(2008) Brides of year 2008

naivesg

Hi, my GDL also today....my mum upset everyone, my husband side and even my dad... =(

Ask alot of Pin Jin (mid 4 digits) and return only $80. =(

got alot of prob...but well, i just hope my wedding will come fast....

did try to post abt the wedding invitation in response to the post sometime ago but failed to upload....

anyway hope everything will be smooth sailing for us gals.

pooh83

crown, i am considering 7 days hokkaido between SA and CTC package tour.. SA travel by ANA morning flight while CTC travel by JAL night flight. but SA is much ex compare to CTC coz CTC have early bird promotion.. so dun know which want to take.. u planning to go on package or F&E? what info have u gathered so far? which dates are you looking at?

rach, seems like taiwan is also a good place to shop.. really cheap like thailand leh.. never know it is so cheap to buy clothes and shoes there.. always go thailand to buy last time.. if i have the money, will go there next time..

lsntyl

rach>depends on what you want to do in Taiwan. 2 weeks is quite long so you should be able to go out of Taipei to explore other parts of Taiwan. Taipei has a whole sale area called Wufenpu where you and your FH can get a lot of shoes and clothes for near wholesale prices, depending on how many pieces you buy.

Gina>wah, Hokkaido should be fun. When are you going? Always wanted to go Hokkaido but I prefer free and easy which might be harder for Hokkaido.

lara

xinyi_reiko> coz i haf sensitive skin.. n the SA told me it is made from pig skin extract.. so im worried i will haf breakout after drinking so im taking bird nest every day instead.

Ade_Heng > their staff r all the same, kept transferring me to diff ppl, like trying to shirk responsibility. sms the SA twice oso never reply.

josfoo

hi all.... at last.. my wedding was over ...
everything went on smoothly and was very successful.

congratz to all

gd luck and jiayou to the brides who will be getting married this wk

sooch

hihi, i got your pm, thank you very much. I managed to confirm Meiling's MUA on 18 Oct, and the bridal offered to refund me $80 for not using their MUA on that day - that came as a surprise. Am quite happy with this arrangement now
In the end, with the refund and not having to pay a surcharge for having my wedding on 2 days, i only have to top up less $100 - woo hoo!

xinyi_reiko

Lara, i see.. i feel take what stuffs doesnt matter.. hehe.. we are all having the same purpose.. to ensure we are pretty that day..

naivesg, hope you are doing fine. Dont worry too much GDL is already over. now left the AD.

I hope my GDL also can goes on smoothly. At first both side wanted a simple one.. now seem both sides are prepare more stuffs.

praisey

hi fss: yeah, i gave up already, cos whole of june out of sg working. so gave up, but htb might want to do. Still have hope.
Drinking soup time, show anti-shark fins video. Before 1st march, got special program from HTB. See what he wanna do, i have no idea. We have about 350 guests.

flora_bliss

msclaire, it's very easy to boil those pre-packed ones from the medical halls like Fu Hua. Just throw the herbs in when the water boils and continue to boil in low heat for either 1 hr or 2. Got instructions on the packaging one.

leely

Think many of us are getting ready for our PS now..
.. Do you intend to have a pre-wedding PS..? If you do, better start preparing.. Need to choose your PG and MUA.. Are you going to get MTM gowns since your BS is Bridal Concept..? If you are, start going to the BS to get your gowns ready..!

My PS is tomorrow.. Spent the whole weekend shopping.. GSS now, best time to shop.. And just came back from my manicure.. Did a 3D nail art, hope it manages to turn out in the photos.. hehe..

naivesg

can I check for An Chuan r ur asking a boy to roll over? Do your Put the stuff (eg lotus,.....)in the middle first den roll or before put the bed, get the boy to roll first?

jrgal

hi LSnTYL,
i tink i going hokkaido too..went to look ard for packages yest..=p reali tempted to go hokkaido!very nice leh..i tink better nt to go free n easy cos of language barrier. And according to the agency,they mentioned that hokkaido grp tours are nt as rush and hectic like the rest of the grp tours. I thot of doing f&e too bt was worried that going ard will be difficult due to language barrier..then end up feeling stressful..

jrgal

do u all hv the contact for the lady that sells the corsages..i thot my bridal studio provides it for my jiemeis,juz realised that they dun hv..hrm,do u all hv the contact no??tks ah..

dodolet

I have just managed to select my WG and outdoor WG. It is so tiring. My parents and cannot agree on the EG yet. Good thing my PG and MUA was booooookkkkkeeeeddddd way infront, or eles i cannot get the ones i wanna, since my date is supah hot.

