(2008) Brides of year 2008

nec/korice

ya my parents/PIL meeting up soon.. FMIL says since its quite hard to arrange our meeting (been arranging since b4 cny), she suggested dropping by our hse for a visit! my mom n me got shocked hehe cos our hse quite messy.. not v nice to invite them here. shall let u all now how the meeting goes.. hopefully it will be happening by end next week
hope they won't end up having conflicts ya.. got enough problems planning wedding le.. hahaz

yeah korice,
your victorian furniture really looks good and looks super ex too!!!

anyway, much as i'd like to have english-tea kind of place, my FH doesn't like... :P

if i tell him abt wallpapers, maybe he'll faint. hahaha...

val, good luck on your venue hunt!!!
if you see any places can have a dance floor, do let me know...

mailed you 2 girls just now ...yeah, will help val ask abt kota tinggi thing...

nec i emailed u 2 back le keke. i included links of bukit tinggi. NOT kota tinggi. don ask wrong place hor.. wait waste ur time

thanks nec!!

ok i will let u noe if i see any place can have dance floor.. wad kind of dance floor u looking at? hard flooring? or carpet also can? if carpet also can then any ballroom also can ar.. like if u have 30 tables for example, u take a ballroom tt can house 35 tables.. then request for the middle to be left empty for u 2 to dance lor

i have shown pics of engagement rings that i like...all found online...so FH sort of trained..
i know mine will be this year, after our parents meet...

that's another headache..

hope everyone's families will get along.
then less politics and disagreements...more peace for the BTB and less wrinkles!!

gg for the JB wedding show on 24marc oso.. nec, once we return, let's share more abt the package.

Wow.. all of u got new flat, for me no need find flat, FH moving over too my flat. good oso. less 1 headahce.

nec

wad copy.. go lor.. there is super nice.. i wld recommend! go there be princess hehe. then wear those victorian gowns and take pics.. tada! princess!

i think we are princess mad..

uh oh.. fren just sms-ed to not go graceful image.. cos they very money-minded & very very pushy.. she's irritated now.. hmm..

valerie - yes i did. but looks like chances are very slim since there are so many applicants so looking for resale as well. wat abt u?

mmm.. wow.. the idea of wallpapers is so enticing so whoever finds good deals must post here for us! =)

who's having AD first? seems like you guys are way ahead in ur plans! i dun even know where to start. keke...

karen so now u stay in west also? mine ar.. i tink i looking at jalan membina.. opp tiong bahru there. the name doesn sound v nice hor hahah. cannot choose leh.. hse nice can le la keke.

u can start looking at venues and studios.. venue more impt.

val.. good luck too!! hahaa.. i had mine over a dim sum lunch.. was super nervous about it, den also dunno wat to tok abt.. luckily, it was the day after the elections.. so the topic just came up.. and it flowed from there.. hahaaa..

Ya graceful image kind of pushy. Had an bad experience with them. They keep calling and calling asking if you want fix up appoinment then after that is keep asking if you are okie with their package etc. They only stop calling after I lied to them that I have signed up with anoher BS.

mine haven't also!!

*haha*

korice, the places you looking at beyond my budget leh!!!!
your FH so sweet har! must be very touched lahz!

valerie, lucky leh! i've never got luck for lucky draws. =( what did you win?

Hello everyone~ Young BTB here (22 yrs old =/) and i just spend the entire day surfing this forums~ haha~

Thinking of ROM-ing n doing all the customary stuff all on 13 Sept 08. Its going to be a simple one i think, hopefully poolside?

Soo many people already booked the venues and everything. I dont even know i can start planning so early. A bit lost.. Haha..

Can anyone teach me how to go about doing things?

Now that i know the date, what should i do next? Find suitable venues?

After looking thru everything, Amara Hotel, British Club, Carlton, Grand Mercure Roxy all seem to have good reviews. Any other suggestions?

Can i have any quotations that u guys have please? heehee...

