(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi Lost, what's happening on 10 march?

i m so bored in office. have to work late tonight somemore.

ok, bored old me has an idea. how about we update our FOOD & EXERCISE 'achievements' here daily? then we can help each other keep an eye + motivate one another.

here goes: yesterday i climbed up 96 floors.. (16 floors x 6 times). Had carrot cake for breakfast today & then fishball noodles for lunch. Oops not very healthy hor? :P

eh.. I will be going down to HDB to select flat mah.. hopefully will have flats left~~

I also very bored in office.. system down :P hahaha

I also need to lose weight.. Lost 4kgs so far.. abt 10kgs more to go~~

what abt you gals??

ok lah, to be fair, I had always been thin and exercise to maintain it.

Jac, that was the time when I was going out with this fabulous looking guy and he is always seen with slim women so...well. Of course, I didn't end up with him..hahaha...not becos of the weight thing, hahaha...but just, erm, different world/lifestyle we have.

nelle, urmm, actually i m a runner. love to run!! but the thing is, with age, i really see the LOSS in toning everywhere. easier to gain fats & more difficult to lose it. esp my tummy
everything is going........

Hi Cindy. Welcome to the thread. We're both getting married on the same day! Yay!

Who's your AD photographer? Can you update the list?

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design / Expressively Joho
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
Michelle Tan - 06 July 2008 / Swissotel de Stamford / My Bridal Room
Gladys Ho - 07 July 2008 / Marina Mandarin / no BS (DIY)
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
Kara Wong - 12 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / My Bridal Room / Lam (Rainbow Centre)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
Happytown - 13 July 2008 / Sheraton Towers / Dang Bridal
BBIguana - 14(AD&ROM) & 19(Dinner) July 2008 / StarDuS(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography & Mokey (AD&Dinner) / Fairys' Inc
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Cindy - 19 July 2008 / Holiday Inn Atrium /
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 & 21 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture/ The Edge Photography
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
piyo1818 - 26 July 2008 / 88 Restaurant / My Bridal Room / Sam Wong / Beyond The Lens
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Jukel - 26 & 28 July 2008 / Mandarin Oriental / X-Zen
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

I think several of the ladies here are with My Bridal Room, Di Gio and Thomson Wedding Design. Can't offer much help here cos I'm doing mine in JB. But it's coming to March now, so you may need to rush a little.

hi mei,
dun worry, sure have chance to go.. me too can only go next year..
so we are in the same boat.

my FH having co. trip this coming May, and family memebers like mother and wife.. co. sponsor half the price.. but as we are not married yet, he ask his boss whether fiance can anot as we will be married this oct, and his boss say ok.. haha.... so i get 50% off to BALI.. haha.. but its not only the 2 of us la.. his mum also going.. but nvm la.. at least no need to pay full fare. hehe.

gals, I guess the toughest part is to get started on the exercising and dieting. Once you managed to get it started, maintaining the momentum should be easier.

Juz went for health screening this morning. Managed to maintain weight at 41kg. But I shrank in height?! Instead of 1.53m, I'm now 1.52m?! Not able to grow taller, so later got to go buy wedding shoes with even killer heels.

How has everyone been?
This is a little late but here are my wedding pics http://www.shiyuangerry.***************.com
My photographer is nice enuff to put up every photo he gave us on the weblink

flora, so good for you to be able to wear killer heels.. i can't wear heels.. if not i'm taller than HB.. -.-"" sianz... maybe going to leaping lizard to customize one~~

Lost, you just choose those kitty heels ones. They are lovely too. Never wear flats cos the bum will not be qiao4 qiao4 liao. A little heels make you tighten your stomach too, when you stand.

hmm.. what is kitty heels? i dun know lehz.. me going to bring hubby to walking tall to buy those hidden heels shoes.. wahaha.. then use it using photoshoot in 30 Apr..

