(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi korice,

Cos my AD is next year, so I yet to have any experience with them...but they do seems passive...called them up to visit their shop, the person din get back to me...but from the santiago forum...they feedback that we have to be proactive in contacting them.

What's the bad experience that your fren had with them?

hi valerie, hav done very little... sourcing for venues... but have signed up BS - GHA.. any recommandation for hotels ballrooms that hold 16-18tables?? =)

Hi hi....

I'm going to be a March Bride...

But I had ask around to see who is able to select a good date but many say the tong shui will only be out in Aug this year inorder to see next year date how?

top up package ...depends wer u 1 2 go....i think range 600 - 1000+ these are the nearer countries...like malaysia, bintan, krabi...i noe their korea is 3k+...abit out of my budget lor...
so u oso sign with YC?

My AD is 6 Jan 08...prep...hvn really prepare anything yet...feel abit too early leh...except the PS ba...cos u noe PS need planning... :p

any AD venue in mind?

hihi Jojo....when is ur AD & dinner? mine oso 1st week of Jan....when u plan ur PS?
u goin for overseas shoot oso ah....u sign up with which BS?

oh.. i'm wondering whether izzit worth it o not to go overseas take pics. my FH says its a waste of $, next time the photos will be kept in storeroom also.

i haven sign any package yet, now looking at selet*r broadway, feli*e, la b*lle couture and a few others that i saw in the bridal mags but can't rem the names hehe. i'm interested in YC becos of the shoot at colmar tropicale, if not i might not want to take YC cos i toked to them once at a fair a few yrs back and they are quite pushy though i tell them i'm not getting married that soon.

for venues, i'm gg to raffles town club to see on 17/18 mar then gg to rasa sentosa's show on 24th mar. so far interested in this 2 places, the rest i haven research leh keke. any places gd to recommend? whre is urs?

afternoon everyone...

how come after all the good mornings then everyone disappeared???

don't hide!!! :D

actually, i've no idea of any dates for my wedding yet...ROM is church as far as i know..and no dates too...just the YEAR.
:P

hi valerie,
to get a flat, go to HDB at toa payoh and talk to the people there...don't need marriage cert yet..
you have till 3mths AFTER you collect your keys to produce your cert I THINK.
do confirm with them.
in some cases, like flat is early or due to 7th mth or something cannot marry yet, they can extend the 3mths to 6mths...
read that in some other thread...check out the HDB section lah.

hi simhl

so far i've seen packages that need at least 25-30 tables and above. have not seen 16-18 tables leh.. but i tink for restaurants, shd be ok. for hotel ballrooms, i tink there's a thread here bt i can't find it now.. u try searching, see if u can find? if i don't rem wrongly, 4 seasons shd be able to cater for 16-18.

how do u find the service for GHA? share with me? thanks

hi janice

i heard ppl say that for the date right, u don need the tong shu.. u juz need the 8 characters of the couple. the tongshu is juz for the auspicious timings for the AD. u can check with ur mom on this?

Hi Mudpie,

We share the same date, just that im doing lunch (just like tete), booked GCW. Actually i didnt want to do any sourcing beside the venue till June, but it will be a bit too late & when one is running out of time, will tend to select the things due to constraint rather than preference.
Maybe you can source out venues now as people tend to pre book 1 year in advance inorder to get the place they want and our date is a pretty hot date. And if it's an auspicious date, some hotels will charge extra for that.

Not intending to do overseas shoot due to constraint and i rather keep the money to renovate my future lovenest. My BS is Di Gio. Anyone taking that as well??

hi nec

ok i shall check out the section when he comes back, he's in msia now so i thot i'll check this out in the forums 1st.

which church u gg for ur rom? both of u r christians?

harlowz ladies..

my hubby & i quite stubborn one.. 11 & 21 june were chosen by us.. cos they are meaningful dates.. so we decide & just run a rough check against any chinese calender (those free ones when parents go buy prayer stuff).. as long as the day is not a "po ri" can le.. hehee.. cos we don't quite see the point in choosing a date that is not meaningful.. and we tend to want things our way..

yah.. tong shu is for auspicious dates & timings.. but wat is good across the board may not be good for all.. you'll need the 8 characters if you really want a thorough check..

simHL.. try Equinox.. they can hold your numbers.. if i can keep my guest list to 180, i confirm take there.. cos my ROM was there.. can email you their prices if you gimme your email addy.. too bad i need 30 tables.. bleahs..

valerie, make sure your FMIL gives you the date early in order to book.. my colleague's MIL only gave her sometime this year.. for 17 nov 07.. and it's such a hot date, everywhere's booked up & confirmed.. she's pretty pek chek now..

