(2008) Brides of year 2008

Rac> what's ur budget?? Got $888 to recommend.. but really good...if u interestd then let me know la..
Includes one Trial, Morning & 2 Night MU. Means he'll stay till after change of EG then MU liao then go off..

hi tinkybell,
yah same here, everytime i say i wana lose weight, when i go to sch, a few colleagues tabao brekkie for me, so i ended up eating more than 1 portion cos they insisted dat i eat up wat they buy
den tis period, got lotsa gathering wif my frens n we really feast lor...jialat liao...HELP!!!

mrs kel,
oh dear, yah i know ray's one of d more ex pg dat i met up but my fh n i decided to take him cos of his special coffee table album...hope dat we didnt spend our $ in vain after we rcv our pics

dun worry, im sure u can get ur ideal pg one cos there r so many pg ards, initially had wanted to get tucky's but it's abt $3.5K but i didnt get him...perhaps u shd really look ard n compare b4 u make a decision cos there r some brides who regretted their choice n ended up forgoing their deposit which is such a waste

Hi JJ,

Forgotten to inform you that the florist at the ROM center have limited choice, think you can call them to book what you like.

Hi BTB & HTB,

I'm looking for evening dresses, any of you tailoring (not from BS)?

Anyone any idea whether need to include photograpers and MUA into the guest list at wedding dinner?

wah i din login for one day only, so many posts to read liao. hahaha.

hmmm, im also gg to display my wedding album on the LCD tv at the cocktail reception too, dun thk will put my album there. wait ppl anyhw flip flip den i heart pain.

my BS gave me 2-3 outdoor locations for PS. im thinking of going to botanic gardens. Den dunno where else can go liao. Buildings are a NO NO for me too.

btw, dat day i went to T3. not bad leh, think got a few nice spots for PS ba. As for Singapore Flyer, actually i can go there and do PS or the V-day thingy, cos Singapore Flyer is my boss's client leh.

My FH is now doing our photo montage, save costs. haha. he's not those super pro pro type, but still not too bad.

i had my proposal ring from lee hwa.

We actually plan to buy our wedding bands from tianpo, the rose gold rings one. anyone knw if tianpo got give ring pillow?

Hi so blur,
If im not wrong, both items r gifts frm ur PIL...unless ur htb wanz 2 pay 4 both...

Usually 4 si dian jing, e MIL wld give 2 e btb, signifying acceptance n gift 4 her.
E ping li is 2 thank e btb's parents 4 raising her well before handing over to their son...

Oh ya, only TEOCHEW need to give si dian jing. So ur MIL need not give u this since they r hokkien.

Hope this helps...

Hi Wendelyn and Xin,

Did you girls meet up celestine before signing up the packages? As i am not Q impressed with the videos they have posted online..not sure if he does show u other Video/ photo samples when u guys meet up? Me needs a VG less than $1k..any lobangs?

Appreciate your advise. Thanks a million

hey amari...mi uses purple eustomas for my hair but it's kinda hidden behind the veil....any other colors for freesia? otherwise do consider using tea rose buds or smaller rose buds as they are available in wide range of colors.....=D

U can buy 2nd hand uzaps at cheaper prices on audition. My 3 friends bought uzaps and used it daily for a few mths, they told me no result leh. How about trying other prods?

Hi Amanda, yes Celestine did show us some other videos. I didn't get to see those online as somehow I couldn't compare. But we have no complaints about those that he showed us. We wanted something that is more professional looking and less cheezy which we could find in his videos.

Hilo's pricing is quite reasonable too if you choose Wai Keen instead of Chris. Wedding Paparazzi is good if you don't need highlights. Academy Video's pricing is good too. It's good if you meet up with to view their videos on tv to see the actual effects.

What I did was send emails to all those most popular videographers to ask for quotes.

Hi wai wai,
I am holding my wedding on 25th May too. I have book the little dream to perform on my wedding dinner already.

I got a few other contacts for band.
1) radical Context,[email protected]
seems to be playing purely english song + Jazz
2) THE OLIVE 3 (S) Pte Ltd Website: www.theolive3.com
3)http://www.striiiings.com
Hiring the Piano Trio (which can play bossa nova and light jazzpieces) for one hour will cost S$670. However, if there is no piano /keyboard present at the venue, we can use our digital stage piano foran additional S$250, which would be $920 which is beyond $800. What you could seriously consider is hiring the String Quartet (2violins, viola and cello), which is also well able to play light jazzand bossa nova (though the range of bossa nova would be less becauseof the nature of the String Quartet). The cost of hiring the StringQuartet for one hour is S$690, all inclusive.

