(2008) Brides of year 2008

sealy_me

Hi vivien, try not to stress urself too much. There will definietly ppl not turning up. This happens to me too. My AD was next sat and I am still sending out invitation cards this week. Is like alot ppl try to "siam" or find excuses not to attend the dinner.

For me, I just take it as it is lor. No choice what. My intention was out to them but if they turn me down I can only take it.

Most importantly is to enjoy the whole process. I will not want myself be an angry bride and lost that charm for 1 of a lifetime thing. hehe

Ur moods really affect the way you look. Ppl can tell if u r a happy or angry bride. No matter how much we do, there bound to be some details that we missed out or it does not turn out wat u planned to be. So just accept everything with an open heart and be a HAPPY BRIDE!

koyoyo

congrats uksport,
One thg off the preparation. Yup i am sure the other member in vocare is just as good so no worries..
Well about Belinda.. Not that she is unhappy about ppl gog in grps jsut tt she mentioned to me once a grp of 7 went to her . Imainge she have to run up n down to get them shoes. they were impatient n insensitive towards her .. All vying for her attention.. What tt suppose to be a pleasant experience turn out to be bad.. so i suggest go in smaller grp and she can offer you more suggestion on ur wedding

fumiko_neko

mentos > my MUA is elson and photographer is sam..

rach, waxie > icic...but digio gowns are quite pretty la..and e package offered is really attractive..
but in e forum alot of ppl say sandy is ok..
mayb i suay lo..tat day she PMS..
hopefully now with carine n casey, things will be beta..

rach > i wanna check wit u...does the T&T printing print on invitation cards only? i dun wan any inserts cos is another extra cost :p
and i need to wait until july then can take e wedding card from the hotel..

nelle

MeiLinG, my sis use the neutrogena fairness ones. She says it is not bad. Those from Face shop may be expensive though I have yet to go see. You may also like to go to those shops that sell cheaper price toiletries. The people there can recommend. I got mine at people's park, made in korea. Yet to try out though, but if no effect, will switch to neutrogena. Here's the ones I got.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_html.gif
fac masque
face masque.htm (4.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

For the time being, change your pillow case more often than usual. Pimples on the side of face indicates dirt/pollution.

qin ying, not difficult to stick to it.
I keep a diary on what to do so that I don't put wrong mask/scrub and when to book/order what.

provi, I heard about the miracle water not effective on some people, even have allergy. I will try out this weekend, if not effective for me, I will try out another brand. Balance? Give to the man..hahaha...

fumiko_neko

mentos > we will b driving..cos my fren told me the car rental there will provide GPS free...so i tink with GPS, chances of getting lost is reduced..lolz..
oh cathay airline..will check it out..thx!
but when u plannin to go there?
after my wedding, sep is already ending...and e best time to visit west side of US is in sep..esp san frans..(read fr internet one)

fumiko_neko

i had mr chan as my JP for ROM too..tink he quite cute la..he distrub us during when we exchange our vows..and make my guests laugh...
he is a v nice guy..will meet up wit couples to sign the submission form and oso to understand the couples...
some JP jus take ur date and sms u his license number and fax u his signature and ask u submit to ROM office...

luvz17

meiling, r u stress over sumting? sometimes i find that, the lesser thing u apply on ur face, the better it is to ur skin. so that the skin wun get confused. what i do now is to carry out weekly regime: face scrub, body scrub, facial mask.

jac, thanks for the link. it's beautiful..so urs will be like that???

providencia

nelle, ha ha, my man will just take all my leftover and then leave it in his hse, quite hopeless one, unless I'm the one to apply for him. I tried the miracle water some 2 yrs back and remembered having breakout, so I stopped. My current skincare functions well, but keen to try new things. Diary is a good idea, will steal your idea again. Paiseh leh.

zhuoen

Valerie: I booked my BS last mar and had gone for my ps in dec last year.. I had selected my pics and just saw my first draft of the album last sat.. and I also still owing the deposit to Kelvin.. hahahha.. venue booked.. I had also confirmed my florist and her package includes hand bouquet, car deco for wedding and follower cars, and jiemei’s corsages, still contemplating if I should get real flowers or those nicely made ones for them to keep.

