BTBs..waiting to take their fitting, PS and albums!

Hahhaa.. I'm biased.. yea I am.. :P

Got la.. 7pm the fighting show not bad.. see the ladies fight. haha.. i'm off to watch tv le..

Hi ladies, have been away and notice so much activities have been going on! Jac is right, it's important to start early to minimise stress.

Thanks to my friend, I've been coerced to start early, and to my shock, the type of gown I like takes 10 months to complete! And as you start sourcing, you get more involved and excited about it!!

Men usually aren't very patient, and may not give the best advise, so get a good friend to go with you. Someone who's married is even better cos she is experienced to ask those important questions for you. Only once you've shortlisted, then you get your FH along.

Another advise I've gotten is to prep your FH about the style you are going to have. There have been cases where the FH black-face at the Bridal Shop. Then the whole experience is tainted.

Happy to share with all you pretty BTBs that I've confirmed my MUA!!! Now is confirming my Photographer.
Actually once you more or less confirm on one, others will come together cos all of them usually work closely together... so stress not ladies..

lim> I tot of gg to korea too but i heard tat Korea in June is summer will b super hot..

i wanna be happy> relac..dun worry so much.. now must 'bao yang'n take care of health yeah.

after CNY will be busy wif house moving..I'll be moving to new house in Punggol. Ve u gals moved into ur love nest or after AD then move ?

Hi Eunice,
Yea, do start scouting...
My HTB is very into the wedding prep...i think sometimes he is more excited than me..as such, we are basically doing everything together. What I did was to make appts with the BS that require appts and then tell him that we can go to those BS along TG pagar and as well as those that I've made appt with. He happily went along with me

I think the reason why the website suggested going with gfs instead of bf is so that the BS cannot pressure you into signing on the spot with them. Cos need your bf to pay....so that's one way of handling the hard sell by the BS. But cos I was really determined to visit the BS that I've shortlisted, we could handle the hard-selling.

Do take note though...the shops that hard sell really say all kinds of things...esp like the package they offer you is valid only for that day etc. But the higher ends one are a lot better in terms of service; they will actually advise you to look around first and there will be a gown somewhere out there that I'm looking for...that's what my BS told me.

And do some research before going to BS; like the types of questions you want to ask.

Happy BS shopping!

Hi PSH,
I also busy wif cleaning.. Spring cleaning. My dad wants my room cleaned up plus the rest of the house... And i even brought work back.. Donno how u can even cope with self-study.. Very admire u!

Hiya Colt,
i'll be o'seas for my PS and it'll b winter so still thinking of what to bring.

Hey Lucky,
I'll be hoping to having solemnization on same day as banquet.. Very shiong. Donno whether can fit everything in one day. Haven't even asked JP yet. Donno whether he's available.

To Lucky and PSH,
i was told that we can only give out invitation cards AFTER the GDL. And not during Qing Ming period so I very stressed!!! My GDL is just before QM because the GDL is also on an auspicious date... So i don't have much time to give out cards... Probably send out "Save the Date" emails or cards first. So much more work...

Hi ladies!

Korice, how was your OD PS gown fitting just now? Hehe.

I'm getting more and more excited as the wedding draws near. Haha. Hubby and i am planning to go Europe.

oh.. i bought lin zhiyuan ba kwa for my future MIL, n my Future HB bought for my mum.. so basically its i buy for my hse, he buy for his hse..

both our parents are ok with no banquet.. but we feel that holding one then its officially married.. i have having buffet... no food tasting.. no table to table shoots.. we jus take our food n walk ard the place.. late comer- "orh bi kiap" no food lor..

sometimes its not BS fault, but its poor service render.. how good the BS, they might still have attitude problem co-ordinator.. i think its heng or sway..

Val>>> Thanks for the advice and yay for your MUA!
Man, I'm getting the hang of all the acronyms! Hehe...

Jac>>> I agree, it will be a fun process with the FH as well...And yup, I'm more worried they start the hard-selling thing, which is what both of us really don't like. Bleah!! I've got a list of questions to take note of from the various BS liao, thanks to all the forums and resources around!

Meanwhile, happy planning to all! Really thankful for the forums!!

Hi Mary Poppins, i dun think can change for other stuff if i dun MTM for either one or both. But i Think will take the MTM for the ROM dress which my FH say can keep, in case can wear it to attend other people's wedding dinner. Haha, save cost.

Originalcraft,
Do share with us if we can apply for bi-monthly after applying for balloting exercise.
sigh, flat prices are really high...I'm so surprised tha the flats released in this BE are so costly...seriously, its hardly affordable housing with flats going up to half a mil!

