(2008) Brides of year 2008

uksportgal,
hehe....i did ask a few b4 n some of them charged a higher rate for ROM as they'll lose d AD PG biz if they take on my ROM PG, luckily at d end i decided not to do my solemnisation on a separate date else will lose lotsa $ :P

Hi All, I am a Nov / Dec 08 BTB. Still looking for the right venue and dates to hold wedding. Have you all booked the venue and fixed the dates already? I am very scared, everybody around me keeps hurrying me. Haiz, is now too late? When is the latest to book huh?

Hi ladies, I can see most of you hav confirmed your PG and VG. I'm pretty worried as I have not found one yet and my FH is currently away.

xinyi_reiko, hope your PS will go well

ahlo queenie,
u can scroll down e threads n refer 2 'GDL of things' from other BTBs.
lxlb...mayb having a wedding planning 'itinery' may help...or writing down things u hav cfmed...now 4 me, e most pressing thing is 2 find 2 ok PG/VG. Budget <$2k...

I just joined the Nov 08 BTB community a few days ago with the confirmation of my wedding banquet. =)

Looking forward to my AD and hope to gather feedback/share comments with all of you!

Eve,
$2,900.00 is in SGD. Yours sound affordable to me but dont know why they charge us so ex leh...

Fifi,
Can I get the contact from you? My email is [email protected] Thanks!

Didnt know that so many JB sales people come to Singapore to sell their curtain. THey sure earn alot from Singaporeans, hee...

Mrs C,
Nice to see you here, remember me? You collecting your photos from Printemps this month right?

Can I get the curtain contact from you as well?

Selina, I should be going to upp bukit timah area one.. more 'shun lu' to lim chu kang..

I just realised I have been staying near railway area since young.. haha.. even my new house oppside is railway.. haha..

feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
axeljes - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Gate - Bliss Bridal
piggytinky - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Phoenix - J &amp; M Design
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
Mary - 8/3/2008 - Yan Qing Shanghai Restaurant @ Chijmes - Bridal ZOne
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church &amp; One Rochester - Dang Bridal
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
poopy - 8/3/2008 - Oriental - Sattine Bridal
bedime_bear - 9/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Santiago Bridal
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
laura_yaya- 9/03/2008 - Carlton Hotel - French Bridal
sylvia - 9/03/2008 - The Laguna
Jesteress - 9/03/2008 - Traders Hotel - Golden Horse Awards
Violet - 9/3/2008 - Club Chinos - Digio
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
dolphin25 - 15/3/08 - Carlton Hotel (lunch) - Ala carte
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
yu83 - 22/3/08 - peony jade restaurant - z-weddings
Yoko - 23/03/2008 - Oriental - Bridal Veil
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Minolta01 - 29/03/2008 Church Wedding, Lunch Reception
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J&amp; M Design
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Strawberryangels - 30/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel-Seletar Bway
Mine - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium - Di Gio

Same day as Junjun.. hee hee

Good morning, Gals

Hi, Kittyng

Have you shortlist the PG &amp; VG? If not, better do it now. Understand for those popular PG &amp; VG mostly will get booked 1 year before. IF your AD is hot date, it will be not easy to get PG &amp; VG too. Same concept as Banquet venue.

thanks for adding. de_princess, thanks for ur comment. my hse spacious cos not much furniture. I like my hse to be simple.

i'm also a teochew.. my mum at first wan 10 tables also... then i start taking out calculator.. and let her see.. one table is $900 and so 10*900 = $9000 and pin jin $888 then plus pig leg and cake.. = 10k... then i tell her, me and my hubby dun haf that money... if she really wan then i may need to get mariied 2 year later for my hubby to save up.. then show her the super sad face.. hee.. then now manage to reduce to 6 table + 1188 pinjin + others = < 7k. although only 3 k less. but this money can go to settle the PG and VG bill...

hi mei,

haha.. wah let me go find my list of BS and PG stuff first so i can list down for you hehe..

ok here goes
BS
-1 wedding gown ( mgt to get a MTM from Matini-G)
-1 evening gown (OTR)
-1 Tea dress (OTR)
-1 MTM Suit for Groom
-1 trail make up
-1 day make up and hairstyle
-1 night make up and haristyle
-Studio and outdoor make up
-Studio hand bouquet
-Actual day hand bouquet (flowers to be chosen by us)
-6 x corsages ( no idea what is this though)
bridal car decor
-2 x bridesmaid car decor
PG shooting ( with the above 3 gowns, can have 6 different styles for photo shoot)
-1 x wedding gown
-1 x evening gown
-1 x kua/ chinese costume/ kimono
-1x suit for groom
-30x 15r photo with album
-30x15r selected photos in cd rom
-1 x 24r photo with frame
-1 x 8r table top
-20x5r in minialbum
-12 x 4r photos for relatives (2 pose )

and my above package is 3688.

and i signed up for the actual dat PG as well

-whole day PG indoor and outdoor
-choice of 300 x 4r in cdroom
-300 photos in magazine style...

this is 1388.

well above is my pacakage... hahaha...

u r right, seems that holding solemisation on the same day save some money coz no need to pay xtra for another day of PG... hehehe

well.. now i am thinking maybe i should start confirming my VG.

haha.... me also teo chew... mummy also at first wanted 10 tables, 5k PJ, some cans of pig legs and over 20 boxes of cakes...

