(2008) Brides of year 2008

providencia

So touched to see much much concerns from everyone, tks really.

MeiLing, spolit for choice, u will find something you like soon. Removal of ribs will be really painful, dun play play,too extreme, scary!!!

The wedding shoes must season first, buy in advance and break them in, can't have plaster all over the feet on the wedding day. I shall drop by city plaza too.

Shybride, thai airways is ok, though SQ is my all time favourite. Your package sounds reasonable. I'll be doing free and easy next yr.

chipydale

wow some of u are already planning ur honeymoon... I've yet to scout for packages yet.
Shybride ur package sounds reasonable. But when will u b going ? And how's the weather like then?

Providencia, u do take great care and recover soon !

xtrogal

Hi Brides-to-be,

I am getting married in Oct 2008 and is also looking at pre-wedding photoshoots. Not sure if you are having the same headache as me! I am considering doing it outside Singapore for more fun and interesting scene. But a lot of such packages from SIN are way above my budget!

I have found a WPJA photographer outside Singapore and is checking with him on his availability.

For anyone who is keen to take pre-wedding shoot out of Singapore in end Jul 2008, pls contact me.

Let's plan the trip together to get the economies of scales and also hire a makeup artist to bring to location together. One thing I notice from a lot of overseas pictures is that the pictures are so beautiful but usually the brides are short of having a nice makeup and hair-do and styling. I would like a nice picture including a beautiful me! :)

I am considering either Koh Samui or Perth.

Pls email me at [email protected]

xtrogal

Hi Brides-to-be,

I am getting married in Oct 2008 and is also looking at pre-wedding photoshoots. Not sure if you are having the same headache as me! I am considering doing it outside Singapore for more fun and interesting scene. But a lot of such packages from SIN are way above my budget!

I have found a WPJA photographer outside Singapore and is checking with him on his availability.

For anyone who is keen to take pre-wedding shoot out of Singapore in end Jul 2008, pls contact me.

Let's plan the trip together to get the economies of scales and also hire a makeup artist to bring to location together. One thing I notice from a lot of overseas pictures is that the pictures are so beautiful but usually the brides are short of having a nice makeup and hair-do and styling. I would like a nice picture including a beautiful me! :)

xtrogal

Hi Oct Brides-to-be,

raragal

waxie> Ermm..she doesnt encourage using blade for the feet..she'll rather use file and file for u till smooth.. but she's not that fast... so u must prepare at least 2-3 hours i think....but she's very meticulous...and nice... very friendly also...she talk talk talk non stop.. hahaha.. but i still admire her creativity...

HKAZ> I have the full script without the solemnization part...can send u if u still interested....

mentos> Thanks for updating..can see that the list is getting longer!! hehehe...

is the next NATAS really 1-3Aug??????? That'll be GREAT!! FH & I were fretting over it..coz we really tight and even if we went last week, we wouldnt have the $$ to pay any deposit.... 1-3 Aug would be just sooo cool!! 1 month before our AD...can get the tickets then!!

simplyserene

Hi Cindy,

I'm thinking of getting my brother to be the emcee but haven't asked him yet. I don't have the budget for a 3/4/5-pce band but thought of engaging our guests in some games. Or maybe you can get your friends to sing or play some music.

Why don't you try asking your PG for VG references? Since they're in the industry, they most likely will have some preferred videographers. Like for me, the videographer is recommended thru my photographer.

unsurebride

Hi Jule,

Thanks for the welcome..=))
How's everything with YC? choosen your gowns and did PS already? Me choosing on 9th mar. I hope i can slim down a few kilo by then...or not...hahaha So nervous. Muz share your experience there with me,k?..hehe
Me make up artist is Fynix and Coordinator is Dennis..=))

unsurebride

Hey S'rene,

So nice u have ur bro to be ur emcee. I only have 1 younger bro..and although he's very daring..i dun wan him on stage blurting out all my "dark" secrets..lol j/k

I wanted to ask my friends but all my friends all super shy so no choice, think probably have to hire professional...money again..hehe

My photographer is freelance. The same one i used for my ROM. When i asked him for a videographer for my ROM, he said he doesnt have any recommendation...hehe He's like a "loner" like that..haha

Can i ask who's ur videographer? Me still looking around..hope still have sometime..hehe

~sblbee~

qinying n ryu,
no prob...hope u can find ur ideal shoes soon

providencia,
hhehehe....yah but smhow i feel dat d gowns r so not ME...kinda disappted...how i wish i can struck TOTo den i'll sign up another package w/o worrying :p

shybride,
did u use d citibank promo at natas? saw a similar deal in d brochure :p

foodietravel

don't have multiply and i'm really hopeless downloading stuff. very admire xlb for your website.

