(2008) Brides of year 2008

i have heard alot on CS makeer..anyone happen to know of nonya dressmaker or where to get good nonya dress? my FILW is nonya blood... my fh thinkng of making her something nice to wear on our AD.

Hi, Selina

Glad that you've make a great choice. When you will going down for the first fitting since your PS will be at Dec?
Have you confirm your actual photography & videography?

lovexlb, yr website looks nice and u look very oriental for some picts but nice intro of your love story. Haha! My proposal was kinda like yrs, i mean if i consider it as one. haha! How's prep? I've been bz with reno and gown designing

Hope to fix a date in early Nov for first fitting and see if they can slot in PS for me in Dec.. Will call them up later.. PMB opens at 12 noon.. hee

I havent decide on AD PG and VG but might be taking PMB's package if it is reasonable.

mentos~ ya good idea.. i think totally dun do anything in august.. shake leg and relax... hahaa.. for mine 3rd mth also cannot... so i have to do PS in march... april is 3rd lunar mah... else may might be too rush...

i think all brides want to lose weight.. i am trying hard to lose weight also.. but seemed failed...

eating wheat biscuits can fat ah???? =S

Lois~ how come food tasting also leh?? food tasting just eat only leh.. hmm but i think my hotel mentioned 1-3 mths before AD do food tasting.. so maybe i do in Jul loh. then jul i shagged like siao.. rush to do so many things...

Hi, Selina

Actually i have the list of videography & photography from one of the friend. If you need it, please let me know. I can email to you.
You may see the sample of photos & videography on their website.

thanks mentos!!
Hmm... ya, i checked liao, since 1st of 8th lunar mth is 31 aug, by then it wud b too late to send the invites... so prob hav to do it in july..
wah lucky u guys mentioned.. if not i sure kayu... hahaa

lois~ ya loh... i have to guai guai listen to them.. so better don't do... else future sure kena lots of unnecessary probs...

soyabeans~ yours is 11sept?? u send earlier its ok.. mine is 26sept.. send like too early.. dnw they will forget anot...

when u girls taking PS??? First fitting?

PS?? i haben even do my serious BS shopping?
Anyone can recommend something not taiwanese?
hope to find a bao kah liao BS, else worst come to worst go ala carte. T_T

Hi ybbubippah,

Hmm...do you have the 20 x 24 or 24 x 30 canvas or 3 in 1?

Who's your coordinator leh? How come they give u the niang jia ben is only 3R with 18 pcs only? I think the corsages can be neg..mostly without any problems. How abt bouquet for PS? ROM set should come with a bouquet also leh. See if u need a bestman jacket and bridemaid dress. Cos if you gonna pay for their jacket and dress somewhere else, it's gonna cost a bomb.

Hi buttercupz,

My EG only sent for dry cleaning yesterday night. Gotta clean it and store since I have to store the dress for another 6 or more months before PS and alteration. I'll post it next weekend once I collect from the cleaner k?

For my package...we didn't neg much wor. Probably I am only interested to take a look only haha. But then, I did bargain for the upz of 20 x 24" canvas to 24 x 30 canvas. The upgrade of 3R mini album with 18 pc photo to 5R 30pc mini album is the coordinator gave us one. Then the throw in of bestman jacket and bridemaid dresses, additional bouquet for PS all given to us without us asking. Perhaps I did quote my friend's invoice number as she took her package there.

Hi, Delina

I've sent the list to you. Hope it can help u.

Regarding the price package, you may email them for further information.
I've signed with Desmond, I like his style.

Wah, the thread move so fast. Suddenly there is so many replies

Princessxiaomei: I also duno how to lose weight. My 1st fitting think next year and PS maybe May or Jun le. Why lunar 3rd month also cannot huh?

Soyabeans: I think u have to send it early like mine lor. I'm 4days earlier than you. Worse lor.