I haven had the time to contribute to GSS yet. T.T

dodolet

WAH, Mei, you really a loyal contributor to GSS. LOL. Saw nutting to let me part with my dough yet at GSS. Partly also I gotten most things I need in Taipei and BKK.

I was down at my BS to confirm my gown. Only manage to confirm my WG. Everyone X my choice of EG. SIGH.... back to sq one for EG. At least 1 down.

nec, I am interested the garter, show me ur buys okie? LOL.

eunicet

XavJess: Yeah, I guess securing the location and PG and VG are all the important stuff to ensure you get the day you want. And wow, Christmas bride!
Also, I guess most of the other things will be settled by the BS, and they'll tell you how much time they need to do what, like choosing gowns and all that. I haven't done any thing else aside all this!
Sourcing for some stuff such as church caterer and deco and invitation cards but all this I'm doing quite early cos now freer...Oh, and a while back we were talking about buying shoes for our WG and EG...

SotongLet: Show us the pictures if you can ya!!
What are the options for the EG, how come cannot agree on it? Cos you wear all also nice issit? :p

samanthaquekys

busy spending money at GSS??

anyway, thanks for all your advise. decided whichever solution i will upset either parent. so will leave it to mum to decide.

btw, my mum also does printing. if u ladies need to find printer can give my mum a call. let me know if u want her contact. =) thank you.

happy that i settled quite a bit of stuff today. confirmed the edited pics for printing of album, chose portrait and table top pic. MIL also bought me my 4 dian zuan today. was easier and faster than i thought. lol... oh! and i bought my bedframe too.

providencia

Hi gals, no updates for this week.
So many pple having PS these few months, ya, the weather is terrible. Mine will only be in Sept, do share your PS experiences and photos (if any).
Aiming for wedding shoes and HTB's shirts and shoes, also bed linen and maybe a new bed and aircon this GSS

vernwyen

wow... so many things to look out for in the comb hair ritual... hmm.. better skip tat in case we do the wrong thing

straylamb:
haha! tat's a lot of meh meh! Interesting! Makes mi wanna go taiwan again

gina:
we tot of going japan too, but.... but... aiyah, now thinking of egypt also. And i dun think we can travel right after our AD, need to work out how much we would left before deciding again.

rach:
taipei is a shopping paradise! I was there for 10days and spent over 1k too (incl food). The shoes and clothings are daaaamn cheap... haha! accessories too! Swept 10pairs of earrings back, my friend bought over 20 :D

Depending on where you travel. Are you moving ard taiwan or will juz stay in one city?

crown

Gina,

i have not gather any info yet cos my initial plan was to go Europe. My PIL is sponsoring the air ticket. Now we're thinking of gg Hokkaido then the money we can save some up, hehe

We should be gg package tour cos never been to Japan. Frankly speaking, dont know what are the attractions there. I only know Hokkaido is nice cos alot of my colleagues are saying so. Keke

xenxen

Hey Ade > yap i'll be gg to europe.. actually was Switzerland n Paris but my tour grp wif SA was not confirmed so I went to book wif CTC..gg Switzerland n Italy.. U are gg to Swiss n Itay too rite ?

u oso taking 1 mth leave..guess we nid more rest..my work is v stressful so i dun wana go n stress myself up..initally my boss asked if i can take 3 weeks instead of 4..i told him i nid time to move hse etc.. so he sed ok then go ahead..
glad tt he's not a calculating boss..

naivesg > dun tink so much.. now more impt is the AD..For An Chuang, i'll leave it to MIL to decide..not really impt to us..but if the parents wan,then we'll just follow suit..

tom is another day at work.. v soon will be the DAY...jia you !

