(2008) Brides of year 2008

oooh...now i've got it...

thanks valerie...

and big thanks to carowl too, for taking the trouble to upload everything and sharing with us all.

thank you!!!! :D

Hi Valerie,

You can apply for the flat under Fiance/Fiancee scheme.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10201p.nsf/WPDis/Buying%20A%20New%20HDB%20Flat%20(e-Sales)Policies%20-%20Eligibility%20Conditions%20-%20Fiance/Fiancee%20Scheme?OpenDocument

Although the website stated 3 months you can appeal for it. This is what the guy who handle our application told us. If you are not sure just call up HDB, they will be able to advise you. But I don't think its going to be a problem since you are planning for 2008 wedding. Its not easy to get a ideal unit especially if you are waiting for HDB to release new flats.

oops nec so paiseh :p cz i din realise dat i put the @ sign instead of the '.' so paiseh ....
dun mention it since all of us r preparing to wed next yr...

valerie, if u wan to shop for ur BS, i wud advise u to go wif ur gfs esp ex-brides as they will noe wat to expect frm a basic package...dun b like mi who din plan n sign on the spot..wahaha...aft u haz shortlisted a few, bring ur bf along n show him den ask him to pay..hehehe...

hi josey

yup i've juz spoken to my FH, he said when he's back from his biz trip, we will go down to HDB to take a look and ask questions

ya lor.. its not easy.. now we see flats coming up but cannot apply. so sian. last mth i saw redhill leh.. level 19 and level 26.. so high.. wad i wanted.

no prob nec

carowl: i don have ex bride gfs leh.. tats why i come here ma.. hehe. any of u experienced one, can accompany me go?? hehe

got it off a website, which i can't seem to trace at the moment, but you can right click the pic and save it for your own use too

Can add me too... [email protected]

HI Muddpie,

My AD is 27th Jan... and probably would be going to choose my ROM gown and Photoshoot gowns next Sat. I was told it'll take almost one full day... when the first time i tried a gown, my FH was the one who was very moved + emotional + excited....

And wow you girls are preparing for grand solomenization ceremonies... I had suggested to my FH before and he was kinda like surprise that if there is ever such a need... he said just do in ROM will do... cheaper...
got to save $$ to build the love-nest too... He doesn't have much saving...

morning..!!

my fren got theirs at redhill.. the block opp the mrt station.. but the layout of the house quite odd & space quite little.. very diff to plan.. den now the house almost ready le.. look even smaller..

s'pore flyer is just for the novelty sake lor.. no need to entertain.. tat's the best.. *lol* but very expensive, so we giving up the idea le..

actually hor.. oriental is good.. just must double & triple make sure that their service is there.. conrad nice too.. just a tad bit ex.. hubby like four seasons.. marriott, grand copthorne waterfront, m hotel, meritus mandarin not bad too.. hahaa.. tat seems quite a bit le hor..

for santiago, my fren took the package which includes ROM.. which was last oct.. so apparently they promised a little too much on the ROM tea dress.. it came out not quite wat she wanted.. so make do lah, nvm.. so during the first fitting we were there with her, the designer obviously don't like ppl giving comments.. he gave her a very white makeup with a very off orangey lipstick.. which she dun like at all & insisted on changing.. then the cancan was too much (so puffed up!), and he very reluctantly & unwillingly (after much discussion) removed one layer.. den he insisted on putting some ribbon detail on the top, which became too much details & confused the dress.. he was unhappy again, den started sms-ing & tokking on hp after tat.. he din add in the end lah.. yah lor.. den her AD is this oct.. so she waiting to see of it's still the same person (might change sometimes) & if they will be "friendlier" this time.. and they also haven call her up though it's this oct le..

apparently J&C is not bad lah.. colleague liked them..

hmm.. people, any comments on chijmes? food, service, venue, anything? any ideas on a more "off-normal" venue"

hello!!

oohh.. four seasons have bigger ballrooms.. just whether available anot le lor.. simhl, you thinking of holding dinner or ROM at equinox? will send you in a while.. four seasons.. me considering too! hahaa.. can i see your pics too?

janice, your new place at jurong west? mine too.. new neighbour!! where you staying? i'm at blk 613..
wow.. 70 tables.. tat's really a lot.. out of curiousity.. will your dad take his share for his clients in the banquet cost? cos we told our parents, tat if they wanna invite their clients/partners/friends that are out of our own list, they have to put in their share of the total.. cos if not it's too much for the couple le.. tried shang? not bad lah..

maybe we should go visit shows together.. cos my hubby dun like, and wun go with me one.. he said i'm the research.. so i told him tat's he's the accounts payable then.. *lol*

eh valerie.. if really both on 21 jun then it'll be quite fun! hehee.. can plan together even.. my friend can't do hers next year.. have to be this year, and have to be 17 nov.. sigh.. all the MIL-DIL probs surfacing le..

hey valerie.. wanna go together?? heheee..