Can email me at [email protected] =)

Thanx for any help guys.. I'm so excited~! haha..

nec.. u v clever hor.. show him 1st hehe.

duchess.. i won a pearl necklace by charlotte atelier and a $100 dining voucher for a restaurant at RTC
i was v surprised too when my name was called twice. thot i was dreaming.

hi tan jia hui

welcome here.. lotsa to read up so gonna spend much time here

ya after u got the date, u can start on venue then bridal studio.

how many tables u have? budget per table?

mmm...good point korice,
must find common ground so that conversation can flow...

val, good luck ah!!
maybe can talk abt ....er.....politics is not nice, religion is worse....
lol...i have no idea!!

any ideas girls??

what if in laws not singaporean? *Stress*

dduchess,
must train ya FH...show him sweet romantic stories of proposals like korice's

but dun pressurize him... :D

val, ya mentioned noble house show..? when is it ah?

welcome!!!

come and share our BS/venue/MUA/PG etcetc hunting!!!

jiahui,
if you read thru the archive of this thread, there is a link to a website that has a lot of wedding banquet/hotel quotes...that can be a starting point...
also, ya must first budget how much you want to spend for what...
what you NEED (including what parents want), WANT and last of all wish to have if can afford..
make a list, then see if you want to take a all-in-one BS or do it a la carte...

all this must discuss with FH lah...

look at the wedding shows thread, a list of shows is out and then ya can attend with FH or a gal pal and check out some shows....
BS there will give you "special price" etcetc on the show day...but make sure you've checked them out before signing up...must go down to the shop try dresses etc...
see if coordinator is pushy/fierce/nice/warm etcetc..

can consider JB BS also...

woo...long post again. :P

valerie - yea staying in west now. actually prefer the east but fh prefer to stay near his family so also ok lah. jln membina sounds more glam than teck whye right? =p but tiong bahru is so near to town!

hwah korice u got date i only have mths in mind. havent chosen yet. is the link to the auspicious dates for next yr credible? then maybe cn just refer to that. keke... but looking between sep - early nov bah...

actuali more concerned abt getting hse first. bt then again, if everyone books early, by the time it's my turn then maybe dun hve already. haha... thinking of western style bt then again muz please the older group so most prob will go for chinese.

jiahui, where'd u go to get auspicious date?
so nec, have you chosen ur venue?

Hi to all 2008 BTB,

I've just confirmed my AD over the weekend. It's on Nov08 and I'm now sourcing for banquet venues. Haha... Think I may be abit too 'gan cheong', but I can't help it!!!

Both me and my FH are in favour of Sheraton. Wondering if anyone also looking at Sheraton for banquet and have any other hotels of the same range to share?

Seems like the Sheraton thread is quite quiet nowadays.

no worries nec, he KNEW what diamond and size i want liaoz. i'm not demanding to ask for a BIG BIG one. reasonable!

now waiting (read: patiently) for the "surprise". but i can't act high and mighty said "no" already.

valerie, shuang lor!

karen.. hmm ya la.. a bit true. yup its v near town..tats wad i like. n its juz a few bus stops from FH's house and his bro's hse. and its near tiong bahru market too! lotsa lovely food there! hope i get a flat there hehe.

helo sassy girl.. welcome here

hi, my "meet the parents" meeting happened after I sucessfully applied for my flat. So the common topic during the dinner...the house. Luckily both parents like the location and facing of our unit.

Other then that, its just small talks. Nothing major about the requirements of te wedding. They leave it pretty much to us to handle all these things, even for the selection of the date.

hello all!!! morning morning..

hey karen.. i used to stay at teck whye..! you staying there now?? hahaa.. yah.. sounds unglam.. but i miss the spaciousness of old HDB units.. hehee..

about my date, it's very simple.. cos my hubby & i didn't go through the tedious process of going to feng shui master or shuan min master.. we picked the date we wanted.. check the chinese calender.. as long as it's not a "po ri" we are fine.. 11 june 06 was my ROM.. 11 june 08 will be my AD (confirmed & fixed liaos).. my MIL is quite traditional & pantang one.. but over the date thing, she knows my hubby wun give in to her if we already have one in mind.. yah lor..

we wanted to do western style dinner too.. but confirm cannot one.. yah lor.. so thot of splitting into 2 nights at equinox.. first night chinese for relatives, second night western for frens & colleagues.. but we have decided last night tat equinox's price is too high.. so yah.. maybe really chijmes le..

i signed with BC last night le.. anyone wanna go can call stella.. she's the la ban niang lor.. say sinling rec one.. quite nice.. hubby went there with only 2 things to do.. 1) look at their pictures & decide if he likes them. 2) if he does, next will be the negotiations.. hahaa.. so yup..

i have a date, and a BS..