belleryn

hi fss and gals..
here's the contact.. Mr Loh.. i call him uncle b.. tel:06-9521087.. he's at muar johor.. so have to add 02 to the number.. he did my cheongsam for me as well.. veri nice!! but my gown still in process.. haiz.. shld be kan cheong ald..

hi bbiguana..
hee.. tried all that you listed except loe and behold.. juz visited the webbie.. i luv them! in the midst of making appt with her.. you are my life saver!! cuz have been gog round and round these few days and i cant find!!
haiz..

belleryn

hi fss..
i tink you can try chomel.. they hav quite a good range.. i dun hav a bridal package too but my mua quite nice to provide me with the accessories.. but along the way i bought some hairbands and necklaces for myself too cuz i noe what i ald want.. you can walk around far east.. i got some stuff from there.. can throw up some interesting finds!

jazzy_chimes

hi sleepydopeey, but if u gotta walk a lot for PS, won't wearing new heels be very uncomfy? I thot wearing "seasoned" heels will be more comfy ...

me aiming for bedroom furniture for GSS hehe

jessieq

leely: i have confirmed my PG and MUA(will be getting the same person who did my makeup during ROM). My gowns are OTR, have selected my WG & EG,but not very happy with the EG.The next appt for choosing gown is in june. The dates for my PS have to wait till my hubby's work schedule is out in june. Might b having it in july or sept. guess u wont see my reply now but hope u enjoy ur PS tml.

eunice: alot of my friends are introducing me their PG and VG, but i cant decide which is better and my hubby think i m very kiasu to decide it now. As for my invitation card i have got the template done, now waiting for my hubby to confirm the no of table then we can start printing. And I am not a christian so no church wedding, 1 thing lesser to do. ;p I also got my wedding shoes, bought one white and one silver when i went shopping few weeks ago. Is there anything else that i need to get ready?

Btw, May i know why are all of your so surprise that i am a Xmas bride? Is it weird to get marry on xmas day and somemore i am not a christian? Actually that was not the date i wanted. Would prefer 31 dec cos that day happens to be my hubby's birthday but guess alot of roads will be close on that day and the hotel we wanted is at orchard road and for dec they only have this 2 dates left for us, so decide to have our wedding on xmas day.

straylamb

Gina... hokkaido sounds good... how much is e package? mi most prob won't go HM in sep coz shd b big big hole in e pocket by tat time... mi dun wanna 2 go on tour n haf 2 stress over tight budget... haha... mayb will wait till dec or jan... considerin tokyo mayb?
coz nvr go b4... wahaha...
rach... for tw 10day f&e trip... thk i spent ard $1k on food n shoppin too...
LSnTYL... thk i know florence villa! went there 2 take photos... e lobby is very europe style w a fireplace... wow... which yr did u go? i can't realli rem coz i went in 05... thk went 2 ri4 yue4 tan2 1st, jiu3 zu2 wen2 hua4 cun1, then lu2shan1, qing1jing4, then back to taipei... we veri blur... din tot of hirin taxi... luckily e boss drove us to qing1jing4... when we wanna return to taipei they even offer to drive us to taipei coz they happen to b goin there to attend to something... is hirin taxi expensive?

~sblbee~

lynn,
heheheh....dat's great
glad dat u have settled ur MUA too

mrs kel,
glad dat u r ok now....dun worry, everything will b resolved
wah....u did so many things over d wkend? wah did u manage to get dat $5K+ SDZ? hehehe....so gd, i spent my wkend catching up wif my fren n relatives n did some shopping....bought more stuff for my fh than myself for a change....found really nice shirts frm raoul, zara n topman

~sblbee~

msclaire,
gal after adding up ur purchases is oso q a fair bit le :p hehehe, went vivo yest but didnt managed to get anything except for a tiara, now i got 2 :p

sotonglet,
heheheh....im helping to boost d sg economy
cos u got shopping trips overseas to buy d things dat u need...for me, since i cant go overseas den have to do my shopping locally :p
which WG did u manage to confirm? got pic? u ended up wif d purple EG?

xinyi_reiko

morning ladies..

