(2008) Brides of year 2008

mary_poppins

Hi Evelyn, I took the cheapest package, so I got the standard things but without any AD PG or VG, without small album, without thank you card, which most other SWC brides have. But I have the choice to MTM either EG or WG if I cannot find a suitable gown.

jyiah

btw PSH im having church wedding too.urs is which church?as my wedding day falls on a sunday and im not a catholic(my htb catholic)we only having wedding service.

nlimm

shybride: i wish to but nope, my htb not rich enough haha so can only envyyyy

how much is it at ritz carlton, nvr check coz definitely out of our budget. but fr the dishes yest...per pax most likely hit few hundreds maybe 200,300...not sure. theyre not those round table banquet type,its rectangular table, 6-8pax each table ,individual serving. the groom n bride dun sit with parent, they have their own table at the centre of the ballroom right infront of the stage.

bunnyhop

hi wiwi,
happy for u tat ur ps was over.
yup, got my foto selection...not online yet...once screen thru...will invite u all 2 view.
As 4 facial, don worry lah...u go 4 normal hydration type rite? Still, check carefully w ur therapist on wat pdts r suitable...we definitely don wish our skin 2 turn 4 e worst @ this final lap...
Which BS do u engage w? Ur AD and procedures?
I a church wedding btb following a bit of cantonese customs + evening banquet in 1 of hotels in Orchard.
Jus took a random look @ e card design in T dragon...e lady asked us 2 b a bit faster...sighz...havnt cfmed e guest list yet. Now kinda doing things concurrently...

waxie24

rach> they do have a lot of models catering to individual liking.. the model i got is beautyrest coolmax.. sales person say Ritz Carlton deluxe room using this model, now only available at the fair, shops do not carry this version, dunno how true is that...

u must have bought your mattress after trying on it, and u felt good rite? dun worry.. comfort more impt.. i realized the prices of mattress, irregardless brand, are getting higher, like LV bag... my mom's 4star king size used to cost 700 only..

mary_poppins

Hi nlimm, I shortlisted Ritz Carlton for banquet lunch. It is already around S$1k nett per table for a 6-course chinese lunch. Guess the pricing for dinner would be much higher. I would have considered it given the same pricing if it is 8 course.

Attended an Indian wedding at their grand ballroom last year. Really impressed by it. Never got a chance to attend a chinese wedding there before since most of my friends are commonfolks.

nlimm

mary poppins: 1K nett for lunch, table for 10 or? then really cnat imagine how much shes paying.gave 200 bucks angbao hope not too little...

N also u know her outdoor pics? its taken at teh yacht club dun know which n on yacht and also on their private plane really wonder where all their $ comes fr...........

jazzy_chimes

hi sleepygal,
I will be doing the montage before the first march-in myself using Windows Movie Maker. It's a program which can be found on Windows XP, pretty easy to use.

mary_poppins

Hi nlimm, yar, S$1k nett is for table of 10. The Indian wedding (sat dinner) I attended last year was about S$1k per table of 10 as well. So not to worry, the S$200 ang bao you gave should be more than enough. Even enough to cover for the corkage, beverage, etc. Is either one of them from a rich family?

flora_bliss

hi gals, din managed to get any shoes for the wedding. All those that I like did not have my size. Sigh.... Anyway, wearing heels is not a problem for me coz HTB is 7cm taller than me. Meiling and mary poppins, me too have always been wearing heels coz I need to project a professional corporate image in office. In fact i feels more comfortable to go shopping in heels than wearing flats.

mary_poppins

Flora Bliss and Meiling, I finally found people who are heel lovers like me. My colleagues are always amazed how come I can wear high heels with ease but they always have to suffer the pain from heels. Hard to find ppl who can run or shop with heels.

nlimm

Wah i havent even start shopping for shop hehe, any one knows how to tie the type of tie..err...unlike those conventional triangular shape....it looks like cylindrical type which usually goes iwth tuxedo shirt?

kitty_ng

Dun be sad apple_gal. Try again...i'm sure your luck will get better
HDB is opening up more flats every mth.

