(2008) Brides of year 2008

vbutter

Fifi

You mean the banquet? Haven decide yet and not sourcing yet. Reason? Cos I don really fancy a banquet but my mother insisted... however I am not very keen....
But my mother said that if w/o a banquet, not like a wedding and I'll for sure regret in the future. I asked my friends and most of them agreed with my mother... I am in a dilenma actually.

Not having Church Wedding... not a Christian..

hatemenot

hi vivienne, i see..

hm.. i know of few friends who did not have a banquet. I am havint a wedding lunch with just 16 tables or so. initially met with resistance from parents, but managed to persuade them. =)

jia you! enjoy ya preps!

j0yl

thanks brightstar, was inspired by a frien who told me she attended a weding @ mariott. heard tt bride's gown was black, very stunning.

happy cny *oinks*

candyprincess

hey lo

im sept 08 btb.. initially wanted 16aug 08 buden the whole mth of aug is the ghost month zhun zhun... den tot of 16th feb cos our anniversary buden jus nw spoke to his parents n they said sept... so havent chosen date yet.. but wil be in sept lor... either 6th, 13th, 20th or 27th Sept 08. All on Sats. Heh.

anyway, hope some of ya'l cn share me with the banquet packages... hee my email is [email protected]

thankss =D

blur_queenie

Happy New YEar everyone!

Hi Vivienne, maybe you can keep your wedding simple by having a reception/buffet style instead of those 8 course dinner. My cousin had his solemn + wedding lunch at rasa sentosa and it was done by 4 hrs.

I'm same as tete, having wedding lunch as well, trying to keep the whole event simple.

Happy planning!

babyfifi

Vivienne,

Some people view the banquet as a way to announce to your whole family that you are getting married. So that you are not getting married "in secret". Its actually mainly to please your elders and relatives.

On your part, you may wish to just tell yourself that if you dun have it, you can never redo it. If you dun take PS, still can retake although it won't be the same. But banquet, you cannot redo it at all.

If you dun want dinner, have a lunch or maybe an outdoors event. Whether you can have buffet or not depends on your elders too. Some may not like the idea. But they are ok with it variations, have the the banquet in a way that will be memorable to you. It does not need to be the traditional sit down dinner. You can even have a western event with dancing. :)

candyprincess

Rene ive looked at the chinese calendar for 08 and the whole mth of August falls exactly on the 7th mth.. Date for date.. exactly the same... meaning english 1/8 = chinese 1/7 ... all the way to the end.. =)

bigfish

Hello pple...

i am a relatively newcomer in the forum...
my ROM and wedding wld be on 19th jan 2008.. wld be hosting the dinner at oriental... am sourcing for BS now... not too sure on what to look out for...

cherrina

hi candyprincess,

Tks for the info. It's a pity, cos I had my ROM on 06/06/06 and my hubby would like the AD on 08/08/08. Guess we hv to chnage the dates now =(

hatemenot

hi jolene,

welcome to the thread! congrats to you...

I think gowns and photography play a very important part.

Oh yah, and you have to decide whether you want a designer gown or do you want a studio that take cares of everything for you like car decorations etc.

Feel free to ask anything =)I'm oso preparing for my big day, we can share information

ipziee

I'm also a January Bride! and Feb Bride also. Can i still join the thread?? he he he. This is because I have to hold 2 banquets (bride side, Groom Side on 2 diff countries).

Any of you gals experiencing same thing?

*headache headache*

zrachelz

Hi lingandyang, sorry to reply late. Was busy with my new job, started 15Feb.
Yes, we placed dep already but have not sign the contract. Din negotiate much before putting the dep, think will have to discuss the package when we meet them. My coordinator is Jamie, what abt yours?

brightstar

hi candyprincess, congrats to u... :p..in any case, u wan to check out what u need..u can subscribe to romance-fire.com got checklist....and spreadsheet..very useful

ipziee

hi brighstar,
Yeah i know .. I am excited about it. Very excited in fact ha ha. But because so many things to choose, and with nothing confirmed yet starts to make me stress out!
Lucky me to have 2 sisters helping me to arrange the party in Indo, and I'll arrange the S'pore one but I still have to choose some stuff like gown, photos, invitations etc!

