(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi babes!

i'm new in here. just finished my exams and finally have time for wedding preparations and forums!

i'm 11 OCT 2008 bride. gonna have my first meeting with my designer at Di Gio for the first time in dec. so excited!! my WG, EG and ROM dress will be MTM. don't have much idea on how i want my gown to look like though... but good thing is i have my banquet venue settled. my FH and i simply love the intercon ballroom.

thinking about wedding, there's like so many little stuff to settle but don't know where to start... where should i begin??

Dear BTB 2008,

I have compiled a total of 3 CDs of love songs when I was preparing for my AD dinner. My wedding was held in july 07 and now clearing my stuff. Gonna give away the cds. Interested parties pls email me at [email protected]

Hi gals, I just gotten my date today for AD which will be on the 14th Sept =D ROM will be on 02 Feb at Furama Riverfront.. love the waterfall lounge there =P hmm... guess it's time to start my AD preparation. hahazz.. hope u gals are planning smoothly.

wow! bnl...xie xie!
hmm...tat sure beats working from scratch.
Yep, will modify n include e helpers n other operational stuff 2.
Thanz a mil! (",)
(Looks like u r cruising really fast in e wedding prep)

How abt ur pampering treatment?
Oredi lathering my mien (face) with serum n hydrating masks ... pedi n mani ... plus losing weight...haha

LBNL...
Ani1 noes of some good places 4 body scrub?

tinkybell,
let's crossed our fingers for a big fat bonus end of tis yr! yeah...thanks, im not those typical swt swt looking gal but i dun wana act like one, i prefer blue...hehe, i think yellow or light orange will b sth different for d choice of EG...

hi sue,
me too, it's a meeting day for me...was in sch until 2 pm...hehe, n den i went to facial after a long wait of 2 mths after solving my teeth prob :P it's really a major spring cleaning for me, my face is all red n swollen after all d extraction...after which i went for a mani n pedi, bought lotsa nail stuff too :P
oh? suntec city have bridal fair again? only BS will b featured? if so, den i wont b going :P

hi mrs kelvin lim,
welcome to d oct 2008 btb thread! i'll update ur info on d table on monday ok?
wah...another 11 oct btb, another di gio bride but d 1st intercon btb...hehe, it's my dream venue but it's far beyond my budget...i love d opulent desire theme
which ballrm will u b using?
oh i oso got 3 mtm gowns like u...have no idea too...shd b going for my 1st fitting b4 jan 2008...actually u r on d rite track alrdy...u've settled most of d major stuff, now juz need to look for AD PG n AD VG

lois,
same as u, my fh n i r d eldest in d family n my fh happened to b d eldet grandson in his family, so had no choice but to carry out d customary n traditional stuff

my budget was abt $1.5K for my VG but paid less n my budget for PG was a bit higher as i intend to engage 2 different PGs...perhaps try to go below $4K :P

ryu,
i heard bioskin is not bad, esp when i saw dat beauty prog on tv...how much is their package? is it ex? i got a normal package frm a place my colleague recommended n another home beautician my mum frequents...
hehe...u r so cute, u r too excited abt ur wedding liao, ~relax~

piggy,
sure, no prob :P we can arrange another outing in dec or jan...

flora_bliss,
as my skin condition is q bad so i try to go for my facial religiously every mth but stopped due to my teeth prob, now started to go again today, it was a major spring cleaning but it really felt gd...at least my skin can breathe now :P

Thanks for the advice on hiring the AD VG and PG. We kinda got our VG/PG confirmed (friends) so hopefully that's about it.

Regarding facials (one of my fav topics
), I suggest better get regular facials. In addition, must have a regular skincare regime at home.

Flora_BLiss, care to share what u find scary about facials? Is it the hard sell tactics or the actual process (extraction etc)?
If pain is a concern, you'll be glad that there are certain types of facials whereby they don't do extraction eg the aromatherapy kind. However, it is recommended that we do extraction to cleanse thoroughly. I agree with Ryu that facials are very painful for the wallet. So must make sure that you are pleased with the package and service before you sign up. Also, must resist their products hard-selling. Personally, that requires some kind of 'kung-fu'...otherwise will be real broke

I started my skincare regime at home say about 1 year ago and I must say it helps. So, daily cleansing, toning, moisturising is a must. In addition, try to add on facial masks (either the clay type or the sheet masks type). Most imptly, drink loads of water!!! Then I heard that our skin starts repairing itself by 12midnight. So should try to sleep by 11 plus at night. Oh, finally, must put on sunblock after the moisturising. So will prevent pigmentation and will make us fairer.