I m deciding on my theme as to wat color theme for the car deco, hand bouquet, ang bao box and etc.. so everything will be of the same color combi. Had also confirmed the wedding car which we are going to use. Then now looking for cupcakes lobang. Haaaa... and other ad-hoc things like getting ang bao packet for the actual day and etc..

luvz17: the cupcakes are sweet!!! I think you can look for the material and get seamstress to sew.. I know of one forum friend whose mum is a seamstress and does sewing of clothes for mediacorp, if u are interested, I can pass you her contact?

mary_poppins

Hi luvz17, the dentist charges S$200+GST for ceramic row and S$100+GST for metallic row (taking out and putting back). Think I will only take out the ceramic top row. 1 year is very fast leh.

Hi providencia, 5 years a lot leh. Actually I didn't ask the dentist how long does it take cos regardless of how long, I am going to do it. My original teeth are horrible looking. At least within one month, four teeth are aligning. I was told to go to tighten every 3 weeks. Dunno if I can do it every two weeks. Like that faster... Oh yar, I slimmed down 5 kg soon after putting on the brace and has been maintaining that weight.

flora_bliss

providencia, your PS is not the latest. Mine is. Mine will be on 12 Sep.

You gals are fortunate, can take bird nest. I'm allergic to bird nest so can't take it. After taking it, either my eyes will swell like kena punched by someone or I'll experienced breathing difficulty.

meiling, I don't recall you have problem skin leh. Or is it just occasional breakout? You just need to relax more and drink more water. Then you'll be even prettier than what you are now.

nelle, you sure hv a very comprehensive skincare regime. I'm too lazy to follow. I'll only be hardworking enough to go for monthly facial and do my weekly mask at home.

And I tried the SKII miracle water. My skin doesn't like it and protested with rashes all over the next day. I guess my skin doesn't like to be pampered with expensive stuff.

mentos

fumiko_neko: I think i ever saw Sam's portfolio. It's quite good too. He did some shots in CBD area. Left a deep impression on me bcause the pics with of this couple and he took it with the carlsberg bus in the background with the words "Good as Gold"

I'm planning mid Sep till end Sep. Got GPS in the car? Good. coz LA really inconvenient. San frans is still ok. walkable.

rach, waxie> >OK alr. so far i'm still quite pleased with my BS. Plus i love the gowns there. it's those princessy sort of feel. =p

gingerbread_gal

Meiling,
I don't know Wendy. Cos my MUA recently got tie up with TWP, so I go there so read abt any reviews abt her. Then I saw the gowns that were posted there. Ya, the gowns look nice!!

Luvz,
I think my gown will be something like that...at least the bottom part...my top will be very diff from wat's posted...

Providencia,
Sigh, i don't mind following some traditions...but some really illogical stuff. Eg if we get a flat, then cannot invite anybody to see the flat before reno..cos the ppl we invite will get our luck instead of us getting it. I'm was like ?!?! Cos I will def want my family to go see the flat (if we get any) and see if they have any comments before starting reno...then now, my fren got a new flat, invite us to take a look, my HTB declined to go while I wanted to go.

Meiling,
if its acne problem, its prob due to hormones. In this case, better to see a doctor or go to beauticians who work under doctors....hope yours isn't too bad. For me, I just started Vit C pills.

right now, I'm having a bit of a conundrum...I've been using whitening products on my face since last year and now my face is fairer than my neck and shoulders. Worse still, my shoulders have tan-lines (cos I always wear sleeveless tops). Then my WG is gonna be bustier. anyone having these problems too?

gingerbread_gal

Zhuoen,
wow, you are so on the ball!! You can go to Bras Basah complex...I came across a shop that sells lovely wedding and paos.

For me, I've decided on my florist and MUA. Going to collect wedding bands this weekend. Do research on wedding hairstyle and flowers.

shi40lin

Oh my! I've found the same person whom had the same problem as me! flora_bliss, I've the SAME symptoms as you lor - allergic to BIRD NEST!

