(2008) Brides of year 2008

berry_egg

hi all, happy new year... 6 more months for our wedding preparation ya.

Hi JJ,
sorry i wasn't been able to forward you any of the photography quotations. My email is down. no idea what happen....i'm not able to click open my wedding prep folder at all.
how is your gown fitting? i have met up with jesline to design on my evening gown on last monday.heh i went to the shop without any ideas at all. In fact, too tied up with work stress so didn't have the energy to sidetrack on the gown research. Anyway my first fitting would be end feb. Have u choosen your photographer for the wedding shots?

Any brides taken up renovation loan? some of the contractors recommend RHB. what are the other banks which offer low interest rate? argghh i'm still in the midst of confirming the contractor for the flat.

Hi praisy,
i have added you in multiply.

~sblbee~

hi nec,
wah...u r really hardwking...went to do so much research, for me...i didnt really do a lot of research for my PG n VG, juz based on ppl's recommendations :p hmm, it depends on ur budget...there r actually many gd PGs n VGs out there...

gingerbread_gal

Hey nec,
I'm searching too....
Actually thought of using my PS studio which is O studio. Jaki from O studio is very good but his rate for AD is out of my budget

William Lam is one of the photographers I'm looking at. Will be meeting him tom. But his thread at the photography section is soooo new, I don't know where else to get info on him.

So have you short-listed any?
Luckily for me, the ones I've asked still have 28th available....

Justina,
Which photographer you getting? Btw, seen your PS pics...they are nice!

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
if u managed to find nice boxes or materials, do let me know ok? hehehe....gona ask my fh to make d AP box cos it's under his charge....he's better at all these art & craft stuff :p

mrs kel,
yah yah, do share wif us ur proposal...hehe, but i guz u must b busy when sch terms start, how's ur 1st day at sch? i had my fair share of wk today...dead tiring :p

koyoyo,
actually my fh was saying dat 260 thread counts not as comfy as those he bought in aussie, those above 300 thread counts...he said it's a bit rough, so i kiv 1st...didnt buy

koyoyo n mal,
how's ur prep for ur ROM? wah....really excited for d both of u, do remember to post n share ur ROM pics wif us ok?

raragal

Lara> Which BS u from?

apple_gal> I think Lara is doing digital album.. one page can have a few poses one.. rite Lara?
So she prob stick to the same 28/30 pages.. but more poses??
Hee.. I'll be having mine 90 poses in 2 albums.. 45 poses in each album.. 30 pages each..

melo_ddy

Happy New Year.. The Kalm's shop at taka has lots of ang bao boxes in different sizes. Maybe you gals would like to check them out.

kjustina81

Hi Jac !!

Eh .. u sign on too .. haha .. harlow ...

Thanks thanks.. so how u took up which bridal shop ?

My AD photographer is frm Sophia Brides.

itgfe82

Hi ladies happy new year,

Been a long long time since i last log in....hi everyone we only have 6 more mths to go and im kind of feel scared that many things wun turn out well...
haha hope i wun becum a run away bride...the thought of seeing so many unfamiliar faces looking at me walking dwn the aisle is so scary ...i dun like attention n im camera shy...goodness..n i guess i dunno 80 percent of the guests...im excited but at the same time getting cold feet. ladies am i worrying too much?

lara

hi kittyng, the photos turned out to b much nicer than wat we expected so really cannot resist them hahah..

hi apple_gal, luckily it is once in a lifetime otherwise it will b very tough on our wallets leh :p, im not sure if it will b heavy or not leh..

hi rach, im with sophia wedding collection. mine is classic album.. wat's the other type?

hi i_wanna_be_happy, i think on tat day u will b too happy n excited to worry abt the attention
dun stress urself out, juz take it easy!

pinkcupcake

hello ultimatemocha! I signed up with silhouette! so far, the service has been very good. I took a OTR package. I guess classic big gowns are their signature (some people like, some people don't) but i saw some pretty streamlined gowns too. Do pop down and take a look.
My photographer is tied to Silhouette although i didn't sign up with him through them. If i'm not wrong, O studio, Chris Ling and Avenue 8 are some other studios working with silhouette. there is a thread on this forum about sil. think you can get more info there.

fruittea80

Qinying - I see, woodlands too far for me.