Good luck to us all!

Those bad comments are true abt my BS cos I already kena from them.

Last year, I bought Li Zhi Yuan ba kwa. This year maybe I buy mushrooms, pineapple tarts and nuts. We ladies already giving our in-laws a DIL so I dun think they'll hiam our gifts haha.

yah.. seems like most of us are getting there one by one.. hahaha.. I just collected my WG today. super tired after Jay Chow's concert!! =D next wkend will be my big day.. so stressful but excited. =D
For the rest of us having our big day soon, let's us just enjoy this process of preparation!! Must keep in contact yah!

hi June,

haizzzz.. i cant even afford a $700 PG! i'm actually looking for PG that charges around $500. we might be asking friend to shoot for us. i have no progress so far for the rest. still the same thing that i wrote on top.. ha.

MIL has many brains..kept changing her ideas. Very frustrated. Decided to put it a stop until she finalise what she wants. Mind u..mind actual day is March 8 and my card is not done.....

i wish i could enjoy the process ..somehw i dont. what a joke!

I won't be free next Sat cos I'm having my indoor PS. Will be free Sunday tho...

Hi Happytown, welcome to the thread! The BS still needs time to touch up and come up with the wedding album, so better to check with them when you should be doing your PS. Have you gone for your gown design/fitting already?

Updating Happytown's info:
Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design / Expressively Joho
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
Gladys Ho - 07 July 2008 / Marina Mandarin / no BS (DIY)
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
Happytown - 13 July 2008 / Sheraton Towers / Dang Bridal
BBIguana - 14(AD&ROM) & 19(Dinner) July 2008 / StarDuS(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography & Mokey (AD&Dinner) / Fairys' Inc
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Jukel - 26 & 28 July 2008 / Mandarin Oriental / X-Zen
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

Hi mei,

yup, saw you at Silhouette's thread too. me only getting a WG coz only church wedding, no banquet.
who's your designer & MUA? mine's Caroline and MUA still dunno.

Hi hi, me oso hav been busy with work & going to start reno after cny...glad everyone's been preparing well.

apple_gal, think the monsoon season will be over soon. Feb will be a gd time for outdoor PS...so yours shd turn out fine. Dun worry

i wanna be happy, i'm doing the same thing as u. But we hav the whole jun hols to prepare. So let's jus enjoy the whole process cox it'll be over very soon.

Think i wait for the sept natas cox my HM will be in dec....most likely jap
miss the snow!!!

Hihi!

My wedding is half over!
Had my church wedding yday. Thank God for the good weather. It rained in the early morning and I was worried that it will continue this way for the rest of the morning but it cleared up by the time I had to leave the house.

My wedding dinner is tonight. Looking forward to it. Really enjoying my wedding
and then looking forward to the honeymoon in Korea...

Hi PSH,
i have signed up with thomson my trial makeup is next monday plus first fitting.
what is wedding invite? I have not printed the cards yet leh.. as my hotel haven meet up with me to discuss also.

Hi M
I haven chosen the GDL date. When is QM?? So when will u all be sending out the invitation cards? As for JP, i think the popular ones are all taken, as i was calling up some of them all not available. When is ur date? Think have to book them liao.

Hi, Ladies!

Hi, Korice
How is your OD PS gown fittings? Have you think of the location to take your PS?

Hi, Kittyng
Thanks.. Hope the weather turns out good on that day.

Hey ladies, any advice on where we can get cheap curtains? My MIL insists that we get a new one for the room. And this is for our temporary place so we do not intend to spend too much on it. And the temporary place is using those old type of curtain hangers, with hooks kind. It's 1.5 weeks to our AD so not much time to go hunt for such things.

sat I'm also not free, will be having my trial makeup. currently free on sunday too.

plan my trial makeup and gown selection on sat so at least they got more time to tailor the gown to fit me, hee hee. cos one week after cny will be my PS. =P

green> are you being pyscho to sign the package with them? i always hate those hard sell place.. if i go shopping, i also dun like the sale person to follow me.. i chose mine becos my friend recommend..

the the past yrs, i bought them ba kwa and self-made love letters for them.. this yr no time to make love letters, so jus ba kwa..

Hi Amy,

You can try GardenaAsia. We held our solemnisation there in 2006. The place is very nice & very different from hotels, but distance can be a small problem. I can recommend my JP if you need.Just PS me. But I need to search for the contact.

Sweet lady,

Cheer up, my MIL is also like that at times. Over the GDL matters, she suddenly say want this & that. Me & hubby rushing everywhere to buy. Worse is that my mum modern type, everything also don't want, say the things messed up her house etc. Hubby pan dang type must follow tradditional method.