Has reduced liao le lar...

BTW, I am just asking.... how many couples are willing to pay 3k for a photography package in Paris? of course, not inclusive of the air-tickets.... just asking as my friend wants to know if she got a good deal

apple_gal, thanks for your advice. That's my concern too. I'm hoping to solve all these asap so that my mind can be at ease.

xinyi_reiko, i'm quite excited for you. Jus went MacRitchie this morn for some ex and saw a couple taking PS with her bridemaids

minolta,
hee. hihi, ya we same day become Mrs!

anabelle,
I was there till about 5 plus today, but there were quite a few couples there, dunno which one is u. Hee.

Thanks Karen, congratulations too!

My AD is 2 Nov 08, just signed my contract with Intercon Hotel this afternoon. What about yourself?

Planning to source for BS by early next year, any recommendations/packages to share? Thus far, I am quite keen on DiGio/GHA. Attended the bridal show at amara spa resort in end Oct and found their service not bad. The rest of the BS are quite hard sales type and not very impressive in their presentation.

Hi Liting,
Hehe, if my mum asks for 10 tables, I'm done for cos we intend to have only 12 tables....
I think my mum will be insistent on the pinjin and the si dian jin and not the banquet matters cos we're paying for it ourselves and I've told her we will invite only close relatives. So far she only asked how tables we have for relatives. My mum is not very traditional, rather flexible on all these kinds of things. So probably, she won't ask for tables.

FloraBliss,
I'll be holding mine at Four Seasons at the Crescent Ballroom. Which BS did you choose? I haven't started on my BS shopping cos will be very busy till end of Dec. But from the magazines, I like gowns from Blush Blush and Silhouette...love clean cut gowns.....

Can't wait to go BS shopping....

Lost... seems like you are in a difficult position. Guess.. u have to tell your MIL things that sounds good to her in her point of view. Maybe she is also anxious about her son's wedding and she dun feel involved.

Hi Natsuko,

I am also a Nov 08 BTB. If you are planning to secure a hotel for banquet on a weekend in end 2008, it is advisable that you start doing so asap as many of the auspicious dates have been taken up. But if you do not mind holding your banquet on a weekday, there should still be ample dates for you to select. In any case, start now and you should still have some time to work things out within the next 2-3 weeks if you do some 'homework' conscientiously. Good Luck! =)

haiz.. pinky.. I dun wan to get involved already.. maybe like what u said.. she is anxious and want to get involved.. but when it comes to money matters.. she dun wan to get involved... things like the pin jin, SDJ, dinner banquet, cakes.. GDL stuffs.. groom's parents should be the one paying.. now is like I'm saving to pay the dinner banquet, which should be paid by her lor.. I feel like I'm paying to get myself married off.. feeling very upset.. by the way, I saved doubled as compared to hubby lor..
now I feel like telling my hubby to save on his own.. I dun wan to spend my money to "stick" on her FACE! **FURIOUS** anyway I already told hubby.. never will I want to stay with her.. even though he is only son with 2 younger sisters.. I dun care.. if she want to stay then I sell away and move to a smaller flat.. ppl get married happily.. me so upset and frustrated with such matters..

Jac, our hotels are sisters. I've signed up with MBR. Like their photography and friendly staff. I booked them on the spot during a wedding show.

Hi Natsuko

I am a Dec 08 BTB and I have already confirmed my venue to hold my wedding... If you are looking at weekends for your banquet, you'd better make up your mind fast as weekend dates will be taken up pretty fast! Usually people book about 1 year beforehand.. So depending on your date bah.. Anyway wad is holding you back on the decision of the wedding date? Just curious...

my BS is bliss @ marina square (but not sure if i want to give it up due to some really bad experiences that my fren went through) but after going through the forum, there are also some very happy brides from bliss... so shall KIV first bah...

banquet is at park hotel orchard (ex crown prince hotel) on 05 Dec 2008...

Hi Summer Ice,

Having booked your venue, have you started looking at BS and others? Btw, where are you holding your banquet?

