(2008) Brides of year 2008

Let's look forward to the happier things of weddings, such as honeymoon tour

Banquet topic makes us feel stress haha.

lsntyl

crown and straylamb>if you intend to order corsages, better do it soon. Have to give them time to make the corsages.

Dor>I thot its commonly known that weddings at fort canning not cheap?

green>HM oso make some of us stress wor. Cos I think got a few still waiting confirmation of their trip. :p

ceo38

Hi Jane, mine shd be full page ba...no idea too... my fren i tink paid 1.2K and another one is ard 1.5K for the soft copies

pinjie8275

No worries lah... I also intend to go there to print.

Hi Nec, I signed up the Marriage Preparation Programme organised by Touch Community. And our profiling was done by the instructors (husband & wife team).

I would strongly encourage all to go cos' really very useful and can help minimize future problems living together. (^_^)

uk_fung

porsche: by right if your grandparents still ard will have to put that.. but pls pls ask your parents and check with the printing supplier. They will be more clear and can make the final decision.. like my case... I check with my parents and say no need as no one really care liao... so my card is without the 3 words there
just name...some more I din put all of the 4 name.. just Mr. & Mrs. XXX(Father name) in chinese.

ct_jo

Sorry, have been missing for some time... Busy with work and FH just back from Hawaii so have to accompany him & update him on our wedding status.

Do we have to print our cards that early? When is best time to give out these cards? 1.5mths before our AD is that consider early?

Updates: I have engaged my AD photo & videographer as Simons Video. Simon is a funny & cheerful guy, I believe he can bring out the smiles of all my guests.

uk_fung

For my case I don't want so much gold stuff also...so my MIL ask me go choose one and buy first and pay back my hubby the money....

As for my HK side... is a practise that they will buy gold stuff for the lady... coz is for them to "protect" themselves... only close one will buy gold... else ppl just give ang bao... in HK actually these kind of thing is more sensative.. is a face problem, is sth that show how close your relative to you... argh.. so mafan... anyway I just look at the pt that is a gift from my relative with their hearts .. coz after all is not little money also.. esp when the gold price is so high...

keer13

Hi Shirlin, My MUA is Elson.. Agree the EG collection is quite pathetic..

U added me? What's your Multiply ID? Hee.. Not sure which is you.. Which album did u manage to see cos I will need to add you to view my album as it's a private album.. Hee..

Please email me at [email protected] to share your photos.. :p

Hi Pinjie - Thanks for sharing the info.. It will be super helpful to me as well..

euanterence

i had a fren who used "I Finally Found Someone" for the march-in..it was very appropriate...
the rest which are rather subtle can be used for montage

keer13

Hi all BTBs - Me still looking for videographer as well.. Anyone has any recommendation?

Hi Pinjie - What's the indicative rate for Phototerrain? Have u view his works? Good.. I think he does not have any video at his website..

Hi CT - Is Simon good? May I know his rate, if you don't mind..

charma97

Hi Jane, Mind to share how much did you spend on your animation? Which company?

Because at 1st i was thinking of doing one, but my hubby feels the coffeeworks very exp.

Hi Tanlee, added you.

porsche

thanks Mrs Chiew...this is one qn my MIL ask when we show her the draft... her explanation is that its correct to insert when the grandparents are paying for the wedding where its not likely the case these days....

will check with the printer... thanks for the clarifications...

uk_fung

np ya

Jeslyn: erm..yours maybe diff coz is for GDL right... not sure if you are referring to the whole roasted pig that ppl use when bride return home or lor.. if is that kind.... fyi I try serach quite a no. of shop.. end up mid size pig all about 388 one.. so I decided to get tiong bahru one for my AD.. coz they deliever also..

cfay

hi.. Any recommendations on printing a qty of 15 cards for ROM events? I just need printers to print as i had already got the cards from my Club.

shirlin3

Hi Christina,

I also took Simons Video. Too bad, he is not available. His colleagues will be taking instead. Did you confirm on that?

Hi Keer,

No wonder there is only 1 photo.. maybe it is the wrong one. Just added you. I will send you the invitation now.

ebride

Mrs Chiew: icic..good then yr HK relatives got more choice if they dun want cakes. More practical.

