(2008) Brides of year 2008

xuer21

meiling,
haha.. i dunno le... cos maybe i nv go find out ba hehe.. but this thread looks familar le.. i think.. i got come in b4 but only once or twice

annabella

Hi Meiling,
How's u feeling now? Weather's bad, have to take care...looks like going to fall sick soon, throat feeling uncomfortable.

Any recommendation where can I get nice and economical GDL stuffs? Time to get the full sets before the lunar seven month. Went to a few stalls along chinatown, dun know if I should just get the package set and topped up for nicer looking items or should I just buy the ala cart items from various shops? Any advise?

My GDL date happens to be on the Mooncake festival day, I wanted to get the teochew traditional xi bing for my relatives but my mum wanted cake vochers instead? wat do u gals think?

~sblbee~

michelle,
hmmmm....u blur little sotong, anyway u r 1 of d many 18th oct btbs here, welcome to d big family cos there r so many 18th oct brides

annabella,
im feeling better now, thanks for ur concern! yah tis is a symptom of falling sick too, do take care of urself ok?
i heard dat there r stalls at chinatown, beauty world, imm n some neighbourhood areas selling GDL stuff, think d ones at chinatown complex shd b not bad, got lotsa variety
u got d whole list of shopping items? if so, den u can ala carte but it's more convenient to buy frm 1 package

my GDL is on 28 sep....seems a bit late for me, in my opinion, i think cake vouchers will b more convenient cos my mum is asking me to get d same too

vividz

wow, the thread going fast. I just finished my customary last sun, quite tiring. now in the planning process for my wedding dinner. I dun have so much tables, maybe abt 32 tables, cos most of my relative in malaysia.

R&J, ur wedding is coming soon, next sun, Huiling asked us to meet on ur wedding. I tink she wants to show us the ballroom. I'm meeting her at 6.30pm, dun tink u will be there yet, cos mostly u will be still at bride suit doing makeup & relax.

vernwyen

straylamb:
exactly! at first say dun invite, now say wan to invite... grr...! To make it worse, i juz knew last nite that there are 2 distant relatives whom i need to invite, and that includes THEIR FAMILIES!! guess how many ppl are there???? 15!!!! I dun dare to tell my fh yet
Darn, i really feel like cancel the BQ now.

green:
i'm an O also, and at home i am always the first to get mozzie kisses. Sometimes as bad as having 5,6 bites over a night. But luckily they heal fast.

We have oredi max out the seats liao... And now keep adding ppl... really damn pissed off. Now i wonder am i celebrating our wedding or celebrating THEIR weddings. Sigh... i give up liao lah, they wan to invite how many ppl let them be, ask them to sit at the stairways -_-"""

ahnet:
now i regret not sticking to our initial plan, just have a beach solemnisation at Tanjong Beach and throw a buffet reception at the pavilion. They can invite the WHOLE BLOCK of ppl...... sigh.....

My mum still tells mi she wan to buy gold for mi to marry over bcoz of 'face' (mian4 zi3). I told her i'd rather have the money, that comes more useful for our wedding preps. And until now she still brought up the wedding timing. We went to a shifu and he gave us the auspicious time for mi to leave the house (which is after 9am). She will every now and then spike me, saying 'go ask for time until after 9am then leave house'. I really got no say liao... sigh....

i agree. Saved 20k + and finish in months. It made me wonder why are we spending all these money when we are unhappy

peepar

MeiLin,
see that you posting quite often, guess you feeling better now. Remember to continue to drink more water as the weather is so hot and yet all the buildings are so cold with air-con.
The pink is not shocking pink but quite bright, hard to put in words..yes, there will be beads and bling bling on it...Guess I will keep my fingers crossed for the final product. Yep, the shoe is chosen and ordered but there is no bling at all, very simple and 4.5 inch. Wow, your shoe has blings and it cost 294, very worth it leh....

As for the jewellery, I saw it at the Jewellery shop at Orchard Parade Hotel. You can try to check it out if you looking for jewellery but be parepared because I am sure after the visit, you will have the same dreams as me...
My FH said my eyes sparkled whenever I make a visit to the shop...hee..
If you don't wear earing, maybe can don rings or necklace or even bracelet.
Have not decide for your flower theme yet? Are you intending to decor your banquet hall separately ? Or just let the hotel decor it ? Infact, that is the part I haven't decide bec if my florist decor, that will mean extra extra money...Are you ?

ahnetsan

spoiltbabe, i agree with u totally. well, at least ur mum wants to buy u gold....i get nothing.. no dowry at all. no money, no gold, no diamond, no money. only got a 60% discounted orange colour with xi word and couple picture bedsheet, a spitton, a baby bathtub and a pair of battery-operated red bedside lamps.

yeah i also wonder whether we celebrating our wedding or other ppl's wedding. make us unhappy jus to please those old ppl or distant relatives etc. and all at the expense of our hard-saved money and unhappiness and frustration. and worse is if they dun give big ang pow and we have to make a loss, dat's even more irritating.

as for your timing case, my mum also spike me at times, at different issues. sianz.

