(2008) Brides of year 2008

gingerbread_gal

For those with skin prob, maybe you can try the DrX clinic http://www.drxclinic.com/v2/index.htm

I just started going there....the beauticians are trained under the doctor and if they feel that your skin problem needs medical attention, they will advise you to see their doctor.
I'm not sure about the pricing but it seems that if you take their package, you'll have 20% off the treatment (treatment varies with each session) and additional 20% off if you go during office hours!

I'm quite pleased with their services esp my beautician cos she knows that i'm getting married then said she will work on my neck and shoulders to try to even out the skin tone...hope it will really help! *fingers crossed*

luxelass

Jules: I think the venue is the most impt thing, and you've already settled. All else, for gowns, at most just buy those from the racks. That's what one of my gf is doing. It takes out the additional stress of anticipating your gown and fitting.

Impressed with Zhuoen's progress. I'm still procastinating my weight loss program. Haha.

gingerbread_gal

zhuoen,
Am waiting for the bridal magazines to come out to look for hair ideas. Was disappointed with Blissful Brides - didn't find anything useful in it. Can try surfing the internet but alot of hairdos are for caucasians.

Jules,
We're getting our wedding bands from Cartier....Ya, its kinda early to get wedding bands as we are having solemnisation at our reception but we want it ready for PS. then luckily we went early cos Cartier is revising their prices upwards...guess its the increase in gold prices...
I went to Love and Co before but no one attended to us there, so we just browsed and left. Guess if you really find the rings you like, then can get them early. Like that, can check one more item on your list

I'm wondering for those of you who intend to tailor your bridesmaid dresses - what is the estimated budget like? and you have your own design in mind?

luxelass

Hi Jac, I've thought about it for bridesmaid dresses - I'll be using the same fabric for all, but they choose their own designs. It will be personally tailored for them to keep as a momento.

I've thought hairdo should just leave it to the MUA to do for you? You mean still must research on hairdo? The work is getting more and more...

happinessbliss

Waxie< *HIGH FIVE &amp; a BEAR HUG*...haha, ya cos i heard so much abt the album in the storeroom and videos not being watch. I find it a waste of $$$. Might as well save it up for something else.. Even for our BS, we also took a basic package, cos logically we are not going to display the album in the house are we? so in the end it will be sitting under the bed or in the storeroom... Ya i agree that its up to personal preference...hehe...

fumiko_neko< no worried gal, I am sure everything will work out fine for u and u will be able to find beautiful WG and EG...
I want to be "Huan Zhu Ge Ge" for once, I mean in photos, but hubby refuse, says look very silly.... Hahaha, he is just shy that pple will see him in that costume la... hahaha

apple_gal

Hi, Lara

Ya, i do not want to regret in future if top up too much photos now. Actually my BS offer me S$1500 for getting 26 photos &amp; getting all the soft copy photos. But i did not take the offer as i found it is waste of MOney to get those. After all, the album might put in the storeroom some day...
All of my frds told me they regret topping up so much photos... So i dun wan end like them also.
Have you load your BS photos? Please do share.

Hi, Selina
Thanks.. Glad tat i managed to cut down to 56 photos. Hope can get it by early May...

flora_bliss

xinglin, oh ya, I forgot your AD is very close to mine. Initially I wanted my PS to be in Jul, but then I'll have to settle my gowns in April. A bit too rush for me. So book PS in Sep. Then wanted to hv PS on 05 Sep, but the MUA has 2 weddings on that day so can't make it. Then change to 12 Sep, but now may hv to change again due to work issue. I'm working in a bank, but not in those usual financial or marketing dept.

I've been using the Avene thermal water. I'll usually spray it (and a few drops of rosewater) on clear facial mask sheet and leave it on my face for 15mins. I'll try to do that once a week. I feel that my face looks brighter and hydrated after that. Also tried the calming cream before. It managed to sooth the redness and itch due to allergic reactions to cosmetic/ skincare products. I like this brand coz it's suited for sensitive skin and yet is reasonably priced.

Yes, I've heard of Proactiv. But I nvr try it before. I've got very sensitive skin so I'll be very careful in trying new product.

