(2008) Brides of year 2008

sooch

luckily my ROM is 19 Oct, this 18 Oct is giving me enough problems! meiling, thanks anyway, I'll see if I can DIY since it's just the tea ceremony, i'm quite easy-going thank god! Ivy's alright for my banquet on 19 Oct...

lsntyl

Nec>ohh, sounds good. Hmm, she did mention going to malls. Where did you shop?

ya, URS having a sale at amara. But didn't see any guy shoes. All gals and past seasons. Beetlebug and Pedro are having sales though. Was beoing them with FH yesterday.

sooch

I don't know why 18 Oct so popular also, it was chosen by my bf's uncle who knows how to read the almanac...auspicious i guess...has a nice ring to it dun u think? 181008?

aj_wech

Cool POlar ! so yes, u dont hv to worry liao.

hello clare, i hv only met up with the hotel event coordinator, we pick the table setting, even the table cloth colour. Didn't like the flower arrangement, so wl meet up with the florist to discuss ts further. Event coordinator email us copy of the MC scripts, the itinerary for the day/night. Also discuss abt the cocktails drinks and how they will serve the beverages/liqour/wine etc.

As i was advise by a gf that when it comes to serving guests liquor/wine, have to be specific with the hotel staff. If not, there will be wastage lah etc. then u might end up paying more for the wine. U can actually tell the banquet staff, not to volunteerily offer guests wine, unless they ask for it, sort of. can u imagine, if the waiter goes to all ur guests " Red or white wine mdm/sir ? "

cyc, i dont think ROM has a limit on the certs they issue in a day.

~sblbee~

polarwhite,
hehehe....ok den, after reading all d gals' posts think shdnt b a prob, i shall take my time on 17 jul to book for my AD ROM....can relax liao :p

aj wech,
hehehe....my JP for wat i know juz give me his code no. but once i e-registered, i'll remind him again, no choice cos he's getting old :p

aj_wech

oh, yesterday, i found out that we engrave the wrong date on our wedding bands ! it was soo funny, because we both seriously thot we had it right ! and then it took us one year to realise we were both wrong ! we almost fell off the chair when we confirmed that the date was wrong. we still laughing about it this morning.

~sblbee~

yeah!!! today's d 1st day of gss but i alrdy bought so many things for pre-gss sale alrdy...hehehe, always cant seem to have gd buys during tis period n oso my fren helped me to buy dat blue label bag dat i was eyeing, shd cost more than $400....another hole in my pocket liao :p

hi nec,
wah......u went to buy so many things in manila? hehehe.....bet i'll go crazy when i go over there cos i go crazy over cheap buys everytime :p glad u had a great time except for d stupid pickpocket...u r really v brave to fight back n take ur $ back....salute to u for ur courage

oh d dress looks really v pretty but i can only wear a few styles cos i dun have nice assets to flaunt like most of u :p URS dun sell guy shoes....im going to get my fh to buy frm rockport cos he can wear it for his wk in d d&t wkshop too :p

nelle,
welcome back!!! u r back finally....wat happened to u? took so long to recover frm ur illness? glad dat u r feeling better now

msclaire,
i was oso overwhelmed by d thick newspapers on so many sale....try to refrain frm flipping thru d pages cos i'll end up rushing down to have another shopping spree which is bad :p

luvz17

Shilin,
too much coincidence between us!! hahaha..
yah, where ur hubby made his shirt? ex or not?

Eunice,
may consider freelance designer to do it for u?
I can help yo ask my dsigner fren if you want to.

Nec, welcome back!!
What were u dng at Philippines? Holiday/ business??

Leely, add me can? my multiply id is luvz17

~sblbee~

aj wech,
den how? oppsss...reminds me dat i havent send in my rings for engraving...was told dat it'll juz take 1/2 hr or so....

samanthaquekys

mei,
is your jp an old ang mo guy?

the mothers will be witnesses on rom day. and both understand eng. but among the guests, might have a few who don't understand eng. is it still ok to get a jp who can only speak eng?? advise pls, ladies.

and something else,
my parents are divorced and not exactly on great terms. but we do have dinner together once in a while. the problem now is since i'm staying with mom, mom's name will definitely be on the invites. but dad wants his name on the invite too. (also coz of mian zi lah) i was thinking have 2 names. mdm... and mr...'s eldest daughter. that kinda thing. is it weird? seen ppl who had done that before?
mom said its weird. but my sis n i thinking it could be she don't feel comfortable or gd to have his name on the invite. i can understand why. but i can also understand if my dad don't wanna attend my wedding if his name is not on the invite. can someone suggest a solution? they're both my parents. i want them to be present and be happy for me on my wedding day.