I Hope to confirm my sg venue by mid march so i can relax a teeny bit

brightstar

hi ipz, maybe my blog will be useful for u..romance-fire.com u r lucky to have sisters to help..for me, i have my aunties to help...i wish u luck....im sure everything will be smooth for u

vbutter

Hi Fifi and Jojo,

Thanks alot...
Haven make up my mind but ur comments do help... at least now looking at another perspective...

vbutter

Ipz,

If you would like to, I can introduce my BS to you. Kekeke... I don wan to sound like I am "hard-selling' my BS but I really very happy with their service (so far) and hence think that they deserve a little bit of advertisment fr a satisfied customer. :p

Just let me know, ok?

ipziee

Brighstar : thanks for the info. I'll read it during the weekend

Vbutter: yeah.. who is your BS? I haven't start searching for BS yet since i think venue is more important and i've just started my diet program hahaha (need to lose 10 kg! HOW HOW!!)

bigfish

i went to tanjong pagar to take a look at the BS.. but time was tight, so only went into a couple.. but i might go for JB BS instead... cos we stay in woodlands, it makes travelling much easier. and their service is quite good too.. but i am still considering, so i welcome all recommendations so that i can do comparisions.. for photoshots, i go for photography skills and i like outdoor shots more.. so please kindly advice... thanks so much

mentos

brightstar: WIS aka Walk in Selection.

BTW henyve, Think HDB is planning to abort the WIS scheme instead might be replaced with Ballting Exercise due to the recent saga over Feb 07' WIS.

mentos

Hi candyprincess,

Pls check ur email. Have sent it to 2. It's 2 huge Zip files with all the info that u have, Sorry for the late revert

Happy planning

brightstar

to jolene...yah..choose one BS u r comfortable with...

to ipz, u r welcome....

stylewedding magazine is out..very useful book....u may wan to get a copy

brightstar

wow zip files....actually u can put a link in this forum to download so u no need everytime send..save ur trouble...

or can upload to this forum....

cherrina

I went to see a bridal exhibition at suntec yesterday... A few of them looks good, any recommendations or comments on the following:

- Feline
- X-Zen
- Volan Coulture
- Yvonne Creations

bigfish

i've decided on Dawn in JB as my BS... cos they offered a very good deal, am happy with what they gave...

so now i am very happy... cos banquet (hotel) is settled, BS is settled, church is settled, flat is settled... left with things like florist, caterer, and other details.. but at least things in the to-do list is being checked... looking so forward to everything...

but then, i am down with fever and flu, on medical leave today... hopefully can recover soon..

ipziee

jolene : wah.. so good! congrats to you! Me on the other hand, haven't confirm anything he he he. hope i can confirm venue soon!

neko79

happy CNY everyone...
wondering if you gals heard or attended any weddings at club chinois or china club? or grand shanghai...thinking of the oriental theme....but dun know which one's better

any comments or advice??

bigfish

hi ipz,

i started doing the preparations quite some time back... was hunting for hotel like back in oct06... though at that time was still waiting to confirm on the wedding date.. but jus went hotel viewing, probably it was fun to me and my FH, so we jus went ahead with the preparations with no date in mind. so that's probably why now i've settled a few things...

initially i was thinking if i started out too early preparing for the wedding, but then i am glad that i have sufficient time to slowly sort out my stuff to do...

necrosis

hello strawberry!!

would like the info too...please email me at [email protected]..
thanks!!!

rena:

i went to the exhibition too...
didn't like feline gowns...

spent some time talking to volan couture PG Eric...seems to be very professional, and read good reviews abt them in styleweddings forum.
but no idea abt their gowns.

yvonne also has some good reviews in this forum, maybe can check with the specific thread..?

j0yl

haha, was wondering if i should wear a really long veil on the actual wedding day...

yup, went to club chinois a few weeks ago, thought it was nice, only 20 tables, but 3 tables will be in the VIP room - view will be blocked. heard tt the rates would only be out in march for 2008.