Adeline: yap saw u liao!

Talking abt expenses, I share the expenses with my hubby. At least can lessen his burden abit. Some wedding stuffs he pays all whereas some we share 50-50%. We got a checklist to guide us along in order not to overspend wo.

jenvin_08

Hi Mrs chiew, thank you for the help. I dun know how to put all the details together. scared of wrong sentence construction & make a fool of myself.. haha
I did ask the printer for sample... But they told me they dun have it. Theirs are usually dinner location in the insert.
Would like to check with you.
What is the thing to write on the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th line from the left?

lynnqi

Mei:
Gosh, i love your gowns, especially the red one.

Charma & Jane:
Can try songs by Jim Brickman, Found a few with really nice lyrics and tune.

uk_fung

Jen: hmm this is also just a sample ya I am not 100% sure of it... hee hee just be long winded abit.. rem to check with your parents...

Abit funny that supplier don't have sample.. they never do that before meh? is kinda common to have church wedding also ma..

Should be start from the right:
1st line: Date of your wedding.. (this pic happen to show only the western calander.. usually ppl have both lunar calender too you can add that in)

2nd line: stating couple name, Church ceremony timing

3rd line: name and add of the church

4th line: wedding banquet name (if you want can put address together but you can also seperately put at the left side blank space)

Then the cheng chi ming there is both parents name.. (you can put just like Mr. & mrs. Father's name , up to your parents/PIL

I feel la... you can lump up and put all the address at the left side where it is rather blank..

rayrachel

dor> yup.. total expenses is $90K... haha... and yup... its sooo much.... though i've earned that amount in the past years...
but i dun have that kind of savings man.. haha.....
hehe.. at least u had a budget to work with...
we planned the wedding with what we wanted to have... not with how much $$ we have.. haha..cool eh??

older folks drink hard liquor de ah?? nowadays seldom liao loh....
Mostly drink hot tea.. no meh? hehe...

so nice to have ur bf paying for everything..wah... u good ah... dun even have to worry...abt $$...

Mmm... i dun have to worry abt the relatives part..coz my parents absorbing the cost..they'll pay me the $$ for the extra 15 tables... P/L they'll bear...
so more or less they cover that part.. but now.. even my own side i'm worried..coz we have younger frens.. whom are not working yet..they make up almost 4-5 tables ba,,
its actually small loss...but coz we haev no spare..its makes it quite bad... coz we no savings.. had we had even $5-10k,,,then its actually okay de... but now even that $5k is alot of money liaoz...

YL> yeah.. this is my 4th day at home... i got 2 days offical MC.. but i think... i'm still not that well yet....
still coughing... sigh....

talk about savings man.. i think the wedding is going to make me a bankrupt... ever heard of anyone becoming a bankrupt after wedding??

Mmmm.. i think i can make it to guiness world records for being one.. hahaha...

Hhahaa..good man.. i pray and hope more people read those kind of articles loh.. hahaaha...
then can help to save poor souls like us...trying to make ends meet.. sigh....

spoiltbabe> i totally understand man... my parents side is 24 tables.. coz of immediate relatives...and one generation up..
I'm an only child... so...everything must be big big.. coz only one time.. they wont get to marry off another daughter or son...
so... have to respect the elders and invite them.. sigh....can u imagine 8 tables of Grand Aunts and Grand Uncles and their children and grandchildren??
Sigh..... HB's side is only about 14 tables of their relatives..the rest is about 11 tables of common frens from church...
and i've personally another 17 tables of personal frens la... hehehe.. so add up.... 76 as of last nite...

wah...so nice of u and sis to chip in to make it look good. hahaha..usually i dun care... i just tag along and eat.. hahah..
But i know their rates.. low... but when i go for my own frens.. i make sure they will not spit at me when they open the AP la...
besides blessing the couple.. its also abt my own face man.. dun wan people to say i'm stingy and not auto...
its a happy event.. both side happy tehn good ma...

green> where's beaufort?? whats that??

viv> tats a very serious accident!! Gosh.. like Money No Enough 2 like that.. kaoz....
My ex who had his wedding at M Hotel made profits... everything free.. include BS package..