help me... so stressed thinking about this and crying over it...

isn't wedding supposed to be a happy occassion??

nelle

meiling, thanks. Just a bad flu virus. Was at home most of the time, only go to work once a while. Just felt tired and behave like a robot.

oh ya, girls, the last time I ask about the next meet up (and it's been in one of the archive posts liao) so I ask again which is the preferred date:
1) Dinner on Thu 26 June; or
2) Dinner on Fri 27 June

Those who replied b4 no need to reply again cos I have noted down liao.

porsche

mrs kel, I have seen pple putting Mr XXX and Mdm YYY on the wedding invite b4...dun worry...

pple who take a closer look wld understand the situation as usually its Mr and Mrs ABC inviting...

if the wedding invite go well, its impt that yr emcee take note on how to address yr parents...never use Mr and Mrs ABC..try to use Mrs Kel's parents or something along the line...if really need to mention name, then use Mr XXX and Mdm YYY...

Hope u understand what i mean lah...

polarwhite80

hi lynn,
i got engraved 181008 on my wedding bands.... hahaha....

hi AJ,
heng ah..... can relax liao.... hahaha... i tot got limit de leh.....

hi mrs kel,
my bf side only use his mum name for emcee script n invitation card.... cos the dad MIA liao... so he is treating as good as dead liao.... so that ppl will not come asking him where's dad.... i think wat porsche says is good, use Mr XXX and Mdm YYY...

vernwyen

YL: Dunno if the weather is safe to travel too. I think aug-sep is their typhoon season.

strawclare:
hmm.... it can get bored also. Really loh, juz eat and eat non-stop. There was not a moment i felt hungry while aboard the cruise.

We were there for 10-days and did not even have time to look for yonghe -_- But got a discovery, 85deg coffees and pastries were good! After trying once we would buy back to hotel for supper for the rest of our stay :p

okie dokie, jotted down. Next time go there and try the food ;)

~sblbee~

mrs kel,
hehehehe....actually my mum dun understand EL as well but i guz dat's not a major prob cos she basically went thru similar stuff b4....she's not too concerned regarding dat, juz have to b present at my ceremony dat's all....if language is ur concern, perhaps u can look for JPs who r well versed in both lang mediums so he can do in both languages

i've came across a fren whose parents r divorced but only put in d mother's name as d father is as gd as dead to them n they r not in touch for many yrs...as for ur parents' names, since u r still in contact wif ur dad...it wld b gd to include both ur parents' names as mr XX n mdm XX, for me...i'll only include my mum's name as my dad had passed away several yrs back...will seek d advise of d printer cos im sure they r experienced enuff to advise us accordingly
dun worry abt it too much....

lsntyl

spoiltbabe>donno leh. hear conflicting views. Some tell me sept got typhoon, others tell me sept is hot weather. maybe strawclare can clarify. :p

I made my first GSS purchase today. Gold heels at URS sale at Amara. Cost me $15. :D

waxie>still bringing your home-made ice-cream for us at the gathering? :p

~sblbee~

nelle,
no prob....juz take care of urself...d stupid weather is scrotching hot, nearly suffered frm heat stroke when i was walking outside....help i dun wana to get dark....
i prefer 27 jun...fri cos nxt day is a non wking day :p

lsntyl

Nelle>Glad you are a bit better. Take care.

Nec>Bad move on my part to click on your VS link. Spent quite a lot of time beoing the stuff on sale. They have garters too!

Yest I passed by Mphosis so their sale starts today. So tempted to go down to have a look after work...

sooch

mrs kel, i was with my fren when she went tdragons to have her invite cards printed, the lady there was very experienced, i think she's be able to help. tdragon does a lot of printing of invite cards for many hotels, is ur hotel using them? in any case, can also call them to check, i'm sure they can advise. porsche's suggestion sounds good. dun be upset, see if ur mom finds this solution alright.

sooch

polarwhite, nice eh? i did my wedding bands at clarity, and each character is charged at $2 and we wanted our names and the date, turns out quite ex and i refuse to pay for it! so no engraving lor...

aj_wech

mrs kel, how about printing 2 sets of cards ? one set for ur mum side relatives, with her names on it ? the other set for dad side ?

meiling, me n hubby ok har, i think i like the fact that we are able to still laugh abt it lor.. so just leave it lor.. hahah !

superwoman_cqy

Nelle please take care of yourself.. the weather's been erratic these days. I dont know whether my Tibet trip is still on then so have to confirm my attendance at later date..