i had my PS and i borrowed OTR gowns so the BS altered them for me and then the album will reflect those OTR gowns. anyway, MTM gowns won't be ready so soon and i'll go by myself for the fitting so HTB won't see MTM WG and EG till the AD.

my make-up for AD prob at 4pm and end by 6pm, solemnization (with parents only) prob 6:30 pm and then can mingle with guests.

just ordered the GDL cakes from Pine Garden in AMK. we chose our own cakes and the shop staff say that they can squeeze 8 in a "XI" box. they have GDL sets but we weren't keen on them.

btw, i found out today that for hair combing session, the bride must sit facing the door (either bedroom door or living room door etc) because she's gonna be married out... the groom must sit facing ancestral alter / photo / portrait and with back to the door (bedroom or living room) because he's marrying a wife into the house.

providencia

Hee hee, MeiLing, i wish i can win toto too. if you sign up for another package, then you'll have lots and lots and lots of dresses to choose from, that will be another headache, ha ha. But it's once in a lifetime, indulge if you can. Dun look back with regrets.

It should be summer in Greece during May,June, good weather, hot holiday season, crowded.

Hi xtrogal, my PS will be in Syndey in Aug, guess my schedule may be a little tight for you. I agree that logistics can be a nightmare, I may be flying up a makeup artist.

tinkybell

Lex, pre-honeymoon??? meaning to go before the wedding?? i am doing some calculation on the finances n not too sure if i can afford a honeymoon at the end of the day...

nonetheless, the aug natas would definitely draw some crowd n i hope my hubby will be willing to go n take a look and maybe change his mind abt honeymoon..

Meiling, 3EGs is alot ley... hope u find u 2 OTR gowns soon.... with 10 gowns, i am sure ur album will be very interesting with the different style and outlook.. looking forward to see final selection.....

Bluebanana, be positive yeah, staying with in-laws can have many pros then cons... serious... trust me... if u have a gd relationship with his family, then take everyday as it is and treat everyone well n i believe life will be easier... however, it is everyone's wish to have their own nest...

as for honeymoon, ur hubby like mine, also very difficult to get time off or apply leave... but can always try... maybe u can work out ur schedules... all the best in ur honeymoon plannings....

for my housing issue, i am staying with my in-laws since hubby and i ROMed in OCt 2006, everything is well so far (fingers-cross) and i muz say my MIL take gd care of me, (much better than my mama...) but still, we choose to have our own place becos of my 4-legged family member which my in-laws dun fancy, so i have choosen my dear fren over my comfort life, with ready dinner and tidy home..

Sue, sayang sayang... guess work n housing issues are tiring u down,,, muz take care and endure ok... i am sure ur mtgs will end in no time n by then the wkend wouldh have come and u can relax alittle. as for ur housing matters, anytime u see me online or mit up, we can talk talk and share share, i let u have exclusive rights of my ears and eyes.

Koyoyo, u still not well??? muz take gd care n drink more water n herbal tea yeah... and all the best in ur MTM EG.

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
yah cos i wana add more colours to my album...waiting to see if i'll get dat extra $ nxt mth, if not, den i'll go n get myself paradox shoes n nice gowns :p
im not sure cos now im thinking of mtm my evening gowns...duno if my gown will turn out nice, dat's y im hesitating :p

~sblbee~

providencia,
wooo...u going to take PS in Australia? so nice, my BS oso offered similar package but i declined cos i prefer to save dat money for my honeymoon but i really envy those who can afford to do so :p
hehehe....to win TOTO w/o buying it, there's no chance at all...but i sure hope dat i'll have some luck now n den to ease off d burden frm d wedding expenses :p

bunnyhop

hi M,
i oso wan 2 get e gdl cakes from pine garden. Seems like a popular choice among e btbs, especially if u stay near amk.
oh ya wat dialect group r u in w regard to e hair combing session? cantonese?

for xlb, tink itz better 2 give ur thumbs up 2 danny directly...he does live up 2 his credentials ya...seems like many pple enquire abt their svcs 2...doing well.

last but not least, seems like qite a few of u r choosing ur AD WG without e knowledge of ur hubbies...cool! Muz say kudos 4 ur secrecy...how did u all do it?!

Aniwae, seems like u all making great progess...looking 2 e details u all describe abt AD stuff...sounds like i gotta catch up lol.