I have just confirmed mine yesterday and looking at what's next on the list to work on. =)

hi sue,
ur package does look comprehensive...true lor, i saved ard $3K by holding my solemnisation tgr wif my AD...den no need to worry dat i couldnt get my ideal venue n oso have difficulty in getting my frens n relatives come on another day :P
no sad leh, i went to my dentist today n did prep for crowning den d 5 of m teeth got cut into v small chunks, left teeth dat's so small even smaller than baby's...haiz, den have to wait till nxt sat to crown...in d meanwhile, have to tahan d ultra ugly teeth

Hi Hi..I am new here:p

Wedding date a.k.a AD think is 27Sept2008..but I kinda like 08Aug 08. When's exactly the chinese 7th month? Everything haven plan yet as date not settle. Anybody tried Margaret'sBride and the one famous Johor-Venus Bridal? Boo hoo..dunno where to start..lost final season..

Bling

hi jadeyu,
welcome to tis thread!

hi jac,
smtimes d auspicious date depends on individual cos there r some dates dat's gd for some ppl but not gd for u as d horoscopes of ur hubby, in-laws, parents n urself is different frm other ppl, to b safe than sorry, better consult a shifu juz to ensure dat's a gd date for u

wah...i always like four seasons but it's way off my budget, i'll b attending a uni fren's wedding dinner at four seasons tis dec 1, so mayb i can let u know my reviews later on

hi liting,
as im not a teochew, my mum is not asking for much as she knows our financial status n we r paying every cent frm my own pocket...i told my mum dat cos my tables r close to $1K so i'll give her 5 tables, pinjin $1388 n den 24 boxes of cakes, 48 cans of pig trotters n she's ok wif it...anyway most of d time, part of d pinjin will b returned to ur hubby
i think my mum juz gona take a few hundred dollars as a token

mindy,
i saw ur qn abt whether it's worth to pay $3K for paris phootshoot, i think it's worth if it's inclusive of getting a PG n MUA there wif their air tickets n accomodation...how many days will dat b? i was charged even higher for a england/london photoshoot, have to at least $4k for d PG excluding his n our own airtickets n accomodation :P wif no MUA :P

flora_bliss,
when will u b going down for ur PS n 1st fitting? i dun dare to cos i got fatter by d day, scared cannot fit inside any gowns or look damn ugly

Hi Lost,
U seemed terribly upset with ur MIL and it seems to be causing a strain on u n ur hubby. Just want to share my two cents worth.
U shd know by now that a married couple isnt just the 2 of them. it involves both sides' families and sometimes even relatives and frens. Some ppl may say heck care lar, it should just be between the 2 of us but unless both husband and wife can do it, ie, really dun care abt own parents (which in this case u shd beware coz i dun think u want to marry a heartless creature who turns his back on the ppl who brought him up rite?), its very hard to force ur opinion on ur hubby. we all know that wedding preparations including getting a home is very tedious and involves LOTS of decision making. its not always that both parties can see eye to eye. after all, u can never find 2 of the same kind who thinks exactly the same.
with regards to ur issue, u can choose the man u wan to marry but u cant choose the type of PILs u are going to get. that is when u have to compromise and give in many times. im sure u love ur hubby very much and u dun want to make things difficult for him rite? neither do u want to see him upset and caught between the 2 women he loves?
Whatever it is, always bear in mind that u shd respect ur elders,they are after all the ones who brought ur hubby up. Since u love ur hubby, u wouldnt want to make things difficult for him rite? And if u two really love each other and want to spend the rest of ur lives tgr,why let other ppl affect ur relationship?
$$$ is very sensitive and u shdnt let it come inbetween ur two. Always rem that money can be earned back. Finding someone u love and loves u too isnt that easy.
Also, dun do/say things that u will regret coz it may hurt ur hubby without u even realising it.
Dun compare ur situation with others too,coz its pointless and will only cause urself even more unhappiness.
Whenever im upset abt something whether its with HTB or FPIL, i always ask myself how impt i really think the issue is and if it weighs more than my love for my HTB. i always end up dropping the issue coz i know all i want is to be with my HTB for the rest of our lives.
Im sorry if i said anything that may have offended u. I just wanted to share how i feel coz ive seen too many couples who gave up their relationship in the middle of their wedding preparations. Im sure all of us have thot carefully before even booking the banquet rite?
I really hope things will get better for u, ur hubby and MIL.

Summer_ice
i think it's ok la. Every BS seems to have negative feedback. It's depend on yr luck loh. Mine AD is 2 days later than U.

Hi Natsuko,
Agree with the girls to start looking for the venue. I'm a sep/08 bride and I've booked venue and bs. As my date is a hot date I didn't manage to get my 1st choice but lucky my 2nd choice was still available. If you are open to lunch instead of dinner, you might have more choices as people usually take dinner? ^^