(2008) Brides of year 2008

Raffles the Plaza only got perks for this year's wedding, although I actually signed during their wedding bash this year. Ya.. preferred to get the date I want instead of waiting later..

Jacq, Ted Wu gown need to buy rather than rent..

Hi stef,

I've visited Techman...

Their candles range frm $90 - $100+ (even tough on 30% disc). Designs are ok.

I also went web surfing to look around. Mostly overseas website has nicer designs, but then gotta pay for shipping & all. Those designs that I saw on yahoo auction is rather similiar to those overseas ones. Maybe you would like to chk it out.

They even custom make...

Hi us_mei, my position (if I take it up) will be in Seattle, WA. Apart from the home of Starbucks Coffee, I'm clueless abt this place. I spent 4 yrs overseas studying/working in Melbourne before coming back to SG. Fiance's been very supportive thru'out. The position will be given to someone else if I choose not to take up and will not affect my current position. Anyway, I told my big boss I want to see the offer package before I make a final decision. As much as I hate to be apart from him again, I'm just a sucker for overseas postings cos I like to experience new cultures.

The budget spreadsheet sure is helpful. I've just started a very basic P&L type, so I'll transfer the expenditure over to this one soon.

Just to add onto the list of July wedding babes:

S'rene - 19 July 2008/ Peony Jade Restaurant /Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)

(p/s: Novotel Clarke Quay's gonna hv their wedding show on 1 Sep. UOB cardholders get free entry as long as they register. Lemme know if anyone of you would like the registration form)

Morning everyone, yesterday went down to BC to select my gowns. Manage to select my WG, CS and EG. But I will re-select my EG, although is something different but seems like it looks weird on me and my friends says not nice.

Hehe, still feeling pretty excited. Din actually slept well. =P

Those who are interested to view the pic, can add my multiply id: hoxinyi

wow, haven't log in to this forum for quite a while....more and more 7 dec 08 brides joining in already...we shld start a new thread man!!...

karen...you also looking for JB bridal shops? I can recommend you SG bridal. I signed up mine package with them last dec. A bit kiasu rite. haahaa. But i find it quite affordable, just tat you have to travel to and fro to JB. The BS staff told us that need at least 6 mths for them to complete the album...(which is the best timing for them.

i took up their basic package at $2145

1 OTR Wedding Gown (for AD)
1 OTR Evening Gown (for AD)
1 OTR Tea Dress (for AD)
2 OTR Groom Suit (for AD)
2 Fathers' jacket
5 sets of gowns for PS
Outdoor location (unlimited)
fresh bouquet (for AD & PS)
Accessories (for AD & PS)
Makeup for Trial, PS & AD (Day & Night)
Bridal car & bridemaid cars decor
6 Bridal corsages
20 pcs 15x12 photos
24 pcs of 4R photos (4poses)
1 mini album

Hmmm, that's what i remember

Hi winniethepooh07~ my package with whitelink is $3988. I have 1 MTM WG, 1 MTM EG, 1 OTR tea dress, 1 OTR & 1 MTM suit for hubby, 2 daddy jackets, 40+ photos, 3-i-1 photo frame (can't rmb what size), bridal car + deco + driver, 5 outfits for PS.. something like that loh.. =)

Hi Gina~ You've got mail! My ROM photos are taken by my sisters so it looked just normal kind not professional.. and i really look fat and ugly.. don't like my ROM photos loh.. sob sob..

hi antakusuma,i have booked my banquet and bs already which is grand copthorne and bliss bridal creations....you leh?

hi liquidskye,same same...mine also 25th...how's ur preparation?

Mindy,
i got my flat too! My AD is next year Dec 2007. i got my keys last month. Where is your flat location?