Meiling, i also having both sides of my skin with pimples

Boo hoo... i really scare to be an ugly bride lor. Don't seems to work for me even seeing the skin doc, went for facial, tried so many kind of prdts

Went facial last Mon...skin both sides still red red

Sad leh.

fumiko_neko

ya tat e photo tat caught my attention..and tat y i pick Sam cos they say ben is not so sociable but ben is v gd and popular in Digio..
i scare wait i cant enjoy my photo taking session..lolz...i like ppl who can chit chat..lol...cos i talkative :p

zhuoen

jac: hahhahaa, ks ma.. didnt want to rush.. so i just start the ball rolling.. hhaha.. ok, will go to Bras Basah complex to take a look.. will be going down to chinatown as well..

i already had my wedding band as i rom-ed 2 yrs ago.. and ya! need to do research on wedding hairstyle and flowers.. had started on the flowers part.. and searching for hairstyle online.. any nice magazines to recommend?

nelle

xing, give it a week see how.

Jac, you have a classic case. Avoid being under the sun for now. Your MUA will blend the foundation color to match with your neck/shoulders therefore please do not let yourself go darker if not you will end up with a tan face.

providencia

mary, why take out the ceramic ones, thot metal ones are more obvious? I also have upper ceramic and lower metal, but the metal ones have been removed, so left with ceramic now. 3 weeks is ok, 2 weeks too fast. I'm sure u won't need such a long treatment like me, i kind of like having the braces on, think will miss it when i take them out.

Flora bliss, u win liao, PS even later than me. When's ur AD?

Flora and xinglin, so poor thing, why allergic to birds nest? but good lah, can save money.

Ya Jac, that's kind of ridiculous, never heard of this. Some pple really have very strange ideas. Which planet did they come from? Er, u might want to apply the whitening products to neck and shoulder, avoid the sun at all cost, can also try the whitening pills.

MeiLing, with so many advices from everyone, maybe something will work for u.

xinglin, what happened? Many pimples or few pimples? What kind of medicine did the dr start u on?

flora_bliss

providencia, my AD is 28 Dec. So I can still afford to hv my PS in Sep. But I kinda think I need to postpone it 1 week later again becoz I can't go on leave fr 01-13 Sep. Got a major project/ exercise to run.

stnov

ashley....for resales guess u have got quite a good deal there esp last year property prices started escalating....which location is dat?

shi40lin

zhouen, you did not engage JWN's (the BS) florist &amp; car deco for your AD? Me also thinking to get my own florist wor.
Do you sharing the package of your florist? Would like to know how much if getting own. See can exchange for more photos if not using JWN. Thankie

Hey, seems you are even more well prepared than me wor.. Haha... i still sitting there still wor apart from a little research.
Ahhh.. abit stress...

lexilicious

rain rain go away.. come again another day...

Sigh rain and rain.. LoL... I wanna go eat porridge buffet or soup le..

Koyoyo
so would it be better in groups of maybe 3-4 each time I guess.

lost_in_space

gals.. my PS is 30 Apr.. me still haven't really start on facial stuffs.. coming sunday need to meet parents to discuss GDL stuffs.. anyone here got the list or can help me out... need to start exercise liao~~~

shi40lin

We are 2 rare cases

My AD is 1 day before you wor.
Why having your PS so late? Too bz ah? What r you working as?
Have you used the Avene prdt b4? It does work on recovery?
Heard of Proactiv brand? - for acne problem skincare. Can buy from Waston.
Trying this but seems not working for my cheeks or causing my cheeks got more pimples/acnes.
My fren had this acne problem and got better after using Proactiv. But to me seems nothing can work

My skin problem sot sot one wor. That time is forehead damn jia lut. Now forehead ok - but cheeks got worst. I wonder why my hormones so imbalance one meh?

providencia, i din go for oral treatment. I used the products but din work

lsntyl

rach>thanks for the offer of going with you to JB. Will definitely check with my FH.

You gals chat so fast, I really blur le... :p

happinessbliss

Gina,

Ya hubby chose spanish cos he did not like all the traditional costume. Initially i wanted to do like 'Huan Zhu Ge Ge" costume, but hubby dun wan. So in the end choose spanish lor... Hope it turn out well.