I've heard Biotherm is very good for problem skin. Maybe you'll like to give it a try? What about Doctor Secret?

I'm fortunate in the sense that I don't have acne/ pimple problem. But I've got a lot of black heads on my nose. My sis always say I have "strawberry" nose. Also got dark eye circles and open pores.

flora_bliss

providencia, ya would be getting very busy with work, esp starting from end Apr. Got to run 4 training sessions every week for whole of May. Then after that may need to travel to Jap, Shanghai and HK for work. Need to stay at least 1 week in one place. After that got plan and prepare for the 3 BC exercises.

My dept only got me and my boss. So I can't anyhow go on leave. But I do hv a very understanding boss, if I want to, he'll let me go. But I don't want to "hai" him to do all the work.

melo_ddy

Meiling, glad to know you are back to yr normal self already
Did you enjoy yr facial session today? I went back to kim mun clinic recently, and got nagged by the doc coz my pimples came back.

tinkybell, the pics of the shoes you posted are very nice. i agree with sue, those with backing will give blisters. Hope you will be able to get yr dream bling bling shoes soon.

i saw mrs kel pics too, her gowns are so pretty and sweet. cant wait to see more of her pics.

samanthaquekys

thanks mei, for your sweet compliments. =) kinda boost my confidence!

and thanks for all being so enthu to see my pics. but multiply giving me prob. sorry. will try to do so asap. =)

PS on coming fri! tmr gonna do mani n pedi. thinking to shape my nails square or round. lol..

and i'm panicking on outdoor locations.
here's my choice:
(fine weather)
lallang field/ alexander swing
changi beach for the blue sky
intercon hotel n shophses at arab st

(rainy day)
maybe T3
national museum
borders(might be interesting)

ladies, what do you think? give me some comments or suggestions pls?

xenxen

hi gals...

I went to mit hotel coordinator yesterday, gone thru most of the stuffs.. i ve chosen the wedding favor - glass coaster.aft the food tasting, i changed 3 of the dishes.. menu look v good but food tasting day, few dishes wasnt wat i expected..hopefully aft the changes, AD food will b better..

<font color="0077aa">hey mentos, you remember me!! *touched* =p</font>

<font color="0077aa">wah this thread move so fast.. i posted in afternoon, by now moved sooooo much... gotta slowly read... *excited*</font>

<font color="0077aa">Rach>>> hahaha have the mails but so many, i also flooded until dunno how to read lor.. =p Plus office recently cut off access to personal email, so cant check in office these days hai.. wOw $2.4k for all that-- quite ok leh... but i already have PG with the BS.. maybe i call them up abt how much w/o PG.. heh. but looks like i have to quickly call them liao... not much time... me and hubby keep dragging our feet on this hmph...!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">i have to color code my posting so can see where i left off... lol... i am sooo scared of costume... ack...!! dunno how i'll look.. but my PS will be in June.. both my EG and WG are MTM.. not sure how they'll turn out!! 1st fitting in May... what a long wait!! the designer so confident she'll make it look really good... but she say very difficult to make the design i chose so she have to slowly make it, wait for "inspiration"... lolz!! *worried*</font>

zhuoen

xinglin: sms u liao.. =) just tell her joan recommend you.. i will be dropping by her shop sometime.. we can also chat online with regards to the package she have ya! yah, i tot the package is very affordable with so many items in!!! heheheh... and the flowers are in big bunch which i like!!!

jules: i will send you girls the contact once my friend reverts? and oh ya!!! i think its ok to get ur wedding band now, so u can strike the item of the list.. hehehe, i got it in feb 06 when my rom was in dec06.. buy liao never wear, will just bring it out to 'sin shang'.. hahaaha, then untie and tie the ribbon back onto the box... hahhahaha.. and it looks ugly when its tied by me.. =p

valerie: i need to go on diet too!!! maybe lose 2-3kgs? hahahhaha, playing lotsa wii sports now... cos can really sweat it out!!! n will try to go for more jogging sessions... =p and most imptly, cut down on snacks, oily stuff... n sleep early..

jac: i bought blissful brides too and W &amp; T, i browse w&amp;t more times than blissful.. hahahhaa.. only manage to find some nice bouquets pic..

so its back to cupcakes searching for now... hahah

antakusuma

hi PSH,

u shd book extra MUA for ur family on the actual day. i'm sure they'll need.