On the topic of fairness, anyone has any good way of maintaining fairer skin?? For my face, I do see the effects using the whitening facial products. But my shoulders remain tan. Tried using the body whitening products (bought from watsons') but dun seem to see any effects. Any suggestions??

Hi gals ...

Wow...U girls seems so prepared. I seems to have nothing much to do....*scratch head*...worried...

Any good recommendation for Spa? I wanna pamper myself before the big day

hahaha... nehoc.. where got too pretty.. at least i am not.
but anyhows, u are a guy! nobody's gonna compare you to us. hee.. so dun shy la.

blehz.. trying to push the ball away.. =P

oh ya.. gals, if i have added you on multiply oredi but u're not able to view the pics.. pls let me know..
coz i only gave limited access.. so , i may not have granted access to u bcoz i wasnt sure who u r. =)
sorry..

HI All..

thanks for the help!! at least i know where to start first.. haha.. guest list guest list!!

btw, anyone knows where can engage live band ah? But i want those that can do pop sings.. not jazz...

Where to print cards? The hotel did not give me any cards and favours leh.. I found the wedding favours i want, but it takes US170 to ship them over, u guys think worth it?

Eve - i think 19th is a hot day.. everyone has been telling me that..

I saw you gals are looking for VG/PG for AD. Was wondering do we really need to book so early for that?

Crispy: No worry...i also haven't done much. Now concentrating on house reno only. Dec then go for my selection of WG and EG. Most probably then will arrange the PS to be done in early Jan.

Jac, I've nvr have any facial before. I don't know how to go about getting a good beautician. I've also heard stories from friends that after facials there'll usually be breakouts.

My problem areas are black heads on the nose area and dark eye circles. So wondering if facial would help.

I've got quite fair and clear complexion (thanks to my mum) so I can't really gauge if the whitening products are effective. Anyway, I've tried Loreal and Kose Sekkisei.

hi, does anyone have a sample of AD schedule.. mine is a luncheon.. thanks..

I am also at a loss of wat to do one. Going to HBD for my 1st appt next wed.. Just finish writing invites for my frens but still left with relatives, hubby's fren etc.
me getting headache cos mine AD is at rasa sentosa!! stress with the transportation & logistics part!! argh!! I haven't buy those traditional stuffs & not done with Rasa part.. wondering wat's left to confirm beside tables & car passes for the hotel side.. Help!! SOS!! hhahhaa...

Hi Meiling, so envy u... facial n ur pedi/madi done, within an afternoon... i am always so busi at work that all these have to be planned n rescheduled most of the time to accomodate my work schedule... hiaz....

Sue, is the bridal fair the big scale ones??? i was at suntec last evening but nv walk over to the exhibition area... hope i din missed anything interesting.

Welcome, Mrs Kelvin Lim....

hihi.. i'm new as well. going to ROM on 27th next month at StarDus and am having my AD on 18th Oct 08. yes, seems like 18th Oct is a really popular date... no wonder have to pay extra for my banquet at Hilton. do you gals have to pay more for auspicious dates as well?

signed up with Sattine but no AD PG/VG yet. trying out a photographer from 3some for ROM then decide if want to continue with him. will it be too late then? seems like most of you have settled this aspect.

Hi Ryu, COngrats to ya too.. almosted wanna faint yesterday then the person told us our ausp date will be on 14th Sept coz hot date thought sure no places available by now le.. hahaz~ luckily found a place fast =)

Finally booked my GDL cakes from Kyo. My dad told me that canned pig trotters from china will not be sold for the time being. My FMIL told me that NTUC and some supermarts have taken them off the shelf and even for luncheon meat too. Luckily she managed to get it from those small provision shop. So for those that need it for GDL, do get it fast cos would not know when the ban will end.

My bed has finally arrived, FMIL said that we can sleep on it before the AD (do not think i got An chuan) and no other people can touch it.

Eh seems like im the one that is getting very slack leh...
My cousin is helping me to make Corsages and Ang bao box, I'm DIYing on car deco and maybe hand posy (considering cala lilies). Card be ready by wed. Have not confirm on deco of ballroom, florist said 2 wks before AD is fine. Photos not selected. Want to do Montage but HB say too common so scrap. Have not arrange a time for all Bro and jie Mei to meet up...

Hiya icy,
where will your AD be held at? Furama Riverfront is for ROM only or AD too? Ya you better hurry as 14sept is hot hot hehe

hi flora,
I think facial can help your problem or alternatively start a cleansing regime at home? If you do go for facial, some of the shops have many packages make sure they give you something suitable for your problem la. Asks friends for recomendation or go for trials to see if they are suitable for u?

