(2008) Brides of year 2008

luvz17

Eunice,
I duno how much she will charge. But if you have a friend doing it, then maybe get your friend to do it better. But should you need my friend, then I will ask.. =)

Leely, enjoy ur PS!
Talking abt PS...I got sunburnt over the weekend. My PS is 1.5 mth away...jialat..

XavJess, so early print your cards ah?? Oh no, I havent even consolidate my guest lists..Am I too late??? I think it is cool to have many ppl celebrating Xmas and your wedding at the same time. I dun think it is weird just because you aren't Christian =)

fionachua83

hi gals, went for selection on EG last thurs finally confirm all my gown hehe veri satisfied but a pity i am not able to take any pic of them. Hav chosen a copper-brown and a red gown for my PS and AD. I am not really a shopper too if too ex i wont consider to buy even i like it.

meiling, wao every weekend u buy so many things u really boost the sg economy lo. haha veri curious also y u need to buy tiaras for 1 time use?

msclaire

Nec, empire bistro, steven, 96322232

The printing is so ex! Really very nice? Oh and i think the next time we can wear tiara is....halloween and ur children's wedding in future hurhur

Mei...hehe i just bought 8 tops online yday during a spree. waiting to see if all my stock confirmed!

zenith

how's everyone here? i'm super stressed now. seems like there're so many things yet to be done.... i start to panic liao!!!

rach,

per bottle of bird nest can eat how many teaspoon?

ermmm

leely : saw your blog. I bought the same set of bedsheets from Aussio!! haha.. Also, read about the photobook you printed. How do you like it? I just printed mine from an online source. They having mothers' day promo. Can't wait to get them to see the effect!

aj_wech

gee. glad to hear that the favours idea sound good. i did not like the favours offer by rasa, + our's a buffet standing style, so cannot put on tables for the individual/guests. the next best option was to put in the reception table. (next to ang bao box !)

n thot wld b fun also, if guests does not know what they r goin to get.
some element of surprise. i wl frighten them - tell them maybe got spider, u know like those taiwan game show. LOL !

cheryl, unbelievable, u pick from 70 songs ? i agreed hv to be careful with the lyrics, which is why after awhile, we got lazy and settle on one song for both the march in.

the band we getting will play some jamican and beach type of songs, more casual relax. if i rem correctly, there is only 3 of them, they wl "roam" around the beach and mingle with guests. i think they cost less than S$500. i hv to check with hubby if u all interested.

Cheryl, i think if you had copied the songs from your Own CDs, then u sld be safe lah. besides, i dont think anyone wl notice abt this copyright issues on ur BIG day.

p,s i told my boss i need to apply for long leave in oct, because i am getting married, he gave me the " I DONT GIVE A DAMM look" n did not say anything afterthat. so unfriendly one.

pinjie8275

Hi XavJess, I agreed with Erlina on the AD PG. It is better to secure the one u like first. Might have a hard time sourcing nearer the date especially in year end.

Hi Erlina & leely, can show me your Photobook too? I very interested...

Yesterday, just went to view my custom-made ring... Workmanship very good. Have proceeded to do my Man's one.... So excited... Now brainstorming on what to engrave...

lara

hi rach, i bought frm hock hua too, now got 20% discount?? issit for members or open to everyone??

zen, if u take 1 tsp a day it shld b able to last 3-4 weeks

ebride

haha..then u returned yr boss with that kind of "innocent" look, just like the Pus & Boots cat in Shriek cartoon..meow :mad:
Aiya when come to long leave, all bosses r the same lor.
Wow today beri quiet hor, guess the rest of BTBs r busy or having Mon Blues..

necrosis

msclaire,
thanks so much.
can say you recommended one right?
but i can't find their webbie...do they have one?

fiona,
good that you've done your selection liao....

oh, those invitation cards i saw, had this very vibrant ethnic-indian looking print (suitable for me lah) and some bling bling and the quality of the paper was very good, better n thicker than those loose sheets we buy from popular.
still, the whole thing was just way way too ex.

raragal

xinyi> sure.. just telling u only..

zen> Mmm...it lasts me abt 2-3 weeks.. supposed 1 tablespoon each nite. about 15-18tablespoon???
3 bottles for about 2 months??

