(2008) Brides of year 2008

mavis_spy

Hi Jun,
I'm waitin for my EG fitting next month together then chose my WG. That' goes my planing...
Nov - gown fitting
Dec - print invitation cards
Jan - Photo shoot, chose picture...
Feb - Give out invitation card
An chuang & Guo Dai Li & food tasting
Mar - Relax and count down
Now i'm searching for VG & PG for my actual day. Oh... got to look see look see for my wedding shoes as well....

Anything that i miss out??? now i'm worry about my "an chuang & guo da lin" stuffs which my MIL and mum dunno abt anything... Plus both side are Hokkien... have to do alot of research!!!
NOt funny lor~~~
any suggestion???

tinkybell

Thanks Sue... yes yes yes, shopping in bangkok is indeed enjoyable, however my legs were aching at the end of each day... good that foot massage are readily available at every corner, and making the rite choice can be tough

ybbubippah

hi starry & buttercupz...u gers going for your fitting of ROM dress so soon? actually in my package, nothing much mentioned about the ROM part..except for free short gown..will that be tailored to fit us? how about th tea dress?

also if our AD is in Nov08, how come must book MUA so fast? I was told I could do it after my fitting in mar/apr 08!

oh no...mi getting veri confused...=p

aj_wech

Hello Ladies

My AD is 9th Oct next year.. i had my ROM may this year.. still working on venue and as for gowns rental etc, will work on it next year.. (think i still have time rite ? )

hi meiling, i was suppose to remove my wisdom tooth (decayed!) earlier this year, before CNY. i was in such horrible pain, that my head hurts and i cld not sleep at all ! But i was worried that if i remove it, i cannot eat all the good food during CNY. So i delayed it by opting for a root canal treatment instead. not any better.. the filling has came off totally now.. FH asked me dont be greedy already, better remove the wisdom tooth b4 i drag until next year..

btw.. i called up quite a few hotels in june this year and was surprise that some of them are already book for oct next year.. so all taken up by you ladies har ??

antakusuma

eh why u havent sleep ah BNL... notti notti...

the website not pro one la. its all in template, u just type in and put picture only. Why do after AD, u shd do before AD cos can RSVP online... can make announcement... can have virtual guestbook. now is a good time to sign up cos can post post-wedding pictures after tht and let the site go live for half a year more.

applemuffin

I have already went for my PS and food tasting.

Nov - collect wedding photos, do montage, look for AD photographer
Dec - print invitation cards, inserts, get guest book, unity candles, corsages, ang pow box, confirm church venue + floral decor
Jan - Give out invitation cards, confirm food menu, decor and favours with hotel
Feb - confirm guest list and RSVP + GDL
March - wedding rehearsal and relax

hope i didnt miss out anything too. heh.

princessxiaomei

Hello mentos

Hee.. yup.. quite fast hor.. next month gonna do first fitting already. Whole of Nov my hb won't be free except that one day. Actually he won't be free till next Mar? But last minute changes so we never change our fitting out dates. Anyway also good to be abit early. Next year he will have exams and projects to do early next year so might not be able to do loh. DOn't want to end up anyhow select. Hee...

Hmm.. nothing else leh.. now trying to search for songs and photos at the same time..

~sblbee~

polarwhite,
wah...u so lucky...uncle is a carpenter, can give u a gd deal liao

tinkybell,
u doing ur reno too? guz everyone's doing their reno nowadays...envy envy :p
thanks, im eating normal meals, juz dat i find it boring, hehe...yah lor, so sad leh, i spent so much time to queue up for d curry puffs den at d end only eat a few mouths

wah...how much weight u wana lose? dat time when we meet up, u seemed ok liao...i need to shed some weight too cos going for my 1st fitting in dec, scared my coordinator say i still d same :p

sue,
how's ur audit so far? hope everything's fine but im fine there shd b no prob or major finding one

yah lor, i feel like eating things dat ppl is eating n thinks everything tastes gd, so i do sneak a bite on d things smtimes den after dat complain my teeth painful :p

belinda,
i'll b using d grandballroom, wat abt u? if i didnt recall wrongly, shd b vanda ballroom isit?
i couldnt hit 40 tables for 18 oct 2008 so i gave up n took 17 oct 2008 instead...wonder wld i b able to find d couple whom took over frm me instead? hehe...den must demand a treat frm them liao *lol* :p

hi aj wech,
welcome *waves* yah lor, better remove earlier so u can look mei-mei n smile naturally...for me, now im toking in a funnie manner :p
hehe...it's like dat one, i oso started to call up d hotels in jun n many have got tentative bookings alrdy...u mean u choose 9 oct bcos all d dates at d hotels r fully booked? wah, so scary :p
btw, so wat have u settled so far? have u booked ur hotel, BS, VG, PG etc alrdy? do let me know so dat i can update for u ok?

sleepycat1

Removing my name from the list cos I have already collected from Stnov.
Thanks, Stnov!

