(2008) Brides of year 2008

vbutter

Brightstar and Ipz,

My BS is Yvonne's Creative and the package is $3K.

And Ipz, how's ur slimming programme? what are you doing to slim down? You heard of Dr Atkin's Diet? my friends had tried it and proven useful -http://www.ehow.com/how_8120_follow-dr-atkins.html
Diet together with exercise would prove to be effective very fast and of cos must top up with determination.

Hi Jolene

You are very fast and seems well prepared...

bigfish

vivienne, i am a very easily stressed up person and maybe i got certain expectations of my wedding, so i prefer to start early... if not, later stress, then got pimples... but it helps when my FH is a planner, he likes to start planning early too...

brightstar

hi jolene, yah..start panning early is good..me plan one year in advance....i got write down my thoughts in my blog romance-fire.com....plus my stress..im super stressed person too....>.< so u r not alone...

but for me, even thou, on my AD, i still got things unplaneed or not going as planned...so i think to enjoy the day, we have to let everything go on the day..once a lifetime u know

brightstar

ladies, u can get my wedding planning e-book from my wedding blog

it has all the things to do from 1 year to 1 day....

actually for me, BS give their best on wedding shows..i suggest u can go to their actual shops to take a look and talk to present customers...

i have heard some cosnumers have irresponsible coordiantors...

babyfifi

Girl, are you having a church wedding? Else i personally dun think you shld bother with long veils. You dun wear them for long and it looks weird if you are doing tea-ceremony with a long veil behind. Long veils are only good if you have a long aisle to walk down.

Just my opinion.

babyfifi

I also planned early. By Jan 07, I've already paid my hotel deposit, booked the church, completed my marriage preparation course, booked the BS (and makeup artist), AD PG. Now, I'm starting my gown selection already.

beachgirlz

hello.. i'm planning a day in may i guess.. still finalising the AD (waiting for bf's mom to suan which day is good :D ). when is urs dduchess?

beachgirlz

hi everyone.. i'm planning my wedding in 2008, hopefully between march to july. nice to join u all here

Josey: i read that your solemnization and dinner is on the same day but your house will come a couple of months b4 ur wedding. how do u do it?? i thot we have to produce the cert when we collect the keys? i'm stucked at this cos i'm planning rom and customary on the same day too. anyone has any idea on this can help me?

korice

hi everyone.. nice meeting you all!

we've ROM-ed last year, 11 june.. at the Equinox Private Dining Room.. great venue &amp; totally love it.. pity it's too small to hold our dinner.. otherwise.. hehee.. =)

planning to have our AD either on 11 or 21 jun, since both dates are meaningful to us. deciding factors will prob be the availability as well as weekday or weekend. seriously considering Four Seasons (who wants us to book &amp; confirm).. but house just finished, &amp; we just went on a mini honeymoon, so hubby say to wait for a while.. sigh..

same thing with the BS too.. but am really interested in the Wedding Present.. so yah..

any thoughts on holding the entire dinner on the Singapore Flyer?

Valerie: the flat can still be collected before the ROM.. just need to have the solemnization done within 3 - 4 months after collection of the keys.. &amp; supposedly can write in to appeal for longer period if need be, but subjected to approval..

beachgirlz

Hi everyone.. i'm planning my wedding in 08, trying to have it as early as possible.. waiting for bf's mom to decide which date is good. nice to join u all here to discuss

Vivienne: your BS is yvonne creative right, can share your package?

Cheryl: Saw that your BS is also yvonne creative and urs is overseas package. can let me know what is ur package like and how much more is this overseas package compared to the normal one done in Spore?

Anyone else knows of the overseas photoshoot package can let me know.. i saw they take pics at colmar tropicale, very nice! i'm interested in that.

hatemenot

Hi valerie, where is colmar tropicale?

Mine is overseas package too.. To taiwan from julia wedding news

I started quite early too, now waiting to settle wedding favours for ROM, flowers and dress!

beachgirlz

hi korice.. fast reply hehe

wow Equinox! can share how many tables u got at the private dining room, and how much was the cost per table? what kind of food?

Then the solemnization is on a stage or smthing inside the private room? got any pics to share not? hehe. can email me at [email protected]

there is no fixed date on producing the cert ma? its 3-4 mths? i thot i heard must produce the cert when u collect key..
what reason can i give to defer do u know?

beachgirlz

hi tete

colmar tropicale is in malaysia.. its a replica of a french village. veri nice. no $ go france take pics, so take there also gd la hehe. it has cooling weather like genting though its not as cold. very peaceful and beautiful there. many ppl go there for short honeymoon after ROM.

can share how is ur overseas package like? i would like to know more abt overseas packages. thanks so much. my email add is [email protected]

u're doing ROM only or everything in one day? mine is everything in one day, save costs

henyve

Hi strawberry,

hehe thanks for the info...just saw the news on the new system of buying a house...hope that I can get one this time round =)

Hi Valerie and Korice,

Welcome here! =) Nice to have you here, the forum is so quiet previously.

j0yl

*laughs* it's just a thought about veils... wondering how alluring a bride can look behind a veil... fussing over little things like gloves, tiaras, shoes, accessories etc

have not been to grand shanghai or china club, sorrie, can't advise at the moment, like ya know if i come across any feedback..