Actually, if you are Teochew, you can ask your Hokkien MIL to give si dian jing. Unless your MIL is super hokkien and she insist to give you the "long feng zhuo."

Hihi Amanda,

Yes, we arranged to meet him up. We are ok with his videos, overall quite normal to us. As his pricing met our budget, we decided to sign up with him.

hee hee new supplier found for Ang Bao

Size : H9cm x W8.5cm
立體雙å›å£“花 3D Double Xi Ang Bao
604145.jpg

æ‡·èˆŠé›™å› Traditional Double Xi Ang Bao
604146.jpg

å››çœ¼ä»”é›™å› Sweet Couple Double Xi Ang Bao
604147.jpg

æ‰‹ç‰½æ‰‹å£“èŠ±é›™å› Hand in Hand Double Xi Ang Bao
604148.jpg

Lois> Ooh. cool..thanks.. will get my PG to check it out..

Ah Net> Why Tianpo?? soo auntie...
Buy from D'Meyson la.. mine is also rosegold.. check out my matching pair of proposal ring + wedding bands from D'Meyson on my multiply..

greenAuction u mean?? hahaha..audition.. hehee.. :P
I've emailed CAAS liaoz..to ask if we can go there to take PS...see if they replied me..
Let u all know..

Oh they have it in SG? The Double Xi there also 3D kind one?

Do you know how much? If this supplier is ex I will not get for you ladies liao might as well get here right :P

ah net> i jus made my appt.. 13 mar.. heard from paulson that this yr's gowns will be more simple..

ok la.. tianpo not very auntie la.. they have more modern designs nowadays liao.. that time i went to replate my white gold bracelet.. they have wedding band series, giving free singapore flyer tickets.. dunno now still have or not..

Hi sockie, I have MTM option for either WG or EG. Going to consider btw the two options for banquet lunch locations by this weekend. Met the catering sales manager for both hotels already. Now weighing my options. I am scheduled to do my PS on 23 June and will be going in 1 April to do gown selection...

Hi sleepygal, Ann assigned Xiaohui as the MUA for both PS and AD since she said she prefers that the MUA be the same person. She reassured that Xiaohui is very good as she is in house MUA. I am the second bride on 23 Nov that has Xiaohui as MUA. R u the first?

Rach > yea. got my BS too.

2 recpt? is it common to hv 1 or 2 ang bao box? see tt most common is 2 AB box, but my mom is asking y got 2 AB box, and she sort of prefer 1 box. does hving 2 box make a big difference besides maybe easier to count the ABs?

someone told me recept must be at least one family /relative memb(preferably not all frns) so that easier to recongnise the relatives and to sit them appropriately..true?

the operations of the AD sounds very complex. besides ushers and recept, do we need people like floor manager (operation manager?) - someone to run the whole event? how about time keeper (when to march in, when to up the lights, down the lights, play the video? how about any need for the wine/ beer coordinator - keep track of drinks? main coordinator for decision making whilst couple is not around?

also can the bridesmaid be bigger size than the bride? or same size better? else will look weird right?

Meiling, same for me ley... i always snack around n this is really horrible habit which i cant kick... n with the festive seasons round the corner n gatherings, even we blind ourselves, we still can smell the food... haiz.... muz really work harder after CNY.

Hi UKsportgal, i m interested in å››çœ¼ä»”é›™å› Sweet Couple Double Xi Ang Bao & æ‰‹ç‰½æ‰‹å£“èŠ±é›™å› Hand in Hand Double Xi Ang Bao

let me know how many pcs r there per pack n the cost of per pack k.

thanks alots...

Fanny,
There will be the banquet crew to help u with running of whole event! I asked my married friend about those stuff, he said just arrange a few helpers sit at the recept and 2 MCees.

Haha I won't be bothered about bridesmaid bigger or smaller size than me. Can we remember about bride or bridemaid bigger at the banquet u last attended? Dun think guests will bother :P

Oh Wendelyn and Xin,

Thank you very much.. will arrange to meet Celestine up then.

Perhaps i will also check Hilo too..Thanks again girls..

fanny> Which BS are u from??

2 boxes is cuz usually one is for the bride's parents side...the other for friends and relatives of the groom's side.. this will depend if ur mom is keeping any of ur AP.. if she's not,..and everything's urs.... u can just have one..

I'll be placing 4 at reception to give them their table numbers...the rest i got 3 others on roaming... they're from different catergories of frens..so can recognise and direct others... i'm having 80 tables...so more chim okie..and we are all professional ushers.. so... we are all very good with ushering..not an issue.. 800 people is really small kick for us...just need the people to come early ah..

there should be a captain from the hotel who'll be laising with ur side.. u need to have a main wedding coordinator who follow u throughout the whole thing, someone who can make decision on ur behalf.. u wont want the captain to come asking u things on ur BIg Day... things like... beer finishing.. want to open new barrel? what time u wanna start etc....
March in and lights.. u gotta go for rehearsal...and the main crew from the hotel supposed to take note when to play what... yes...u need someone u can trust n can help u make decision..