nlimm

Mary: but hers not wo. hers was dinner n individual serving n is like 1 dish 1whole abalone, another 1 whole 15-20cmlobster per paxetc but anyway haha aldy gave:p

do u still rem wat the dishes like for lunch, is it wkend lunch?mentioned to htb u said 1Knett for lunch ,he said can consider haha if has the date we wants gdgd. tomm call ritz n ask

raragal

waxie> true la.. but many mattresses also feel comfortable one ma.. there's so many ard.. anyone would also be comfortable loh.. hahha... fickle minded....

flora_bliss

mary poppins, I've injured my ankles during JC days. So I can't wear flats for too long coz my sole will hurt. So even my casual shoes have a bit of heels. In fact, I tend to walk slower when in heels. But when I'm in heels, I can speed. Usually my working shoes have heels of around 3-3.5inch. Wat abt you?

shybride

applegal, all the best! when you going to select the flat?

hi ladies, anyone went to natas? we booked our honeymoon today.. going to greece the day after our AD!

mary_poppins

Hi nlimm, hmm, think your friend's dinner should be really expensive. I have attached the menu for both banquet lunch and buffet lunch for your reference. The items on the lunch menu doesn't really seem attractive, compared to that of your friend's.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Ritz Carlton.doc (42.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Flora Bliss, my heels varies from 1.5" to 4". But I am ok with comfortable slippers as well. Bought a pair of hush puppies slippers recently and find it really comfortable.

redmilktea

Looking forward to seeing photos of ur first fitting? Hope it went great for you girls!

Howcome u girls are so fast huh? =P I only went for my 1st appointment like 2 weeks ago and 1st fitting will be in april... am i behind time? oopz =P

My designer says not to worry about EG... we'll settle the wedding gown first. Her drawing isn't really specific so I'm really looking forward to the finished product... hope it is up to expectations! *in the meantime..I'll be trying to lose weight and tone up for the gown*
U all finished choosing both WG and EGs liao? so fast~

Haven't really decided about honeymoon yet... will probably be looking at spending 2-3weeks in Europe (Paris,Italy,Rome,etc etc)

Japan is really nice!!! Mt Fuji is spectacular
Presents from Japan for family and friends would look really pretty too, coz their packaging is so cute and nicely done. I prefer the Disneyland in Japan to the one in LA...! I think the Japanese culture sorta makes everything there look very kawaii, neat and organized. The people are super polite too! All these factors make Japan a great holiday destination.

Korea would be a slightly cheaper alternative and a decent place to visit too
Could consider a ski trip perhaps? I have never skied in Korea before and wonder how it compares to skiing in the US.

shybride

ritz's cheapest chinese set dinner is $1048+++ but it's the rates for last year. there was an increase among most hotels since jan 08.

and we have booked our honeymoon at natas today! going to greece!!

xinyi_reiko

hi shybride, I went down to natas today. Did check out the greece packages, but overshot our budget
Hence we decided to go to Turkey instead. Check out the prices, within our budget but my hubby not willing to book now. He wants to wait until AD over as dunno what is the damage like after the whole wedding.

So we decided to book after our AD. Planning to go in Sep

eunicet

Whoa, I was away for just a week and am totally lost with the thread...Haha, but seems everyone is talking about VGs and PGs. Have yet to settle one. Will probably meet a PG this week. Unfortunately, someone else 'chopped' David Goh from Glory Studio just before I did! So sad!!
Good thing he had someone to recommend!

nlimm

mary: their lunch menu really dun look attractive.

shybride:$1048++ was wkday or wkend dinner? table of 10? how much is ur greece package?thinking where to for honeymoon too.

