(2008) Brides of year 2008

msclaire

Actually I quite like the fact fh and i are splitting everything 50-50, cos it's like we both own this wedding together. Don't want him to be overburdened, after all he still has the wedding gifts and angbao for my mum to worry about.

zephyrine

Hi everyone...

wow.. came online this morning and realised you gals sleep really late... hey it's time to catch up on all the beauty sleep...

last night i was trying to do my program sheet.. and fell asleep halfway through... !

Ah Net - hiya! i was quite uncomfortable with my initial choice of AD wedding gown after the photo shoot.. so requested to change to a another one... FB wanted to charge me $500 initially for the change, but managed to bargain to $300.. =( but happier with my new gown now.. anyways, goin to meet FB tmrw to choose hand bouquet and car decor... have you done that???

oh, you monitoring Euro too?? last i check with a money changer (yesterday), heard that the rate is 2.115.. was thinking of getting it once it hits 2.10

Green - my banquet is about $980 per table... excluding wine some more... hotel only waived one corkage per table, so we estimated that, if people just give $80 angbao, so about $200 loss per table lor...

rach - that's alot of money... sometimes i look back at the expenses spent for AD, i'm like.. gosh! we could do so much more with the amount of money put into AD... cos we're paying for the entire AD as well...

lsntyl

msclaire>me too. :p Its our habit to split everything 50-50 most of the time so we apply the same principle to our wedding.

~sblbee~

lsntyl n msclaire,
true lor....most gals prefer dat guys pay more for d wedding but den i got no choice cos if he's in debt den i'll b d one suffering wif him in future rite? i agree it's better to go 50:50 apart frm items like proposal ring, GDL cakes, tables, PJ n APs cos i think our partners will b overburdened unless he's frm a rich family or earns $10K per mth....hahahah :p

lsntyl

Green>they don't give the rates. Just generally talk about hotel wedding banquet prices going up and that guests should give more in the angpao

nehoc

Yup i got to pay a penalty but i did use their video service but apparently they are still quite sore over it & till now they had not contact me for collection of my video. I thought Joho more EX??

vernwyen

rach:
wohoo... i feel fortunate now, coz my BQ cost is a fraction of yours. Now we are praying our colleagues and friends will be 'auto'.

crown:
relatives usually dunno the market rate, esp the older generations. When my cousin got married my mum wan to give $200 (we are a family of 4). Hers was at Park Hotel (former crown prince). End up mi and my sis chipped in to make it looked more 'reasonable'.

pinkcupcake

wow! this thread is going fast and furious! :p saw some of you girls' pictures! very beautiful! I'm glad we are all having so much fun with our wedding prep!

msclaire

precisely because we split things half-half, it makes it more special when he comes up with a surprise lil gift

happi_bride

iI got colleague ask me at point blank how much $ per table..

And for an ex-colleague wedding, I heard that one colleague went to surf net to check out how much it cost per table so that can give accordingly.. (and according to my hotel, some guests call hotel to ask the price per table).

Rach> Oh, so u asked moms to go early like 5pm, then the MUA make up for them? R u using the same MUA for the bride to do for the moms?

I enquired abt an outside one - it cost $80 per person (for external venue). Hair styling costs, I heard its not included. But the MUA recommend the moms to come to her place, then cheaper a lot..

I hope the AB can cover the banquet costs + wine good enough.. those AB, PG, VG are all expenses liao....

lsntyl

hee, FH is not the romantic kind so when he does something extra, its always extra sweet. Yest he walk from Clarke Quay after drinks with his boss to my facial place in Chinatown to fetch me. Was so happy. :p

charma97

Wow.. So many of you are so active in the night and you all have done so many things. My cousin will be making a childhood montage for me as a wedding gift.

Did my guest list and asked a few friends. They said I kiasu, ask so early.

Any march in songs to reccommend? So far in my mind are chinese songs.. At 1st, i wanted the 1st song to be "from this moment", but i find very common..

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>our wedding venue so small, will have to have several events to match rach's 76 tables. :p

Fanny>wah, ur colleagues so hiong? Good and bad bah. I also heard some people will call up the venue to check the price per table. Actually, don't quite like that.