Lara> its for members.. coz they recently just sent the coupons out to members...cut it out and buy?? valid till 30 Jun 08.

I didnt bring the coupon there..but ask for it from the guy..he gave me the coupon.. hahaa..

qianqian

thias, i also booked my honeymoon from CTC the swiss and italy.. 16 june... any chance we got the same package? hee...

gals, i eating lao han jia bird nest... not much effect on me leh... haiz.. me got pimple popping out due to stress.. how?

Oh by the way any idea on wad should we do on GDL and An chuan day... wad should i prepare mine GDL is on 5 jun... and 13 jun for A chuan

~sblbee~

cheryl,
no prob at all....juz b a happy bride n im sure ur fathers will b wif us spiritually to share our joy on d BIG day

wah...u bought all d GDL items le...i dun intend to buy all cos dun think they r useful...juz bought d teacup set, nuptial lamps etc
as for d wedding songs for d banquet, i've alrdy chosen 40+ jazz songs wif my fh, waiting for him to come back n burn into a CD but b4 dat, need to cut down to 30+ songs 1st :p

aj wech,
wah so gd, u got a wedding band to play music for u...wah different wedding favours? it's so cool for ur guests to have such a special segment

i'll do a montage of my own n my VG will b helping me wif another...see which is better den i use
chris ling is really out of d budget, perhaps u can consider eugene who's under chris ling but charges a cheaper rate or consider other PGs :p
i've bked for my PG n VG abt 11 mths ago...

weiwei,
welcome to tis thread!

~sblbee~

nec,
i juz spoke to d vendor abt printing guest cards...trying to get a quote n see if it's worth printing, hopefully he can ive me a gd price, gave up on those ex cards cos it's simple not worth it to spend so much $ to print :p
hehehehe, smhow i was drawn to d designs of d tiara as i had wanted a different or nicer looking ones...will post d pics up when i have d chance, dun like to b wearing d same stuff everytime :p

fionachua,
i know dat all d BS n MUA will provide but i prefer to use my own, i even got 3 sets of costume jewellery...since it's clip-on den i can sell it off after my wedding...at least i'll b d 1st to use :p

msclaire,
hehehe....guz we both r burning big holes in our pockets everytime we update each other....wah, i cant do online shopping cos always ended up getting d wrong sizes...

kitty_ng

Hi xinyi & lara, thanks for all the info.
Can you tell me how it tastes actually? Cox i cannot really appreciate the wonders of birdnest. I'm someone who dunno how to appreciate gd stuff..haha

rjwedding

hi FSS: your MUA should match for you. but just in case, you can go chameleon as mentioned by S'rene.. I got my ROM accessories from there.. There are a few outlets in SG.. i got mine from Causeway Point at Woodlands..

Hi s'rene: Relax.. always got last minute things crop up one.. mine even worst.. my mil requested more things very last minute.. i don't care too much.. my HB will handle his mum.. i will handle my mum.. i also hate to hear so many comments, especially from nosy relatives.. i tell my mum I will not listen to all those comments, i don't care.. i don't want to waste time and money..

raragal

Kitty> tastes just like jelly.. crushed jelly.. sweet...

Dun have to appreciate.. just swallow it and see how it works in ur body..

aj_wech

Cheryl, yup, mon blues, so i am "haunting" sg brides forum ! haha !

wah meiling ! u booked so long ago for ur PG n VG liao. someone recommend u har ? which one u using ? i dont think i wl take chris ling group, wl look at other PGs n VGs.

my Sister in Law is handing over some of the GDL stuff, so i think we can save some $ har. :p she has spares for everything ! She even bot the K size duvet cover so that it wl look gd on her Queen size bed, when taking pics. so she only use the K size duvet cover once.

hellooooo weiwei.... tell us about ur wedding plans lah...

xinyi_reiko

rach, no problem.. i got their member.. maybe next time can try also.. hehe..

qianqian, please look at rach's post further up.. she post a link on chinese wedding customs.. that will clear your doubts.