Lois: U go buy the brides magazine and see what kind of gowns suit ur style then drop by to see if the BS is to ur liking ? Tt's what I do too. But if u have the budget, best to go a la carte :0

so happy to see many Sept 08 brides to be here!

My AD is so called fix on 14th Sept 08.. but have not confirm on the Venue yet but looking at Marriott / The Regent for lunchie.. Hopefully is not reserve yet as now busy with my house deco and upcoming house warming.

As for BS, me n my husband still looking.. ha but most impt is venue I guess? =D So need all pretty ladies here for "duo duo zhi jiao" (guidance).

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS </TD><TD>PG </TD><TD>VG </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>green</TD><TD>01Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gorkim</TD><TD>05Sep08</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yongyong</TD><TD>06Sep08</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Seacool</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne Wong</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Qian Xi(Farrer Park)</TD><TD>My Bridal room</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jess_liang</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mentos</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>FRH</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Depixel</TD><TD>Atelier-X </TD></TR><TR><TD>wongfam</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>d0lphin</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Ritz Couture</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chumint</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>FCC</TD><TD>Bliss Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bubbleluv</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>RVH</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lam-Rainbow Photo</TD><TD>Lam-Rainbow Photo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fruitchick</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Four Seasons</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cayenne</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eleven_soyabeans</TD><TD>11Sep08</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Mr&amp;Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winniethepooh</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crown</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Groombride</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel</TD><TD> Volan Couture</TD><TD> Volan Couture</TD><TD> Atelier-X</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babyxanne</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>di Gio</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>Andrew Chooi(EMC Group)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alanis</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>FCC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yanqiu</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Hotel rendezvous</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missy54</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Four Seasons</TD><TD>Amanda Lee Weddings</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>waxie24</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Greymatter</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>truefaith</TD><TD> 14Sep08</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>peach</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Mandarin</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaolubao</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>dannybo</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Santiago</TD><TD>Albert-Everafter</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tlisa</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>FRH</TD><TD>PMM Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>celine08</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Traders</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>llgnme</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>weddinghunt</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Amara(Sentosa)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssunsett</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>L@ Belle</TD><TD>The Wedding Paparazzi</TD><TD>Eulee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>renel</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>InterContinental SG</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tomoko77</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Bliss Garden</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>strawberri</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jassng</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sportgal</TD><TD>16Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD>Precious Moment Bridal</TD><TD>Precious Moment Bridal</TD><TD>Precious Moment Bridal</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vangiepooh</TD><TD>19Sep08</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lastkiss83</TD><TD>20Sep08</TD><TD>grand plaza park</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gina Ng</TD><TD>20Sep08</TD><TD>NCQ</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>Visioworkz</TD><TD>Visioworkz</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweetbeng</TD><TD>21Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>princessxiaomei</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD> Marriott </TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>Ave8(Beetles@Work)-Bernard) </TD><TD>Ave8(Beetles@Work)-Sam</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teekel</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fumiko_neko</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Di Gio/GHA</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lois</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelic_piglet(Customary)</TD><TD>27Sep08</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>msbean</TD><TD>28Sep08</TD><TD>Hotel rendezvous</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missbean_25</TD><TD>28Sep08</TD><TD>Civil Service Club-Bukit Batok</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelic_piglet(Dinner)</TD><TD>29Sep08</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Jassng:Updated and
kao_welcome.gif

I think u need to hurry liao. U've choose the most hot date of Sep 2008. Hee

mentos: i buy liao. for the past 2 seasons, but still clueless.

Jas: welcome, i'm a newbie Sept BTB too.

as above, i'm also looking for BS.