Providencia - Have not tried any, merely just browse through some websites. Any recommendations?

Anyone tried Aspara, The Spa@ Anew/Aranda or Spaboutique? Budget should ideally be at most $150 for a good body scrub and massage.

xinyi_reiko

rach, same as mine, having 90 poses 2 albums. But I think I will be having 1 indoor and 1 outdoor album.

i_wanna_be_happy, dont worry ah.. that day bride should be the attention seeker. if no one nothing you.. that is something that must worry. heh~

kellyduffy

Hi beautiful ladies,

Happy New Year... Jus an update.. me and FH decided on wedding dinner on 15th (AD). booked venue at Amara Hotel...

Now looking at bridal.. shortlisted four.. Can "ma fan" you gals give me your comments?
a) My Bridal Room
b) Precious Moments
c) Golden Horse Awards
d) Bridal Zone

thankies.. =)

stary

valarie and sixeggs, tks for the info. just wanted to compare.. =P

enjoy your wedding at St Regis coz you are in good hands. =) both their service and suppliers are all top notch and dreamweavers and card blanche are great to work with!!!

raragal

lara> classic/portrait or digital, otherwise known as magazine style..

xinyi> which BS are u from? share share ur package leh... how much u paying?? PM me??
I wanted to have one ID and one OD.. but was told it may not look as nice.. can do just 2 with a mixture... but i can decide later...

I'm having my PS on 2 separate days.

jo_vin

Hi kelly,

Good to see you again!! Sorry i cant help on your BS, didnt really source around in Singapore. Think the rest should be able to help ba. Do keep us update on your decision.

providencia

Hi Fruittea, I've only been to Spa Botanica, nice but oh-so-expensive. Heard that Spa@Aranda is not bad and affordable, just that it's too far away for me. I thinking of trying Villa Raintree @ Labrador Park since there's a new yr's promotion now. Will give you feedback if I really go.

meiloc20

Hi praisey,
I realised that we have both the same BS and Banquet venue, only one wk difference in AD, came across ur posting in the thomson wedding design thread too :>

mentos

vivcaleb>i'm gg for 1st fitting next mth so trying to lose more weight now .. hahah . For invitation card my hotel co-ordinator recommeneded T-dragon. but i haven check them out yet.

suddenly there's like a whole list of things to buy as date is drawing near .. haiz. abit headache

kjustina81

Oh ... U liked the gowns at Silhouette ?? When u taking yr wedding album ??

My album is finish ... now we busy with ID for flat ....

Wedding stuff outstanding are the ROM JP, Guo Da Li stuff n wedding schedule n guest list ... think abt there .. though got misc stuff floating around ... = P

~sblbee~

melody n tinkybell,
yah i saw many boxes at kalm but it's not cheap cos i intend to throw away after d banquet, cos dun think can re-use d box wif a slot as dust may go in. i may b going to daiso to buy or going to get a a4 copier paper box to make my AP box if i intend to diy.

moments0442

apple_gal >> i heading down the BS on sunday... will you be there too?

keke.. gals.. ask you ah... when choosing gowns... who normally will tag along with you? =P

praisey

hi MT, i realise that at my 1st post and was wondering if we cld end up the same after all the shopping for the last 3 months. Hows your prep? I am trying gown this 17th jan. And PS 2nd april, that the latest i can go.

lara

woo.. my HB dun like digital.. so we took classic

moments0442, when i went to select gowns, my mum, sis, hb n best fren went along with me

xinyi_reiko

morning gals..

rach, drop you a pm.
My friend was saying if mixture might be quite messy. I shall see the flow of the album 1st then decide.

moments0442, my hubby and my sister accompany me to gown fitting.