Ya i agree ballotting is as difficult as winning a lottery ticket. I applied for Redhill and Bedok, as a first timer applicant, i got rejectd in both locations.

hi girls...
greetings from seoul...
meiling....catch up with you about india later...

know any good skin care i can find only in seoul???

ciao....

ok gals..my turn

(sorry for missing in action.. had taken kinda of a long weekend.)

berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / nothing on bridal shop yet

Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / nothing on bridal shop yet

Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal

keke.......
thanks Jule! keke.. i've put it in order of dates... so ... so far, we've got S'rene 1st on the line! =)

hey, berry_egg .. you've got same AD as me. heh.. do u noe if it is a gd date? coz we are not superstitious and therefore, did not let my future in-laws to go pray and ask for date. i chose my own... hee... so am not sure if it is supposedly a gd date.. but seems , i oredi noe quite afew couples with the same date! keke =)

Hi Stef,

we went to the fengshui master for the good dates in july based on our chinese birthdates. but i suppose there are just this few auspicious weekends for wedding in july. and it doesn't clash with our birthdates.

so yeah.... it's a good date.

hi lizzy bride, thx for e recommendation. went to take a look.. but was attracted by venus and santiago... sigh.. anyway still got time. so mb wait till their bridal show and see what else they can offer.

nebear, great idea. perhaps we might find not only same day brides but same venue and BS as well.. thats so cool...

heh, sorry MIA for awhile.

S'rene: Seattle's a nice place. Weather's good. Like it better than some of the places I've been to in US. My SO worked there for 2 summers (as in summer internship) and I visited him both times. I have friends there if you'd ever need help. Hee.

Ai, I went to try on more wedding gowns over the weekend. I can't decide on any yet - so nice, all of them! Keke. Well, managed to *kinda* shortlist down to 4. I like the A-line traditional dressed but my SO like me in the mermaid/trumpet designs - even the shop person say i look sexy. Haha. Dunno if I shld put it up and ask friends to 'vote'/comment. Thing is, my SO hasn't planned the proposal part & moi jumped ahead and now preparing wedding plans. Haha!
So basically, all of you know more than anyone else!

Tentatively, the date in *my* mind is June 7 and July 6. Both 'coz most likely having a very simple & small recep here (SO's parents coming for his graduation) and then go back SG for another recep + dinner (gonna be totally BROKE!! imagine air tickets alone!!) June 7 reads 060708 in US (the mth comes first) and July 6 reads 060708 in SG. I didn't check for auspicious dates so I have no idea if it's good. Haha! Oops!

Hi Mabel,

Sorry for the late reply. Been quite busy, as usual.
My AD is on 12 May. I think its a few days after yours. Dinner is at Marriot.

Initially we wanted a simple one without the dinner too but our parents would prefer to have one, so we gave in to make them happy...

Would you be able to share your PMB package details with me? So far I only had time to visit Milan, Sattine and My Bridal Room. Cant really make up my mind yet.

Hi Jennifer, is bliss bridal creations the one at Bugis?

Hi LoveTheSea,

It will definitely be cheaper if you get plain candles and use flowers/ribbons to dress it up. You can buy the plain candles from Ikea. You can decorate the candles yourself or ask the florist who is decorating ur church venue to help u with it.

Lovethesea: I went to look at the unity candle yahoo auction webby and think (IMHO) that it's just a normal looking white candle with a ribbon (which you could easily add yourself) or some flowers. Are the overseas ones you were looking at, cheaper & better?

Fifi,

I'm looking at bukit merah area which 80% of the 6000 applicants are eyeing too.

Chances are low so told my FH to just apply and see if we have the luck.

Oh, just to check if anyone has any idea where i can rent Madza CX7? We are considering changing our wedding car to SUV instead of luxury sedan..

Hi serlz,
I took his MTM package... have not gone for my gown design...If u see some of the ex SL brides photos who took CS, quite nice but depends on what kind of CS u want. When are u going down?

haha... so many people looking at sattine ar? then maybe we may get to meet each other in the BS...
My silly SO, sattine called him up to arrange appointment... he told them, no need lar...
Then he told them we nt year then AD mar....
he forgot that we are also using their services for our ROM in Jan 08... faintz... now i got to call them again... haiz....

i'm back....think i won't be able to get a flat from this WIS exercise....chances r v slim. regret not going for my WIS selection in jun

hi snowypooh, mindy n nec,
yes, i've been to the places i've mentioned but i guz taking photos at some places will b tough, lotsa walking to do n the roads r not exactly clean (the kids n ppl will crowd ard u to sell u things). i'll share my pics with u gals when i finished loading them...too busy unpacking yest so no time

Hi winniethepooh,

My package with white link is $3688. It is similar to what Mrs yap has taken. MTM WG and EG etc.. But i only have 30+ photos (18R)with a minialbum and i have 6 outfits for my PS. My ROM dress, makeup, hairdo and hand bouquet are also included..