But depends on who u really invite man.. sigh.... they get to keep all APs though..

i love beard papa too!!! yummy.. but now i cant anyhow eat..much as i want to.. sigh..gotta control..
still coughing.. bad.. sobsob...

crown> today's what ah???? any article to see see???

Zep> exactly... i could have renovated my house 2 times over man... sigh....

fanny> yeah.. my coordinator also told me that sometimes got people call in and ask tonite's dinner how much de,,
and they'll help the couple abit..top up $10+ like that.. cannot too much.. hahaha..when she told me.. i laugh my head off..
hahahaha...

yeah... Mums will be at the hotel early for MU ma...tats the usual practice de..

They'll come in casual clothes..then they'll change mei mei at the hotel too..

Yeah..my MUA will MU for both mums..

Bubbly> yeah loh... i also had the impression that lunch are VERY cheap..until when i was sourcing out..then i realised.. weekend Lunch = weekday dinner price...
its just one scale down.. and not that cheap after all.. sigh.... people's mentality gotta change loh...
I've also got people ask me at point blank.. "you all one table how much??" just say everything include about $700-800++...
which is really true... now its more... sigh.....

Forest> wah... when's ur AD?? never seem to haev seen u ard much..

I ask my BS to select..they know me well enough to know what will be nice for me..

1st suggestion is Lily..
i shall see what they have decided..

straylamb> yeah loh... hahaha... can la.. hope to do it fast..

lost_in_space

what i understand from my printer is that if ur paternal grandma is still around, then need to put feng chi ming.. maternal grandparents are not counted.. they will put above the parent's name (for chinese version)

jo_vin

chipydale and pinkycupcake! Add me on Multiply also! My id is marigold81. Thanks!

Bubu, think by this time, u shld be struggling to keep ur eyes open. Haha.. I wanted to use 'I finally found someone' initially, but i think its far too common. Think guests also hear until sian ba.. Hehe..

Blanqq, u havent found ur PG & VG? Think u shld start doing so le.. Most of us have confirmed alrdy. U can go to the thread in Singapore Brides about PG and VG. Lots of reviews and comments there.

Jane, i'll go n view ur animation now! So excited! Hehe..

Gals, Sheraton gave me a list of love songs to use for my March-in. I go back, get the copy then try to type the songs here for u all!

ct_jo

Hi Shirlin,
Nice to know that you took up Simons Video. My FH & I had specifically requested & booked Simon before we signed up, so he will be taking for us.

Hi Keer,
Both my future sis-in-laws engaged Simon (few yrs ago) and he has left deep impression ‘cos I find that he’s a joyous guy, can make your friends & relatives flash your teeth during shooting. He focuses on the important moments like tea ceremony with gifts, last hug before bride leaves the house etc, and all the standard procedures during the day. His skills may not be very artistic though ‘cos probably not much time to captured nice pose during AD unlike PS. Another good thing is that he’s very experience and sometimes he would advice the parents what to do next, hence best for those first-timer parents whose son/daughter is marrying cos usually they will be very blur & confuse for the 1st time.

I paid $1,400, which he mentioned it’s a promotional price. Includes both AD Photo & Video, morning express highlights, 300 4R photos & 2DVDs (if I remembered correctly cos I don’t have the invoice with me now)
Check this out http://www.simonvideo.com.sg/

jo_vin

Jane, i saw ur animation!! So cute! Hehe.. So funny, u all seen each other for 8 years but nvr spoke to each other? Btw, u were together on 12th April '06 rite? Tat's my HTB Birthday!! Haha.. So qiao...

shirlin3

Hi Christina,

That's good. I think he is quite hot. We were too late *sob*... However, the pricing is so good that I can't refuse. So i took the 2nd best. Keke!

blanqq

thanks gal, cos' couldn't find anyone suitable and most of them are out of my budget.