I also booked stamford. Hi five! btw, get the thai olive fried rice, they allow change menu if u dun have that already. its so yummy...

and JAPAN is such a great place!! Make sure u go to the aquarium at OSAKA, got whale shark. And try to be in Tokyo on saturday and sunday, cos thts when u get to see all the bands in the park, and the harajukku girls! I'm cho excited for u.

M,
My banquet coordinator also quit last month. u tokking abt georgette issit? her replacement also not bad la.

All may Brides,

i recommend manuka honey daily for a month before the wedding. it improves immune system so u will not fall ill on the day!! go for 15+ minimum.

dodolet

Hi Xinglin! I have not booked the hotel, as we cannot seem to find 1 that is still available on the 27 Dec. We did tentatively booked on the 29 Dec for afew. We are reallllllyyy hoping for a miracle to happen ^^.

Oh Zhuoen I would need a florist for my church wedding and a seamstress for my bridesmaid.

I still do not have a BS and have not started looking at Wedding bands too.

Ugh.. I hope I can find some time to do any of these soon. T.T

raragal

kire> haha.. yah.. saw his Youtube video before.. think he used the same joke all the time.. until he dun find it funny anymore liaoz.. hehehe...

LSnTYL>sure.. no prob.. just let me know.. i guess i'll be posting here when i go.. hehehe... but it should be in April la..

creamy> nowadays, seldom have dinner start at 730pm sharp one.. unless yours is like mine.. I'll start at 730pm sharp coz i have church ceremony..

Suggestion is you can start at 7.45pm. 1st march in go up to the stage, then sign and then come down.. can choose to go back to seats.. then start 1st course by then.. wil be abt 8pm. Solemnisation itself is very fast. 12min... or the most 15min.. so you can even afford to start at 8pm so that most of the crowd would have arrived..

Happiness> hehehe... we will be displaying our album in our home.. heheh.. and thats why we topped up to 2 albums.. yah... heard alot abt keeping in storeroom.... but dun think we'll do that... as i love photos..and i still have my young photos all ard my bedroom.. kekek.. :p

soyabean>Dont read wrongly. my $2400 is without PG.. its VG+highlights+animation..

Hee..thats the thing with MTM.. hehe.. I went to my BS today... good thing it was rather empty today, so i got to try another 8 gowns!! *gasp* hahah...
My coordinator on off today.. and i just walked in.. but i'm such a regular that everyone in there knows me liaoz.. hehehe.

<font color="0077aa">Rach >>> oh!! hmmm i wonder animation alone they can do how fast... i think we had better go and tok to them soooon... so prob animation alone should cost abt $1k plus hor... dunno got money or not hahaaaa .... ok ok thanks alot!!! Wah u try so many gowns... actually i managed to find a gown OTR but they say if i OTR both gowns only gimme 2 extra photos leh. and if either WG or EG MTM, then no photos liao even if 1 OTR. So i decided to MTM since all in the pkg liao ma... see how it goes lor... scary hahaaaa</font>

<font color="0077aa">but u manage to find both WG and EG ah?? i find that EG is soooo hard to find... even the colors are so confusion liao. Red alone also got, like, 8 different tones man!!!! lol</font>

fruittea80

I'll be doing my PS next week, any pointers to share? Still trying to short-list outdoor venues to confirm with my photographer, any good ideas?

Looking forward to next week and keeping my fingers crossed for good weather. =P

pooh83

happiness&amp;bliss -> dun worry i am sure everything will turn out well.. you will look very special and nice with costume.. btw i think we have the same banquet venue.. hee.. u choose novotel also?

bridebride

It has been a while since I enter this thread.. My wedding is over last Monday. Actual day is Sunday and dinner is on Monday.

Vivien.. dont be stress over the none turnup.. I have not had much tables, and only send to those who I am close to, and I am really grateful that they did try their best to attend! My problem is my relatives, I have to cater the quantity of tables to them, else my mum will not be happy. And I can't ask them for the attendance.. well.. anyway, I just leave it to the brothers to handle! Just be beauttiful and happy on that day!

raragal

soyabean> heheh.. animation is $1200 for Stefine.