Venue: Cafe Cartel (Marina Square)
Time: 10am (Breakfast)

Date: 20 Oct 07 (Sat)
1. stnov

Date: 27 Oct 07 (Sat)
1. stnov
2. Noreen
3. shirlaine
4. Mage
5. witch

lovebytemi

Hey anyone knows where to get a white umbrella with a brown stick kind? Is it inauspicious to use white umbrella in photos? Or is it just the black that I should be concerned about?

mentos

princess xiaomei: oh no wonder,now i'm eager to go down to choose my gown also. maybe i should give a ring to my co-ordinator soon. hee. espcially so after reviews that my BS has some very nice new gowns from the recent bridal show.

serlz

I had confirmed my hotel, bridal, VG and PG for AD. My plans are
Oct - First fitting
Nov - Last Fitting
Dec - Photo Shoot, food tasing
Jan - Printing invitation cards
Feb - Give out invitaion card, confirm guest list, shopping for shoes and wedding items
Mar - wedding rehearsal and relax

Actually most of them are more or less the same.

princessxiaomei

mentos~

Maybe end of the year already so more gowns coming in. As there are so many people getting married and there are so many wedding shows. Hehee. When is your an chuang date as your AD is beginning of lunar 8th mth? How about your GDL?

Actually are your pantang? Not going to do any preparation during lunar 7th mth and 3rd mth?

I am still thinking when do i need to give out my wedding cards. End July might be better as compared to early Sept as it will too late already. Sigh. Wonder how. Scare during July people might forget. Sept people might not be able make it as too last minute. *stress*

What's your dialect? Hb's dialect?

princessxiaomei

Oh yah, your an chuang will be done by who? My shifu mentioned to me to get a "lucky" woman else we 2 can do it ourselves. So i am thinking of doing it ourselves better, safer! >_<

During GDL, will both of you be around?

malchan

yozz polarwhite: can I have ya uncle's contact? But I won't be contacting him now. Most prob next year.

Hi aj wech, welcome on board..
I know most of the hotel for Oct are taken up liao. I wanted 18th Oct for Merchant court but has been taken up hence, had to settle for 11th Oct.

koyoyo

HI aj wech welcome to this thread,
In fact we only make up part of the oct bride in singapore but my advise is u better book fast.. sadly all singaporean are like subconsciously develope KS spirit if u dun KS u may end up disappointed n neeed to change ur date. I was suppose to be 11 oct bride, then to 18 oct then to 4th oct.. so hope u can gain some tip there. but i am gald to be oct bride . Made so many friends here. Need any tip just ask. someone here will ans u...

Tnikybell
Thailand seem fun.. i have a colleague just came back from bangkok. My last trip wasnt fun cos i almost "lost" my FILWs haha .. but i Love the Thai massage there hehe
hope i get to go there n shop til i drop again.
Ask u, if i dunno bargain does that mean i am gog to suffer big lost???

koyoyo

MEiling,
I am also a huge food lover. when u recover let go eat sometg nice n catch up with everyone..

Snowypooh if i ever got my flat will u intro your uncle to me? is his charges high? i blow my budget w VG again sigh....
faint liao getting panic button

SUe
Jia you on the audit.. when it over let have a nice chat over msn...
YES i am looking for job any lobang anyone??
I am hardworking haha

mentos

princessxiaomei,

Hmm.. Actually I'm not too good with the customs thingy =p Hmm dunno who will do the An chuang thing for me now yet. Haha .. My mum was saying the GDL might be on the 1st day of lunar august coz of the hungry ghost festival so I think my GDL and an chuang will be very rush. I'm not that pantang but then again wedding le. So whatever the old folks say, I'll just believe. Better be safe than sorry u know.

My invitation cards for friends and colleagues should be going out in July to avoid the lunar 7th month period, else wont have time to RSVP. For relatives will be on GDL day then will distribute with the xi bing.

Have u heard of Save the date cards? Send them in e-card form lor. Tt's wat I'm planning to do too

Both of us are Hokkien

princessxiaomei

mentos~ yours going out July still ok.. as yours is early sept.. mine is end sept leh.. i'm quite pantang but still have to obey the elders loh.. as usual..

