(2008) Brides of year 2008

jeslyn,
hmmm...some couples actually do d montage themselves but honestly im v bad at tis, gona leave it to my fh...if not, get my frens who r well versed in IT to help out

Have you signed the contract? My coordinator is Krystal...

When I signed the contract, she gave me a copy of the contract, the details of the printer for the invitation cards, the emcee script and a checklist for what I need to do...

So I find their service quite good and detailed... hehe... I signed for 25 tables coz dat's the min.. Will confirmed again after I count the no of pple...

How abt u?

hello babes,
wah...i don't log in for 2-3 days and soooo many posts!!! :P

for high ceiling, pillarless, try orchard hotel?
intercon is nice too.
probably lunch may still have slots?
how abt fullterton straits room?

haven't done the ring thing. :P
prob will not go for the branded shops...
found a nice half eternity at china town (cant remember which building)
and costs abt $500ish.
though it was a pretty good deal.
(but then i know nuts abt diamonds/rings!!)
lol...

oh girls,
dunno if you all bought your rings lioa...
heard from this forum abt josi diamonds?
supposed to be quite good..

gotta run!

hi jes,
ya try not to think so much now till things are being discussed. I think gals have this same problem of overthinking.... i am one myself too... when there is an issue unsettled.. i tend to keep thinking about it though nothing can be done yet.. sigh.. i know how you feel.

hi mei,

ya lor.. coz i couldnt stand the dead skin hehehe..

i haven thought of photo montage acually.. hahah... my bs pg said he could help to edit the photos to be a montage foc.. but that is for studio photos la.. so am not sure if i still wan to engage someone else to do up one that has childhood photos... hm... then can save a bit of money there.

nec,
i bought my ring liao...heard of josi n d feedback is rather gd...heard dat d price is cheaper as compared to d other jewellery stores for d same spec

catch u later

nelle - me also always tempted to buy things, so been staying away from shopping malls, very deprived. I agree that brands are not impt, only the relationship is.
flora bliss - buy if you really like it, but 5K can buy a lot of other things leh.
Annette - htb "hates" tiffany, so i won't be getting the rings from them. Aiyah, why ur friend so scare of scratches, wedding band must wear one, I think scratches on wedding band should be looked upon positively.
I dun think i'll get si dian jin from MIL, think she told my htb.

thanks kymmie...dats my fav shot...juz send in to the contact person....i did it for fun and forgot totally abt it....it was my fren who spotted and told mi....kekeke

i went for my first gown fitting yesterday...

guess wat, i stayed there from 12+ till 8.30pm!!! settled my WG, EG and outdoor gown le... cant believe i spent such a long time in my BS.

i love my BS, everyone is helpful and friendly and helped me alot in my gown choosing...

so many nice and beautiful gowns in the BS and dunno which one to choose... in the end, we shortlisted 4 WG and have to choose only one. i love my WG, it's a bustier gown and has a long and glam train, all full of lace, with 'can-can' too... it's nice!!

i have a problem though... should i choose green or purple EG? The green EG is a cheongsam, but it has nice beads and transparent in the centre from chest all the way to my legs... very sexy looking. haha

The purple EG is bustier and has 'can-can', with purple roses here and there at the bottom. it's equally nice.

but i dunno which one to choose as my EG. i scare green colour a bit weird for hotel banquet... scarly like malay like dat.

how ar? anyone can suggest? which one to pick? green or purple?

now i cant wait to go for my PS in early May... by late aug or early sept, i shd get my album all done up and im ready for my AD on 23 sept!!!

nec>>> $500ish per ring or for both rings?? Should be both right?? Haha, sorry ah, I very blur one...I have not started looking for rings at all...

Ah Net> wah.. thats sooo cool!!

Heee... My fitting is only on 29 Feb.. next fri... my PS mid May... hopefully i can get my album by mid august though.. my AD is 1 Sept!

You must see which u look nicer in loh..and which one makes u more confident and comfortable... has seen green cheong sum before also at BQ.. quite ok la..
you must be able to carry it well..thats the important thing..

ah net> woah.. i'm so happy that u enjoyed your 1st fitting at French.. I'm a little exctied about mine now.. going on the 13th march..

wat kind of green issit?? i have never seen a bride in green EG before..

jeslyn,
NO need to be too fanciful. i saw my fren montage using powerpoint also very nice.. what kind of montage do u have in mind?

Dear March BTB
i am new to this forum having my wedding in march
need help on following:
1) actual day photographer to recommend (my budget not more than $600 no printing is needed digital CD is okie already)
2) cheapest wine avaiable (anything $12?)

will like advise on following:
1) on GDL can couple meet?
who is responsible to carry the things back from gal -> guy side?
is an chuan to be on the same day as well?

thanks all

Hi Mindy,

Can share with me information on Josi Gems? My friend custom made her rings there too 2 years ago but she said the boss mentioned that they thought of retiring then.

How was their service? Very pushy? How much did u paid for ur wedding band?

My email is [email protected].

Plasterbride - I worked in one of the chain jewellery shops before. During GSS, wedding bands won't have sale or maybe the most is 20%. But currently, everywhere is having 20% too. Hence if you see something u like, is better to buy now.

There is this new shop named Love & Co which is located in City Hall. Managed under Soo Kee. They are more specialised in wedding jewelleries and rings. In fact, their prices are much lower than Soo Kee and SK despite their classy interior designs. Packaging very classy too. The few pairs that I have shortlisted ranged between $1300 to $1600.