a few pics taken using my hp during the yest dinner,take a look,i find it nice but dun think i can have mine there, too off budget. how to shrink the pic size ?they prompt me dimension too big need shrink
621918.jpg

stnov

haizz...it was badly captured way below my 'limited expectation'...initially would have thought i had harbour too high hopes &amp; expectation towards the shots but when i showed it to a fren who is a photographer out of interest....he too expressed sympathy at the turnout &amp; remarked dat he appear to be a amateur....i was oso telling my hubby...watever compensation they can make...it's oreadi over and it's too late for regrets.....=(

princess_sue

hi melody,

hi5 we are the same.. we love shopping one..
hehe.. ya i was initially thinking whether got things to shop anot coz i dun remember there have anything lor.. except for relazation only :p

hi mei, sep got another NATAS fair ah? If have maybe its really a good time to look at it then. I will also check it out then. hehe. maybe we can even go together then :p

when you upload photos muz tell me ah. hehe.. i wan to c. :p

this whole week, i will be engagaed in meetings.. so bear with me if you find my response slow ya..

moments0442

apple_gal >> April sector for HDB will be on north area ? perhaps u can gib a try on that?? i wanted so much to stay @ the north area too! all the best to both of us... =)

~sblbee~

koyoyo n sue,
i was told by my colleagues but duno how true is it dat there'll b another fair...

melody,
dun worry, i think ur gown will look great on u, sounds sexy n sweet to me :p yah we spoken n u saw my gowns, will edit d pics n den post them up after i re-size d pics :p topepd up another $240 for additional 2 outfits so i got a total of 10 outfits frm WL :p

bluebananas,
thanks alot! i only kiv d gowns but havent confirm yet...for my wg n eg, d rest of d short gowns n tea dress i settled liao :p

mrs kel,
heheh....for me, i think have to go below $15K in total...dun think can save so much $ in 1 yr's time esp when d rest of d wedding not fully settled in payment esp d banquet...
oh sure, i'll load d pics up soon
thanks, i had fun but need to lose weight...hehe, got a fleshy back n huge arms

hmm...after thinking, i may wana mtm my eg cos d rest im still q satisfied wif d rest, managed to confirm my rom gown n tea-dress :p

sue,
sure, will inform u once i upload my pics ok...
wont leave u out one, so envious dat u settld ur eg liao...dat's my only headache

i cant decide between 2 wgs...i like both n felt dat 1 will go better in d morning cos it's swt n simple n 1 better at d banquet cos of d super drama n long train...will u top up extra $500 to wear both on d AD?

nelle

hi wistful. I will go back home to take the namecard. Will let you know tomorrow. He only charges $80 (to me, it is ok pricing). He gives me dates in 2008, 2009 and 2010. Modern in thinking and provides a talior made (for you) booklet (in Eng &amp; Chinese) for An Chuan, certain customs, etc.

~sblbee~

shybride,
hehehe....dun worry, i think loe n behold shoes r not as ex as paradox shoes...it's ard $100+ -200+, so it's still in d affordable range :p
unless i struck toto or 4-d den i'll buy paradox shoes...it's as if wearing gold on my feet n i seldom have d chance to wear such nice bling bling shoes again :p

piglet,
but it's ok for me cos i was trying my luck at it, guz i've got no luck...so nvm...save d luck for better things in life...
yah seriously need to lose some weight esp my arms n my back, i got so huge a ribcage dat most outfits cannot zip after dat area

flora bliss,
will b getting my wedding shoes after i confirmed my gown selection, most of d gowns i kiv but i may wana mtm my eg :p
i kiv my gowns alrdy but yet to confirm: 2 wgs (kiv), 3 egs (kiv), 2 short gowns (confirmed) n 1 tea dress (confirmed) :p
i shd b getting at least 3.5 inches or 4 inches cos my fh is taller than me for 12-14 cm, yest i wore 3.5 inches n he's still taller so can afford to wear higher :p

mary poppins,
hehehe....great to find heel lovers too...i got a huge collection of shoes as well :p

~sblbee~

sue,
not really lah....my frens commented dat 1 looks more victorian n 1 looks more modern....im in a dilemma, duno which to choose, d modern more suitable for day, d victorian one more suitable for march-in cos d train is v long (but didnt manage to take d pics cos it's not allowed
) i hid inside fitting rm to take...:p

nlimm

nelle: is it possible to email me the shifu info also at [email protected] ? Does the shifu tells us the time we have to leave home on AD,time to step in new home etc?

meiling:so envy hehe then u can wear 5" heels also wo.