459647.gif

hatemenot

Hi Valerie,

I just searched for pictures of colmar tropicale. it's really nice!! make me wanna go already for a vacation. Hope it's not too expensive keke.

will email you by this weekend about my overseas package k?

my ROM this year july, next year january is actual luncheon =)

beachgirlz

Hi tete

yup! its really nice. but i guess ur taiwan one is also not bad right.. further than msia! keke. ya maybe after ur ROM u 2 can go there for a short trip, its a nice place for honeymooners!

ok i shall wait for ur package.. thanks
what is GCW? so u booked ur BS liao? which one?

vbutter

Can share, can share... here's e package.. I hope i din left out anything else.. Can ask me if there's anything not clear
... <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

BS Package.doc (21.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

vbutter

Actually I'm also a super kancheong bride-to-be.... but donno why the progress not fast enough
and I think I am also a teeny weenie bit of perfectionist... headache... Now still busy looking for love nest... I am only afraid that the more perfect I would like the
kao_wedding.gif
to be, the worse it will be... haha... I am into detail so much so that I even fuss over the flower bouquet and the veil selection... doing research online and cut&amp;paste everything I like into a powerpoint...
(maybe someone here can tell me that you are as crazy as me or that this is normal)

blur_queenie

WOW, everyone is fast in their preparations.
I only manage to confirm on my hotel &amp; BS, yet to source out my wedding cards, flowers &amp; bands. Thinking to do so after June, will it be late?

Now waiting for my coordinator to call me to select my gowns for PS, heard new batch coming in Mar/Apr, abit kancheong and impulsive to head down and try gowns now but tell myself to be patient..hah

beachgirlz

Hi Vivienne

Thanks for sharing ur package. i'm like u! i'm also a perfectionist! thus i noe how u feel. i'm basically gg thru every single thing and making sure its ok. i have a few folders on my gowns and furnitures, house designs that i like haha.

beachgirlz

Hi Jojo

When is your AD? u're fast also! confirm hotel and BS liao. i'm still on the research part leh. my FH is thinks that those $800/$900 per table banquets are very expensive. for ur gowns right, u can go try on a few first, to see which type of design suits u and get to noe the material etc.. then when the new batch comes, u will be in a better position to view them

does anyone noe of any hotels or nice restaurants which do not charge such prices for banquets? tables around 20-25.

blur_queenie

Hi Valerie,

Mine is the first week of Jan and it's a simple affair.
Hmm..maybe will pop by one day to just try out the gowns. Thanks!

hatemenot

hi valerie,

GCW stands for grand corpthorne waterfront.. me taking traders hotel.. quite good reviews on the food , only downside is it's quite far from the MRT.

Yes! i showed colmar's pictures to my fiance yesterday, he say 'mai tu liao'.. find one weekend go with friends =) thanks for the recommendation!

me oso gan chiong bride.. hee hee lurve to settle things fast so that can take care of little details.

now looking at engraving for wedding bands.

some ideas... if anybody is interested =)

http://www.e-weddingbands.com/store/engravefav.html

http://weddings.about.com/cs/weddingbands/a/ringinscription.htm

beachgirlz

Wow so we can discuss together lor since its around the same time! hehe

u've decided which date already? how are ur preps like? tell me more!

we're starting to look at hotels and attending wedding fairs. there's this fair by sookee at JP this wkend! u're going?

beachgirlz

i'm planning my wedding in 08 too.. currently bf's mom is choosing date according to our list of preferred dates

anyone can advise my on flats? i seem to read in a few threads that ppl can get their house b4 they rom! how do u all do it? i'll be holding everything in a day, this am stucked regarding my flat.

brightstar

hi tete, GCW was one of my choices but too ex for me and the coordinator forgot all abt our appointment when we arrived at the hotel...

but they compensated with a free buffet for two la....

korice

Morning everyone..

Hi henyve, nice knowing you too..

Ooohh.. My new place is at Jurong West too.. EA though.. Got it during the June WIS last year.. Wasn't our first choice, but we still love it nonetheless.. *lol*

Valerie:
Erm.. The deferment reasons I'm not quite sure, and you might not get it.. There are actually a lot of couples now who get the keys first before ROM-ing. So that's quite normal to HDB already. The officers will let you know during your appt.