Hey mentos

thanks for the quick updates. Hee i know is a hot date but still cannot decide leh.. I was afraid I might regret after I place deposit. Anyway they asking for 4k deposit leh. So gotta tink carefully >_< *grrr

lois: then just walk in and see the gowns ba. I also kind of anyhow. i signed up my BS because i feel comfortable with the co-ordinator.

jasng: then think carefully. wedding is an expensive experience

hello jas.. i'm also sept bride.. hee... =) i'm with marriott. =)

mentos~ so late then u do PS??? like that seems like i so kiasu loh.. my PS in mar leh... lol.. 3rd mth is qing ming mah.. this yr wen i choose date also cannot choose during 3rd mth so i n0e 3rd n 7th mth i can shake leg.. cannot do any preparation.. so must start early loh..

hmmmm... i have flipped through bridal magazines and folded the gown designs that i like.. will show it to PMB.. but most of the times the design you like on paper doesnt necessary look good on you.. I guess i can rely on the professionalism of my coordinator to find the best fit gown for me..

I like gowns with lots of embroidery and long train.. how about u?

princessxiaomei: thanks for the reminder le. i didn't know about the Qing Ming. no wonder cannot do anything. Hmm .. Tt's what my BS tell me. Maybe i should give them a call to re-confirm liao.

Hi BTB,

My friend who's recently did for 1 bride a guest book in crystal of her name and her husband's name. Would you be interested? The guest book really glitters under the light.

*winks princessxiaomei: yup I'm aware ya with Marriott. How was the package they give ya? Who ya liase with?
I had just sent email to Alison whom I have contacted previously to check if the date is still avail for lunch. Did you really paid the 4k deposit? Feel so good to know ya with Marriott cos if query can check with you. =)

Yup.. only very very good fren will do that ..n to top it off, she has 2 kids to look after lor after work (n her work not easy also).

yup.. been working overseas for 2 years now,n really grateful to my gfs, even for my ROM venue, another gf went down to the venue to check it out for us. Both hubby n I nvr been to the place b4, until our ROM tt day lor.

i posted a plea (in this forum) for those rasa sentosa brides to share their package deal.. so tt i can close mine asap..
koyoyo... i am also intendg to get a kebaya for myself n my mum (indonesian blood to b exact). check out this place at esplande ! highly recommended by others in this forum, but abit ex. so if u find one in katong, let me know. heheh

thanks !

Em, i have flipped through the bridal magazine too, but no idea which one really suit me. I love combination of western &amp; chinese-cheongsam type, actually would like it for my evening gown. But my coordinator did mentioned that it doesnt suit me. Guess I've to leave it to them.
My fitting is on 18th Nov, so guess Jan is just nice. If i can't find OTR gown that i like, at least still got some time to MTM right?

Hello PSH,

dunno why i missed ur post. Anyway, i don't get it, u made ur gown yet or u haven't made but u're just trying OTR gowns? I think u must now ur body as well, wht complements it. Have u done ur trial make up?

So blur,
Prep is OK. good. I just discuss with my mom about the Kuo ta li. We know wht to do for tht at least.. and tried to recruit some help for our wedding. How bout u? u went for first trial yet? take picture le....

Anyway all may brides, wedding window is easy, does not require technical knowledge. just a lot of patience to update it. all the best in planning.

I like cheongsam too but it doesnt suit my figure.. if urs is MTM then ya.. u got to leave some time in between fitting and PS...
By having PS early also means i can get the softcopy photos early to do photo montage.. hee

It is raining heavily now!!

So many posts ah... I clicked to Oct 2007 and thought how come so little posts.. haha

Welcome Mrs Chiew and uksportsgal!!

Don know where to start replying...

Me now stress coz haven't got a JP for my ROM.. dumb dumb me...
Any reco.. I read alot of good review about Mr Phang.. Anyone else has JP to reco?

Hi Karen,

I did not take up any package for car and driver. Which photographer are u using for pre-wedding photography?

Can recommend??

Hi, Selina

Good to plan early rather than late. hehe.. By the way, are you planning to do photo montage yourself?

Hi, Hpryn

Have send you the list.