Waste come to worse, get my frd to do for us.

jenvin_08

Hi Mrs Chiew, sorry. i din specify clearly. i am referring to the 1st-5th line from the left which you have strike off? What are the info to put on each shaded line? pai sei...

your sample really helps me to get some idea of wat to write. really thanks a lot.. =)

jenvin_08

hmm.. pai sei.. i have thought wrongly of your post. Do you mean the 4 short black lines are meant to put the grandparents /parents names? for a while, i am wondering where does the cheng chi ming comes from...

jrgal

guess i m way lagging in the updates of the thread..don tink can read all the way from the front. I think i suffering from quite severe depression liao..having problems cos tinking of tendering resignation and told my supervisor liao,bt then again,they advise me against it.i m super tired of my job,bt it pays pretty well,and i m worried of going jobless,without money,especially i going to get married,and with a flat ready in 3yrs.my hubby is nt the saving kind of guy..so i m nt confident..nw i tender resignation halfway liao,then dunno whether to go ahead anot.i hate myself for being so fickle minded.having to cope with my part time studies and the thot of resignation,plus wedding..i am crying everyday!!i have already lost interest and stop planning for my wedding..cos i m SOOO stressed!!

euanterence

jovin,me definitely not using that song.. infact abt 5 ppl have emailed me asking me for that song already.
I might be using a Japanese song by Yuna Ito..need to check out the lyrics to see if its suitable

lsntyl

jrgal>oh dear, have you talked to a close one about your problems? Most important, does your hubby know and is it supportive? The wedding is just a day. Still got many more days to go after that.

Its good that you talked to your supervisor. Can they help? Maybe reduce your workload? If quit from your job, is it easy for u to find another job?

Take care, k? Hope you can destress

knightley

Hiya....me also chose Simon Video...recommended by my friend too....yeah, my FH and I talked to him few mths baq and he is already like advising us what to prepare and what the actual day would be like....so, he's really a very experienced guy....but sigh....too bad by the time I book him, he is already booked...sobz...so will be taking his colleagues too ne....he assured that they are also as experienced as him...hope so...keke...

I think he says there are only 4 pairs of PG + VG. so, do act fast...keke....

Btw, any idea where best to do manicure and pedicure? I'm looking for 1 which has 3D art ne...wats the price range like? hee

happinessbliss

jrgal < u can PM me lei, let me see if i can help to console u
.... i also resign from my company 2 months back... cos i was too stress up with never end projects and also cos of the frequent travelling... Imagine i have to change date for PS twice cos of travelling... now i am helping my ex-boss to do some freelance projects... can PM me la... cos yr case very similar to mine...

ahnetsan

Green, mine at sheraton. Table of 12. abt $1200 lor per table. Got free flow of beer. Red wine one bottle per table free den subsequent red wine will get from hotel supplier instead of outsourcing. Jus plain lazy to outsource. Haha. Me also not providing hard liquor, dun think many ppl will drink hard liquor these days, somemore mine is on Tuesday. So no need ba. Jus beer and red wine can liao.

Oh yah hor, I need to buy pyjamas

Fanny, dun like dat leh… I wan to buy the branded bags at paris leh. haha. Hmmm, I must start observing the euro currency rates liao. Haha.
Btw, I confirmed going to paris liao. In October, abt 2 weeks after wedding.

Green, my colleagues all say I siao one leh, ppl getting married should be happy happy and blissful looking , but they say I always very stressed like dat, den everyday I complain sian here sianz there. Haha

Green, wah piang, whoever give tissue paper in the ang pow can go eat shit and die lor. super horrible. And $50 for a family of 5???!!! Wah kao!!! why got such idiots one? Cannot tahan. Nowadays, go out for dinner $50 also nt enough wor.

pinkcupcake

thank you, tan lee.
I haven't really checked out you gals' multiply sites in detail! wah! so happy! suddenly so many pictures to look at! heh heh.
I will have a good time looking through all you gals' albums this weekend or later tonight.

jo_vin

Yeah! Received my first preview of my animation!! Have seen it, but there were many amendments that need to be done.. So now just sent them an email for changes. Have to wait for 2nd preview then...

ahnetsan

Lsn, I also prefer no banquet. Jus ROM and meal with close frens and family can liao. Same lor, bo bian, sianz. Create so much unhappiness and trouble jus cos of banquet. Super sianz de. Colleagues and frens ask me, I also not enthu anymore le. Jus sianz everyday.

