(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hello ladies! It's been a while! I had a wacky weekend! Went for the Fireworks Festival on Friday night and that was fun. Then Saturday was a day trip to KL. That was the wildest part. My fiance and I actually drove 3hrs just to find the Transformers limited edition Nike shoe! He couldn't believe we were gung-ho enough to do it. Hehehe... Partly I really wanted to do an F1 on the NS Highway again... Pity we couldn't find the toy. I saw Amazon has it, but might need to ask a friend to help out cos they don't allow intl shipping for this product!!!

Anyway... us_mei - I took 2 pics of PJ when I was there last mth. I can send it to you. The forum says my pic is too big for posting. And T Dragon cards is the company that PJ engages to provide you with wedding invites. Here's their website - www.tdragoncards.com.

Stef - it's not too early to book your BS. My fiance and I like to do things by "feel". We're not overly concerned abt the sequence. So if you feel that particular studio is giving you what you want and is within budget, why not?

Cupcakes - here's what I saw on another thread. Best thing - it's halal so my muslim friends can enjoy it too. http://simplycupcakes.multiply.com. Price I'm budgeting between $300-400 for 200pcs. There's a cheaper one here (http://www.cupcakedivinity.blogspot.com) but not sure if she does those beautiful cupcake setup like the Malay lady. I'm inclined to think Simply Cupcakes would be more delice.

I decided not to go for MTM cos I don't know what I'd really want from scratch so I find it easier to take OTR.

Oh... I've got an update on my overseas work position. The draft proposal is out and it's 2 pages??!!!! And they don't even mention about medical insurance! Now's 2008 budget planning time in my office so my big boss said - take your time. There's gonna be some delay. I'm just wondering... What does that mean again?

Sorry for the long post tho... =P

Hi tiffy,
wow with so many tables, tink u can slowly check the hotels liao coz i tink they will be beri glad to hold your wedding..tink the revenue they gg to earn..but on th other hand not many hotels have such a ballroom to hold that number of tables..so i tink u better call a few preferred hotels to check it out...

Hi nicole,
i don't tink is too early to book leh..coz my date is an auspicious one as listed by quite a number of hotels hence quite a few of them have been booked or tetantive booked by many hotels liao..so if yours is also an auspicious date then i would advice you to probably check out how many tables you want and from there see which hotels fit ur bill...=)

hehs..
s'rene.. no prob abt the long post. keke.. its gd to have updates from u...

and wohs..... sounds like a really interesting day trip to kL. haha... but well... i guess if u do see it on amazon.. u can try out Vpost's courier service too.. they do shipping frm US. so ya.. do chk dat out. keke...

anyhows, sorry ah.. abit of a miscomm.... the BS.. i have oredi signed up. i went down to take a look at gowns dat day and oredi saw a couple dat i like.. and was wondering if it was too early to sorta 'chop' the gowns. haha... =P
me and my FH also likes to just decide when we have the gut feeling to do so.. keke.. so ya.. but , i am jus worried the fashion will be outdated.. but i doubt so la... for gowns... unless its really a special design for this year.. else, the usual styles shld be fine. hehe..

Hi Stef.... Oh yah... You're with French Bridal huh... I think unless you're into some really trendy stuff, I reckon gown designs shd be pretty classic.

I've been thinking... Usually men serenade the women, but I'm considering serenading my FH with a song during the 2nd march in. Was thinking of singing to The Carpenters' "We've Only Just Begun", and as I sing we make our way down the aisle again.

What does everyone here think?

Haiz, not to talk abt proposal, now his parent object abt our us getting such a big hse, EA. We abt to collect keys le...then his parents think we cannot afford. So stress and fan over this.........not to even think abt proposal...

Strawberry, what is this table that you are updating???? Its interesting to see how many people have chosen 7 Sept 2008. I have also chosen that date. Is there any significance in your table?

hi flora_bliss,
u r considered lucky leh, i got 4500+ leh, no chance liao...at least ur stand a better chance than my sec sch fren who got 1200+....u got a better chance but given the no. of chinese quota, can forget abt it liao....so few units left
gd luck n hope u can get a unit of ur choice
i may b looking into a resale if i stil cant get by early nxt yr :P

hi naivesg,
hmm...his parents object? y? if u 2 have decided to go ahead, surely u 2 r confident abt maintaining the EA...perhaps u can get ur FH to work thru the finance bit wif his parents n assure them dat both of u can afford...dun worry, it can b solved one

hi pinky, xin & sleepydopeey.. thats y i tot of separating the relatives & frens lor.. if not huh.. the moment the banquet start..I have to start going around tables to take pic liao leh.. hahahahah...

Just back from a wild blitz of travelling as usual.

I think only us locals are having headaches over getting a small little (compare to what we can get overseas with the same pricing) government housing!!