By the way, when is your photoshoot??

praisey.... don't worry. My PS on 4 Apr, 2 days after yours. Ha! So u r not the last lah. Got few of us later than yours.

s'rene.... Oh, at least can get back $ for your favours from restaurant. Btw, how much does each cupcake cost? Now u are making me considering getting too. Ha!

berry egg.... glad your gown fitting went fine. For me, it's a relief to find suitable OTR gowns.
Pine gardens got good and tasty cakes for GDL? Tot we can get from any bakery shop? Mayb cupcakes? I haven't start looking into GDL cakes yet too. Might need help from you then. Hee.

qunqun.... For PS, I also want sea and waterfall. Botanic Gardens got waterfall rite?

cindy.... Welcome! Don't be nervous. I was like you when I only confirmed venue in Jan 08. Hope I can help. Due to time constraint, you might want to look for bridal packages instead of ala carte (don't knw spell correct or not). Less troublesome lah. Unless you r very particular about everything, must be the best source for each area and your preference, then got 2 b ala carte. If you have vehicle, can go JB cos there are more gowns to choose within a package and much cheaper, I think. That's wat I knw from a friend or s'rene can help, if you r interested.

You also need to consider yr budget, what do you need in a package (e.g. any bride's maid gown? wedding car? corsages? any flower gal?) and bargain at the shop before you sign on the dotted line else cant bargain anymore.

I chose mine cos we like their albums and service. We also understand that they will not do anything fishy else it'll tarnish their reputation, especially in forums. I remembered I didnt even try their gowns and we decided liaoz. Mayb cos I tried at first few shops and getting tiredm thinking they all the same kind. Keke. Abit worried at first but my first fitting went well so quite relieved.

Oh, if you want to go Tanjong Pagar, please don't go without direction cos they will just pull u in and you might waste precious time staying at each one. Mayb can check out forums and shortlist which bridal shops you can go and jus go but b careful cos in forum, some shops self advertised. Some are Taiwanese style like Milan at Tanjong Pagar, etc. which is not what I want. You might want to consider whether you wan gown with alot of emboidery or simple and elegant.

MTM gowns might be short of time. Yours could be like mine, only OTR. But best to check wif bridal shop if you wan MTM.

I didnt go to Di Gio or Thomson Wedding Design so got to check wif the rest.

Above is my personal feel. Not sure whether it's yours as well. Ha!

Good luck!!!

wah....now u all r toking abt heels...for me, i need 3.5 inches at least to look nice for my height at ard 1.6m :P gona find my heels soon afetr my fitting

sue, i wld love to go BALI, wah....so gd wor, 2 for d price of 1...i want such benefits oso...ppl started to bk for their honeymoon liao, feel so stressed sia :P

So nice, pre-wedding trip. Envy envy. Hehe...

Cacky, if u are someone who likes sun, sand & sea, can go Pulau Redang (Malaysia). If u like cool weather, I'll highly recommend Cameron Highlands. For Bintan, must try Mayang Sari. Btw, my Korean fren told me alot of Korean couples like to go Bintan for Honeymoon. So funny one, Singaporeans go Korea for honeymoon & they come to SEA for honeymoon.

Can check out the other tread in SGbrides for honeymoon ideas/deals: http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/4.html?1204278165

Hi Lost, at least you're tall for a lady and your husband is tall for a guy. Mine is like 168 lor... I'm pestering him to wear platform shoes or put in those inserts. He somehow seems very offended.

hehe.. pre wedding trip? no la.. got so many people you know.. his mum, his colleagues, his boss.. blah blah practically the whole co. leh.. but ok la.. at least its 50% sponsored so i dun mind hehe.. i havent been to BALI b4 anyway.

Mei,

dun be stress, coz me also same as you have not book for any honeymoon trip. Coz i doubt i will be able to go this year, so i guess i shall wait for next year NATAS fair then book for next year.

