(2008) Brides of year 2008

bunnyhop

Ya, 2 echo ann's words...itz been a great while learning n enjoying one another's experience in wedding planning....

May u hav a splendid wedding n a lovely long lasting marriage!
kao_wedding.gif

pooh83

Ah net, i don't have multiply.. so cant show u my shoes. but i bought the brand ViVie. it is quite comfortable.. there are quite alot of designs at paragon.. hope you can find one that u like.. hee.. so wat have u choosen for ur traditional costume?

Dor, will update you on my photoshoot next wk.. hopefully everything will goes well smoothly..

Rach, yah.. metro at paragon do sell silver bling bling shoes..

fortunemew, i also bought an anna nucci cream shoes about 3 1/2 inch few mths ago for my rom at 79.90.. very comfortable..

Net,
I cut the long story short. My stories were at Matters of the Heart section. I suffered 2 years plus of depression. My mum treated me as a "money tree". I gave her $600 and paid for some bills mthly. My mum ever hit me with chair and slapped me etc. My sister tried to kick me out of the house 3 times. My dad stole my pass and smashed chair etc at us. My 3 years after grad was spent in tears.

Now I'm renting a room outside and still giving allowance to my mum. Hmm I don't hate them at all cos I think hatred will make me miserable
I just dropped all my expectations of my family. Afterall our mums suffered labour pain and babysat us for years.

Forture,
Silver shoes can match with red gown. I only bought a pair of silver shoes for wedding, it goes well with my white WG and red EG! Tested out at my fitting in Feb hehe.

Save me hazzle to shop for more shoes haha.

Gina,
I usually wear 1-2inch heels. Now I find that it's so difficult to balance in my 3inch wedding shoes leh.

U power! Can handle 3.5inch
I like ViVie shoes, find their material very comfortable to wear.

What venues are u going for your photoshoot? You are fast, your gowns are all ready.

fortunemew

green, sorry to know you have a tough upbringing....i am gald that you have forgive them. it is really not easy.. but u did it.

==========
hi all, thanks for your replies for me..

i am quite silly lor....i forget that my Red gown is a big gown which need to wear can can...ah ya ... nobody will see what shoes i wear inside anyway... LOL...

cant wait to see my red gown...but only in may.. i can see it after MTM out..

======

wa Gina, ur PS so fast....have a good time shooting!
glad that u say anna nicci shoes are comfy... phew.

ahnetsan

wah green, sorry to hear abt ur family. guess yours is a more serious case than mine. i salute you for your kindness towards them. i think i cannot tahan if im in ur shoes.

i'll go check out Jwest, paragon metro, vivie and tangs shoes. thanks for all the suggestions and ideas. very helpful. and time is running out for me.. my PS on 5th may.. and shoes haven bot yet.

yeah i think rach is right abt the jiemeis part. supposed to be all singles de...

Gina, i think i'm wearing kua. is dat wat u mean by traditional costume? at which part of the wedding do we wear traditional costume ar? me very sotong one.

gals, i have a sad story to share wif u all.

ahnetsan

anyway, today i went for my trial makeup. hmmm, i must say i look quite different. haha. not used to wearing makeup.
but im glad overall effect is good! cheers to my makeup artist!

and i managed to change my EG. for those who have seen my multiply pics on my EG, they will know wat was the colour. haha. anyway, i've changed to... BLACK. haha. nice, it's shiny and lacey and wif lots of embroidery (i think) and it's got this mermaid "tail" at the bottom, wif a nice tail at the back.... im gg to upload in multiply later.

ahnetsan

ok now's the sad story i want to share wif u all.

today is a super dramatic and happening day for me. my heart sank dunno hw many times today.
pls bear wif me. cos im gg to type quite a long story here.

my colleague passed away today. suddenly.

this morning, me and a few other colleagues were chatting merrily on where to go for lunch cos we planned to give a treat to an intern in our firm who's leaving end of this month. We even arranged to wear green today. the morning passed by wif all of us happily and in good spirits cos TGIF today.

den suddenly while we were lunching halfway, we received phone call from another colleague saying that one of our colleagues is in ICU at SGH and she's not going to make it.

we were like HUH??? apparently this colleague, an indian woman, is on MC for this week cos of her injury in the leg. and she was still ok last week. we last saw her on last thursday. she was really still ok, jus a bit pain in her leg and a bit of pain from her recent womb operation.

den suddenly, doctors say there's complications and she had high fever last nite and was rushed to mount alvernia, and den transferred to SGH.

heard that her white blood cells are higher. doctor advised her to eat beef, but due to her religion, she cant. Ask her take iron pills, we think she din take regularly cos got side effects.

and suddenly it became final stage of leukamia!!!

ahnetsan

all these news jus came so suddenly and shocking to all of us.

so during lunchtime we all rushed down to hospital.