BS shopping trip!
husbands are "accounts-payable".. we are the R&D..

hi vivienne

added u liao

wow u're still awake at 331am! not tired, no need to sleep ar? keke

hmm if ur FH not much savings, then do a simple but memorable one lor.. ya love nest is impt but let him understand that wedding also impt, its once in a lifetime event. and its especially more impt to gals then to guys. hmm care to share what is ur plan for ur AD? planning for banquet or juz rom? if its juz rom, then do a grand one.. if have banquet, then do a simpler rom so that it'll be more balanced. (easier on the wallet too

hi korice.. morning!

its fri! hehe

ya if its on 21st june then it's so exciting hehe. hopefully can noe the date next wkend, then can let u noe liao keke. now can discuss together also.. diff dates but v near also la.. hehe.. few mths diff only

ya i realised marriage, not only btw 2 persons.. the mothers are contributing views too.. and restricting/controlling too! ahahhaah

hey ok! i don mind! then we can lookout for each other.. make sure the BS don rip us out. and anything we missed out we can remind each other! ur new place is at jurong west, but r u staying there now? or u're at ur own hse now? whre issit then? i'm staying in the west (not jurong west though), so meeting up shd be easy

Morning gers,

Yup, agree with Valerie. It's only once a lifetime event, if you miss it, there's not turning back the clock and redo it again. Even if you decide to do it the second time, the feeling will be different.

Do something simple and yet memorable, like a outdoor ROM and lunch reception at some hotel or chalet?

Hi simHL,

When is ur AD? Are you gng GHA to try or select gowns? I'm thinking if i should pop by to try some though one coordinator told me it's a bit too early..

morning

which blk is ur fren's? and how many room?

ya i guess spore flyer is v ex. yup i've heard gd reviews for oriental for the food but the service is not gd leh.

chijmes right.. food is so so, parking is difficult, toilets are far and its veri ex. otherwise, its a veri nice place for a wedding

i also agree with Valerie...

sometimes, simple can be very nice too..it is the quality....i have been to simple ROM and im impressed cos can really feel the love and romance in the air...

at the end of the day, always work within ur budget..cos dont want to at the end of the day no money to move on and build love nest

always shortlist to two or three u really like and go own to the BS to see...soemtimes the poor customer service can put the customers off...so u must feel really comfortable there lor

brightstar: how to noe which u really like when u have gone thru once? have to go thru once then will noe right? how do u go abt choosing urs? share ah

valerie,
u must noe wats ur budget, look at their workmanships and designs, their service, photography skills and what's their package like etc...
most importantly, u must like what u c n feel when ur there...happy hunting

Yio Ladies...gd afternoon...had a gd lunch?

Vivienne, added u liao...

I oso agree with Jojo & Valerie...simple but memorable cos once a lifetime..u sure 1 2 to hv gd memories... I had a simple ROM...just sign papers & went for lunch with family parents....hehehe
my mum insisted me to hv a banquet so now m planning...but 1 2 do as simple as possible...1 2 save more for honeymoon trip...mayb u can do a simple Rom like wat Jojo & Valerie suggest...then budget a little of ur $$ for a gd holiday trip for u both....
most impt is u & FH both have a happy time....

Brightstar...when is ur AD?

simHL,

U can try Goodwood park..min is 18 tables...tat time i went to see them...they are not too flexi on perks...but generally their perks are quite attractive..they offer everything other hotel offer...intially i oso had a prob...cos my capacity was 18-20 tables...tat time very kan jiong...wanted to hav in dec...all the smaller hotels fully book leh...so chg my AD to Jan lor..
u can try York hotel & Regent hotel...if i dun remb wrongly they hv smaller ballroom...

BS shopping sounds fun at the same time quite tiring leh...cos so many to check out...
me also have very few married gfs...
that's why i tot can read reviews off the forums first...from here at least can eliminate some that have received bad reviews lor...
at least that's my intention...

also, there are quite a few bridal shows in march leh.
those can go with gfs or better with FH?
cos i think that's still the R&D stage (i like the way Korice puts it) but usually entrance fee is for "couple"...

what do you guys think?

U can try Hyatt too...their min is 18 tables...i think marriot, traders hotel oso cater for smaller ballroom...m

hi mudpie, my AD was dec06...this is my wedding blog
the reason why i m still in this forum is to help answer other brides' questions or see can give any useful tip here and there :p

wondering if im welcome here? :p

hi nec....any idea when is the next few wedding shows? i wan to share in my blog so other brides can benefit >.<

agree with valerie...must be happy with their work then sign up with them....not happy..just leave lor :p

ur outdoor shoot very nice leh...wer did u shoot de? i now still hvn decide wer i 1 2 shoot....still scratching head ...hehehe

wow, brightstar, just visited your blog...
now then i know you have already dum-dum-di-dum!
you look so xing fu and lovely in your pics!!!
:D
so many resources for all of us blur/stressed BTBs too.

val, korice and all the searching for BS gals,
any of you considering JB BS?

any brides here looking to book a church for wedding?

Hi Korice, my dad will be paying for his share. My hubby will be only giving him 20 table so he will pay for another 20 himself... total he will have 40 tables... Haiz.... sure do gest list and table arrangement like crazy...