I middle type, trying to please everyone. But just relax & just go along with the flow, you will be more happy. For wedding cards no need to be too special, as its for guest only & ppl will not remember it just b'cause you hv very unique wedding cards. Y nt take affordable cards, & spend more on PG?

BTW, my GDL is over... Cause after CNY no good date for GDL. Thus do it earlier... Anyone need help can contact me...

Hi Jane,
I also confirmed 25 tables.. but should be taking abt max 32 tables ba.. hopefully we will not exceed this number... haha.. dun wan the ballroom to be so crampy~~

waxie> Then I must thank God that my BS has only good attitude and service leh.. hehhee..

Everyone is happy with everyone!

And my BS is also organising a gathering, coming up in Feb for all their Couples, past or present!

Still got buffet somemore... good rite??

Hee... thats the good thing.. my BS dun hard sell and are not pushy also.. good and frenly service... sorrry ah.. i'm biased! Hahhaa.. :P

hi monkeymuffin,

my designer is Kenji. Mine is OTR, but MTM-ing my evening gown. Haven't met up with Kenji to discuss the design yet though. was recommended Gin for make-up.

It seems like eveyone has their PS all planned and organised already? that's very fast! As for my, I will not have my PS done till 2 weeks before my AD. In fact, I have not even set a date with my PG and MUA for trial make-up and PS... keke!!

GDL - still waiting for my parent to tell me when and still deciding how can my hubby to do it from Australia, which will be a great challenge!! ANY SUGGESTION FROM OVERSEAS BRIDES????

So far, the only thing I have organised is having my food tasting date set. Again, that's a couple of weeks before the AD. Haha!! I think I will feel the stress and pressure only 2 weeks before my AD. Currently, my hubby and I are quite slack!

Some wedding prepration to update eveyone>>last week, my hubby and I tried to compile our tentative guest list as my coordinator informed us that the invitation cards should be collected and printed by mid-feb.. so we are busy calling our overseas relatives etc... guess what!! answers recieved are" whaoo why so early to prepare, need to know if we are coming.... still so many months away!!! Only need to send out invitation cards earliest by 1 month prior to the AD lah!!!""

ya it is expensive. however consider the location, it is quite centralised afterall....but guess HDB is smart to jerk up the price at this timing when property is hot...

anyway, I am also a Dec bride
seldom has time to log in, guess has to log in more often from now, into the wedding preparation liao.

Sunday, 27 Jan?
Brunch or Lunch? 11-12pm
- PS cafe paragon or dempsey
- Coffeebean Forum?
- TCC @ orchard scotts?
- Holland V?

I just much a couple of pineapple tarts...

Thanks S'rene. Have shortlisted my WG and EG from the BS when i sign up the package 2 weeks plus ago. Decided to take off the rack since both are new pieces and fit me. one item off my load.

Have checked with Dang, photography has to do latest by mid April.

providencia: you are good.. =)

Mi and FH went to shop for CNY clothes and shoes last weekend. I saw a couple of shoes quite nice, think can use for PS or AD.. keke.. is it too early to buy? Maybe should wait till i go choose gown first hor..haha..

My gowns are OTR, no need to worry about designing them.. =)

My friend was just sharing with me the other day abt the designer-built HDB flats that attracted long queues... the prices are at about 600 - 700K, yet they have the income ceiling for applicants right? It just doesn't make sense. And HDB is suppose to be doing public service, yet still jerk up the price by so much!

Hi Nov 2008 BTB,

Have you gals start to think of the design for your WG? Can anyone recommend any website to browse at, other than those BS website?

dear gals.......

sorry.. tink i have to gif the meeting this time round a miss. have smthg on in church on 27th Jan leh...

btw, i went for my OD PS today. pretty gd weather.. we set-off abt 2pm. hehs.. and went to the punggol area.. hmm.. fun.. but once again, super tiring..

so, tip for u gals : pls get lots lots lots of slp before the shoot! haha..
drink loads of water too. keke

i will be looking at the pics on 12th Feb. so, ya.. after CNY lors.. i guess my album will be done pretty soon after dat.. and i shld have it ... like .. abt 2-3mths before my AD? haha.. but ya.. its gd la. at least.. towards e end .. not so rush. haha =)

Hi ifaith,

Just had my 1st gown fitting on saturday.. hmm.. advice is that u can do cutting from the magazines.. then let ur designer take a look.. that's what I did.. faster and she knows what i want.. :D