Kittyng, 1 box (10 bottles), $61 each. I kiasu ah.. 6 mths back i had friend going to japan, so i gotten her to buy for me, because it is half price there.. I had prepared 2 boxes for my AD. They say can see results after drinking 10 bottles.

naivesg, I not sure what is the proper procedure. For my case, I an chuang 1st.. then get the kids to roll over on my AD.

lara

hi naivesg, i oso heard that for the boy rolling part it is on AD..

Kittyng, they say in order to see effect u need to take 1 bottle a day.. so effectively it is $183 a mth

lsntyl

straylamb>woo, you went a lot of places. I haven't been to ri yue tan yet. Keep hearing conflicting comments about it so... :p So you went straight back to Taipei after Ching Jing? I don't remember how much the taxi cost le. Think maybe NT$3000? Not sure at all. But was good cos the driver brought us from chingjing to hualien, bringing us to places to makan along the way as well as helping us find hotel accom in Hualien.

Did you see the dogs at Florence? The beds there are really romantic. 4 poster beds wor... Pity was there with my gal friend. :p

rjwedding

hi ladies.. looks like most of u had done most of the prep.. i'm getting lazy.. actually wanted to do the ang bao box, but too lazy to do it.. i will be meeting my friend on thur to pass her the flowers so she can help me in making the wrist corsages.. i'm doing the photo montage myself, which is like half way done.. but i feel not so nice, so probably going to re-do again.. will see how lar.. now must properly plan all my weekends so I can complete all the things by end of June..

xinyi_reiko

hmm.. i nv took full 1 mth.. i just take 20 days before AD. I feel is good enough to me. What i feel that basic daily skincare routine should be done well. Then things like tense up and bird nest is to boost your skins.

i heard of ppl taking pure birdnest from yu ren sheng. one bottle $80 plus. take a spoonful daily.

ermmm

XavJess : it is not KS to decide on AD PG and VG now. When I was looking for AD PG about 2 mths back, lots of good PGs are already not available. Some are even booked 1 yr in advance. Some PG only take a limited no of weddings a mth, so even if they are available on your AD, they will not take your assignment.

necrosis

morning ladies...
sorry, no time yet to take pics of my purchases.

went down to the kristons catering wedding fair on sun. ;P
food was yummy, but package was super ex woh. $15 per pax, then add $5 per pax for an indian 'live' station.
i think i'll check out msclaire's (was it??) lobang of er...empire something.
msclaire, could you PLEASE post it one more time. :p
so sorry to trouble you.

there, saw this nice invitation card pple...er...card room.
i love some of their designs....the card i really like was $4.80 per piece, $1.20 for each extra insert. so prob i'll need 2 inserts, total cost is $7.20 per card.
say have to print 100 cards, that's $720 plus $50 processing fee.
i can faint!!! so ex.
forget it, i'll be off to JB for printing. ;P
(but i really liked their designs....sigh)

sotong, couldnt get nice garters fr manila. ;(
think the ones i saw in jakata were nicer.
i think must buy online liao...
wait, there is this section in tangs that sells naughty lingerie right?
heehee....let's go and check that place out. ;D

mei,
why you buy tiaras? i tot BS/MUA will provide?
won't they? i don't like buying things for 1 time use...and i cannot imagine when else will have the chance to wear a tiara!!! ;)
but for our shopping queen, she must wear her tiara on our next gathering ah.

ebride

hallow..Im glad that u babes had settled dwn with sum of yr thins..so relief!!

tks mei & sue for yr console. Im sure that althu my dad is gone, he will still live in my heart.

hey gals, I went Chinatwn to buy customary items e.g. tea set, red trays, sewing kit, etc. Bought Megan bedframe & Princebed mattress at Furniture mall also. Bought bedsheet at Aussino, wedding bands & make order for wedding favors.
I have been to the cake shop which I intend to buy the give-away cakes for GDL. Bought 2 pcs of cakes to taste whether they are of standard a-nt, muz QC b4 ordering..haha :p
Done with my song selections for the montages & march-in on AD. Choosen ard total 20 songs cum 2 albums for the background music for the banquet.

maple_leaves

Hi mei,

Actually all my gowns are OTR and most of them doesnt need much alternation, main focus will be in the waist area... hehhe...