Everyone: Anyone knows where can i buy those nice nice pearl necklace? Nice and round pearl yet not too ex(the best less than $100)once only be wearing it once.

lexilicious

sue,
wah i'm jealous.. I also want 50% off!!

koyoyo,
heheh, you like "L-o-v-e" too? Me too
So far I've only seen like 4-5 versions. I'll go check with another friend see if he got any more versions.

bluebananas,
you're not the only jumpy one.. everyone's choosing their gowns... but I'm not too! Mine's tailored and whether the end result will look ok or not.. I still don't know.. and worse, have no choice but to take it LoL. I don't think they've even started to cut the cloth yet ahahah but then it's ok.. I got so much weight to lose! ahhhhh!

meiling
PHOTOS LEEEEEE!
Hmmm you got enough time to keep changing gown or not?

happinessbliss

Wah gals, u all so fast ley... I nearly cannot keep up with the thread. I am also looking around for bed... Hmmmm, but dun know what to buy yet... Was also thinking of simmons, but the price is rather steep...

HKAZ,
I guess nowadays it does not really matter who pay for what item... But my ROM shoes was paid for by my husband... This time round for AD shoes, though hubby offered to pay, but i still decide that i will settle the bill for this since he already bought me the first pair...

nelle

nlimm, not sure if Chomel has something you may like. You can try. Many shopping centres carry it (eg. Tangs, Isetan).

The geomancer will let you know when it is NOT your auspicious time, so any other timing you can do. You can ask him many questions, he will patiently listen &amp; reply you. We find him grandfatherly. He just need your chinese names and gregorian (if you remem lunar, you can also tell him, but he will calculate himself also if you don't know) birthdates. Then he will tell you the consultation time (you get to choose!). We spend about 2 hours.

Will email you tomorrow!

waxie24

happiness> go try all the brands, you will be spending 6-8hours on the bed each day and a good brand give u warranty of 10yrs..

my hubby paying for many big expenses.. i think those smaller amt of $$ i will absorb..

uksportgal

hee hee see all of your so excited on gown fitting recently.. can't wait to see the pic :p

hmm Mei I saw u write top up $240 total 10 outfit? 10 gowns? or include all guys and father brother? etc?? maybe I misunderstand there :p

Then u mention $500 for 1 more gown.. hmmm then your morning gown will be only appear in the morning Video and relative will see wor.. worth?

koyoyo

HI all,
Sorry didnt post much.. still super sick.. anyway.. i am in dilmnea got 2 WG i like. One is special it unqiue while the other is classic and grad.. too bad i cant take any foto at all.. been sick during fitting my hubby also didtwant take foto secretly so no foto to show... wish i had some lady fren to give me an idea... which one to chose

sealy_me

Can anyone advise how many hrs ahead shld the MUA reach the bride's house in the morning before the Groom comes and fetch her? I am planning for 2 hrs ahead. Will that be too early?

me_jules

Hi Jac! Yup, it was one of the first things I had to get done after I called up some hotels only to realise that they were all already fully booked!! Such a tiring experience trying to find a venue. If I had my way, I wouldn't do it in Dec. Too many things going on. Unfortunately according to the powers that may be, there is only 1 day in the entire year where we can get married and its in Dec... Oh well.

Hi Kim,
Yes!!! Especially my weekend, I realised. I started looking for venue since Sept last yr and realised it was all full!

nlimm

nelle: tried chomel but all their pearl looks over or weird shape not round wo for their necklace. i very fussy hor:p sorry ehhe

meiling: then better stick to 4". during last sat wedding i dun know how high is the heel of tt bride but when she talk she sways fr side to side trying to gain balance as she walks. Worse is for her,the march in is like the boy then follow by flower ger then follow by her, the groom is in teh ballroom wiating liao(abit like church style)