~sblbee~

aj wech,
yah i confirmed my PG n VG based on frens' recommendation n oso after meeting up wif them, they r able to meet my requirement within my budget so i confirmed them....im using d same PG as mrs kel, photo language n VG, hilo pdn :p
my cousin's in tis line too, gota know dat after i've met mal frm tis thread, she's using him for her wedding....

pinkybtb

hi all Sep BTBs
There will be a Natas travel fair 1-3Aug at Singapore Expo. Some big agents like SA and Chan brothers will be having their inhouse fair in july

cyc

Tks ladies on enlightening the myth of limits on the no. of certs that ROM can issue a day! haha..

k, bought my wedding shoes,FH's wedding shoes, quilt and did some painting over the weekend. tiring!

welcome weiwei

ahnetsan

seems like most prefer taiwan and japan. me planning to go japan for honeymoon leh, but dunno can afford or not.

my colleague say go bali.. nice and romantic and not as expensive as going japan... den when i conveyed it to my FH, he say "i think go thailand or HK better.". i was like 0_0" haha
den i say go japan leh... he say he try.. haha

some of my colleagues suggested me and my FH split the air ticket cost and lodging cost.
well, i think if split cost, den can go japan... but if i dun wan to pay at all, den i think can only go thailand or HK or bali. haha. how ar?

cool, got natas travel fair in aug. jus nice timing for us, sept BTBs.

ahnetsan

green, i dun think i can meet u on wed to my BS le. i jus moved office, and my stupid pc is down and i got alot of work to do during this week. sorry green, another day ok? thanks for offering to accompany me.
muacks!!

vernwyen

pinky:
thanks for the info! this really comes in handy, hope the major players will have more attractive packages offered in this exhibition :D

ahnet:
bali too near liao, go further! keke... For us, we will use our joint savings for the HM. Seriously, i wouldnt mind to fork out myself abit more to go somewhere further

eunicet

XavJess: I think you really are super efficient!! You even got the design and template for the invitation cards already!! Usually people wait till about 3-4 months before the wedding date then settle!! :p And you got all your shoes and stuff!! Woweee!
And the fact that you're a Christmas bride is just special I guess, easier to remember! Plus the fact that I feel that Christmas is a season of great love and joy!
So have a greaaaaaaaaat wedding and marriage!!
Btw, I also agree that it's not too early to start sourcing your PG and VG!

luvz: I feel like designing one myself!!! HAHAHAHA, but scared I not pro enough lah!! But was thinking maybe I should do an invite with photo...So in that case would need to wait for photoshoot photos lor...

Will your MUA be following you during the PS? If so, you don't have to bring the makeup stuff as she will touch up for you. In fact, I didn't bring much stuff because there was simply no time except to drink water.

skyea

Hi ladies!

naivesg, i think i read somewhere that after an chuang, put the stuff on the bed and get the boy to roll over. Then the boy can get the eat the suff as a reward. But i'm not sure if this is the actual procedure. Leaving it to my MIL to settle.

thias, my package covers other parts too. We will stay about two nights each in every location. Your boss is really understanding. Sometimes i wish that i have a male boss. Haha.

zen, i'm getting very stressed up too. Very forgetful these days...gotta write down checklists for things to do. Haha.

qianqian, you're going Europe too!
For GDL, just have to prepare those stuff to be returned to the guy's side. Have you already bought the GDL stuff?

babyiguana

Hi Belleryn,
Glad that my info is useful to you.. I bought 1 pair from Belinda to fit both my gowns and solve my shoe problem! =)

Hi R&J,
I agree with you... Let HB handle his mum and you handle ur mum.. =D Some hotels also provide ang bao box.. Mayb you wana ask you hotel about it? =)

Hi s'rene,
Maybe you can use my method?? Which I feel quite gd.. keke.. if you have anyting wana let your MIL know, ask you HB to pass the message.. Coz MIL will listen to their son if he tells her anything.. But if we as daughter-in-law tell her.. she will think this, think that and even doubtful.. =p

ermmm

Hi pin&jie,

my photobook will prob be sent to me end of the week. But there is a proof copy they have generated in PDF, which I dun have now and is very huge. Maybe upload it into multiply during the weekend. You have multiply a/c (or have I added you already.. hehe.. bad memory)?