Wah got loreal sale too meh?? Btw, my fh say we all like very auntie, know this sale lah , dat sale lah.. haha. Den I say good wat, got such info must share mah. It’s sale leh, means it’s cheaper mah.

Wa, rach, where are you gg to get the money from? Gosh, I dun even dare to calculate yet. No one is helping to pay for the banquet? (if there’s a loss lah) for us, heng, fh’s parents paying for the banquet if there’s a loss. Den hor, if heng heng got profit, den dunno who take the money. Cos no one brought up the topic at all. Sianz. Dunno fh’s parents will give us the money or not leh.
Ya lor, me gg crazy lor, with the guest list not done, invites not written and sent out lor. and RSVP date on 2nd sept lor, omg lor, where got enough time?? Den worse, fh still say never mind, got time one… GOSH!!! Really wish like banging the wall lor, no wonder my doctor say I got mild depression liao. This stupid banquet is driving me crazy lor.

mary_poppins

Meiling, actually I worked for many years liao, just that no savings cos I pay for most of the things at home since working and spent nearly 3 years repaying my tuition fee loan. My HTB knows I am quite gone case in saving money, so forced me to take out a bit of my bonus for the past two years and place joint FD account. The money will be use for our future home. So far, I only contributed his wedding band, his suit made in BKK, and the deposit for the AD PG and PG. Luckily he's a super thrifty person so can afford to pay most of the things even though he's not from a rich family nor earning 10k a month. But cos of his thriftiness, he almost fainted when I told him I want to buy 2 bags and 1 wallet in Europe even though that is going to come from my bonus. Btw, EURSGD has dropped to below 2.10 these few days. Can watch out. The historical low this year was around 2.04-2.05 in Feb.

SotongLet, maybe bcos there's no diamond ring for me, that's y my HTB can pay for most of the things... =P Btw u still remember Keith &amp; Joanne? They just got married last month. The rest of the frenz were asking who is your HTB, whether is someone we knew? They said you have been very secretive about it.

msclaire, you HTB looks like a romantic guy from the photos...

LSnTYL, no worries, at the stressed state you are in, you will lose weight soon. Do relax. It will help your skin glow naturally by your AD.

lilacbliss07

hi charma97.. yeah mine is $350.. coz the team is pretty new and freelance i tin.. yeah much more cheaper than the others.. keke... but some pple dun like my animation.. they say too simple.. keke but i like can le la.. keke...

jo_vin.. keke so qiao huh.. ya coz my hubby's sister is my best fren.. so still will see him lor if i go to her hse.. but nv tok la.. haha...

haha karen.. thanks.. not really from young la.. from teenager.. keke...

bedazzle

jrgal,
cheer up. Hv you talked to ur husband abt this problem?

Since your house is coming in 3 yrs time, you still have time to look for another job. Which industry are you in? Issit difficult to find another job in your line? Or would you consider looking for a lower paying job in the meantime to relax first, and at the same time finish your studies and think abt what you wanna do?

Can imagine how lost you are, crying every night. Just hang in there a bit, the wedding's gonna be over soon. Any chance of taking unpaid leave?

Rach,
wah 4 days MC? better nurse yourself back to health, 2 wks more to ur AD!! take good care!!

Don't worry too much abt your wedding. If worse come to worse, can ask ur parents or PIL to help out in the banquet cost first, then pay them back monthly?

It might be difficult to "open your mouth" but it's better than owing credit card or loan debts and paying the interest. Maybe borrow from parents and pay them a nominal interest, or bring them on a good holiday when you've saved up enough money?

jo_vin

Hi Jane, u also received your animation today? Haha.. Mine too.. I tot u received it some time back alrdy but just didnt know hw to post it online. Ya lor, u like it can le la.. Mine still a long way to go, cos still must make alot of changes, and also have woice recording. Then HTB flying this mth end, so don't think can finish before he flies.. Haiz.. Gotta wait for final pdt in Nov lor.. Sianz..