What's save the date cards?

Anyway most of our relatives and friends will be aware of our customary date so anytime they recieve the card also not a problem right? Any idea where you want to get your xi bing?

~sblbee~

hi koyoyo,
yah lor, tis period is d worst period of my life, cant eat things dat i like to eat...super sian

hope to quickly recover n den can organise a makan session for all of u here

aj_wech

Thanks for the warm welcoming "WAVES" ladies..

well.. actually, we wanted to take may next year.. but the date for most venues (we wanted) was taken up. so then we ask the "fortune teller" for another auspicious date n we thot (at tt time) we should not have a problem with venue booking lor.. by end up still.. so oct 9th.. :p
wanted poolside at oriental, but taken up already.

my gf is helpg us to negoitate the terms n conditions with rasa sentosa now...

er.. wat is PG and VG ?

BS - bridal studio, we hvn't pick yet.. er. we still have plently of time right ?

Good day everyone...

hey need to choose special date to do the invites and xi bing ah?? we only chose the GDL date... and AD date... that's all... invites i guess 3 wks before start sending shd be ok right? cos prob before that wud have sent sms informing of the AD date liao (something like the save-the-date cards mentos tokking abt...)

~sblbee~

hi aj wech,
hi gd afternn...oic, wah...rasa sentosa seems to b a cool place for wedding
is it ex n d perks attractive? it's too far for me liao...PG is photography n VG is videography

buttercupz

Hi Blessings,
my fren was an ex-FB bride who had used jinyan. she recommend me to book her, so i kiasu faster "chope" her loh.
hope they rem my booking, will cx with them again on my next appt. i very kiasu hor? hahaha...
the contract is with my FH, i dun rem the contents. not gd one. smthing like 30pics + the cd, then 4 outfit for the FS. ROM &amp; WG is mtm. groom is OTR. what abt u?

Hi Starry,
i'm waiting for paulson to call me. he say will be end oct to early nov. quite worried how the dress will turn out.

Hi y|bbubippah,
our rom is in dec this yr mah, we're not early. when is ur ROM? tea dress is included for my AD. for the MUA, no need to chope so early, i kiasu mah.
what is ur package contents? maybe u hv a better deal like waht Blessings said???

lele31

I book my banquet on 28dec08 at Grand Copthorne waterfront....now i want to release...any DEC Bride interested? Quite a good deal but too bad ,my bf and i may postpone out wedding date....anyone interested may email me directly : [email protected]

princessxiaomei

hmm... my shifu gave me 3 dates and timings to follow... so i have them for AD , GDL and AC loh... i don't really understand what it save-the-date cards leh

mentos

Princessxiaomei: Yah, I think for relatives at least not so bad coz easier to contact and inform.

Save the date cards is a simple card with the wedding date and stuff. I attach sample for u to see. I intend to design and send before I send my invitation cards so that ppl dun forget. Custom says cannot send invites but never say cannot send e-cards during the 7th mth =p

For the Xi bing, I was telling my mum that maybe we get the vouchers by bangawan solo for them to redeem the cake themself. Coz for mine will be very tight. Less than 1 week for me to prep so vouchers is easier.
549628.jpg

Soyabeans: I heard from my mum that the invites by right can only go out after GDL. Xi bing is for close friends and relatives to go out with the invites one. I think it's the same date le. Correct me if I'm worng =p I'm really lousy athe the custom thingy. Oh btw we cant send the invites 3weeks before coz it will hit the lunar 7th month.

aj_wech

oh, we are having buffet dinner instead of sit down affairs... n then my mum goes, pay $, still dontt get to sit and walk ard on grass some more... hahahha!

how many weeks before hand should i book for the PG and VG ? dont they come as part of the package from BS ?

oh, we had just taken our wedding studio cum outdoor photots last weekend. (not from s'pore BS). but i will need to source for a BS in s'pore later, for gowns, makeup etc on AD.

hope u recover soon meiling...

earlier on, some of u mention tt u no longer dress when u go down to orchard n look like auntie or sloppy.. i even worse lor.. i like my hair short.. so i look like a boy esp with shorts n baggy t-shirts.. we always laugh tt we look like gay couple together..