Anyway, I got mine from http://www.photobookworldwide.com. Found another source called digibook as well. I find that photobook is more flexible in terms of layouts, but more limited in terms of background colour (which can be overcome if you have photoshop). Also, photobook does not have layouts that spread over 2 pages, except if it is 2 full pages (as a background).. Digibook has such layouts, but you are restricted to their layouts and cannot add/amend to create your own.. Overall, we found the photobook is better. Its flaws can be overcome with photoshop (if you know how to use it).

BTW, mine was done for our trips to europe... Just a test bed to try out if we should opt out of the album from AD PG. We spend about 3 full days on it (over 3 weekends) and we didn't do any photoshopping. Just simple enhancements using Picasa. Can't wait to see the end result.

pooh83

YL, I going around 23th to 26th sept.. must see which date is available with tour packages. Went to see the package yesterday but currently no one has book yet..

Spoiltbabe & crown, we wanted to go Europe but not enough leave and will need to spend a lot so decided to go japan instead coz we love japanese food.. hee..

Straylamb, the package is about 2.5k to 2.7k per person (including of tax) depending on which agency you going to..

jrgal

hi LSnTYL,
i quite sad liao cos realised the ANA package for hokkaido is nt available on the date i want..as i got only 1 wk for my HM,and i can only fly on 29/9,so that leaves me nt much choice. my workplace dun allow me to take anymore..cos we hv to ballot for our leave 1 yr in advance for my company.tinking of leaving my job liao after july...

i juz went for my photo selection at my BS...n i horrendously top up 2k=( am i nuts or sth??

jessieq

Thanks all for your advice. Guess my priority now should be getting the PG and VG. Btw, is anyone of ur paying any deposit to the PG? Cos there is 1 PG that is asking me for deposit but from my friends, they have nv pay deposit before. They only pay full when the wedding is over. Is it the norm to pay deposit to PG?

I think i am luckily to found the wedding shoes so fast. Was only thinking of getting shoes for work. but found those shoes suitable so i get them 1st, since my feet wont grow bigger or smaller..

As for my invitation card, its due to my hubby's last min work commitment. Was informed by him in late april that he might be away from July to Oct. And he confirm going overseas in May, so i am left with the days before he left in may and june to get the invitation out. Ours was provided by the hotel including printing of inserts, and i want him to be involved in the preparation so decided to get the template out 1st. And to print and tying of the invites in june so we would have more time for other things when he is back in oct.

i need to wait till my hubby comes back to singapore before i decide. Have to respect the pay master. Hopefully will settle by next month. ;p

kioko_angel

really thks for all your kind advice.
sorry if i sound rude in my previous post, feeling real stress wif this wedding planning.

well,no one had mention abt the meetup not even my FH, so shld i just let them meet only on the AD? looks weird rite?

i booked my facial 12 days before my AD, hope can clear up by then..
btw lara can u tell me where is the shop to buy GDL items? instead of asking my mum or his parents, im acting as a "mei po" and will buy wat is needed..

in fact im real stress and unhappy, no one seems to understand my feeling.. basically is a one man show handling all.. i hav to worry wat's pending, wat's not done, wat nid to do, tis and tat caused me to lose my sleep lately.. erm can fancl drink gives our skin some help? tot of give it a try.. i look like a panda now.. sigh.. so envy you angels granted long leave but i couldnt at all, only one day bfor and after AD..

is juz 3 weeks away and our cards are not send yet, our new house is only half complete and rushing to finish by nex week. if house not ready, i cun plan An Chuan at all cos no space for a temp bed for us. wonder if GDL nid to inform my in law side? as i mentioned, im handling all alone and no one seems excited to know either as they just wan to make it simple..

simplyserene

Hi BBIguana... problem for this one is... we both tell her... she don't believe... until her own siblings (i.e. his uncles) tell her then she believe. How can you not give cards to your relatives? At least not on my side of the family.

Whatever... Couple financing this event has the final say!!!

raragal

Ah Net> i dun mind spliting la... why so diff to split meh?? hahahha...
But i wonder if its too late to buy only in Aug?? i tot the earlier the better??

Any suggestions or comments from those who knows NATAS well???
Maybe if those last min liaoz still not yet meet target..then they'll offer cheaper packages issit??