she was already in a coma and apparently she had bleeding in her brain and half of the brain was apparently dead. (which is y doc says chances of her recovering is very slim)

seeing her wif tubes and breathing difficulty, it's really a painful sight.

and it seems that she can sense our presence. cos we saw tears flowing down from her eyes. heart sank.

den came her husband, who hugged her head by the bedside and cried and talked to her in tamil. again all of our hearts sank and ppl are crying in the room.

and her poor daughter, only in primary one. haiz.

ahnetsan

we went back to office thereafter.

everyone was in tears in office. everyone practically cant focus at work the afternoon. everyone was praying that she will pull through.

cos of her partial brain dead, and other complications, if she were to wake up from coma, she will become a vegetable! heart sank once again.

den at 4pm+, news spread that she passed away!!
heart sank again. but in the end, it was a false alarm, apparently doc tried to revive her.

but, at 5+, confirmed passed away.

everyone in office was in tears, everyone was discussing wat needs to be done for her. at 6pm, everyone is still at the office, shocked, sad, crying, super sad scenario.

ahnetsan

we tot she would survive the weekend. but it's jus so suddenly.

my whole day was like a roller coaster ride.

morning happily, den afternoon kenna so many times of heart ache and shock.

even until nw, i still have images of her lying in the hospital ICU.

and im supposed not to go to hospital or funerals or weddings till my wedding.

but i heck care, she's my colleague, though i've worked there almost a year, though not very close to her, but she's still someone i see everyday at work and we talked and somemore, she live jus a few blocks away from me. each morning will see her at the train station de.

i dunno hw to describe the feeling, it's jus a very sucky feeling and lousy feeling and very sad.

haiz

ahnetsan

Anyway, anyone know if i can attend her funeral tmr? apparently her cremation is tmr.

my mother was telling me that i dun go, cos will clash. not good to go to 'hong - bai' (red-white) matters. i haven ask my bf's mum yet.

im actually abit scared to go to funerals. even at hospital, if not for my colleague holding my hand, i think i'll break down liao. i'm glad she gave me this courage to not cry there.

piyo1818

I was back from my company conference the night before yesterday. Back to get busy again!!

R&J... 88 restaurant will help us print our invitation cards. Went on 13th to choose the card design and confirm the wordings when there for food tasting. They can start printing within a week after we confirmed the wordings which they will email us. So no need to source for that.

How's your PS?

~sblbee~

cyc,
no prob...u have a gd wkend too! it's gona b a busy day for me :p

mrs kel,
hehehe...perhaps i'll see u in orchard later cos i'll b there later in d afternn....cant help but go n take a look at dat pair of paradox shoes again :p hehehe, happy shopping n hope dat u can get ur beautiful dresses

cheryl,
yah i agree wif ur fren dat u'll look more elegant n glam but oso must depend on how big d difference in height between u n ur partner, if it's not dat big, lower heels is preferred so wont see d great difference....but if it's alot den can wear v high heels le

u can try buying frm metro, tangs or og, aldo, novo, anna nucci, loe n behold, leaping lizards n paradox

~sblbee~

xinglin,
cya d nxt round too

really enjoyed chatting wif ur gals yest, we shd do ti more often
hope to cya soon but keep in touch in d meanwhile online ok?

lsntyl

hugs, Net. Really crappy feeling and sad story. Whether you should go or not depends on how pantang you are, I guess. If even a little bit, then better don't go bah. I'm sure you colleague will understand, whereever she is now.

piyo1818

Here's my update... so excited to see everyone bz... think this whole process of planning is fun!!

1) PS - Done. Viewing on Mon
2) Food tasting & wedding favours - Done
3) Guestlist - Done. To inform all at end May. Will send out invites in June.
4) Table arrangement - 0% (two weeks b4 AD)
5) Guo Da Li - 70% (left buying of liu wei and some items which can b done in a day and to fix the date)
6) AD schedule - 80% (left my part to assign roles for each jie mei on AD)
7) Ang Pao Box - get from restaurant
8) Wrist Corsages - get from bridal shop
9) Wedding music - 60%
10) Invitation cards - settle by restaurant
11) Honeymoon - 50%, England n Paris (dates set, left booking of accomodation, n places to go in England)
12) Wine Selection - 0% (May. My brother will help me find)
13) Our home - still searching... backup plan is stay at his place. But contractors were sourced out liaoz.
14) ROM preparation - only left getting someone to take photos and appt for verification and Statutory Declaration

tinkybell

Sue, i have a hard time catching up too... guess the topic is abt shoes, saw so mani brand names coming out..