ceo38

Hi Fruittea, have u heard of W*lln*ss Village (replace * with e)? I have a package with them. Not bad. Good body scrub plus massage if u sign their package shd cost abt 80 plus minus (that is provided u sign their package) if not it normally cost abt 150 one time. Nt bad really (if not i wldnt take up their package...hehe) They have 3 branches, Marina Sq, Pan Pac Hotel & Pagoda Street. I always go pagoda as I stay in Chinatown. If u r interested, drop me an email I can refer u for a first trial for only $49 (with body scrub & massage)..no obligation, just feeding info to u ya..hehe

Hi Kelly, me nvr source ard for BS, I went to a bridal show held by Ritz Couture & I straightaway decided on them s I am the lazy type. My FH also says since we both liked the gowns from RC, then no need and no point wasting time walk around..therefore I cnt really give u mh comments on those BS u shortlisted. Sorry ;)

necrosis

good morning all...
how's da new year so far?
keeping to your resolutions?

mich,
me really cannot come down on 12th, in EE lah. if we leave, no cert and no cert, means no church wedding.
so must get thru the course properly.

you signing up on 12th?
must tell me what perks you get..altho i'm signing on 6th..haha...

josfoo

Hi all ...

me havent prepare anything yet leh...
dunno wat to prepare... now just hope my outdoor PS will be fine next wk...

necrosis

thanks justina...
i think derrick is one of those who arent free on both days...haha...

mmm...i've emailed so many, now so blur!

anyway, mostly those of whom i really like their work, cost abt $3k to $5k.
*faint*
so ex.
i didnt know rates were this high.
saw a few $800-$1500, to me, there is a difference in styles, creativity of angles n composition...
maybe cause i enjoy photography too, and *try* to take good shots when i can, not easy tho.
so those that charge a premium, can take more good shots per 100 shots than us normal folks.

so kinda stuck, take those i love and blow the bank, or settle for something i know (to me) is not as good as it can be but stay within budget...haha...i think many brides have this problem...not with photography but perhaps other wedding stuff...

moments0442

hiye... i see...my best frenz wanna tag along with me..so i was wondering if it's possible... keke... i do hope everything will go smooth... arrggg...

So anyone have pics with their chosen gowns? perhaps can share~ keke =P

vivicaleb

Rach - JB abit far and inconvenient leh. think i will source around from sin instead.

mentos-i have seen the design from T-dragon. they seems alittle pricey??? i will start hunting for invitation cards this weekends w/ Hub. keep you ladies posted

gingerbread_gal

Hi nec,
I'm facing the same thing....i really like jonathan ho's work but he's sooo expensive ($3k plus) Didn't know the rates can go so high.

Sigh, think might be adjusting budget again...but then still, won't be able to afford john ho

So nec, have you shortlisted any PG yet?

Girls, I'm wondering if I should go for those packages including the coffee table album. Cos saw one such album at O studio and its really nice. But HTB knows how to use photoshop to edit pics. So am thinking, maybe I'll just go for those most basic package then photoshop the pics ourselves and print into coffee-table album. Does anyone know where we can print these kind of albums? Economically and logically speaking, I know shld go for basic package but being so greedy and wanting everything, want those package with albums included.

Justina,
Yeah, I could only find the gown I like at Silhouette. Dun know when taking PS....probably June/July?

when do we have to do the Guo Da Li stuff?

~sblbee~

jac,
i think u can go peninsular plazafor printing of coffeetable albums...some of them even do d layout for u if u give them d softcopies of ur pics

d GDL stuff is usually prepared b4 ur GDL date (usually 1-2 weeks b4 ur AD), preferably starting 1 mth b4 but it all depends on d complexity of d stuff, for me i intend to replace d items wif a AP :p

apple_gal

Good morning, Ladies!

Hi, moments0442
I will be going down on sunday for trial makeup & fittings I forget the timing, will call them to confirm again. Haha. I also ask my best frd to tag along.

Hi, Lara
Haha.. Too heavy ask ur hubby carry can liao.. :p

Hi, Rach
Classic refer to magazine style?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Meiling,
Do you know where in Peninsular plaza? Have you used their services before? Thanks so much for this info...