~sblbee~

aj wech,
wah...it's so cool dat ur mum actually agrees to tis, for my mum im sure she'll nag n scold me like crazy lor, scared wait my relatives dun like etc :p
i think u shd bk ur AD PG n VG at least 3-6 mths b4 ur AD esp if they r popular n if ur AD date is hot

wah...where did u take ur BS? some of my colleagues went to JB, got gd deals but i didnt cos it's a bit troublesome for me to travel as i dun have a car :p
thanks, i hope i can recover soon too den can meet up wif u gals n have a big feast liao

u got short hair? wah...so cool, u got msn or multiply?

princessxiaomei

mentos~ thanks.. so nice of you to tell me in detail.. hahaa.. ya loh.. FIL say cannot do.. so whole of August i sit back and relax and shake my leg... hahaha... Jul i rush like siao loh.. sept also rush loh... btw how to do this??

<font color="0077aa">Hi Buttercupz,

Mine is 1 MTM and 1 OTR either EG or WG. Deduct $100 if both is OTR.

30pc 12 x 15 full page with return CD-ROM,

24 x 30 canvas,

5R 30pc niang jia ben as similar to the big album,

60 pcs 4R,

Diver with Benz on AD,

2 makeup on AD

5 outifts for PS,

2 Groom's suit with 2 OTR pants,

8 corsages with car decor flowers, 6 accompanying car decor

1 bestman jacket with 1 bridemaid's dress

1 bouquet for PS with 2 - 3 location including transport,

1 ROM set with ROM dress, jacket, makeup, bouquet

1 Tea dress for AD...

Think abt like that ba...was hearing their EG is not that fantastic as compared to WG. Already bought one of my EG le...now thinking if should I forgo their EG and tea dress and get my own outside.

En...you chop Jinyan via phone? Think it's better for you to pop down and see your own invoice. AFterall, this period of time very busy for time...they might forget to finalize your chopping. My humble suggestion hee </font>

ling27

My BS told me i can fix an appt with them next month for my first fitting.. She say I can take PS either in dec or jan.. but i'm worried about rainy season.. any comments?

bubbleluv

Hi Mentos,
my co-ordinator is dephanie. she say usually need go down a few times then can find our ideal gown... tat y say will contact me next mth. mine is both OTR unless i can't really find any ideal one, will MTM.

blooms

hi ybbubippah, dun be confused. i am gng for rom dress selection so soon, cos my rom is in dec..its considered late oredi..haha. when is urs?

girl_next_door

Hi Eve,

Thanks for the recommendation, might go down to have a look one of these weekends. Do the rest of the curtain shops in JB also cater to Singaporeans?

girl_next_door

Hi Kymmie,

Are you referring to those victorian style umbrellas? I was previously toying with the idea of using one of those umbrella for photoshoot too but didnt use it in the end. You might want to try sourcing for it on ebay as I saw many nice ones at the website.

~sblbee~

hi uksportgal,
congrats! welcome to d oct 2008 btb thread!
saw ur beautiful pics as well, wah u took ur PS so fast...hehe...really ahead than any of us here

mentos

princessxiaomei: U're welcome but I din do this la, just extract it off the net I tried doing a few with photoshop. Aiyah but I think wont shake leg one. Wedding got so many things to do, still other things like food tasting, selecting of wedding favours and last few rounds of fitting and maybe photo montage ba.

bubbleluv: =p I think I better call them also liao .. Haha . My WG is also OTR. EG is MTM, maybe that's y lor. But I'm eager to see the WG from the wedding show last sunday

apple_gal

Hi, Selina

I also just fix an appointment with my BS on 18th Nov for the 1st fitting. On Jan 15 will be have photoshoot, kind of worried as it is rainy season. Nowadays, weather is unpreditable.
But if dun choose on Jan will have to wait after chinese new year.
My friend had advise me to take early PS ard Jan or early Feb. Cos BS will only show us the printing after PS + editing may take up to 3 months. If do not want to rush, better have early PS. My friend unable to get the album on time even she have PS 3 months before AD. She kind of regret.

princessxiaomei

mentos~ hahahaa... ya loh... maybe can do food tasting since it is just eating.. hb that day was saying you mean 7th lunar mth cannot eat ah.... hahahaha....

ling27

Yeah i also think that the weather is very unpredictable nowadays... i really love to have outdoor photoshoot with the sea and sun as background..
My BS coordinator told me that it will not rain everyday and at all places.. but there is still a risk factor.. if i rem correctly mid dec to early Jan will have the highest amt of rainfall..
My BS also told me that to give them 3 months to get the album ready (after layout, selection and print). Counting back, PS has to be taken by Feb for a comfortable timeline.