They need at least 4 months production time.

Which BS u from??
My BS is if dun want MTM after u took the MTM package, they'll change to 2 pictures... and if u have OTR package and wanna MTM, just top up $300..

Yup... sort of found a few EG today..and sort of decided on my WG..its a new piece..and its an unique one...
Happy!

I love red too... see rayrachel.multiply.com for the latest pics..

Gina> Novotel is nice.. my fren had it there 3rd March.
Food is not bad... and we like the idea of having a personalised menu for each guest... nice.. I was the emcee there that day...

happinessbliss

Hi Gina,

Yup my banquet venue is at Novotel...Mine cinnamon ballroom. Yrs? I like it at Novotel cos each ballroom is at each level, no chance of guest walking into wrong ballroom. I notice yr wedding is 20 Sept, u r a week earlier than me... hehe

woo83fy

hello everyone!

i am also an Oct 2008 BTB!

feeling really excited about the coming big day!

so far my preparations are as follows:

type: ROM/Holy Matrimony/Dinner (combined)
hotel: hotel intercontinental
bs: bridal veil
studio pg: 5 Stones Photo + friends (doing magazine style book)
ad pg: ? (lyrical moments or expressivelyjoho)
ad video: friend (freelancer), inclusive of MTV and morning highlights
band: friends
singers: ? (still looking for male rocker)
house: hdb 4room at bedok
price: 328k, 38k above valuation

reno: spaceconcepts
price: ~30k

Getting married in Singapore is not easy!!

Wonder why the government never help us financially... its their "fault" that property and renovation prices have skyrocketed....

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
dun say dat....u really have v silky smooth skin to start wif so it cannot b dat bad...perhaps we shd b more diligent in out beauty regime cos im oso those bo chup type n oso maintenance involves lotsa $ :p

sue,
thanks...im back today...went for facial n den mani n pedi...glad to see dat my nail parlour provides rather nice bridal nail designs...perhaps i'll b going down for my mani n pedi b4 my PS...i feel in luv wif d 3d crystal n pearl designs...hmm, but it's gona cost me a bomb :p

koyoyo,
yah i remember u mentioning to me dat it's better to go in smaller grps to get better attention
i got my copy of blissful brides yest n i found dat pc of gown i wana try frm my bs, d halter spag one...must bring n show them nxt week :p

lex,
im so hungry when i hear u mentioning abt food...yum yum, u see, im such a glutton :p

uksportgal,
yah it's always gd to know dat regardless of wat probs we have, there's always gals in tis thread to share ur joy n sorrow :p hope u r feeling better today

melody,
yah i sure did enjoy my facial n it feels gd to have all my pores unclogged :p oh, i always wanted to go kim mun...mayb i shd pay him a visit soon...im sure ur skin will get better after d consultation

mrs kel,
no prob...u shd have more confidence in urself cos u r really swt looking n pretty
i think u shd shape ur nails square...n do french mani n pedi or if u want, u can add little flowers n crystals...wld b really swt

hi woo83fy,
welcome to our thread! hehehe, u r so cute, u provided so much info but none on ur date of ur AD :p do inform me so dat i can update ur info in our table ok?
ur wedding sounds really cool wif band n male rocker singer...must b lotsa fun
well, at least u've gotten a flat...im still "homeless" after many rounds of balloting exercise :p

~sblbee~

providencia,
guz im so stressed up recently due to my increasing wkload n oso lack of slp cos worried abt finding my perfect wedding gown :p yah, i hope to eat less n oso cut down d fried stuff, hopefully will see a little bit of result when i go for my nxt fitting :p
yah, im so glad to have so many advices frm all of u...duno wat to do w/o u gals

qin ying,
pls do share wif me ur contact, thanks! btw, is ur doc ex? wah, like those docs wif gd reputation always have to queue one, do they allow making appt in advance? me too...unlike nelle, im a lazy bum who can nv follow my beauty regime (as if i got one :p)

nelle,
oh i bought d neutrogena ones too but havent use them yet, i tried d mask previously n it was not bad...
hehehe...guz it's not my pillow case leh, cos i change them every week :p must b my unhealthy diet n stress frm wk..