ROM: 11 June 06
AD: 11 June 08
BS: Bridal Concept
Venue: Prob chijmes

la la la.. take care ppl..!

hahaa.. ya ya.. politics & religions are normally a no-no.. but if it's so qiao lydat.. den guess it's ok..

nec.. dun mian qiang.. must take it as it comes le.. too planned also not good..

dduchess.. i'm not gonna take equinox anymore.. hahaa.. yah lor.. cos too ex lor.. sigh.. maybe now chijmes.. anyway, must console myself tat i did ROM there le.. hahaa.. and that it's nicer to take pics at chijmes.. hehee..

and yah.. cannot act high & mighty le.. hahaaa.. i like the idea of propose le.. den start planning when to get flat & all.. not the usual get flat le, den propose.. hahaa.. wat diamond you looking at?? hehee.. he busy saving up now..

someone's full of energy early this mid-wk morning eh? oh..it's mid-wk already?!

u pretty much settled the more impt stuffs huh.. lucky you! i wanted to be a june bride too!! that was 2yrs ago. so anyway, yep unfortunately staying at teck whye now. spacious yes, but i'd kill for a clean environment without strange creatures thinking the lifts are their urinal bowls. what is wrong with them?! *shakes head in disgust*

so where are u staying now?

oohh.. that was no sweat at all! we hvnt actuali discussed abt hw we'd choose dates at the moment (but still hoping that the calendar wld do just fine!) why a 2yr gap between ur rom and ad??

i was thinking of lawry's for western style. cosy environment, reasonable price. wat do u think? then again, the thought of parading in ur gown along the shopping mall sounds off putting!

mmm i kinda read previously that to book hotel banquets wld require a 50% d/p, hw true is that? if not, hw much deposit wld they normally ask for?

korice, are you holding church ceremony?

wa korice! really v fast le hor? hehe. congrats to u on signing ur BS le!

mine wont be so soon.. i got a list to go visit (1st round).. then after tat shortlist le will bring FH to go see (2nd round) then after we discuss then will go book le lor.. (3rd round). seems like a tedious process.. saying it out i feel tired le whahaha..

share ur BS package with us gal! and let us know wat u managed to negotiate so tat we can learn

dduchess...wow, good training of your FH :D
but you can still play hard to get mah...hehehe...
but i think the guys will be so stressed when they finally pop the qn... maybe can take pity and just agree... :D
hhaha...maybe i'll be in tears then, want to play hard to get also cannot...

val, i din mind going but i dunno where and when! :D
we are talking abt NH right?

korice,
how come equinox so esteemed by you?
i've never been there actually....*Swa ku*...
but what makes it soooooo nice?
i think chijmes is a wonderful place for a dreamy princessy wedding....now if only can have dancefloor and some sponsorship..... :D hehehe...

but evaluate pros and cons of each venue man!!! so headache!! :P

josey ,
good for you lah..

one thing, i'm not very good at small talk...
either i like or don't like, say or don't say...
small talk is very difficult to master i think!

morning girls.

korice is now the BTBjie of us all!!!
the fastest and most things settled!!

mmm...must let us know how you negotiate for more and more things...then next time we can all try to get value for the price too!

for your chijmes, will you have chinese/western? 1 day or 2?
if i'm not wrong, chijmes 'ballroom' is that chapel only right? or is there some other place that i dunno abt....
as usual, i'm the mountain tortoise...!!!!
i remember that chapel place to be lovely but the long and narrow layout...may not be too 'friendly' with the pple at the end...
???
comments?