Mrs Yap,

Your ROM photos are very nice.. And you are slim and pretty lor not fat and ugly.. Btw did white link provide the hair-do for you? It looks a bit simple.. Are we allow to tell them what hair style we want? Hee.. You manage to get 40+ photos from WL ar.. So good.. I kept asking them to give me more they say it is the maximum le.. Maybe because they give me discount for the package already..

Wah. The hdb price went up by 50K you know.

Anyway, I don't think 80% of the applicants are eyeing bukit merah. The units available have flaws which many people cannot accept.

All the best. Just ballot first & pray hard. If you get a good queue number and is considering the flats at Redhill, let me know. I can help give some pointers on the available flats.

Nickname / Name / email / Qty (btls) / Type
1. Stnov / Serene / 5 btls / Collagen
2. Sleepycat/ Geraldine/ [email protected]/ 5 btls/ Hydration
3. Mage / Angeline / [email protected] / 2 btls/hydration / 2 btls/purifying
4. Jojo/ Jo/ [email protected]/ 5 btls / Hydration
5. Ashley / [email protected] / 3 btls / Hydration
6. Noreen / [email protected] / 3 btls
7. Lovebytemi/kymmie/[email protected]/6 btls/hydration - expiry 2009 please
8. Muddpie / [email protected] / 3 btls / hydration / 2 btls scar or whitening

Didn't partcipate in this forum for a very long time and discover this thread is so active!

May I ask if anyone has any suggestions for a wedding lunch/dinner in chinese restaurants? Weddings held in hotel ballrooms are overpriced (to me) and no guests seem to remember the weddings they attended anyway...unless there are lots of dancing/hilarious scenarios/guests participation.

Apologies if this questions has been posted in this thread before and I didn't read.

Hi De_princess

I met him last Sat to design my gowns but had to arrange to meet him again this week due to some last min changes in the design. I didnt really see the CS that Jit made.

Do you have any photos of Jit's design to share with me?

hi nelle,
some of my friends advised me to hold my wedding at a restaurant as the food tastes better and it's cheaper but my mum n FH dun like the idea so we had to drop it. i heard noble house, tung lok, peony jade and qianxi is not bad...perhaps you can consider...

Hi Nelle, many Chinese restaurants are having wedding march-in with dry ice, champagne tower & mock-up cake just like hotel's. Some of their setting are also similar to hotel's. They're relatively cheaper compared to hotels.
Qianxi (includes QianXi, Bliss Garden & Hilltop)>>> http://www.qianxi.com.sg/

Starling Group of restaurants (includes Dragon Gate, Orient Ocean, River City & 88 Restaurant) >>>
http://www.odsn.com.sg/index1.htm

Hi ^MeiLinG5^

Thanks. Of course, the angpow may be smaller for restaurants (haha!) My partner and I kind of , um, disregard how people think of us so we feel well as long as the old folks are happy and friends (who matter to us) have good food to eat and drink, we'll go with that.

After all, the life after marriage is what matters most.

Nelle, sentiments alike. We'll be holding our AD banquet in restaurant instead as we value the quality of food more than the free night's stay in bridal suite. Haha...

Yah nelle,
I agree with snowypooh...no problem, it's just our opinion, or you can opt for cheaper hotels like furama city etc. most people tell me that what matters is the couple and the ocaasion, not the food and hotel etc...regardless of venue and food, they'll still grace your wedding....

Saw Peony Jade website, looks good.
Thanks, ladies.

There's still alot of things to do. The ring (which I insist on choosing it myself), the house, other stuff and all. Somemore I really need to tone up my arms and go for facials.