Nec.. nice dress there but the price is also very nice! Just dont buy the 6-in-1 jersey dress cos its very skimpy. Do search for the discount code online if you are ordering from VS.

happymrskoh

Hi ladies, haven't been around for a long time. I just had my first fitting earlier this month and my 2nd fittng will be 2 weeks later. Will be having 3 fittings in total before the PS. The weather is indeed very hot. Hopefully, it is cooler during the PS. Anyhow, I am so excited about the PS!

leely

Jac & luvz17 > I've added you all on multiply.. My username there is chrysalids18

nec > Not true leh.. I realize slim cannot wear tube.. coz too flat already, not nice.. hehe.. I totally regret not asking my BS to add padding for my outdoor gown.. Nemmind, maybe at editing stage can photoshop some curves in.. :p

bedazzle

Hi babes,

hvn't been around for quite a while and I see now the topics are on travelling liao? keke...

btw, a big thanks and hugs to all of you who has taken time to help give me opinions about the wedding gown.

Most likely can only make it for the 16 June gathering, but not too sure yet. so all of u go ahead first bah.

hmmm... I also hv no plans for honeymoon. =(

babyiguana

I bought some of my wrist corsages materials from Spotlight and my friends also told me that Golden Dragon (Chinatown) and some shops in chinatown are selling cheaper.. If you want, can go take a look..The ribbons for tying for the invitation cards are also avaliable there too..=) Just in case your hotel doesn't provide..

I'm making corsages for my jiemeis and a wedding hair-band for my flower girl.. hehe..

Anyone using Li'art for printing of invitation inserts?

tinggy

yaya... congrat to all the May brides. I think 24th and 25th are the last few brides for May. Congrat to myself too. Hope everything will be smooth on saturday and sunday

necrosis

nelle,
good to know you're feeling better....
take care esp with the hot weather outside n the freezing aircon in offices/malls.

GSS starts today?
sales?
newpaper?
ah...i shall go look look.
want to get FH's shoes....and i guess, more and mroe stuff!!! haah....

intending to buy a hat (or 2) for PS also...
mm...the black kinda hat in most cabaret dances...
nevermind. :p

qin, good idea to look for discount codes!

LS,
yes, i love their sales! (VS)
feel very tempted esp when the models all look so hot man! ;P
but when i wear, the effect is very very diff. sigh.

lol.
happy weekend all!

princess_sue

hi mrs kel,

dun worry, it will be fine. i think its ok for you to have madam and mr... people will not really take notice of that esp if others are aware of the situation. that will not be a show stopper. They are your parents and they will be happy for you as you are still their daughter no matter what. Maybe your mum is uncomfortable but as long as her salutation is madam i think it should explain it all and she has nothing to worry about .

so cheer up gal! ... it will be fine. printing 2 sets of cards is ok too as a last resort.

lilacbliss

Hi Lost, ok I try to be fast.. haha...

Ya lor so hot take photo the makeup sure melt.. sianz... My PS is end June.. I tin it will be hotter than now...

melo_ddy

mrs kel, how about putting something like "together with our parents...." so no names will be mentioned. Like what lynn mentioned, the ppl at the printers will be experience enough to give you some suggestions. So dont worry too much, im sure you can work things out.

Aj Wech, your outdoor shots with the scenery are so beautiful

waxie24

LSnTYL> icecream.. not a problem.. where are we going for gathering ar?

i find that the weather now is hard to predict, even here in singapore, it can be bright n sunny, but the next moment, its pouring..

dodolet

Hm, I was thinking of those ballerina pose and dresses. I always wanna look like i doing swan lake... LOL

nec, I wanna see ur garter!!!

nelle, dose urself with liang teh and rest more till well ah.

I can foresee Mei already dreaming gss in sleep also... ^^

ebride

Mrs kel: yap indeed the printing company will advise u the alternative on invitation card. My card will only have my mum's name.
Coz daddy went 2 heaven liao..sob sob
I MISS HIM So muz!! I used 2 be a daddy gal, guess he couldnt never see me in my gowns.
Talking abt wedding bands, hey we r placing order this sun. We r allowed 15 wordings include spacings only. Feel so limited..

msclaire

wahaha i saw this online site on multiply and already saw 5 items i liked! what a way to start the gss....total cost abt $100, so not so bad la hor??? (looking for someone to console me) mwahhaha.