lurvz17,
yah think im stressed over wk n wedding cos i kept nagging at my fh who calls frm overseas to remind him of d things dat he has not been doing :p for me, i only use minimal skin care, facial wash, scrub n mask...nothing special :p

flora bliss,
heheheh...i must say im not those who r blessed wif flawless skin, managed to cover everything up wif makeup...it sure does wonders to me :p
yah i try to drink lotsa water as recommended by many ppl n try to avoid d unhealthy stuff but as a foodie, i cant resist d temptation :p
oh i juz bought avene scrub too, was recommended by a bride who said it's gentle for sensitive skin
only tried once so must see if it really works for me

omg, u dun have those skin probs u mentioned...ur skin is flawless
i tried biotherm acnopur series but it doesnt seem to help so i stopped using for yrs...guz my skin kinda got immune to it after a while :p

xinglin,
dun worry, u wont b an ugly bride, im sure u'll b a mei-mei bride...juz keep urself relaxed...i actually felt better after going for my facial yest as d extraction really helps to remove d clogs in my pores...
mayb we all belong to d sensitive skin type n d redness go off v slowly so i'll try to go for my facials on fris so dat my skin can recover over d wkend :p

jac,
im trying to start going for my facial religiously n oso step up closer to d date of my AD...hopefully it'll b better
perhaps consulting a doc if necessary

wah ur facial really sounds gd n pro...must b really pampering

lost,
which dialect r u? perhaps u can refer to these websites for some info:-
http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/index.html
http://www.tianlufengshui.com/chinese-customary-marriages-part1.htm

providencia

mich, u win liao, so far, u seem to be the latest to have ur PS.

mary, u are blessed with good skin, the rest of us have to work at it.

xinglin, must be patient when treating the skin, cos regeneration takes 3 weeks, can't expect to see results instantly, give all new products at least one month's chance.
Flora, i also panda kind, my dark eye rings are beyond hope. Ur work so really busy, but we'll help u along, we can offer to help u do research for ur wedding preps. hee
MeiLing, dun stress, dun stress, maintain cheerful disposition, will help greatly. U'll definitely find ur perfect gown.

princess_sue

morning everyone.

Hi mrs kel, shaping it square would be nicer. You can give it a try. hehe
you muz be feeling really excited about your PS. I feel that National Museum will be nice.. and T3 too. in fact , we were thinking of the airport too coz i said yes to my FH 8 yrs ago to be his gf and i said yes to his marriage proposal at the airport. haha.. but thg is my Pg was saying that there are a lot of pp and alot of glasses which may have reflection. If dun mind the people... then its ok. But T3 on weekdays should be ok as not many planes are taking off from there at the moment. So ya... can give it more thoughts

changi beach sounds cool

Hi lex, i was just thinking of porridge buffet the day before too. i like the one at suntech eso their dessert (pulut hitam) but the price has been increasing.. from 4.80 5.80, 6.80,7.80 to 9.80 nett. Wah...but i still like that haha.

i tried the chilli padi nonya buffet opposite bugis junction on Tue. it was good. I was telling mei, that although the variety may be limited but their food is nice and the price is rather reasonable too. each poerson is about 12.80 after the ++. Can give it a try when you are there.

hi uk, wah ... finally one thing of your mind you muz be really happy. Poor thg you , suffering at your work , hug hug.

hi melody , wah got nagged by the dr? how come? Coz he thinks yo unv use his pdts ah... ? i have been using his pdts for the past 3-4 years already.

hi mei, wah.. blissful brides new copy is out already ah.. i shall go and get a copy too if so.

~sblbee~

providencia,
thanks, i hope dat i can relax more too...tend to b more nervous as i duno wat to do nxt...wish im more organised like flora bliss...time is not on my side :p

flora_bliss

meiling, I hope my skin is as flawless as you think it is. What you've seen is the wonder of makeup on me. hehehe....

providencia, though I'm busy during the day with work, I always leave office on the dot coz my boss don't allow me to work late.

koyoyo

HI everyone ,
Good morning. Sue you can really conside chilli padi my coy uses them for function. The food really not bad and comes with a variety however I heard their pricing is consider abit on the steep side for catering.