Waxie,

U r not the only one w/o VG. I also do w/o VG. Reason is we feel that photos at least we will flip thru (although most of my frds told me that their album are dump into the storeroom soon after the banquet). And we wun wan to watch the rerun of the wedding on video after everything is over.

Fumiko-neko,

When i was choosing my BS i also went into Di Gio. They told me they have loads of beautiful gowns, when i say i want to view they also give me stupid reasons like "oh its inconvenient now as there is another group upstairs"... I was really piss off as I feel that y is it that the other group can view and i cannot? So i told the lady who serve me, "since i can't view the gowns u dun expect me to sign up now right?" so we make another appt to go back to view. I never return... reason being very simple ... they are not sincere.... But I am sure you will be able to find a gown that will fit u... Cheer up gal!

apple_gal

Hi, Ladies

I was very busy these few days. I've went down to my BS for the selection of PHOTOS. I've reduced 80 photos to 56 photos, total top up 8 photos. Now waiting them for editing &amp; layout to come out. According to my BS, i need to wait at least one month for the layout to come out. Issit very late?

nelle

xing, isit becos you are allergic to fragrance/alcohol products? I was before. Whenever I use any skincare pdt with fragrance or alcohol, I have very severe acne. I can only use Clinique or Prescriptive last time. But now skin change liao, can use many brands.

waxie24

happinessbliss *high five.. that's also why we didnt take the conventional thick wedding album.. ours is hardcover like normal hardcover storybook.. invest so much in PG, dun want to put in storeroom.. after all, its up to own preference..

mentos tomorrow is my 1st fitting only

zhuoen

xinglin: yah, m not going to use the bridal bouquet from jwn as i m going to do the car deco on my own and reckoned that it will be nicer if i can get from the same source and i have everything of the same combination or thereabt.. cos bs's car deco not very nice.. and i want real flowers!!
sure!! this florist is recommended by my friend and she higher recommended me as the price is very affordable and the lady provides good svc.. i will search for the number and sms/msn u ok? =)

hahahah, you are having ur wedding 2 week plus after me.. so dont worry.. m just too ks la.. dun want to prepare things last min.. hahhaha..

dodolet

Wow... Seeing you gals like already planned so much stuff!

The only thing I did so far is to confirm the date with my Pastor and tentatively booked my hotel. >.<

Anyway I am going to be a 27 Dec bride ^^v

ling27

hi apple_gal, well done!!! You managed to cut down by so many. I waited for 2 months before my layout was ready for viewing.

After layout is out, i think most probably you only need one or two times to view and make some changes (if any). After confirmation, your BS will print the album. That will take about 2-3 weeks. You should be able to collect it before mid May. Should be ok bah.

providencia

Flora, our timelines are similar. U so busy yeh? Wedding more impt leh.

Lost, which dialect are u?

xinglin, is this problem new or u have always been having problem with ur skin? Never use proactive before, dun noe why, have a bad impression of it. Did u use anything new? What kind of products did the dr give u?

micmattina

Hahaha...I think my PS is the lastest coz mine is going to be in October.....My AD is 20th December....

Xinglin, you might want to try Fancl Clear Control AC....it is oral pills that helps to relieve acne caused by stress ir hormone imbalance.....

fumiko_neko

happinessbliss > oh i sign up not in their studio. is at marina wedding fair..
anyway, there owas gd n bad bridal shop and i jus hope everything will b smooth smooth..keke..

talkin abt the huan zhu ge ge costume..tat time i went to rent retro costume, saw a c/o doing that dynasty theme..and saw a woman wearing..i like it le..then e man wearing the emperor suit ..really look like wang shang le..
so i told my FH tat i wan to go rent tat huan zhu ge ge costume..but of cos must see whether my FH suit to wear emperor clothings or not..cos some ppl face jus dun suit..
hahahaha :p

zhuoen

sotonglet: welcome to the club! orh, ur wedding date is same as xinglin.. i m still locating fellow 08dec bride.. hahahaha..

mary_poppins

Hi ladies, I have a seasonal pimple break out. Had that problem when I was 18-19. Cleared after that and next time when I had this problem was when I was 24-25. Other than that, my skin has been pretty managable with proper cleansing. I love it every morning when I use Lancome's maquicake, cos the face will look virtually perfect as the coverage is very good. Of course more thorough cleansing is needed at the end of the day. Do try to apply more hydrating oil free gel to ensure your skin stays hydrated the whole day. If not, your skin will produce more oil to protect it. More pimples will pop up as a result.