Hello ladies,

My wedding date is on 14th September 2008. It's chinese Lunar 8 month, 15th day, "Zhong Qiu Jie". I wonder who is a September bride?

I am still looking for my wedding venue. Any recommendation? My budget is below $700. All suggestions is welcome. Thank you.

ive posted some wedding packages 2007/2008 at [email protected].
feel free to view them for ur reference only..

currently, i can only collate wedding packages bt cant book yet as i ned to wait for 2008 tongshu.....

hi jocelyn my future neighbour!! add mi in ur multiply if u haz one :P

helo korice

june 21 is on 1 of my list too leh hehe. its one of our anniversaries (all 21st). skali end up we choose the same date hehe. ya we will let her noe cos we need 1 yr in advance.

why don't ur fren choose a date next yr? then won't be so rush ah. actually i feel these dates are v ma fan. its becos of these calculations that's why i can't get married this yr. my FMIL says WHOLE YR cannot get married. not even rom. that's why i can't get my flat 1st. so jialat. our new hse surely cannot be ready for AD cos i'm holding everything in 1 day.

hi mudpie,

welcome to the thread =) me, jojo and you sharing the same date! so it's really quite hot date after all keke

To Valerie, yeah i think GCW lunch abit expensive for me too.. But actually after some calculations, traders oso not cheap. sianz.. but we knew the coordinator cause she's in charge of our corporate accounts too.. their service given is extra good =)

Traders hotel lunch after adding everything together 680 nett per table? an estimate.. i only have about 16 tables.. that's the minimum.

yeah ! ROM in 1st July this year at Singapore Art Musuem. This saturday going to try ROM gown.. thinking of renting from justgowns.biz

hey tete!

1st july is my birthday!!! and i'm super interested in SAM too! can u pls pls share ur package and the details with me??? i read the rental, it does not include decor.. thus overall may add up to quite a sum.

wow luncheon is much cheaper huh.. but if i plan the solemnization plus the tea ceremony on same day, i guess i have no time for luncheon. so have to stick to dinner.

Wah, this thead is getting active now...haha

Hi Korice, mine is a weekday package at Sheraton, its 768+++

oh your birthday! such a coincidence =)

SAM rental 500 bucks for 4 hours. Decor wise, I am DIY-ing.
Feel that the place is already nice enough already.. But will DIY decorate ROM tables and chairs =)

Catering alot of options since the courtyard comes free with it. Can get any caterer to do it for you and I believe hi-tea is more affordable! There's a Venezia Italian restaurant at SAM itself beside DOME cafe.

Will hold the ceremony at SAM then proceed to Venezia to eat.. cause I scared rain..

Morning gals!

Hi tete

moring! hmm for DIYing hor, do u go to decor it the the day b4 the wedding or ur helpers will decor it on AD itself in the morning when the bride has not arrived yet? i suppose it will take an hr or 2 to decor right? u're not decorating the sides or the chairs along the aisle?

how many ppl are u inviting? if go to Venezia, will they be able to accomodate? do u need to book the restaurant? cos if let's say guests of 150pax, normal restaurants won't have so much seating ba..*blur*

morning gals

hi josey.. nice to meet u

sheraton's food is nice. i like their pre-dinner cocktail called sheraton delight. u shd try it if ur dinner comes with cocktail. my fren didn't get to try cos she was busy walking ard but the groom tried and said it was very nice too.

i read that your solemnization and dinner is on the same day but your house will come a couple of months b4 ur wedding. how do u do it?? i thot we have to produce the cert when we collect the keys? i'm stucked at this cos i'm planning rom and customary on the same day too.

hey carowl.. thanks for your link.. really great! and i can forward some additional ones to you too if you gimme your email addy..!

Thanks Valerie.... Didn't knoe that.... Really hope that can get a good date in march... cos March is also our aniversary for our ROM, both our birthday and the day we know each other.

Cheers to all the bride to be out there...

morning valerie!

I booked the slot from 12.30 to 4.30pm So estimate 12.30 to 1.30 will be decorating time for my helpers.. Ceremony will start at 2.30pm cos i think the ceremony at most take 10 mins or so plus photo taking latest end at 3.15pm.

Then proceed to venezia for hi tea! hee hee
my group not so big, only at most 40 pax. They allow me to book the whole restaurant. Heard Venezia can seat about 50 guests I think.

msn me if you have further questions.. easier to chat keke [email protected]

oh yah.. side of aisle of the chairs definitely will decorate..

should be renting the decors from rent-a-decor? shouldnt be too difficult bah... *cross fingers* =)

Morning ladies,

My AD is at marina mandarin. I've cfm the venue oredi...