Btw I'm staying at 268B near the Shell station.... same here, ask my hubby go he also like sian sian... he would rather go fishing... (like a old man)

nec: hmm i heard of JB BS not bad, but i'm a little apprehensive to go there.. maybe becos of all the accidents tat happen there. but can consider, gg to tok to FH 1st then write in to them to enquire cos i'm veri interested to go bukit tinggi for PS. so see if any of the JB BS can offer a gd package on this
i'm looking for church ah but got problems so i'm looking at SAM now. u're looking for church?

does anyone here noe abt such package for JB BS?

Val and girls,

I am on shift work hence having rather irregular hours and also free time during weekdays... reached home very late last night as I was "confined" to office to settle other ppl's left-over works... haiz....
kao_dizzy.gif
then early went for meeting and now just reached home...
My AD will be a different day from ROM and I guess FH's idea and concentration is fully on the AD... recently just had another discussion with him regarding the Banquet.. we are both in a dilemma... do or don't do...!!!??? FMIL said its alright if we don't hold a banquet but must have a simple dinner for the relatives.. however, if according to this, it is as good as having a banquet... no difference, just to add in FH and my friends and colleagues...

As for my Wedding plan... nothing much yet, the only thing that has been done was to book the BS and consulted feng shui master for auspicious date for ROM, An Chuan and AD... been shopping and visiting Jewelry shops for wedding bands and yet to settle for anything. Reason - wedding bands r for a lifetime, want to get something special yet suitable for daily wear and also because I am not used to wearing ring, so find most ring too thick and kinda "zhuo teng" (obstruction). And those Japan made bands which are just nice for me seems too "thin" for FH's finger.
And the current project is to look for love-nest first so we can work out the budget for everything else as we believe that love-nest would take up the largest amt of $$ (cash downpayment + renovation).
Already decided on Honeymoon location - planning to go Eastern Europe x 10 days. For this, have to wait for the Oct/Nov Natas Travel Fair to book package.
Then will be booking for marriage counselling session and would like to have it done in Apr and May... and hopefully, by then should have a nest ready for renovation.
So the most impt thing now is to start sourcing for Ballroom for the banquet le...
kao_yawn.gif
kekeke

For outdoor photoshoot, considering one "hill-view" and one "sea view". Hill view is most likely Kentridge Park or Telok Blangah Hill Park. Kentridge has this suspension bridge, and I guess would probably be special. And Telok Blangah also quite charming, maybe can catch sunset in the evening and for evening shoots. For sea view, considering Changi beach, carpark 1 and carpark 6. The stretch between carpark 5 and 6 has these two rows of casuarina trees that line a winding road, just like those described in story books... But shan't be worrying too much about the surrounding as the main focus should be FH and me hor...

Very longwinded hor... haha... and thanks a lot to Brightstar for staying "back" to help us, for the Bright light that you shine will make us see clearer of the direction we are heading.

hi carowl.. wa so many things to look out for.. v difficult task. ok i shall try this wkend.. when i go to the bridal fair.

ohhhhh..

gals! there's a wedding fair at JP this whole wk till sun.

Helo Vivienne

Wa such a long post.. but we like it! hehe. for ur wedding band hor, why not u get the jap one and ur hubby get the other one which suits him lor. choose a similar design. i noe of frens who do that.

nec.. tell them.. 2 girls = a couple of girls.. *lol* can ask the organizer lor.. let me try &amp; find out.. if can.. den prob can make the trip there together.. hehee..

congrats brightstar!!

my fren went to one in JS.. she say still not bad.. but i think we a bit more "yim chim".. so very unlikely to go there.. shall see if i can see some of her pics, den fwd you guys lah.. she's a june 07 BTB..

valerie.. you cannot imagine the kind of "tension" there were when we were doing up the flat.. i know my hubby poor thing cos he's caught between his mum &amp; me.. but then again.. it's back to the compromising thing &amp; trying to respect each other.. i kept quiet when his mum tried to interfere lor.. and i nag my hubby to death after.. anything to be a good DIL in front of them.. bleahs.. can't imagine wat will come up for the AD.. all the traditions &amp; beliefs.. sigh.. colleague had it bad.. she say she wun have kids if her MIL's gonna do her confinement.. *oops* lucky we are not staying together.. tat's why should &amp; must bear with it..

simhl.. sent you le..

janice.. good ar.. 20 tables a lot of money leh.. your FIL big businessman wor.. 40 tables for himself.. yah.. guest list &amp; table arrangements sure madness one.. my colleague did 70+ tables at shang.. centre aisle.. one side is her family &amp; relatives, and both the couple's colleagues &amp; friends.. the other side is her hubby's relatives &amp; PIL's friends/clients/partners.. win liao lor..

oooohh.. new flat too right? your hubby go fishing.. mine rather play soccer.. or go work!!! *roll eyes* anyway.. one good thing is he will go with wat i've chosen to a certain extent, like BS or PG.. but we're both very particular on the venue..