We did a standing lunch buffet for our ROM at Equinox PDR. Had about 140+ guests. If you're talking about a sit-down function, their max max is 18 tables. So yah.. Lemme see if I can find their quote for lunch/dinner &amp; will send it to you. Love the place &amp; the view.

We're looking at 30 tables for dinner so they're too small.. Plus we were looking for a place that overlooks suntec. It seems quite hard to find. *sigh*

You can take a look at some pictures on:
www.minlingminling.myphotoalbum.com

korice

morning morning..!!!

saint_chan, i have marriot's quote somewhere. gimme your email addy, email to you..

beachgirlz

Hi Korice

thanks for sharing ur pics! shall go view during lunch if possible. ya my tables shd be ard 20-25, not confirmed yet. thus i guess can arrange for rom there only. ok i shall wait for ur quote.

for ur 30 tables, it shd be quite easy to get hotels right cos i've seen a few packages and for 30 tables, its quite normal. and certain hotels like rasa sentosa also need to have minimum 30 tables leh.. so mine may not be able to book there also cos i've ard 25 the most.

why u're looking for a place that overlooks suntec? u got try oriental, marina mandarin, ritz carlton, pan pac? all these are ard suntec area..

beachgirlz

korice: wa u've a rough date liao. how did u choose ur date?
i'm wondering which date my bf's mom will choose out of our list hehe :p

korice

hahaa.. for Equinox PDR, we took all 3 rooms combined, so they will require a min spend of S$7500+++ (for ROM lah). see attached for the sit down one..

hotel ballrooms are 2nd choice.. if we can get an alternative venue, or have some more "creative" ones, we will do tat.. wat you think about Singapore Flyer? *lol* the overlooking suntec part is cos we met &amp; work at suntec.. yah lor.. as in really can see suntec like the equinox rooms.. and tat's the diff part.. hai tien lo dun do weddings.. den we also dun quite wanna do outdoors.. if not, den should be either conrad, fullerton, four seasons or grand copthorne waterfront bah.. we are also thinking of doing a western set instead of a chinese banquet..

attended my colleague's wedding at oriental.. wasn't quite happy with the whole experience.. the food is very very good.. but the service standard not quite there.. cos we are from similar industry, so prob will tend to look more into the details.. eg. they had 1 staff/table service, yet they weren't attentive nor observant.. drink glasses were empty for more than half hour..! and instead of them asking what we want, we had to ask them for it, and then wait for like 10-15min before they return again.. small things lydat lah.. but also pity the staff.. cos all part timers &amp; stuff..

what venues are you considering?

korice

hey josey, how much is your package for sheraton towers?

hey henyve, how's your experience with santiago? my friend's with them too.. and they are not very happy cos apparently the service not quite good though a lot of freebies..

muddpie

hi vivienne, I oso YC btb....glad to c u here...when is ur AD?

valerie, my basic YC package is 3k+...not inclusive of oversea package....overseas need to top up abit more...i hvn really decided wer i 1 2 PS yet...will be goin for appt in 2 wks to view their new album for oversea shoot then decide ba...
when is ur AD?

beachgirlz

Hi jojo

ya do go try.. i noe u can't wait. i also can't wait for my turn to go try gowns haha. the 1st gown tried sure will be a memorable experience

do let us noe how ur gown trying goes ok? we'll be excited for u!

beachgirlz

Hi Tete

Oh i've been to GCW once! the food there is great. but the prices are on the high side for us. thus still researching, see how it goes.

how much is ur traders hotel table for wkday and wkend? min how many tables needed?

ya go colmar take nice pics! hehe. i'm plannng a trip there this may for our anniversary and hopefully he'll do the proposal there?? hehe. or if YC's package for photoshoot there is not too ex then we might take that and shun bian go there for a short holiday

where is ur rom this july?

beachgirlz

Hi muddpie

glad to see u here. hmm the top up for the package is how much more?

My AD not fixed yet.. waiting for bf's mom to decide which date is good frm the list we've given her hehe. hopefully in may ba cos won't clash with uni exams for my cousins.

when is urs? how's ur preps?

beachgirlz

Hi korice

hmm singapore flyer.. how to hold dinner? all guests sit in diff cabins? then how r u gg to entertain them? seems a bit hard leh.. unless u have an idea liao? hehe. but the flyer wont' be ready so soon leh.. u can wait so long ma?

oh so both of met and work at suntec. me and my FH are ex colleagues! haha. imagine we hold our wedding near our ex office keke.

ya i agree that service is veri impt. ya the service staff quite poor thing also. so most imptly must get 1 with gd service.

so far i've not visited any hotels yet. i'm gg to the rasa sentosa show this 24th mar. another venue i'm looking at is RTC - raffles town club. so i'm gg down to see it the wkend b4 i go to rasa so that i can compare. so far i like this 2 venues. haven research on other venues yet. u noe of any gd venue to recommmend?