I should be asking the MUA to either go to the hotel or the venue to do the makeup.

msclaire

hahaha if i add on, it will be like comparing the fh again hee. i can feel ur joy from over the net, good to have someone who makes u feel special.

lsntyl

hee, no need for comparison lah. FH has lots more to improve! But at least he's making an effort to keep me happy. Think he can tell I'm stressed sometimes about the state of wedding preps. Worst is cannot lose weight.

clareliu

some of colleagues also ask me the exact price per table. plus no matter how many times i told them is 8 course lunch.. they still tot is buffet style.. OMG!! and one of my colleague said lunch banquet v cheap (1/2 the price per table as compare to dinner banquet).. <shit>

euanterence

Struggling to keep my eyes open..only managed to sleep at 5am...can access internet on and off in office but no msn installed..=)
Charma- Two Sleepy Ppl, One Boy One Girl, When You Love Someone, I'm Your Angel, For You I Will, I Finally Found Someone
hehe these are quite sentimental and romantic songs if u like

waxie24

bubbly> ur coll think lunch got 50% off ar.. u tell him/her if he give angbao with his credit card still entitled to 10% discount.. *faint..

fanny> the mua i got is 70 per head including hairstyling + transport..i told her its at hotel..

lsntyl

waxie>hee, credit card still got 10% discount? :p funny.

Bubbly>to those who ask, I tell them it is a sit down lunch with different courses. Hope they spread the info to the others lor.

crown>paiseh, I just del the corsages link last week from my PC! Hope someone else is able to point you to a few sites.

uk_fung

no problem.. actually all these are found online too.. so just share

I think I will stated to Neo garden.. I am ordering their hi-tea buffet instead coz don't want to have heavy food... those finger food and snacks is good, easier for the guest to eat also (all dress mei mei ma hahaha) anyway mom agree so is fine .... will be ordering for 25-30pax ba... already done the compare sometimes ago according to my need.. so Neo garden it shall be :p

As for the GDL cake.. hee hee actually I don't need it myself.. will be just buying cake voucher will do.. coz my MIL say she don't need to give any cake.. and I don't have relative here.. just some parents friend... so skip that.. my GDL only need 2 box of one donzen cake will do..

Mei: you not ordering from Pines Garden liao?

ceo38

Morning ladies...thks for the info &amp; help rendered. However I'm stil lost s to whether I want any montage done onot. I aint willing to pay my VG or PG to do any cos I knw tis montage ting can do ourself &amp; if I'm nt wrong, it aint 2 diff 2 do de..

Jane:- Mine is 28 pgs &amp; ct by page nt by digital. I got a fren who bought back ALL her photos in soft copy. That is including those in her album. &amp; those that she did nt select for the album. Tat means every shots every single photos, she got it all back in cd rom. I cant bear to let the PG take back the photos and me not having them leh..even though I not sure if mine will be nice or not...haha

March-In Songs...damn..i tink i hav to start thinking also...faint..

lilacbliss07

blanqq.. oh no u haven got ur PG and VG?? dat's pretty late.. most are fully booked... wat's ur budget??

charma97.. i also dunno wat songs to use lehz.. keke also tinking of using from this moment.. ya its quite common.. no new songs dat's nice le..

wow bubu u still managed to go to work?? keke..

~sblbee~

mrs chiew,
im not ordering frm pine gardens le....my mum n my fh prefers choz confectionery's packaging....n they like d cakes there so we ordered frm choz confectionery :p

necrosis

hi pin,
thanks for the info.
good to know.
i intend to go there and print also...lol..since my BS is in JB liao.

ask you ah, in case i missed your reply prev, where did you do the DISC profilling?

uk_fung

738679.jpg

this is just a rough one... hmm hope it helps.. I think is more like the starting portion you interested to know how to write right?

Anyway you can always consult the printing supplier of yours.. they should have a more proper template for you.

lilacbliss07

Hi Karen.. so urs is fullpage also? so how much ur fren paid for the soft copies?? Hmmm montage not really easy or hard.. depends on if u got the time to do it.. i spent 1 whole day to do a short one last time.. so for me i rather ask my VG to do it.. haha.. and he knows how to match the photos sequence with the songs..

charma97

Thanks Bubu. I will go listen to these songs.

Jane, Maybe you can listen those bubu recommend.

Kellyduffy, chipydale and pinkycupcake, i had added you into my multiply.

dodolet

Hm.. It is hard to determine 50:50 sharing as it would be pretty impossible, imagine the guy has to pay for the diamond ring and the GDL stuff(gold and money) . That will already set him back 10k(depending lah.) For us we have a common pool of items we share or going to share, like BS, dinner, caterers, deco, rest of the big ticket items. Our extra gowns are on our own expenses, videography is on mine to offset the gdl stuff he has to get and if I wanna any extra fotos, it will be on my own too... T.T.

Anyway I think our FH will come up tops in some areas and bottoms in other areas. Most impt is to work together and accomodate each other's weaknesses and rely on each others' strength bah.