Jo...heard dat d canned pig trotters will not be avail in spore till 2008 but no indication when.....for GDL purposes can consider to substitute wif angbao instead....=)

Gers...im d worst among u all cos we are still in d mid of appointing AD VG & PG....preparing invites currently...have not pen any invites yet....GDL stuff haben buy...GDL cakes haben ordered......AND our AD is juz 39 days away....fainted!!!!

Hi Flora Bliss,
I agree with Ryu that facial can help your problem esp with the blackheads. After several sessions, it should get better, with smaller pores etc. I think its better that you go for facials with extraction included. Regarding the dark eye circles, must start with your daily habits. Try not to keep up with too many late nights if possible. I'm having too many late nights these days and people actually can see the deteriorated state of my eyes. Sigh... So, invest in a good eye-cream. Ask around for recommendations for facials. Btw, from my experience, facials doesn't really help with dark eye circles. Any effects seen immediately during the facial lasts for only a few hours.
I can recommend you some places if you like. Drop me an email if you would like some recommendations. I believe that facials are not sufficient cos we go like at most twice a month. So must start daily skincare regime at home. It may be troublesome initially but once you get used to it, you can't live without it. I'm so drama

In addition, while branded products are good,you'll be surprised that Watsons sells some lower end products which are no less effective than the higher ends one.
Like you, I've got clear complexion and am naturally fair. But when I was younger, always go sun-tanning as a result, got very uneven skin tone. Now got a fair face but less fair shoulders. Did you see any improvements using the products you quoted?

Hey Valerie and Lara, I am also a Teochew bride.

Hey Cat, my ROM also in Feb and AD in June. =)

Just realise I am one of the first to get married in June...and it is just another half a yr away.

Pls update my BS, Di Gio.
Alot of pple staying in Jurong also...=p

Btw Girls,

i am kinda in trouble now.... have been searching high n low for my marriage certificate but cant find it.. both my hubby & I remembered where we keep it but to our surprise it is not there.... i am panic nw, just have the very awful feeling nw...

i too checked with my MIL who love to help us pack things, and she claimed she never touch... wher could it be.........

sob** sob*** sob**

Hi naivesg and Lara...

Teochew brides are the most mafan...have to leave the house early and stuff...aiyo...i need to leave my house around 5 plus lor...
I think when it's nearer to the GDL date, probably we can go shopping for them together...

Speaking of which, just a suggestion...do you think we June brides should meet up for coffee or something??=)

Hi Valerie, my lovenest is also at sengkang, but it's fernvale court. i asked my mum b4 abt the leaving house early thing but she said dun need to follow..

Meiling, im teochew & hubby is hokkien. But i think i will still wear a kua coz this will be the only opportunity to wear
Its ok if they dont provide kua for PS, most impt is i can bring my AD WG & EG for outdoor PS

Mal, if you are renting kua from HOE, when do you intend to go down?

Welcome mrs kelvin lim. Look through mags and see what are the different designs gown you like.

Hi pipi, im also a 18 oct btb. There are 8 of us already
I didnt have to pay extra at hyatt, their price is already so high!

Tinkybell, take yr time and look through yr stuff again slowly.

Yoz Crispy,
I also haven done anything for the wedding prepartion too. VG not booked, haven really start gng facial regularly, haven buy anything yet.
How is ur gown fitting at Di gio? I went for my wedding gown fitting 3 weeks ago but my evening gown not out yet. Very happy with my wedding gown. hee.
As for SPA, please do not go to B*dy C*nt*ur (* replace with O). It is a terrible experience with them. Really regret buying a package with them. 20 time of treatment 3 yr ago, up till now not finished yet. Really very scare to go there. They are too pushy and even when you are doing the treatment, they will start to chit chit y y.

wow we have 2 new guest here.. welcome pipi n mrs kelvin..
tinkybell.. try do a springclean i believe u can find it ... anyway CNY is approaching just treat it as early spring clean lor..
wow u guys have high expectation for KUA .. is house of etiq nice?
Good for you guys to have bonus or AWS to look forward to ... i dun have any? sigh i just settle on my ROM dress but i dun really like it... sadness everywhere... argh...