Gina> my pri fren going to Hokkaido 31st May - 7th Jun.... she booked $2500 per pax from CTC...
I ask her to keep me informed and let me know how is it when she's back,.. hehe..

jrgal> not nuts la.. which is ur BS?? how many for $2K???

raragal

kioko> u definitely need to let ur in laws! The guy supposed to bring stuffs to ur side..and u supposed to return some of the stuffs to them!

Did u check out the site i stated previously???
On what is needed and what to do....

Why is ur FH not doing anything???

samanthaquekys

mei,
i didn't buy the 5k+ SDZ i told you abt earlier which was from soo kee. in the end, MIL bought me another 5k+ SDZ from lee hwa instead.

fh and i bought lighting for my lovenest today. and chose fabric for lovenest curtains. =)
maybe tmr i shall go acrylic manufacturer to get some quotations.

finally feels like i'm getting some things done. =)

looks like everyone had something done over the weekend, which is great. have a great week ahead, ladies!

vernwyen

jrgal:
hmm... if you are nuts, i am insane... coz i top up more than $2k :p

rach:
i aiming for tat also... keke...! 1st day go rackie the packages, last day go book... yoohoo! Hoping they will slash their prices to attract more customers.

leely

Woo.. so much talk going on while I was away for my PS.. *tries to catch up*.. I've uploaded photos (taken by ourselves using our dummy cam) of my PS today on multiply..

Erlina> I haven't collect my photobook.. Will share once I get it.. I'm also just testing their service using my ROM photos to see if I want to use them for AD photos.. Let me know how yours turn out..

XavJess> Yup, you need to pay deposit for professional PG.. It's normal.. Those that don't accept deposit are probably freelancers.. And personally, I feel that not paying deposit to them sort of gives them a right to just run away and not turn up on my AD.. I'd rather find someone reputable, pay him/her the deposit and get a black and white contract.. Just my personal feel lah.

straylamb

yalo... izzit e earlier u book a trip e cheaper? y is there no budget airline 2 japan... sob sob...
LSnTYL... yeah went bac taipei after lushan n qingjing... dun rem seein any dogs at florence... but it really seem like a dreamy place
i really like tw!
jrgal... e photos must b good then u willin to top up mah... if u top up soo much mayb try 2 bargain to get all soft copies bac or somethin? but it depends on e BS also...

princessnono

Hi ladies... I am still in Alaska.. Really thank God that these past 12 days has been great for me!! no morning sickness .. have been resting a lot though on my 7 nights cruise in the glacier.. but still manage to see beautiful ice, glaicer, heli-run to the top of a glacier for a dog sled... but i miss the whitewater rafting my hubby went for.. but overall it's fun!! 2 more weeks to go and I will be back.. Hoperfully it will all be smooth & well too!!
Kind of miss Singapore spicy food esp when it's all my cravings!! =( hhahahaa...

fss

i regret not joining this thread earlier, cause all your girls are so helpful, and we really can learn from each other's good practices/lobang, at the same time, not make each other's mistakes

im in a hurry got a flight to catch in a short while. in short:

R&J, Belleryn, s'rene: just wana say thanks to the suggestion on chomel & chameleon! coz i walked passed these two shops yesterday, and already know that i can def buy some stuff from these two places should my tailor/mua not provided any.

Jule: yes i will check with my mua. just that it slipped my mind when i paid him the deposit. silly me. i m quite into details and yet, after my haircut at his saloon, when i passed him the deposit, i missed out asking him.

BBIguana: my jie has contacted loeandbehold. i should be going down this weekend when im back from my FRA trip. update you again. as for wrist corsages...... so happy, i found a sincere florist, Mia from Blissful Thots. she is helping me with the wrist corsages (included in her blissful wedding package@$350). i am also using her for my church deco, her church package@$450. Total $800. i love her works, reasonable pricing, and sincerity.

Update you girls again! Jia you everyone

~sblbee~

mrs kel,
wah....lucky gal....gotten $5K+ worth of sdz, guz i wldnt b expecting a lot cos both my future in-laws r not wking....
hehehe, seems like u r in full swing for ur reno now....shopping for stuff is like lotsa fun, do share wif me ur contacts nxt time :p

babyfifi

Wow Yun,

Glad that you are doing fine. Take care hor. Keep warm. This one very important cos preggy ladies prone to catching colds and quite hard to recover.