26th june is best for me cos 27th june i have fitting for htb, and 28th i may have to fly off to kl...trying not to go cos 30th have to go china for 2 weeks....help!

simplyserene

Hey BBIguana... do you know exactly where Golden Dragon is now? I thot they used to have a shop @ Tiong Bahru Plz. Show us the hairband and corsages when they're done!

Hee... I bought material for my corsages too! Just started attaching the velcro to the ribbon/lace earlier. I decided to use both fabric glue and stitches to attach the velcro. I want them to be doubly strong.

fss

Hello July BTBs!

Looks like many of you doing corsages on your own. Whats the diff between wrist corsages and pinned ones?

What I accomplished today:

1. Paid deposit ($200) for my MUA. He is Melvin Tan from IKON saloon(Stamford House), recommended by the tailor of my 3 gowns (Ted Collection). I'm keeping my Faith, as I am not doing any trial! Also he says no need to know how my gowns look like, he will play by ear type!

2. Met up my church florist. Have heard in the catholic thread that my church's florist very expensive. But i still will use her for my church flowers part, as i trust that she is most familiar with my church's ambience. I also want to believe that she will do a good job. While other girls getting married in my church have paid other florists $300-350, I'll be paying my church florist $500.

3. Srene: It is not compulsory for my HTB to convert to the Catholic Faith. However, he still had to do the Marriage Preparation Course (known as "Catholic Engaged Encounter") with me - should I want the marriage to be held in church and thus recognised by the church. Of course, HTB also had to sign a "pre-nuptial inquiry form", agreeing to have our kids baptised and raised in the Catholic faith. Heee. Like that loh. I do believe other denominitions of christianity practises compulsory conversion. Thats why sometimes we do hear couples breaking up due to different religions, as both partys not willing to forgo their own religion to convert to the other's religion.

What I am cracking my head over:

Photo Montage!
Have any of you girls experienced tremendous difficulties compiling photos for your photo montage? Do you girls have to tell your videoographer how you want the story to be like?

Thanks girls for all your comments and feedback! Once again I wish every single July BTB lotsa love, luck and strength in these stressful times!

pinkcupcake

me joining in the fun too -me excited about my PS too!
2nd fitting also in two weeks' time.
ya, i'm also worried about my makeup melting in the hot sun!

maple, both your WG and EG are OTR? If they are, were the sizes very different when you tried them on the last time? If not, then maybe there won't be much to adjust. But still safer to have a look at them at least a week before your photoshoot? Are they very firm about not letting you try the gowns earlier?

nfk22

Hi FSS,
wrist corsages usually is for jie-meis to wear. those pinned one is usually for the groom and the fathers to wear.

i've passed the photos to my PG and asked him to help us do the photo montage as he has better software to do the job. we do give him some guidelines, e.g. not to use the same songs as we r using for our march-in and other details that we would like to include in the montage like when we first met etc.

Just finished buying the stuff for GDL. Bought most in the shop recommended by s'rene in JB. here's their website. quite informative i think. the person told me during the long vesak day weekend alot of ppl went there to buy so some items were out of stock. http://www.fengshuijiafang.com/ch/index.html

going to move into my new house officially this sunday. excited but think it will be a super tiring day. but after this weekend can take a break first. most of the wedding stuff are done, just need to wait till jun before anything else to do.

eunicet

SCL: I'm having it in a church, the one where I grew up, but not the actual one I'm attending...But I guess it doesn't matter where you hold it la!
Just as long as God blesses the relationship!

nec: I realised caterer don't need to book so early...As in the caterer I contacted just seemed to say book 2 weeks in advance!! But I will be kiasu and book earlier I guess!! :p As for florist, you're talking about for church deco right? What is your budget?

luvz: Hmmm how much do you think your designer friend will charge me? I might have friends who can help me design also...

leely: Yah, I agree with the others!! Lucky you, slim slim!

porsche

jus curious if we need to seek permission from Sentosa (corporation??) to take wedding photos inside...

anyone has any idea?

praisey

Yes! Photo montage making loads of headaches.. then i took the bold step to chicken out. Don't do liao... then life became happier. At least for me. :p