Partner and I have been shopping around for The Ring :p

wow...everyone is buying house...so cool!!

since my FH and i arent settling down in sg, not getting a place here...
so, 1 less stress ....hehe...

trip to korea was ok....spent a couple of days hiking, another day in the mueseum...hardly did any shopping....shops close sooo early!!!
by the time i return from the mountains, all the shops closed liao!!! heheh

nelle,
where did ya go?

meiling,
school trip?
sounds good!!!
plus so many places..... quick, upload!! hehe...

Hi Junjun

Think you must be looking forward to your happy day. For me, very simple. Pre wedding photo shoots that all. No storyline for PS. MY FH also dun wan cos we both wan as simple as possible.

I cannot even go into the website, even using another server also cannot... how to apply.... haiz.... sad....
Hmm... actually, maybe naivesg, you can sit down with SO, calculate ur finances together and reach a conclusion to see if can really afford it? If after calculating,confirm can, then at least both u and SO have a common understanding and ground to fight on mar....

Meiling, if you are looking at resale, best to start now.... I started my search for resale the same time as I go for the HDB WIS...
Our mindset at that time is that at least we have time on our side and can choose the ones that we can afford and like....

If we can manage to get the WIS, we will go for it, if not, at least we already know the resale market and know what we really want....

In the end, we didnt get a fantastic number and didn't get the WIS... but during that time when we realised that the flats that we wanted for WIS are no longer available, we continued our resale search and found our flat....

It took time to find really serious sellers and not those who are trying to make money.... so I told my friends who are losing hope in the WIS, go and look at the resale market together... do both together slowly......

nec, it's just for work so it's tiring and boring. Cramming business meetings with clients in diff parts of Jakarta and Bangkok from last fri till yesterday noon. So shopping for the ring is refreshing even if it is only a 1-2 hours.

If I may ask, where will you be settling down?

hi nelle,
have u found ur RING yet? where did u get it?

hi nec,
have uploaded some pics liao, mainly d scenes frm d rd n historical sites, have taken out d sch visit ones...u can go n take a look. wah, so cool...u intend to buy a hse overseas? where? r u or ur fh posted overseas to work?

wah....korea seems nice leh frm d tv documentaries dat i watched...hope to go there someday soon...*must go n hint my fh*

hi mindy,
hmm...yah im starting to keep a lookout now, if not duno when den can get a flat at tis rate... hopefully it wont b too ex, cos i dun think i can afford to pay $400-500K for a flat rite now. must start flipping thru d newspapers diligently frm now on...

MeiLinG, I didn't see wnything that is calling out "Buy Me Buy Me!!". Maybe except the 5 figure sum ones. hahahahah....

Don't forget, the resale flats are now very expensive due to the upfront cash that the sellers are asking. The market rate is about $20k cash onwards.

Stnov,

her multiply is angelchua
i think she is able to sell in per bottle...hope i din read wrongly...=p
if u want can check it out... =)

nelle, wah...u got expensive taste...i can't afford such luxury item at tis pt of time

d cash upfront is oso d reason im delaying d option of purchasing resale flat, wld prefer to use my cpf to pay...

chumint: Same date also

fruitchick: Like what winniethepooh07 had explained. It's a table with all the details of the weddings for us Sep 08 brides. The thread will be getting longer everyday. A table will be easier to refer at a glance instead of sifting through every page

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick </TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS </TD><TD>PG </TD><TD>VG </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD> green</TD><TD>01Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Seacool</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Daphne Wong</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>jess_liang</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>mentos</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>FRH</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>wongfam</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>d0lphin</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Winniethepooh</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Crown</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Groombride</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel</TD><TD> Volan Couture</TD><TD> Volan Couture</TD><TD> Arteliex</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>babyxanne</TD><TD>13Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>truefaith</TD><TD> 14Sep08</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>peach</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Mandarin</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>xiaolubao</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>dannybo</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>Santiago</TD><TD>Albert-Everafter</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Gina Ng</TD><TD>20Sep08</TD><TD>NCQ</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>Visioworkz</TD><TD>Visioworkz</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Sweetbeng</TD><TD>21Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>MrsYap</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD> Marriott </TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>teekel</TD><TD>26Sep08</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>vangiepooh</TD><TD>19Sep08</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>tlisa</TD><TD>14Sep08</TD><TD>FRH</TD><TD>PMM Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>chumint</TD><TD>07Sep08</TD><TD>FCC</TD><TD>Bliss Bridal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>fruitchick</TD><TD>07Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I got expensive taste...but my partner's bank account cannot match. haha...
I will have to settle for a itsy bitsy teeny weeny carbon.