my mum more irritating... already told her million times liao that she has the right to take a few tables, cos it's the guy's side give one, she always say she dun wan take anything at all, cos she din fork out a single cent, embarrassing to take a few tables, etc. she never never NEVER realise that she's embarrassing me lor, as a mother, she's not giving me anything, she's not participating in any of my wedding prep, and she's not taking anything at all from the guy's side... it makes me feel that she's trying to give me away for free like dat... im like water thrown out of a bucket, no one wants. even my mum-in-law say y my mother like dat one. haiz. hw to answer her, u tel me lah.

though she always claims that she doesnt wan to take anything from the guy's side cos she doesnt wan to add financial burden on my fh, cos if he suffers, i will also suffer... but already told her billion times tat it's the in-laws forking out money for the pin li not my fh, yet she jus dun get it at all.

ahnetsan

oh jus to add on, my mum din even wan to buy any of those guo da li things, those things are specially asked for by my MIL, dat's y my mum went to buy... if nt, hmph, nth at all lor... all she claims is cos she's a catholic, she dun believe in such things, and when she married my dad, she went against her mum too, so she does nth like guo da li or those customary things, jus plain simple.... and yet she's so proud of it.... as if her marriage is blissful like dat.... haiz....

my mother is a bad cook, lousy wife and lousy mother... dat's wat my dad says.... 'my wife is housewife, yet she doesnt understand her children at all, she's simply a failure in being a wife and mother'....... how true... me and my sis will say ya lor ya lor, wonder y u married her last time... 0_0"

piyo21

abt 150 like that loh. I think she will only wear for that occasion and then kept in cupboard liao. Therefore, dont want to spend too much.

ebride

Michelle, welcome! hmm find yr nick abit familiar. Hws yr preparation?

Adeline: Well seems that we hv another shopping queen here. Mei u gt a partner liao!! hhehe..Then pass by the shop with yr lao gong everytime u go shopping..Hint to him that u like the pearl earing very much..1st time if didnt wk then try again till success wahhahah

Anna: u ok? drink more water also.U gt a mail, check it out. I thot u mention b4 u want sumthing simple then dun get the full set lor. Full set ard $138 & $168. I feel that cake voucher is a good idea, tik Mrs Chiew mentioned in the previous thread b4.At least yr relatives can collect their cakes anytime they want.

leely

Hi Rach, feel free to add me, my nick is chrysalids18.

Earthsea> You're right.. PS is so fun.. But the negotiation part is just painful.. I'm glad that is over..

I have chosen my flower bouquet already.. Managed to find something I like from the bouquet selection provided by my BS..

If anyone is looking for ala carte bouquet, I would recommend Flower Genius at Sunshine Plaza.. I got my ROM bouquet from there.. The lady is extremely nice and talented, she can customize anything to your request..

vernwyen

my mum told mi there are 2 distant relatives, i was like.. 'ok, 2 wasnt tat bad'. Then ytd my father told mi their families also need to invite i damn hot eh! I know NONE of them!!! Now the BQ is meaningless to me. My fh and i are like spending money on people whom we DONT KNOW!

After hearing your story i guess i am the more fortunate one. My mum bought mi a gold/whitegold necklace oredi, cost her $800+. When she told me i felt heartpain for her coz she works parttime and not earning much. I would rather she saves the money for herself. She is also paying for her tailor-made dress, i felt kinda bad actually but with my situation right now i really cannot fork out few hundreds for her.

ahnet, you wish your mum will be involved in the preps, mi opp. Coz everytime she pass mi info bit by bit, juz accomplish one thing and next request comes again. Made us very headache. And my mum doesnt have her stand, whatever my eldest auntie told her she will come tell mi must do this must do that. But she did not consider our financial situation and stuffs...

Now i dun feel like inviting my friends and colleagues to the BQ liao. It's becoming a senior citizen's gathering.

ahnetsan

haha spoiltbabe, you very funnie leh, say senior citizen's gathering...

think of it another way, ur mum n dad wan to invite those distant relatives (whom most of them we dun even knw at all), mayb cos they are proud of u, they wan their relatives to knw tat their daughter is getting married... not like my mum, dun wan invite (and i forced her to invite her sisters n brothers), dat will make me look bad in front of the in-laws lor.

hmm, ur mum shd have considered ur financial situation lah. my mum over-considered, dat's also nt good...

ahnetsan

msbean, consider my photographer? Robin photography. he's good, seen his works...

any budget? cos mine is slightly more than 2k, and slightly more than 1k for videography.

or mayb rach's PG? i think it's melvin ho.

praisey

hi all july babes, i am back! from a long trip and finally touch down on sunny island. it is 10 days away from the AD, today i went to the BS for final fitting, and still cannot decide on the gowns. Brought my mum to buy 1comb, 1 tray and xi stickers today. I think i am so lucky that i get to skip all the customary stuff, no tea ceremony too. Also met my BMs today for fitting too. Brainstorm for games, and hen's night next friday~yeah yeah. sister getting a african-black stripper for me. Haha...