I will try to do photo montage with my limited IT skills.. haha.. if really not presentable, then got to engage professional already..
How about you?

jas~Hehe... i sign up with Charlene. Yup, i paid the 4K deposit. Now many places are to pay within 3K to 5K as deposit. No longer 2K i realised. =) Charlene is a very nice and friendly person. She is not pushy at all. Perhaps you can contact her if you have not find anyone to liase with.

hmm mine is a friday (weekend) dinner.. it is quite expensive i should say. Almost 1K. I am so scare of my angpaos. i hope i will be able to break even. *pray Hard* The perks they give you actually depends. I managed to get free flow of beer and 1 bottle of wine per opened table. Actually their perks are quite attractive already. Need not negotiate so much. heee...

mentos~ yup, in laws and mum quite pantang, so i think better listen to them. I don't want to get scolding again. Haahaaa. That's the reason why i am planning things in advance. My tentative date for PS will be in MAr. Should there be any last minute changes that i cant take in mar, i have to schedule in May after qing ming. Let's say if i take as MAy first and last minute matters crop up, i would be rushing like some mad bride. =) That's my thinking lah. hahaaa..

hey friends.. just wanna share with you something.. my office got one aunty cleaner shared with me her story... how true i also don't know but should also believe loh..

Remember we need to get 2 nuptial lamps? Some say switch it on for 12 days continously, some say switch it on from the moment the groom leave house till the next day then can switch off. Whatever it is, just remember to take very good care of the lamps. DOn't break it.

Her story was..
Few days after her wedding day (within the 12 days after her AD), she was cleaning the table and she accidentally dropped one of the nuptial lamps. It broke. Thus she threw it away. It signifies that bride and groom won't last long. By the way, she is in her late 50s early 60s. Her hubby had passed away more than 10 years ago already. When her kids are still schooling. Now her kids are already in their late 20s early 30s.

Another one on nuptial lamp...

Her cousin got married and on the actual day itself, her jiemeis actually went to the bridal room.. Too crowded, one of them actually knocked down the lamp. Her cousin knew it was not a good sign. She cried on her wedding day. Not long, she actually realised she had cancer after giving birth to her son. Her son was a toddler when she passed away. Her then husband went to remarry too.

So sad. Perhaps it is really coincidence? OR is it really link with the nuptial lamp as well. For me, i think i quite believe in what she says. So i hope all of us, pantang or not, just be super careful on your wedding day. Don't break anything at all.

hey friends.. just wanna share with you something.. my office got one aunty cleaner shared with me her story... how true i also don't know but should also believe loh..

Remember we need to get 2 nuptial lamps? Some say switch it on for 12 days continously, some say switch it on from the moment the groom leave house till the next day then can switch off. Whatever it is, just remember to take very good care of the lamps. DOn't break it.

Her story was..
Few days after her wedding day (within the 12 days after her AD), she was cleaning the table and she accidentally dropped one of the nuptial lamps. It broke. Thus she threw it away. It signifies that bride and groom won't last long. By the way, she is in her late 50s early 60s. Her hubby had passed away more than 10 years ago already. When her kids are still schooling. Now her kids are already in their late 20s early 30s.

Another one on nuptial lamp...

Her cousin got married and on the actual day itself, her jiemeis actually went to the bridal room.. Too crowded, one of them actually knocked down the lamp. Her cousin knew it was not a good sign. She cried on her wedding day. Not long, she actually realised she had cancer after giving birth to her son. Her son was a toddler when she passed away. Her then husband went to remarry too.

So sad. Perhaps it is really coincidence? OR is it really link with the nuptial lamp as well. For me, i think i quite believe in what she says. So i hope all of us, pantang or not, just be super careful on your wedding day. Don't break anything at all.

hi aj wech,
it's great to know dat u have made such wonderful frens who can assist u despite u r overseas...must really thank them liao :P
sure, if i do know of places dat make gd kebaya will let u know, i do see some shops at katong shopping centres n heard dat there's some gd tailors ard dat vicinity but not too sure abt d details...perhaps u can chk out roxy sq too

mal,
hmm...mayb u can search for d JPs under d ROM thread cos i saw some feedback n recommendations abt d JPs...got prof yu, mrs chia, mr chan etc