val, i'm doing the stages like you!
first step i'll do w girlfriends who are looking for BS too...
i'm pretty set on JB ones lor..but some of the recommendations like BC by korice...makes me feel like SG ones also...
:P
so fickle...typical female...

valerie.. email just sent! hahaa.. yah lor.. like very long process.. hehee.. actually.. i thot of that too, and tat was my initial plan.. but guess for us, we tend to be quite sure about wat we want, thus spotting when we see it..

karen.. yayee!! midweek is good.. no lah.. if really full of energy jiu hao le.. hehee.. full of energy when posting.. not quite the same about working though.. hehee..

i used to stay at blk 15 teck whye.. den moved to yew tee.. now lovenest at boon lay lor.. hubby & i both "westerners".. hahaha..

hmm.. lawry sounds good hor.. you know how many tables they can take? yah.. equinox told us 50% too.. i was like "huh?! tat's $20k deposit leh!!" mad lor.. and tat was one factor which put us out.. no church wedding.. just like the look of the chijmes tat's all..

erm.. 2 yr gap cos we wanted to space things out.. ROM in 06 (spent about $12k).. den do up house in 07 (another $60k).. den AD in 08 lor (god knows how much).. yah.. for financial purposes.. hahaa.. need to have time to save..!!

nec

its at noble house at UIC building, raffles places there. its on 31st march. 3-5pm.

equinox is v nice cos its at the top of the tower! the former westin tower. so u get a lovely view! and the deco there is v nice.. i went once for high tea cos got the woman's weekly voucher la.. 1 for 1. haha. u see korice's rom pics lor.. then u noe how nice le.. hehe.

karen.. me no AD yet cos me fickle minded gal. hahaah. haven decide wan rom and customary together o not. i will go view venues 1st then decide tat question. if rom separate then shd be mar 08 rom then sep 08 customary. if all together then shd be may or june 08.

nec

those stages tedious hor.. but i guess it have to be like tat la.. cos cannot bring bf along when we do 1st round. v hard to get out of the shops.

if u wanna go spore BS, let me know which ones u interested, we can go together
i interested in BC too.. i like non pushy BS. we can go together? then can bomb questions together hehe. wad other BS in spore u interested?? later i get my list out n i tell u mine then u see if u wan also.. can join me..

korice i got ur email le hehe thanks!.. enjoy reading it. shall ask my questions there. later u go read har.

sure of wad u wan is gd.. i v fickle one.. v tiring leh like tat.. now i'm wondering if i shd reduce the no of venues to visit. i see the list of venues n studios.. feel v tired le.. whahaha

haha me too, that's why sometimes there is this awkward silent. But I guesss everyone have to try to find a topic to break the ice.

Actually in my case, we kind of found our venue before the meeting. Haha, I've even showed my mum all the hotel packages and menu for selection before I even propose the parents meeting! Luckily my sil highlighted that the parents have to meet first before I start my planning work. Its more out for respect to them.

We kind of gave them a brief summary of our plan where and when we would like to have our wedding. Then my parent asked his if they have any restriction on the month of wedding to choose (both families are Buddhist). This also gave us an idea which month to look at when approach the master for dates.

HAHAAA.. equinox ar.. it's a fresher idea than normal ballrooms.. great view as val said.. and most importantly, we can see suntec from there.. clearly.. hahaa..

hubby & i always joked about getting coverage for our wedding.. cos we gonna do some techie stuff like video link & all.. we had even weirder ideas like cable car & singapore flyer.. hahaa..

yah lor.. sigh.. but i agree tat equinox is very pricey.. so.. let's do more research den..

ya ya.. val is right.. go with bf sure very hard to leave the shops one.. tat's why i went wif my galfren too.. lemme know when you 2 going BC.. i go wif you.. confirm.. just lemme know when.. heheee.. i also think you'll have a very long list..

now.. to convince hubby to go for aussie PS next month, ie april 07, instead of sep 07.. cos sep is very VERY cold.. argh..

Hi Korice,

Hehe my preparation now still stuck at finding photographer...am taking my time to slowly plan hehe...and also hoping to be lucky to get my house from the ballot in the west which is coming up in Apr.