2 more months for those marrying in early May...3 more months for those in late May...persevere ladies!

shybride

last night at my trial makeup, the MUA was telling me she went to prague, australia, and dunno where else cos her clients flew her there to do their makeup.. very well travelled by now..

brenda my AD is 3 june, flying to greece on 4 june. providencia is right, it's summer. but never mind, after wedding oredi, no need to avoid the sun anymore hee hee

meiling we didn't use citibank promo.. used ocbc card.. got a free standing iron.. and $200 off per couple. for your gowns, you going to MTM any? my fren took up a bridal package but MTM her gowns at one of those designers, converted the gowns at the bridal shop to other freebies

xtrogal, koh samui is a lovely place, i m sure your photos will turn out very nice!

gals, tell u something quite disappointing.. i ordered some things online from my1itt1eweddingshop and duet forte. but duet forte did not get back to me at all.. my1itt1eweddingshop got back to me once but didn't answer my subsequent queries.. got an automated reply that said they would revert within 3 working days.. but dun have lor.. so i am going to cancel my orders and buy from shops instead.

any recommendation where i can buy wrist corsages for jiemeis and ang pau box?

speaking of ang pau box, it's another story. fullerton's ang pau box is REALLY ugly!! it's a wooden box.. looks like a coffin lor.. : /

shybride

oh yeah another thing, i went to meet my florist Justin from fleurlicious just now.. he's very expert wor..

the bridal package comes with 8 corsages (the pin-on type). other than 2 for my htb and 1 each for parents and in-laws, whom to give the other 2 to?

do you think should make extra corsages and give to all siblings & siblings-in-law? i have 1 bro & 1 sis. my htb has 3 sisters and 2 bro-in-law.

me_jules

Wah Nec,you're lucky. Managed to get a hotel so late. All the hotels I approached were full since Oct last year! Maybe its my date.

Hey Irene, I seriously think its tough to get a venue now, so late. Esp if you want to hold it in a hotel. The hotel I originally wanted was also full. So in my entire list of hotels, there was only 1 available. Just take it already, desperate. heh heh. All the best looking for your venue!

And Karen, I think you should get a videographer. Its something you can show your kids in future. If your parents had a video of their wedding, would you be interested to look at it now?

jule

cIndy, my gowns are MTM, but have chosen the rest of the gowns for PS and taking photo end of march. 9 March is my friend's big day, and they are using YC too. Have fun selecting

plasterbride

ya i agree...at first we also feel that we don't need a videographer...but after some thoughts we engage one...because video has motions, it can capture the mood much better than photos..it is once in a lifetime, and we want to keep the video and watch it with our kids in the future.

nfk22

Hi clncy, my BS is also YC and my MUA & coordinator also same as you. I liked both their service esp Fynix =) Althou there's some negative remarks in the forum, I'm pleased with their services so far. Just taken my photos last Monday, chosen on last Sun and tomorrow will be getting a cd copy of the photos I've chosen (raw footage). I think selecting gown is very fun hee. Enjoy!

I got my friends to be my emcee. for performance u can try the following link in the singaporebrides website: http://www.singaporebrides.com/music/

knightley

xtrogal, ur idea sounds good ne!!! keke...but will a big group be very hard to plan? Like leave and budget n such? keke....

Jules, I also same as u...left wif the one & only hotel in my entire list...so most prob taking it...already did tentative booking le... sigh...kkekee...but since we already decided le, n like wat my FH says, if we cant haf the best, then we shld just make the best out of wat we have lor. Most impt is to be happy....mentally!

Yeah....VG is very impt ne...esp for a wedding... maybe aft 25yrs down e road, can still take it out, watch wif ur hubby and remind each other of our promises! muahaha....but wait...wat if hubby see le then say "eh, u like gain more than 50kg for the last 25yrs hor? whhaha...*faint*

unsurebride

Hi Jule - Wow..end of Mar, tats like coming soon. Mine is beginning of April. How's your preparation for your big day so far? I feel like i still have a thousand and one things to do...hehe

Hi Qunqun - another YC bride. Yeah! hehe I actually got their ROM package for my rom last dec. liked the service after comparing so went back again. Me too...Fynix is like cute and friendly..hehe So how are the photos? can share with me? me so excited...hehehehe

uksportgal

Hi xtrogal,
hmmm dun know if u like this .... http://www.marrymeweddingstudio.com/
This web show u a shop in Thailand... take wedding pic .. and is same style with TWN kind.... is kinda cheap too.. should include make up etc.. I feel is kinda good package ar... you can try see see if suits u.. then u no need find ppl go together with u also can..

cosyouaremygal

Hello, I am also a YC bride!! Met up with Angelz... ok... she's only 21. other than that, I would only say let's give her some opportunity to improve.. ha... Fynix sounds nice. Perhaps, I shall look for her when I pay a 2nd visit.

mary_poppins

Hi Brenda Ong, how come change PG? I would recommend one of my PG, who is my HTB's friend, Thomas Tan, if you intend to have coffeetable album. As he does coffee table album with 400-500 photos (no limit on the number of photos so long as have decent storyline), his will be on the higher end. The portfolio he post online will look almost like the actual album. He did a good job for our friends last year for both the pre-wedding shots at Bali and AD photos.