Hey nec,
what's ur budget for photography ah? I came across this PG called Daniel Beh and his works does look quite good...take a look at www.danielbeh.com

I think he might be the one for me.....

meiloc20

Hi praisey,
My gown fittings will be on 24th jan and PS on 21 March. Coordinator is vivian and catherine from TWD (Tanjong Pager). Both are quite nice and helpful people. Are u from TP branch too?
So far i have tried on their gowns 2 times already, 1st time i went with my frens and thats b4 i signed up, 2nd time with my husband. I found that the wedding gowns collection is quite pretty but as i quite plump, i have a problem with evening gown selection. Actually i saw many evening gown that are v. pretty but i can't fit into them..sob. Vivian have mention that they have more gowns from their main branch and they will try to bring in more for my actual gown selection on 24th jan. Wat abt u? have u tried or shortlist any of their gowns already?

raragal

mentos> I think i mentioned somewhere T-Dragon's pricing.. my fren compared that with JB's. Maybe can check back the previous thread upstairs...

vivi> actually its not that far. If you wanna spend 2/3 lesser, JC is the way. Coz can save as much as 2/3 the price.
My fren printed 350 invitation inserts and also 300 ROM invitation for a total of only $100plus..
Thats super cheap loh.. it was like $280 ringgit.. that is the price u gotta pay in sin in sing $$..
let me find the details again and post it here..

raragal

Okie.. found it.. this is from my friend...

Printing of inserts:
T&T Printing (City Square, JB)
~1st 200 piece, RM$80. (Sing: 34.70)
every 100 cards, add rm20.
~Add Graphics: no extra charge
Can add as many graphics as you want.
~Add Map $RM20 (one time off. Can be provided by you. if dont have, they will get from internet)
Available inserts: off white and pink. (no rice paper)

T Dragon:
1st 200 inserts S$100
Add Graphics S$10 per icon (one time charge)
Map ($5 for about........ 40 or 50 pieces. not very sure.)

Printing of post cards (for couples who require maybe church invitations/ thank you cards:
T&T Printing:

Front colour (unlimited. means can print colour pic also), back- black only:
For 200 cards, it works out to about sing $0.20 to $0.30 per card, inclusive of envelope!!
(Not those cheapo plain white, thin envelope. Good quality. can find at poplular bookshop, those paper sold by weight kind.)

Front and Back full colour (unlimited colours): 200 pieces, no more than $0.35 per piece inclusive of envelope.

T Dragon: The amount was so high i didnt even bother to remember the amount..

T&T only needs one week to print the cards.
T Dragon needs 2- 3 weeks.

My recommendation after printers hunting, DEFINITELY T&T!!

Their contacts: Just in case anyone really wants to make an effort to go there:
T&T Instant Printing services:
Lot J4.04 Johor Bahru City Square, Jalan wong Ah Fook. Tel: 07-222 8862 Fax: 07-223 8862 Email: [email protected]

I dont know if they have a template. DIdnt ask cos i had my template from my hotel. but most templates are the same leh.. just use a template from previous wedding dinner cards that you've received lor.

raragal

lara> Ohh.. surprised that your HB dun like digital.. thought that is nicer.. Hee.

xinyi> okay.. will check later..

Mmm. i wanted it to be one ID and OD.. but i guess PG's advice will be more professional than friend's. No offence, but i guess at the end of the day, its personal preference also.. sometimes, we just gotta trust the professional, unless we have differing opinions..

apple> no.. classic is portrait style i guess?
Digital is magazine style.. coz they normally don't cut in between the 2 pages and there's 2-3 poses in a page..
Classic is just one photo one page that kind loh.. no mixture, no small small thumbnails at the bottom, no big big pic as the background etc.. Those that have is digital/magazine..

~sblbee~

hi jac,
hmm, im so sorry, i heard of other threads toking abt tis service but not too sure of d shop n their services, perhaps u can chk out in d printing thread

raragal

Hey.. got this cake link from another thread.
Nice recommendation!

Do check it out if you are interested.. its so near my FH's place loh.. haha.. nice cakes design and packaging too.
Above $200, entitle to VIP (10% discount in future) and also free printing of names on the boxes for $200 and above.

http://www.kyo.com.sg/products/wedding01.html