For those Soo Kee's fan, please go take a look first.

wah, sounds like you had fun at your fitting, Ah Net. One of my friends wore a green cheongsam with pink lace. V nice.

You got take photos of your EGs? Maybe can show your family and friends for their opinion?

shybride,
hehehe...i dun care...ask my fh to tell his mum to buy me sth regardless im wat dialect, it's d tot dat counts else it'll seem so strange leh :P

Really glad to meet up with all of you, been real busy all morning and haven't have time to look at the thread till now.
I also don't dare to wear my proposal ring.. worry scratch XD
I try to avoid shopping centres altogether no see = no temptation = no buy haha

shybride,
heheheh....have sent my spy aka my fh to sound her out, he told me dat she'll b getting sth small for me as she's not wking so cant afford too ex stuff :P

ryu,
hi hi, i think im those bo chup kind...my fh always scold me when tell him i dun wana wear my proposal ring cos will kena scratch, den he said if diamond can kena scratch, it wont b d hardest matter liao :P
i cant resist shopping, even if i dun go shopping, i'll still go online to buy things, damn jialat :P

Ah net>Great to hear that u have fun. Initially i tried on a turquoise gown but my SO thinks it's v malay too. Maybe you should try on both and see which colours bring out the best of your skin colour?

Initially i wanted fuschia but i cant carry the colour. so have to drop it for purple instead.

I'm now so looking forward to my 2nd fitting in April when my MTM gown is ready

Hi Girls, i am also thinking of doing my own wedding montage... comprising wedding pics and all but which software to use can be a big problem....

Koyoyo, u are the expert le, any advise?

Actually si dian jin originates from Teochew custom. Over the years, many dialect groups also practise it.

Thing is, my Teochew mum will want my MIL to give me. But MIL is Hokkien so it is optional. Somemore I know the $$ will come from the better half (haha...upgrade him liao, cos he miss me as he is still on reservist and came by my place at 11pm to have coffee with me..haha). My mum will feel I will be wei2 qu1 and not 'treasured' by the other family if I don't have si dian jin.

Oh ya, girls, now you know, once I start talking, it is non-stop...hahaha.... So if you want to say something, you must interrupt me...hahaha... I am so sorry if I appear rude.

hihi ladies.. phew busy day for me ...
Jes cheer up... yar lor dun think so much 1st... haven't happen ma... think like that might just end up more mis communication.. maybe your mom just happen to choose the wrong word to say.. u know sometimes say with wrong words but doesn't mean that at all .. and without realising it.... but at least is good that your parents care ma... right?? this shows that u are precious to them... and your dad is just trying to find out (at least he try ways to find out, not just insist) That's good +ve way ya... so be happy... wait and see how.. dun worry

Oh then the montage hor.. hmmm my PG say can help me do .. also simple one.. if u wanna do yourself is not that hard also.. u can try using.... http://www.slide.com/main I think is not bad.. and easy to use but I never try to extract.. got to go online then see?? then dun know is it suitable for you.... no harm trying

actually powerpoint can be nice too! hee hee try try 1st la... is super easy to use .. just need to get nice pic and some cute icon here and there... or serach online for template? or ...website
sure have alot one

Hi Marianne,

Me & bf meet during the GDL as need to sort out things. Mum never say cannot meet ma. My bf sis came along as mei po & bf bro too as too many things need to carry already. An Chuan do not have to be on the same day as GDL. An Chuan is usually perform a few days before wedding only.

For photographer I m not of a help, unless your wedding date is different from mine. But mine charges $800.
As for wine, I am still looking, but may just take the hotel one.

no lah nelle, you are very cute! can i drop by your place at 11pm to have coffee with you too? hee hee :P

hi-5 meiling!! last night i was doing online shopping for wrist corsages for jie mei and flower girl basket.. ended up buying a headdress for the little girl too.. impulse buy!!

wah u gals r so onz sia...im so afriad dat my pics will turn out ugly so i dun dare to think of d montage yet, have to rely on d outcome of my PS pics...now headache on my 1st march-in, 2nd march-in n 1st dish presentation song....n den songs for childhood montage

nelle,
wah...so sweet of ur better half, mayb after seeing my fh, den d fatty half will apply more to my fh liao *we r d champions...d heavyweight cat ones* :P
aiyo...dun b so modest lah, u where got tok non-stop n where got rude? im v noisy too mah but glad dat u can share some stuff wif us so we've learnt sth new after last nite

shybride,
hehehe....yah was thinking of getting d corsages for my JMs too but it's supposed to b ordered wif d registration pens so i dun dare to order so early...scared it'll b dry b4 my AD :P

jeslyn,
It good to have transition in fact if u are good at powerpoint , it can create professional transition.. what software are you good at?

tsk tsk tsk... spend on the necessities 1st!!!! The other things spend later lah. ok, how to define necessities? (1)Things on yourself and groom. (2)Things if without, will incur wrath from ALL parties. (3)Things that after the marriage, it will always be in your mind.

nelle,
heheheh.....wished i could b as logical n rational as u, im so overwhelmed by all d little details of d wedding, so carried away :P

meiling: where are u moving to? house hunting and preps is so stressful! >< jia you!

I think DIY powerpoint slides will be quite nice for photo montage... it's more personalized and you can really make it the way you like it

Aiyo, MeiLinG, easy. You start to think what you can buy for your future home if you don't spend. Maybe a 600 threadcount bedsheet set from Sheridan? a Simmons black series mattress? or the grand Europe honeymoon!!!!

Ji1 sao3 chen2 duo1.