Bridesmaid size is really up to u leh..

hi koyoyo,
glad dat u r back....MRS LAW!!! i gathered dat u r a happy bride

yah i got those APs alrdy....so dun think i'll b getting somemore , must stock take 1st :P

tinkybell,
sigh....honestly i lack d motivation unlike most of d brides here...so i doubt i can really shed d few kgs dat im toking abt :P juz hope n pray dat i wont put on weight can liao....den i'll b d fat n ugly bride dat my guests will remember for life :P

hi mei/tinky i guess we jus have to really start disciplinning ourselves to have the figure we want, but i agree most definitely that it is the toughest thing to do... i hate that... when i see the snacks i wan i hav to resist... ah... temtation.. and my colleagues always buy food and ask me to eat.. but luckily these 2 weeks i have been rather strict with myself... no snacks... and only eat light. so far not too bad.hahaha

hi mrs law, hehe... wat hpn to your JP ytd? what did she say wrongly? hahaha

hi Uk, the APs are nice... let us know how much is it.. k? thanks.

sue,
yah lah....actually hor, u dun have much to lose liao leh :P if u lose some more, den ur best fren will disappear too :P
it was funnie how mrs law described her jp last nite, hope we wont have d same prob :P

rach - wahhahhaa .. my bf will kill me lolz ...

ah net - don;t think tian poh gt ring pillow but they gt ring bears but only for selected range hurhur ..

We actually plan to buy our wedding bands from tianpo, the rose gold rings one. anyone knw if tianpo got give ring pillow?

Yes they have free ring pillow or one box inside got two bears.

I bought our from tianpo rose gold rings also.

Oh.. btw, I am newbie, hello BTB!! heehee..
I decided to ROM on 20.08.2008 coz its my birthday and I like the date very much. Nevermind that it's seventh month cause ROM to both our parents are "ang moh" thingy. lolz.
But I really like the date very very much.

Hi gals, I'm back from my first appointment and HDB hub so many people lor. Think alot people sell and buy resale flats lor.

Din know during first appointment, all the cpf OA will be blocked. Me still thinking to invest part of CPF OA before wipe out for house loan lor.

And i've also confirmed with my BS i'll be taking my PS in Jun. Selection of gowns in Apr

sue/mei/tinky,
yah dieting is the worst nightmare for me.. plus i love to eat supper somemore.. the biggest no-no in diets... i'm the kind every night must eat supper one.. :s

hi uk
the ap is nice wor~ i like the 手牽手壓花雙å›! How much are they? I hope not too ex..

Good morning Mrs Law...

Ukgal: I like the Sweet couple & hand in hand red packets.. Do let us know the cost and how many in a packet.

i swear having ukgal sourcing all this stuff and posting photos makes me soo soo excited :D

<3

sounds ok la, $0.30 a piece, quite sweet the design :D hopefully buy bulk got discount one

OriginalCraft,
Did you call HDB regarding applying for both BE and bi-monthly sales?

xinglin,
You are buying resale is it? From which estate?

For me, I'm getting flowers form a florist that ties up with my BS, so have no idea abt the flora service that other BS provide.

We also haven't started the meet-the-parents session. HTB suggested somewhere in CNY period, very convenient time.

I wanna take PS early cos I'm jus so excited!!

Hi Mary Poppins, Ann told me I am the 2nd to book xiaohui on 23-Nov. Think Ann mixed us up. She oso very blur.

Hi Sockie, for my package I am allowed to take back on of the gowns (either AD gown or EG or ROM gown).

hi luvz, there's no particular fixed time that the parents are to meet. I am planning for about 4-5 months before the wedding. To avoid any surprises/shocks, it's best that each of you to check with your parents first on what they will ask for. For example, you ask your mum how much does she expect for pinjin. Never never take 'aiyah, anything lah, I'm not selling daughter what' or 'chin chai lah' for an answer! Ask for a precise number. If not later, she will be angry with the other side, thinking that your in-laws are 'degrading' you by giving a low amount.

At the same time, ask her what she expects specifically for Na4 Cai3 (aka Guo Da Li). After she states all the stuff, you &amp; your partner can discuss and he HAS TO TELL his parents on your parents' requirements. If not, there will be some unpleasant silences during the dinner/lunch.

lina, it's never too late.

You have to book a dinner/lunch venue first. It's one of the most frustrating problem that you have to tackle now.