uksportgal

sigh my work is driving me crazy... so tired!! I work non stop since 830am my boss call me then meeting then report then meeting then report... argh.. then tie this no. that no. ... argh.. so sian...and worst is this have been going on from last week till now and expected to be like that for the REST of the Q1!!!

lucky got here to talk man hahahaha

creamy

I'm here on behalf of my sister. Mentos, you mentioned that you are having your solemnisation just before dinner? How to go about it? 1st march in then to the stage for solemnisation? Care to share your timeline? Meaning e.g start solemnisation at 7pm at ballroom then 7.15 or 7.30om dinner? Or is it solemnisation at 5+ then usual dinner at 7+?

bunnyhop

PSH so happy for e school Mar holi...my htb n i get 2 settle one thing @ a day so far...
1. Let Stamford 2 b our church wedding caterer
(we opt 4 wedding high tea package)
2. Finish scanning all fotos 4 montage
3. Met up w our new coordinator for banquet *turn
out shez more senior than e previous one, so
heart more @ ease cos' she seems more
professional...
4. Paid deposit 4 our honeymoon * Japan Osaka/
Tokyo 7D
5. Meeting up w T dragon 2 come out w wedding
card design
Yet 2 confirm...
1. Wedding cakes for GDL
2. Buying gifts for htb (cantonese)
3. AD schedule planning *job scope 4 helpers
n etc etc

Feeling a bit feverish...hopefully can recover soon...

Hi Queenie, really admire u 2 piece e fotoz on ur own w ur htb using Window Maker...cool! May e effort make ur prep even sweeter!

As 4 all BTBs...hang on...ani1 oredi does eROMing online?

Wat else do we need 2 look into?

shi40lin

nelle, i dun think is allergic to fragrance/alcohol prdts ba...But i din test whether is it the cause also...

providencia, ya im having problem with my skin for 2 years if not wrong. Sob sob. Now my forehead gets better and cheeks areas are new case.
The skin clinic i used to go is called SYY clinic. Has a branch at AMK central and takashimaya. Given skincare set (cleanser, toner, mosituriser, sunblock). I gave up when not seeing result. Or am i too impatient?

mich: Fancl clear control ac supplements helps? I also thot of trying at this stage wor.

shi40lin

sotonglet, we have the same AD ya! Which hotel have you booked?

zhouen, yeah, sms/msn me the contact. Will take a look and discuss with you if needed ya.
Initially i wanna get my ex-coll to do the hand bouquet for me - PS and AD. But if the package is worthwhile, i don't mind taking the whole package. Heard jwn's florist and car deco abit cmi wor. *oops. Will wait for your contact and thanks!

me_jules

Hey Xinglin, at first, blush blush seems pricey, but actually they're not so expensive, because there are no hidden costs, like eyelash and full lace and all that... Its all in the package. Unless you ask for something very out of this world, then maybe they'll charge. And the designer is really nice. The pull factor for me is simply because I like the designer very much and can imagine having a lot of fun planning my wedding with him.

Hi Luv17, my ROM and AD is just a day apart. Hee hee... I didn't want to squeeze everything in a day. So tiring. And also because we're expecting some overseas guests, so thought it'll be nice to seperate the ceremony for them.
I am also looking for a seamstress to tailor my bridesmaids dresses!!! I have 5 bridesmaids. Maybe can get bulk discount??? I am thinking of buying the material in Bangkok since I am going there soon.
Zhuoen! I want the contact please!!!

Hey Jac, where did you get your wedding bands from? I recently went to this place called Love and Co at Vivo city, seems quite nice also. I am also looking for wedding bands, but still too early. ROM in Dec only...

Hello Sotonglet, Welcome!! Don't worry, I also book my hotel only, got nothing else prepared. Keep thinking I got a lot of time. Think I'll end up those last minute kind. Sobbing at the last hour... with my boyfriend sreaming at me for procrastinating... sigh...