I also asked some of the brides in my BS thread and it seems like it is veri common for my BS to practise this way...
But still, see hw it goes 1st, will discuss again with BF lor..

I guess if we really cant make it on that day, we will hv to schedule it at least 1 week earlier lor..

aj_wech

WOW Cheryl, you pick 20 songs ? must hv spent a lot time n effort. we are hvg a hard time picking our songs, so we decide tt we goin to just stick to one song for both the march in n then leave the rest of the songs to the band. (oh, we engaged a small band)

the songs we like all not suitable for wedding. haha ! linkin park/green day etc.

we decide to do away with montages as well. as for wedding favours, we goin to get different types n then throw everything in a big box, guests can "lucky draw" their own weddg favours.

aj_wech

i was looking at chris ling' s website, after hearing so many good reviews. I was like, OMG, they charge abt S$1k/hour ? it's soo ex. that's way out of our budget.

have you ladies book your photography n videography ?

raragal

xinyi> yu ren sheng too ex la.. buy from Hock Hwa... now is $44 with 20% discount... original is $55 per bottle... one teaspoon in the morning and at night.. i too rush to eat in the morning.. so i take one tablespoon at nite..

Its good.. can see the diff... skin is more supple and soft!

pinkcupcake

hey maple, then it should be okay. since many brides from you BS have done this before and no complaints.

sleepeydopey, i've brought a pair for my WG and evening. Still need to get one pair to match another short dress i'm wearing for the PS. But will only wear my nice pair heels for the indoor shoot. For the outdoor shoot, i'll wear my old comfy platforms - wouldn't want to stain my new shoes with mud and whatnot.

i'll probably bring:
umbrella,
sunblock,
lots of tissue (wipe perspiration!)
lots of water
blotters
panadol (just in case i get a headache from the blazing afternoon sun)
lipstick, blusher and loose powder to touch up
slippers (to walk from location to location. wear my platforms only when i'm posing for a pic

er,am i missing anything?

sooch

i picked 30+ songs :p saved into 2 CDs, but a wedding band's perfect, but out of my budget. i wish i can do away with a montage..hmm...maybe there's still time...the lucky draw idea is very good! i've also seen chris ling's website, very good but too ex so too bad - haha. I've got my photographer n videographer. Photographer's a contact of my future father-in-law, videographer's celestine from this forum - i loved the work he showed us

tay_weiwei

hi all, had been a silent reader to the forum. Had my ROM on Sat, and would be having my actual day on Oct 10.

But i not having banquet, just a simple buffet at the condo.

simplyserene

Hi FSS... I suggest Chameleon. They have an outlet @ Parkway. If you're on a budget, that can be a lower cost option for you.

Hi qunqun... So you went to the one @ City Square huh... Hope you had fun! My fiance drove back to Malacca recently to visit his relatives and get the GDL stuff. A whole lot cheaper than in SG or JB. That website you gave also has suggested games to play on the groom. Some of them look quite fun too!

Got a bit vexed at my future MIL yesterday. We've already told her before that relatives definitely need invitation cards, she insist no need. Yest say now she need. Plus a number of other things. Thank goodness we had a pub session on Sat nite... Feedback to fiance that I'd appreciate if we can do things in peace. I really don't like it when people comment comment but don't offer help/money to do it.

ebride

AJ Wech: Yap, indeed take quite some time in finding the songs. Initially I have a list of 70 recommended tracks for wedding & thought of using them as guidance in our song selection. But we later realised that some songs r really nt of our generation type. So we end up choosing our fav & scoll thru the lyrics to confirm the songs are suitable for wedding. If nt, cannot imagine later we play some wrong songs which will mend for break-up..choyy!!
Luckily for u, gt live band. Dun need crack head. Cool idea for favors distribution!!
Yap done with PG (from BS)& VG (recommended by frd) for AD..

Lynn: Hey u also on budget..haha same same!! Can be fun in selection of songs, at least u gt to choose own fav music for the montages. Im having jazz & instrumental music as the background music for the banquet. Want my guest to enjoy soothing music while eating..
Not yet burn in CD yet. My concern is the copyright issues, scared scared.
U r fast & saved in CDs liao.

Hi Weiwei, welcome to club.