~sblbee~

mrs chiew,
i think so too.....i didnt know abt d min requirement cos im ordering 40+ boxes....if there's a min requirement, den it's better to buy vouchers cos less restriction :p

lsntyl

sotonglet>v true. I actually had to persuade FH quite long to share the cost of the wedding bands. We are quite chin chye, I think. Never really work out a budget and calculate who pay for wad. we just agar-agar. :p

ebride

Melody: icic..oki send me yr mailing address thru Multiply or here.

Adeline: My ID is esummer. I found yr ID very familiar, cannot rember where I saw it..heheh

Mei Jie: Yap chocz cakes r appealing but too bad too far from where I stay. The sales person say the free delivery has to depd on availability of the driver. So decide not to choose them.

Mrs Chiew: So r u getting any GDL cakes for yr Hongkong relatives? Guess in HK the variety for GDL cakes r muz more interesting than sg..izit?

clareliu

Jeslyn > my solemnizer name is: Mr Leong Yew Cheong

For the wedding cakes to relatives, final decision is: We are getting the wedding vouchers from Bengawan Solo at $6.80 each. hehe
Save the hassle to carry the heavy boxes.

Any idea who will pay the cakes $$? is it bride side or groom side?

~sblbee~

cheryl,
i duno leh, my fh alrdy ordered le so i leave it to him to settle....as long as i get my cakes on my GDL date den im fine le :p
my fh's side is paying for d cakes....den he needs to get d roast pork too....

uk_fung

GDL List:
- 2 ice wine
- 2 box of cake
- 1 basket of fruits
- 1 big ang bao

That's all I have for GDL :p

yar HK side mom brought like 150 over cake vochers for realatives and friends. HK need to give friends also.. and we give cake vouchers so that they can change to other things instead.. no need to be traditional cake which some of them might not eat.

Your are so lucky.. for us is EVERY single thing paid by us...(even the pin jing!) except jewellery

porsche

i think cakes usually paid by guys side...but these days, most of the expenses are shared between the couple..so does it really mattered??

Mrs Chiew: Pl pardon my chinese...do we need to insert the word "Cheng1 Ci2 Ming4" in the invite?

straylamb

i din prepare any addtional wine @ all coz hotel give mi 1 wine per table thk shd b enuff coz mine is weekdae dinner... if not enuff mayb will buy from hotel loh but will b expensive loh...
rach... 76 tables?? wow u realli got a lot of tables to manage!! how to finish takin e table photos in time? u must be real stress now ur AD is only 2 weeks away... take care of ur health leh... ganbatte!

waxie n YL... thanks for the links for corsages... initialli tot of makin miself... but now like no time liao... haven even done mi montage yet!
green... BTO also not bad... but haf to wait 3 years quite sian hor... mi frien juz told mi she got e ballot for the commonwealth flat... so lucky man... that location is good loh within walkin distance from mi house... btw u noe wenyang from your dept? juz saw him at mi senior's performance last nite, din noe he workin in rp now

bedazzle

haha, waxie you really a v funny girl.
10% discount somemore...

I also sian, cos although my venue is at fort canning, the food is provided by legends. so pple actually thought it's restaurant price. but it's not lor. Comes up to abt 1k per table, including drinks etc. and some pple also thought it's buffet style cos it's outdoor. sianz.

Green,
It's not the same, having wedding dinner vs having a normal dinner there. But then... no choice now right. Just hope my wedding will turn out good.

Usually for the price and other details, my closer friends will ask, and I'll tell them lah. they v kaypoh, keep asking me about my preparations. So I know they're not asking abt the price in order to bao ang bao, but truly ask out of concern. So hopefully these close friends fr different groups of friends will help "spread the news" to rest of the group. keke...

I'm not worried abt the ang bao amount that my friends bao, more worried abt the angbao those older folks bao. Can imagine those family of 3 bao $50, or family of 5 bao $100 that kind lor. And most of my guests are made up of such demographic... sianz.

lynnqi

HiHi Ladies,

Can add me at Multiply so I can view all your beautiful pics too? My id is lynnqi

My PS will be on the 25th. Seems that i am really slow.. hmmm

peepar

Oh, I better clarify...when I said groom side, it actually means my FH will be paying for it. In fact, he is paying for everything including the jewellery. 2 weeks ago, when my PIL came to meet my dad officially (chinese: ti qin), my dad never requested for anything. He said as long as me and FH happy and blissful, that's enough. Not even the bridal money (ping jin). Thus, MIL said what she has is all gold and I may not like it, so I can shop around and if i fancy anything, I will ask my FH to buy. Depends how you see it, I probably am the only one among friends that FH pays for everything. In a way, this is better.