One of my fren, after marraige, they not going for honeymoon, coz she says that they have made it a point to go for holiday every year on their anniversary..

jac/meiling: hehe im 27.5" on my way to 26",doing hola hoop now quite effective, my younger sis drop fr 28"to26.5" in 1 mth heheh but need do everyday. Me just started 3 days ago n doing leglift to get rid of tummy hehe.

Lost: u r tall ts the ht i wanted so much hehe

jules: same here,my htb only1.7m i wanted him to wear shoes with heels too hehe so that i can wear 5" heels hehe:p

meiling: we r close hehe im 162 only,can run ard with3.5" liao hoping to get comfortable with 4to5" heel hehe crazy hor:p

nelle: so envy u im not greedy,51now ,just wanna hit 45to48kg range but doenst seems to be able to hit.

Shybride: u r determined wo, 16x6 my goodness .i climb 4 storey aldy so tired haha.

Everyone:anyone play tennis here?looking fro kaki hehe,good for whole body exercise especially tricep n bicep hehe

koyoyo, from what i recall, if the wine or liquor is bought from airport dfs, there was a dfs sticker on the label or bottle. But seems like from the recent bottles i got, there wasnt any. Maybe someone who has bought recently can check and tell us

When will you gals start to book yr honeymoon if you are going after AD. Mei, dont stress lah, there will be another natas fair and alot of inhouse travel fair too. But if you are travelling in dec, its always good to book early coz dec is super peak
Do you all think going to europe for abt 10-12 days is too little, intend to visit only 2-3 countries. Coz hubby cant take too many leave. Or shld go US instead, can do lots of shopping with the US rate going down?

Sue, wow so good, got discount to bali. i went there after my rom too, good place to relax. But kinda boring for me coz there wasnt much shopping to do haha. The next time i go, i want to go to those hotel with their personal pool or jucuzzi.

Woah...this thread moves really fast. So much to catch up on after absence :P

Also juz realised that u girls are all really super slim and are still working hard to be even slimmer.

Nelle: Saw your post for reducing those bye bye arms earlier. Will try that for the next few months

Annette: Hi! Does doing the hula hoop really help? I can't even maintain it on my hips for a short period. SOS!

Shybride: Must salute you again. 96 storeys *gulp* I always thought that's for those vertical marathons. Hmmmm...maybe those that have not moved our butts for some time can start with the lower HDB flats. Let me rephrase those. I, who have not moved my butt for some time, will start with those HDB block :P

Ladies: Need your help here. *Sigh*
Originally planned to have AD in Nov after HTB's relative got the date out of the 2008 HK Tong Shu for us. Now, have been told that 2008 is a bad year for both of us and we need a new date for 2009!

Don't know to laugh or cry. On one hand, I do feel that it is too superstitious. On the other hand, I would like to start eveything off on a good note. Doesn't help that HTB is now so busy with work and so tired, just like what has been prophesized.

Can someone plz plz enlighten where I can find a reputable Master to help? And when will the 2009 Tong Shu be out? Thanketh thanketh in advance

hmm.. i managed to sweet talk my hb to buy hidden shoes :P wahahaha.. i think will get 6cm shoes.. like tat i still can wear kitty heels.. wahaha.. :P

aiya dun envy my height.. I also plump lehz.. need to drop by 10kgs.. only managed to lose 4kgs by swimming.. need to work harder.. left 2 months nia.. photoshoot 30Apr.. so scared.. if cannot lose enough then need editing liao wahahaha

haha.. my gowns (MTM wedding gown and evening gown, tea dress, super long train gown for dinner) all cover my legs.. if i dun wear shoes.. no one will know too.. wahahaha

Wa...love xlb, i oso interested in permanent eyelash ext...wat brand? costly?

tink now we need plenty of hydration in our facial n diet...

exercise regularly 2 give skin a healthy glow...n ya eat in moderation...