Hi Mrs Kel,
Where are your photos? I want to SEE!!.
Meiling,
HOw is your facial gosh i missed mine.. sigh now my eyebrow like forest haha
Talking about food.. i have gone back to my old ways.. early morning already munchin someone double choc bday cake.. big big piece lol...

~sblbee~

flora bliss,
same here....i must really thank makeup for doing wonders to my terrible acne n open pores...i look like a walking zombie w/o them :p

mary_poppins

Hi 5 Flora Bliss, same here. I also have some spots that are well covered by my Lancome 2-way cake every morning. That's why my friends always say I am the spokesperson of Lancome. Cos I will tell him how good it is. Anyone who tried it love it. Even their blusher also... So I am not worried about the skin condition cos make up makes perfect.

~sblbee~

sue,
yah i must go grab a copy of d wedding n travel too to see all d shoes...i saw a shoe shop featured in d blissful brides at chinatown called karats....they got bling bling shoes too but must make appt de :p

koyoyo,
oh my facial is great...at least i can feel my skin breathe now though it's not in tip top condition but at least it feels cleaner :p i plucked my eyebrows too, was bushy like a forest too, but some pruning it's better now :p
i juz had a big slice of don's chicken pie, super sinful but yummy :p

polarwhite,
yah i agree, i simply adore all her gowns as it suits her so well...she's able to carry off every pc

nelle

Can you all imagine we are men? And we didn't use all these powders to cover our faces?? ahhhhhh..... nightmare.

On the other hand, we may not notice them &amp; no one seems to mind anyway.

~sblbee~

mary poppins n flora bliss,
is lancome 2-way cake really gd for coverage? im using mac now...oso not bad, wonder which brand is d best for combi skin n gd coverage...

nelle,
i think i'll b a hideous looking man wif lotsa pimple n acne breakout...so scary :p i think ppl who duno us dun even bother but ppl who have seen us wif n w/o makeup will freak out if they see d transformation :p

lexilicious

Morning all!

woofy,
Welcome to the thread! Wow, you've done quite a bit of work already! Hmm yours is at Intercon?
I wanted that place too but it wasn't big enough for me..

I see you got a flat at bedok! I'm looking for one there too but these people are CRAZY... asking for SOOOO much above valuation.. I feel like SLAPPING the flatowners sometimes..

mrs_kel
I think square shaped is nicer if you want to do nail art - more space for designs heheh... if you prefer just simple then I think round is all right...

BTW you look absolutely STUNNING in the photos... the CS is amazing from the back, the lace is very elegant
And the EG is so sala! Hehehe.. Red-hot sexy
the gown on the mannequin is yours as well?

Heheh.. I hope the weather goes well for your PS

sue...
don't tempt me with buffets lor... I'm trying to lose weight here! LoL... Cannot anyhow eat.. if not Ted Collection will kill me when I go down for measurements

meiling
call em when you going to try shoes! I want your comments since you're a shoe fanatic heh heh heheh...

koyoyo
wah doubel choc cake.. I also want.... sounds so yummy.... I've been dreaming of cheesecake... but resist resist.. though I think come weekend I sure go gobble down a giant cheesecake.. LoL

fumiko_neko

rach > oh izzit, i didnt noe tat..cos we really speak v soft on the 'I DO' (too shy n nervous liao..haha)..so tot was not done purposely by him...
keke

now settle fotographer and videographer...
but got another more hard stage to do..
brain storm on photo montage n animations..

any idea where to get cheap and nice wedding car plates printed with "We are Married" ?

~sblbee~

lex,
sure no prob, i love shopping....but 1st must make sure belinda got my sizes...guz my sizes too common liao, must really go n drag my mum down for shoe shopping during d wkends, oso can start to beo some accessories to go wif my gowns :p

princess_sue

hi koyoyo, haha catering ah.. dun think so. I wont be catering anything for my wedding ... :p coz mine is lunch anyway..heh.

hi mei, yes i will definitely get a copy of that when i can this week. :p