Lex, check out multiply for my shoes

uk_fung

seems like there are alot of ppl getting married together with me on the same day. 4th Oct.. can't wait for it to come...

hohoho seems like I can waive the HK dinner off hahaha then I can up my budget for honeymoon ho ho ho:p

gingerbread_gal

xinglin,
yep still schooling..in a sense

a student's life is tough these days

Meiling,
I hope to see you girls next time round...
how did yesterday go? anything interesting?

raragal

unicorn> ooh.. okie.. Mmm.. icic....reprint how many?

zen> why T Dragon?? have u told u all abt T&T Printing JB? its much much cheaper..and they are good... 1/3 price we pay in spore..

happinessbliss

Ah Net, dun be sad... she went to a place where God will welcome her.
You still can attend her wake. My MIL says only cannot if 3 mths b4 or 3 mths after wedding... Cheerup...

bedazzle

Ah Net,

There's no certainty like the certainty of death, there's no uncertainty like the uncertainty of when and how it will happen.
It's natural to feel sad, but instead of being sad, try and see what you and your colleagues can do to help her family?

unicorn_pmy

Hi Rach .... I guess it is the whole set ... cos I am doing hotstamping and they have to reset the mould .... was going to do normal printing but then decided that hotstamping on the tracing inserts would look nice....now double the costs of everything
... well so long as it makes my dad happy i guess

unicorn_pmy

Yeah Rach... I agree Malaysia's cheaper... luckily mine is done in Malaysia.... if not then I guess 250 pieces of hotstamping inserts x 2 (due to the error) would have have costs me a bomb

santhogk

Hi Providencia,

I'm new here. AD on 2 Nov 08.
BS: Sophia wedding collection
Venue: Parkroyal @ kitchener road.
PG: getting from BS
VG:

aec

I'm a Sept 08 Bride. I hope I'm not too late to join in this group ya. Due to personal reason, I need to sell away my current hotel package (put up in marketplace & exchange corner: wedding banquet in Singapore Brides le). Now looking for a wedding buffet lunch with tight budget. Anybody has lunch wedding schedule to share? Anybody has any idea where to have good and yet affortable buffet? many thanks ahead! please email me: [email protected]

fionachua83

hi gals, enjoyed chatting with u all yest maybe next time we can arrange for a dinner instead? hehe looking forward to our next gathering soon.

xenxen

hi gals..

ur r fast..i haven sent out invites yet.. giving out oni next mth 3 weeks b4 AD..din wana give out too early wait they forget.. will oso be sending ecard reminder 1 week b4 AD..

tdy busy powing ang pows..nex week will b celebrating mum's day

have a nice weekend everyone !

vyn1436

hi nlimm,
welcome back!i haven been missing from this thread for some time too. Only after i confirmed my bridal shop do i rmr to come back here to update :p

stnov

ya...hubby said im too extreme but i cant be forcing myself to accept the 'nice taste' which he love...kekeke

high five fifi....im oreadi like dat now....no chance to accept the food wif slight taste of parsley esp....eeeee...

mage...dats realli veri good price u fetch...coolz...

superwoman_cqy

Fiona you were sitting on my left right? (Sorry Ive very limited memory space in my pea brain :p) I enjoyed meeting all of you too and hopefully our beloved Nelle can organise a dinner gathering soon..

micmattina

Sorry didnt managed to join you gals on Fri....As I am a childcare teacher, two of my class kids are down with hand foot mouth disease....I had a few ulcers in my mouth so I suspect I might have caught it from them....But thank goodness so far no blisters on my hands or feet....

Hope to join you all the next time round...

flora_bliss

shybride, that's providencia. Fiona sat opposite me. And opposite Meiling was qinying and koyoyo. I'm sure you know who I am liao. :p

Guess watt, we didn't take any photos again. Aiya, I shouldn't have sent my camera for service before going for the gathering yesterday.

superwoman_cqy

Oh Florabliss now then I know the one sitting on my right is Koyoyo.. :p

Mich hope you are feeling better now. The disease has been spreading among the children these couple of days so hopefully the situation will be under control soon..

kellyduffy

Hi sleepygal,

Sorry. Not very sure of the exact location to pin point where it is. I think it is near to Punggol seventeenth ave. Our PS driver he know the place well, and I didnt pay much attention during the journey.. :p

Any BTB can help?

strawbsc

Ah Net > if u dun feel like going then don't.I m sure others will understand.There are many things in life that we can't control and we only can accept and live on.Its a really sad thing that she has left this world but it might have been a relief for her also.there might be more pain and suffering with her condition if she lived on.like wat Dor said,maybe you and your colleagues can lend a helping help like her daughter,she might need help in copying her mother's death..etc..

Things happen in the paths of our lives to make us stronger day by day. I noe its easier to say than its to be done.but I hope u will be strong.

you might wan to try city plaza for cheaper shoes?

Rach > yeapz.I have been working really long long time.I don't even recognise my own bed or my pet at home dun even recognise me at all now..

princess_sue

hi gals. wah.. topic on shoes icic..ytd went to my BS to choose my gown for PS which will be on the 5 May sigh.. wanted a weekend whereby i need not take leave but then my bs was saying that it would be better on a weekday to avoid the people and crowd. Hm.... seems like no choice i have to do it on a weekday