All ur gowns completed?
Can describe? Got pix 2 show?
Thanks. Happy 4 u leh.

this thread moves really fast!!
I think for us ladies, we feel that we have problem areas and hence we always want to work on the problem areas.
I also want to go on diet and exercise....Try to run in the evening when I can...but just can't find the stamina to run like I used to. Maybe too tired and stressed. Think cannot diet, love food too much and when I get too busy, I always skip meals...end up with gastric pain. So just eat less and try to walk and climb stairs more often.

Shoes!! I want at least 4 inch heels. Love the way heels make me feel...so lady-like. Besides, Leaping lizards, where else can we go and look heels aimed mainly towards weddings?? Must try to buy one by May, for first fitting.

sue,
i wana wait for d NATAS fair in sep den book, by den shd b able to firm up my plans but hor, wonder if i got so mnay choices by den or not...sigh....wah, ur fren really steady leh, anniversary tour....like dat every yr can go...

annette,
u r really a determined gal, i was once 24" but now 25", hope to regain my 24" again but it seems like getting bigger n bigger :P ^5, im abt 51kg too...wana hit 48kg but smhow my lighest was at 49kg...sure hope to lose weight but i tend to put on more when im stressed unlike most gals :P
wah, i cant imagine i can do d hula hoop cos it'll sure drop after 1/2 round...hehe, relaly bad at it, i wanted to get at least 3.5" heels cos i think my hair will b styled higher, dun wana risk looking taller than my fh :P

wistfulchick,
im so sorry to hear dat...so u confirmed changing ur AD to 2009? i consulted you long zi but it's really ex n have no idea when d 2009 tongshu will b out...mayb u can chk wif nelle cos she has a v gd lobang...heard d report is v detailed n thorough too n d price is relaly reasonable

lost,
ur hubby getting his shoes frm walking tall? u r not plump lah...at least u bother to exercise unlike me who's doing nothing at it...juz waiting to burst d weighing scale :P

nlimm,
it's a type of male footwear wif hidden platform or cushion in d soles to enhance d height...

jac,
i shd b getting mine frm loe and behold....or if budget allows den paradox :P

meiling, what / where is loe & behold and paradox?

my htb is also only 1.7m.. yeah hor, muz remember hair not too high so won't be taller than him. good tip!

annette, hula hoops is too chim for me.. but hor if your WG gotta wear the can can inside, then it will make waist look smaller

Hi Jule, yup mine is also Simon. He's very experienced, 14 years liao! I chose 2 outdoor gowns, 1 long 1 short. I also brought along casual wear (couple t-shirt). So in total I have 3 sets of clothes for outdoor PS. Botanic is long gown, sentosa is long gown & casual then night is short gown. u can ask denise for more gowns if you want, they are ok cos no additional cost to the BS.

Hi piyo1818, yup botanic garden got waterfall. Smaller than the birdpark one but still nice nice plus botanic garden got quite alot of nice spots to take photos.

HKAZ> There's a nice lady at Yishun.. but she didnt do french for me.. not sure her french good or not. but found her to be creative to do nail art and reasonable pricing.

waxie> where u going to look for furniture??? Furniture Mall at Bras Basah not bad... La something.. forgot the shop name... we spoke to...Ivan..

LSnTYL> you mean Bugis Village there?

hi sept BTB gals,
i haven been following the thread for a long time liao..hope to be able to come back to share abt wedding planning again..

Hi Ah Net,
both my EG n WG all got "can can" also.. guess it's okie la cos as long as the design n color nt similar can liao..If u think u look good in it,i guess it's all that matters cos eventually ppl will nt rem whether ur gown got can can anot,bt ppl will rem that u look gd in it anot..haha. I just chose yest, confirmed my WG n EG and studio gowns also..
the house issue,don worry too much cos hdb is releasing alot of bto recently,punggol spring juz came out.. i tried bto and wis abt 7 times and then finally got punggol lodge also..then again,hv to wait a few yrs and stay wif in laws first...

i am searching ard for videographer,any one has any recommendation?? nt sure if it's late..