You may take a look at his website and contact him if you are interested.
http://www.thomas-tan.com/

crispy79

hi xlb,
Nice gowns. I like your EG, nice colour and cutting ;p

Wow...u girls seems progressing fast. I've only ordered my GDL cakes yesterday ... those wedding stuff yet to buy ...

We're almost 2 months to our Wedding Day only ... Jia You girls!!!

providencia

morning gals, still resting at hm, hee hee.
MeiLing, i also quite excited abt the PS, glad that htb is very supportive financially abt it too.
Hope it will turn out well.
Ha ha, i dun buy toto one, feel very shy to walk into the shops and queue up, so i guess no chance of big bucks for me.

Shybride, is your MUA good? Can recommend? I haven't really done my homework on who to bring.
I would make the extra corsages.

lexilicious

tinky
heheh no la.. more liek mini-honeymoon.. I know a lot of people plan big big honeymoons la.. with huge budgets of 10-20k but we decided we don't know if we can afford that right away.. since we don't know if we getting flat or not - we saw one we really really liked but price not right.. waiting for owner... so we decided to take a nice short getaway first as a honeymoon, something that isn't going to break the bank .. like thailand or something..

hahah tinky, you're so lucky that your MIL treats you so well
Mine's ok but she can't cook... in fact I cook better than her heheh.. so that part gone le!

bluebananas
yah I'm still looking for flats... I get along ok with his mom but personally I would prefer to get my own place because his mom is a bit of a nag la.. and i know myself - I got a bit of a short fuse :S

hi xtrogal,
welcome to the thread
I'm going to thailand in a short trip during april i think, so i think i won't be making plans for another in july heheh

koyoyo,
doing ok babe? take care and recover soon ya

wah today everything aching xia~ go for martial arts training with ah boy yesterday.. whack until ache muahahha..

BTW forgot to ask - anyone signed up with a gym here? I'm with True Yoga - looking for buddies to go class with

shybride

providencia resting still wake up so early ah?

yep i think my MUA is quite good.. i read about her in sgbrides forum :p It's Sharon Tan. pm me if you want her contact. dunno the rates cos it's part of my package at TWP.

so you would give corsages to all siblings?

nelle

shy, you can buy from Kalm's (cost more than $10, I think) or make one. I bought matt gold paper to wrap a box which I shorten the height of a A4 paper box.
Online things is like that, sometimes quite suay.

qinying, you are very fit and well tone hor! Really superwoman. So envious.

At departure gate holding area now. Got to go catch plane to JKT. Stupid rude ang mo peer over my shoulder, like want to see what I type. Kpo.

shybride

hmmmm how come meiling not around today? usually she's the earliest

enjoy your trip nelle! but hor, how come you are sometimes nelle and sometimes nlimm????

koyoyo

I am back finally after 4 days of fightin with cough droopy eyes and headache. Seem everyone excited about Meiling 10 Gowns.. lucky you.. but Meil.. remember what I told you... it your own thoughts that matters.. must select out of all the gown that every 1 that you super like. I am lucky to found one that is 80% similar to what i was searching online.. now i only headache between whether to get something unqiue(green for church march) or the super grand n long train WG.. it kinda of tough choice.. I wanna somethg unique for fren to rem but i also want a super long train for a grand walk in.. gers what do u think?
Meiling ,
ONce u have found "the one" then i will super happy for u .. very excited to see ur ablum of 10 different gowns... woa..
Lex you mentioned about seeing Meiling photo until blur.. where did u see it? I havent been switchin on my pc other than at work..

superwoman_cqy

Hello Nelle *Wave* ..

Im definitely not fit.. but you are really really slim !! I looked so bulky beside you :p

Shall chat with you more during the next class (hopefully Cheryl will not mind)

Enjoy your trip !

lexilicious

koyoyo
aiyo u poor thing.. is it the aircon that is making you suffer? :S take a day off and rest ba if your workload isnt going to be heavy..

heheh eh when you go for fitting, secretly use phone to take pics of your gown la
then we can all admire how lucky you are - 80% of what u dream of.. wahhhh

Meiling's many many many gowns are on her multiply :p

snowy,
lol, cheer up hun

mage

Stnov, that's what I think also. Anyway most imptly must be able to sell my EA at the right price first.
5rm resale also not cheap now... can hit almost 400k. Scary!

snowypooh

Koyoyo, u got church wedding huh? then must go for long train lah. so romantic to walk down the aisle with a long train behind... *envy envy*

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
true....tis i agree wif u, kinda feel sad when i cant a gown dat speaks of my character n personality...hope to find 1 soon if not, was thinking of mtm my EG :p
tis is wat im pondering over as well for d choice of my WG, whether i wans it simple of grand one :p
those pics i post i alrdy send u liao...:p

lex,
u r so on one...surely gona b a bride wif super hot bod...im still lazy to move my butt :p havent go n bao yang yet....have to go for my facial soon cos have not been able to find time to do so :p