Valerie, I attended a wedd at sentosa last dec. My gf had her solomenization by the sea...its quite romantic...ambience of ballroom not bad...but fd was below average (base on my standard lah)...cos i quite particular abt fd... :P other than tat sentosa is quite a nice plc...mayb u cab consider the siloso beach? its new...
if ur dinner is on weekday...u can consider marina mandarin too...cos their weekday pkg quite attractive...
As for PS, we choose overseas cos i like beachy, leafy & grassy feel...silypore dun think hv such plc esp the beach...& will be treating as a short holiday.... :P

Hi Jojo & tete...we share the same date...hehehe...i not sure if this is a gd date...hubby check with geomancy they say this is a gd date for both of us lor...tats y we chose this date...kekeke

shall we ladies chat more on msn? mine is [email protected]

hey girls,

how do i access that link that carowl has provided?
am not a multiply member but if i sign up, can i search for the user "carowl"?
maybe one of you can provide the url link instead?
:P
pretty please........

add u liao muddpie

siloso beach hor, need to get tentage,logistics, decor and such.. logistics- power source, tables/chairs. overall will add up to a substantial amt, and many coordination to be done. if it rains, also quite sian on the beach. for renting of the pavilions on the beach hor.. is also veri expensive. 5k for rental alone. faintz.

ask u for ur marina mandarin package in msn

Hi Valerie,

My house is still building in process. Not sure if I can get it on time.

Any way, HDB will give you a grace period of up to 6 months after collection of key to produce your marriage cert. But if you need longer you can always appeal. My friend managed to defer for a year! I heard from my friend that as long as you are able to prove that you have intention to get married, eg hotel banquet booking contract, BS booking receipts etc I think they will grant you.

hi carowl

i'm still in the veri intial stage. doing research on forums. haha. next 2 wkends gg to see hotels, and wedding shows. haven touch any yet leh. so no BS yet

which is urs? ur venue? share share ah.. then i can learn more hehe

hi janice

wow so gd huh.. everything in march hehe. btw march is here! so this mth u all will be celebrating many occasions

have u selected ur BS? got any venues in mind?

josey!

really??? then its great news for me! i was thinking of that too leh. now got quite a lot of flats coming out.. i see liao cannot apply, quite sian.

ask u.. to defer, do u only tell them after u've applied or when u go down to them to apply, u have to have the contracts and receipts liao?

The grace of up to 6mths is confirmed? i can't find it on the site. where do u find it?

Hi Valerie.... Haha is going to be a one full month of celebration...
Haiz... have to done anything yet... Been to a few hotels and Singapore Expo to see the ballroom. Don't know whether to hold it in the HOtel anot? scare lose alot of money.

how's your planning going on?

hi janice

hmm me juz done research only. gg to bridal fair this wkend and visit hotels for the next 2 wkends

hmm maybe to prevent losing a lot of $, u juz invite relatives (those must invite one) and close frens plus colleagues. the rest hor.. no need to invite. so even if u lose, also wont't lose too much and relatives n close frens, cannot don invite one ma, so like that is the safest bet. i'm doing that la cos we have a budget.

which hotels have u been to? share how u feel abt them..

eh....am really swaku but when i click the link, my mail opens up and prepares a new msg...
need some help here...
*paiseh*

I'm looking at 70 over tables so very hard to min the loss. Even we have the budget for it the loss will be huge.

Seen Ritz, Fulleton, Pan Pac. I like fulleton cos of the wedding suite.

This weekend have wedding fair? At where?

hi janice

wow 70 over tables! where u get so many ppl ar? pardon me but its amazing hehe. cannot cut down ma?

its at JP..jurong pt.

Fullerton is expensive leh. how do u get to see the suites? issit when we go look at venues, they will let us see the wedding suite ar?
anyone noe for this?

Hi Valerie,

families, my dad's customers, frens. Mainly his customers.... My hubby is a sign on so there is alot peoples he need to invite. Haiz...

I see at JP, near my new place.

I requested to veiw the room when I called up to make appointment. You can try to request, very unique suite.

hi janice

oh ok. that's a lot of ppl

ya u can pop down to see this wkend
there are free makeover also. u can go to sookee site to see the promotion.

u've gotten ur new hse liao? what is the status? got pics to share with me?

did u take pic of the suite? hehe. don tink i will go there cos its too ex for me.

hi valerie,

well... u're right... many hotel ballrooms cater
to at least 20-25tables min, im considering Four Seasons.. bt their smaller ballroom (crescent room)can only hold 15table max... really kan cheong now...

as for GHA, i've only gone for my first try, so far so good... i'll share with u after i go for next visit.. =)