Serene: did u have to go to the pasir ris kopitiam too? heehee... he was so easy to recognise, really look like a JP from the rest of the peh pehs at the kopitiam.

Things not done:
- photo montage
- songs
- vows
- spa / mani / pedi
- hair salon / facial
- table arrangement

this weekend is our deadline...otherwise we will be so dead. anything i miss out ah?

princess_sue

hi jes, how are you .. beeen a long time since we last saw you in here.
everything ok?

cheryl, thanks. ya i agree. No choice still have to go on. You quit yours a while ago? meaning you are full time into preparing your wedding for now first?

mei, are you feeling better today? hope you are after the rest ytd

koyoyo, how was ytd? fun?

~sblbee~

adeline,
yah, been resting at home n posting replies cos was abit bored, not used to idling at home n not doing anything :p
im looking forward to see ur pink EG as well as ur mtm shoes....sounds interesting
hmm....dun think im a jewellery person n have been buying lotsa stuff frm lee hwa tis yr alrdy n nv had d chance to wear so i dun think i'll spend on jewellery anymore :p
as for my ballrm deco, i'll leave it to my hotel florist, im happy wif 1 theme but was wondering if i can do sth else w/o topping up any $ :p hehehe, will see how 1st, mayb have to drop by d florist n chk out b4 i decide :p

michelle,
yah lor....den im sure u'll remember her AD cos it's ur GDL....double celebration

providencia

Really, so many falling sick, anyone need me to get any medicine? Tell me earlier so that I can pass to u later.

A word of warning abt polaroids print, think they fade away in a few years, must ask ard to see how you can preserve the prints.

babyfifi

Mage:
I used Kean from Homeguide for my reno. Reliable and honest guy.

Floating:
No rat, cow oso good. Cow hardworking and reliable. All the best.

crown

Msbean, when is your wedding first? if you are thinking of booking Melvin on 13 Sep then no chance le, i booked him le

thanks ladies for your compliments.

can someone ..pls send me a copy of ur AD plan?
i am clueless now... sob sob..
then someone pls share with me your ROM plan too pls...

lsntyl

ya, heard that polaroids will fade. That's a minus factor for me.

Sorry gals. Won't be able to join the gathering tonight. Have been asked to go for dinner with FPIL so no choice.

~sblbee~

florabliss,
yah so many brides falling sick....scary :p

providencia,
thanks for ur offer! i got my own medication le....yah i agree wif u dat polaroids will fade away, perhaps they can try instant printing of photos?

lsntyl,
u cant join us le? it's ok lah, we understand
dat makes us down to 9 pax, dun think qinying will b joining us rite?....so it shd b as follows:-
1. nelle
2. florabliss
3. providencia
4. koyoyo
5. meiling
6. nec
7. jac
8. fionachua
9. mary poppins

rjwedding

hi iris_met: congrats!! yup, mine coming up next Sunday.. I target to be down at the ballroom at 7.00pm.. so if u still ard, can see me lor..

hi praisey: welcome back to SG fellow 678!! u need to be quick in doing up ur stuff.. only one more weekend left.. the table arrangement will be the big headache lor.. but luckily u skip most of the customary stuff.. so good.. recently have been mad over the customary stuff.. like must get this get that.. told my mum better get, if not i scared my MIL not happy..

lsntyl

Ya, cannot join tonight le. Was looking forward to it somemore. Wearing black. But have to go FPIL's place to makan so...

smokeyeyes

hi all.. I am having my AD on 21 Dec 2008..

We are doing all the morning fetch bride & customary stuff LESS the banquet.. so it will be a half day thing.. so happy.. I am a Hokkien Bride. Anyone can share Hokkien customs..

I am also not wearing a wedding gown BUT the ROM dress that I made. I am meeting my dress designer to make additions & alterations to the dress like add on a drama train to the short dress or something...

My GUO DA LI will be on 14 December.

polarwhite80

hi annabelle,
my GDL also on mooncake festival day.... hahaha.... i am getting traditional cantonese xi bing for my relatives.....

hi adeline,
dun worry abt the pink.... it will look nice wan.... u n me sama sama leh, like pink.... my cupboard open, mostly pink... colls call me miss pink.... hahaha....

hi meiling,
drink more more water.... rest more more on wkends... will recover in no time....

ebride

sue: nt really I take a break for 2mths, nw I have found a new temp job. Wil look for perm job when big day is over.

Mei: say Ahhh..wor u sound sexy :p

~sblbee~

polarwhite,
heheheh....yah been rowning urself wif lotsa water n rushing to toilet.....hehehe, think my colleagues will think dat im siao :p hope i'll recover soon cos d feeling sucks :p

cheryl,
notti gal....saw ur PS pics le, v nice but i wana see ur outdoor pics, when will u post them up? still waiting eagerly :p

necrosis

aiyoh,
i'm not wearing black.
forgot abt it.
*getting old*

hope i can get to see you gals later... *cross fingers*
oh, coffee club? coffee bean? TCC?
sms me lah....else i'm sure to get lost.
my HP 96414838