Sue like u , i havent start thinknig of PS locations. well slowly lor go for ur fitting , try diff cut first lor.. i tok the last time u have a WG in mind tt off shoulder look nice...

thanks for the welcome, ladies. =)

meiling, i thought intercon has only one ballroom? i booked the grand ballroom. my FH and i like the whismical magic but don't like the deco stand..

btw, are you a teacher? u mentioned in your post somthing about sch. my FH and i are also teachers. but i'm back in nie now to do my degree. =)

yup, felt quite ripped off when i realised i have to pay $100 more per table for auspicious dates but guess i didn't have any choice since hilton was one of the few available hotels that can accommodate my small numbers by the time i booked my venue. had all my priorities wrong... looked for BS and ID for house reno before deciding on banquet venue.

hi koyoyo,
is your ROM dress part of BS package? mine is, but i felt rather disappointed that i didn't have many to choose from. if you still have time, should try to go for the best possible one and not have regrets later.

Hi bnl,
Saw u in e thread 4 Sattine BTB... not convenient 2 share over there...
Basically wat i mean is if u happen 2 see a WG better than e one u had 4 PS...check how much u need 2 top up so as 2 wear on AD.
Sometimes, they offer new stk every 2-3 mths n i believe they hav more stuff up in 2nd floor...if u hav found ur ideal WG, then jus let it b...
(If u wan 2 save e $, check if u can exchange e WG on PS 4 a new WG jus 4 AD...by rite cannot, but by left...can try lahh)

Oso 4 1192001, itz ok 2 take ur time 2 search 4 PG/VG but usually e more experienced ones r taken up way ahead...
Moreover, an early search will ensure e best possible choice made...i actually did a personal search of 6-7 PGs before committing 2 one...sometimes, e WPJA PG *a term for PG well versed in taking fotojournalistic shots can offer good deals @ a reasonable rate.
By getting them early, u n ur htb can oso take time 2 noe e AD PG/VG better in terms of how u like e shots 2 b taken... a better rapport will make u enjoy urself better on AD.

Alternatively, u can always get frienz who either work in this line or good amateurs 2 do shots 4 both of u...

Speaking of spa n massage n body scrub, i believe most beauty salons offer such svc...If im not wrong, theres qite a lot in Orchard...
Ani1 got lobang 2 recommend? N oso, how often shld we hav body scrubs till AD?

Thanz!

pipi,
ya my ROM is part of BS package not sure if tt a good thing is one is a picky person.. somehow i just dun like my dress but i am sick of gog back same pl.. I am sourcing for shoes who is keen on shoe shoppin with moi?

hi ^MeiLinG5^ (~sblbee~)
i am like u also, wasnt born with gd skin
and tend to have break out....i now using o2 to clear up pimples 1st b4 go facial...if not the extraction would be too painful for me...
and i jus started the regime not long ago...i must say u more hard working than me in this aspect....i very lazy de...think thats y my skin take revenge on me.....

koyoyo, i'm also a picky person and felt that BS seems to be holding back most of the gowns when we were choosing for ROM (suspect those are for EG or tea-dress). very lazy to go back so kinda anyhow choose from the few that the coordinator showed me. but on a positive note, i tried shopping for ROM gown in Orchard before and its a lot worse that what BS can offer... most are very prom-ish.

what design did you choose? bustier? halter?

Hiz Ryu, My AD will be at Safra Mt. Faber.. so late liao still can find a place considered lucky le.. luckily have been doing homework on places this few mths =D so many things to take care of hor.. *faintz* hope things go on well =P

haha pipi i hope u are right
i chose something simple top part like tube it a long beige satin dress w simple embirory near bust area. when is ur ROM? what did u chose eventually?

i chose a cheongsam-like halter gown with train... regretted coz too elaborate for my ROM in Clubhouse. if ROM is in hotel, it won't be too bad though. would have chosen short dress if it didn't make me look like bridesmaid.. haha

ROMing on 27.12.07 so no time to change my mind liao

hi kokoyo,

so far, i've already booked my BS and hotel. gotta meet the lady from singapore flyer to go thru ROM package in dec. then can pay deposit to confirm booking. =) and i'm also meeting my designer for the first time in dec to mtm my gowns.

guess i've more or less settled the major stuff. then its the little stuff i need for the traditional wedding.

i'm excited bout the PS though its like 7 months away. lol...

btw, you're shoe shopping now? seen anything nice? i was just looking ard but don't see many i fancy. are custom made ones ex? any idea?

hi icy,
ya so many things to do... i'm trying to decide on music now, dont intend to get a live band.... decided on bs mah? don't worry things will turn out ok ^^ mount faber nice fiew ah, and breezy hehe

hi cordie,
i've just signed up an O2 package with bioskin hehe. not bad they give a shoulder massage during the facial too