Now that HDB is giving first timers' priority, you may have much better chance.
I am going through the purchase of a small 3 room resale extremely old flat. Cos got en-bloc opportunity and also no need loan as we have enough cpf for it to be fully paid.

okay ladies... I tried to load some pictures of my home in mutiply but seems that I am not well versed in it... haiz...
Let me go work it out first... Now all the photos like so messy... haha....
Meiling, really got to be hardworking... but we were lucky... my agent brought us to less than 10 flats and we made our decision and best, she neg for us the COV to only 5k...
Originally, the EX Owners were asking for 17k COV.... and she talked them out of it....
HDB giving priority but it do not apply to WIS... only apply to Balloting and BTO... which to me, pretty useless cos I was only interested in WIS....

nelle,
i can't afford to have expensive taste...have to curb myself and turn off any blinkers if i see a nice ring...since i've gotten my ring already, have to tell myself it's d BEST ring n d BEST deal i could ever have...even though i know it's a lie...hehe...
im looking for 5-flat or exe in AMK, Bishan, Toa Payoh, Hougang or Seng Kang area...but must find an ideal unit b4 i make any rash decision, which im fond of making everytime :P

hi mindy,
have invited u too. hope to see ur pretty pics in multiply soon...

i'll try my luck n flip thru the newspapers to see if i can find any units of my preference, will keep u posted.

snowypooh,
where have u been? never see u on msn today...

MeiLinG, it is the Only Ring that is meant for you then. Afterall, it is just a representation.

The areas you mention are very expensive. I have been staying in AMK all of my life (and still is!) so I love the town. But it is getting to be inconvenient for me and partner as we both work in town and the CTE is horrendous, not to mention the charges. So we purchase a place at aljunied/macpherson area (to get a close to parents' grant as well).

nelle,
yah, i'll be content wif wat i've, a tiny stone means mths of slogging for my fh...so i must be satisfied...but he promised to compensate me in 2 yrs' time

my fh lives in amk and i live in serangoon so i'll prefer to stay ard d nth-east area
oh, r there any flats ard macpherson/aljunied? i know there's aljunied, geylang east, macpherson, joo seng estate but most r q old...where r u looking at?

Small world. I stay near the swimming pool.
We are going through the purchase procedure of a flat at circuit rd. The upfront cash is about $8k.

nelle,
my fh lives ard Blk 12x, hehe...im in serangoon nth....oh, circuit rd? i think i know roughly where is it...do share wif us d pics of ur flat when u have it ok? i heard dat d flats there r q big rite?

Sigh... that is When the purchase is through.
The seller passed away before the 1st appt, so we have to wait for some proceedings to be over. It will take another 6 to 8 months before we can move in.

Hey gals...

anyone planning to buy fake eyelashes? or are you all getting from your MUA on that day? My MUA charges me $15 for a pair. I see from some MUA website tat it cost bout $5-7 a pair... hmmm... just wondering...

Oh, I went noble house for wedding dinner before. I liked it more than Ritz... haha...
But my SO insisted on no restaurants and only hotels allowed so I didn't book mine there....

haha.... you both looking at good areas....
My new home is in woodlands... haha... no choice, my SO parents live in woodlands and my own parents live in bukit panjang...
Compare bukit panjang and woodlands, I decide to take woodlands... cos my own parents in China retirement mar... so no point for me to move to bukit panjang....
Talking about rings, I have yet to get my wedding band... haha... wait till SO got his year end bonus then we go buy... hehe.... "evil grin" haha....

Woodlands is a nice place. The units there should be very big, other than the location, it is good value.
Mindy, when will you get the keys?

I got my keys le.... yup... very big.... my area is 133 sqm... I am already getting a headache on the cleaning up... haiz.....
haha... I only wanted to stay near parents so I only have a choice of woodlands.... Though SO actually suggested to look for elsewhere if I like but well, I am thinking that in the future, if have kids, can have people to help out mar....

antakusuma stella 03 May Four Seasons Sattine Gabriel Mendes

d-duchess 07 May

Joy 10 May Roland Restaurant Isac(JB)

Juli Chua 12 May

Colt_26 15 May Marina Mandarin Sophia

Crispy 17 May Merchant Court

Minn 17 May Traders Hotel

luv_ichigo 17 May Golden Horse

Onglaikui 18 May

so_blur 24 May Raffles Town Club Divine couture Chris Ling

Josephine 24 May Bridal Zone

1192001 24 May

ber80 24 May Orchard Hotel Sophia

liquidskye 25 May

Jennifer 25 May

teo&amp;co 25 May Grand Copthorne French Bridal

mabel_choong 28 May Precious Moment

hee.. no lar.. just thought it'll be easier to see.. but i goon doo leh.. dunno how to put a table here..

anybody knows can teach me k? And if u wanna amend or update details, let me know.

hi nicole, i also don't think it's early. I never intended to book this early too. I thought end of this year will be ok. But when i started checking out hotels, i realised that the week we wanted already taken up, so i quickly booked the weekend earlier. so at least look now and ask now to know whether the venue you want is still available. I find the cheaper or mid-range ones get snapped up especially fast.

and hi pinky81, i also didn't expect myself to book my BS so early. Just turned out that when i started hunting, i saw a gown i really love, so quickly "chope" loh. As for photographer, i just thought if people can book their hotels so early in advance, i had better start booking the better phtotographers real soon too!

now nothing to do already leh... ha ha. Have to wait for soooo long before i can go to my BS to do look at my darling gown again. sigh!

Hi Lisa,

I booked the hotel in this april at their wedding show. Perks quite gd so mai tu liao, book lor...

Strawberry >>> thanks for your effort in tabulating the table. ^-^