(2008) Brides of year 2008

baylee

Valerie,

Wow st regis sounds really Good and god its more exp than Raffles Hotel!!..envious.

We really dun have the budget. Got to save for our house reno..

necrosis

flora and lov17,
both you babes signed up with regent right?
wow...i feel their lobby looks very grand...the carpet when you enter, is so plush! :p
haha...so superficial of me. :p
but really nice place i must say...

amanda,
goodwood is also pricer than raffles! one of their super lux packages comes with a spa treat for the couple on the AD (or dy before/after/voucher)

luxelass

Amanda, actually we didn't think of St Regis also. I wanted Shangrila.. then realised all booked for 7 Dec. Chanced upon St Regis. I tell myself, consider it as a punishment for my bf for delaying lo.

I think venue is impt, but not the most impt. So long as both couples are happy with the arrangement. Having a longlasting blissful marriage with doting hubby is the MOST IMPT!!

So I wish all BTBs here a Blissful marriage!

luxelass

Just read the rest of the threads... I've been to Goodwood for Highteas.. and know someone who had their wedding there. According to my bf, it's quite nice. The ballroom, which is on the second storey, has high ceiling it seems. I've never been there though. However, the other 2 function rooms near the other side of the entrance of the hotel seems a tad casual, in my opinion. Looks like hotels are all getting more expensive these days.

For Luv17, complimentary wine may not be a good thing, cos you can't choose the type of wine you prefer, if you are particular. In fact, my colleague told me that he had his own wine, and any unused wine can be returned. However, you have to first check with the hotel on the corkage fee.

By the way, all pretty brides, have you chosen the gown you want? I just checked out my first one, and was informed it takes 10 months to get one out!! Gosh!

crayongal

hey gals...
wishing u a Happy New Year.... even as we embark on a new journey.. hehs... it'll be all good. keke

anyhows, iris... so u r changing e AD to 22nd? erms.. is that lunar 5th month ? or do u mean 22nd June ? hmmm... anyway, ya.. as long as all is happy .. and it does not trouble u.. jus go with the folks so dat they're not so worried abt the dates and all. heh.. =)

alrity gals... once we hit '08.. guess we'll all get really busy... heh... have fun eh? and keep us updated on happenings! =)

hatemenot

i actually asked my dad to do the relative side. What you can do maybe ask your MIL or FIL to call them up and check who is coming? that's what my dad did...

i think my frens table are those with quite a few empty seats..cos frens oso cannot combined.

sleepycat_2

hi gers,

one way to work ard the seating on AD is to get ur receptionists to track the number of people for each table. if last minute got a lot of people nvr turn up, they can start combining table on the spot. esp those that have about half table of guests there. Otherwise u really lugi alot with many half empty tables. Get frens whom u can trust to help u with this at the recept table that night.

sleepycat_2

Jojo,

we are making do for now cos we intend to get a new place soon after the wedding. So really just do the bare minimum. Will prob still have lots to do after the wedding...cos now no time...

babyfifi

Ashley,
yah.. let him hands off a while. Maybe the 2 of you just take a short break, maybe go sentosa or something for a day. Recharge.

Cabbage,
my Future FIL also like ur MIL. Really headache. Lucky for my FH quite good. He told him something like this: "If dun confirm, we take it as they are not coming and if they turn up, we will chase them away. You want to lose face on that day? if dowan, then you better confirm nicely."

tete,
friends can combine de. just combine is a quite equal way. like 5 from one gp and 4 from another gp. Dun slot in 1 person or 2. Very awakward. But if quite even, should be okay. They won't feel left out cos they know enough people there to chat. And maybe can combine those who will be able to get to know each other, like have similar interests or something. You can also let 1 or 2 of them (more friendly ones) know before hand: "Hey, on my wedding day, i will be seating you (and XX, YY,...) with my friends from AA. I invited 2 friends, BB and CCm who also plays tennis (or whatever you can find in common)." Like that, they will be prep to get to know each other.

wendily

Hi Gals..

I think everyone is facing the same problem. Mine is a buffeet dinner, and i have no choice but can only have 10 per table. (They count by the number of headcounts). So if i were to put extra ppl, i'm afraid they will not give me extra cutlery, and embarrassed mt guest.

I have a group of very close friends, 6 of them and plus their spouse will be 12. But i have no choice.. to tell 2 of them cannot bring their spouse. Feel so bad, but have to do it.

Now MIL and FIL say wanna invite all relatives. Me and hubby only had 3 tables. I took 2 and hubby wants 2 too! MIL and FIL always give headache! hahaha.. Last minute want to invite this and that.

Anyway, when i pass my my invitation to the guest, i will ask them, so you will be coming? Normally they will say yes/no on the spot. Makes it easier for us to arrange.

Don't stress ok gals! i think no one can be as stress as me! LOL. I'm working from 31st Jan to 2nd Jan (throughout)...

hapimint

Ladies, I have finally booked my videographer so I think I settled most of my things already bah...

Now should just concentrate on my church wedding cum ROM in less than 2 weeks... gosh... seems time flies...

Then work on my renovation then slowly think about the Actual day...

7th Dec is so hot lor... I wanted my BS MUA but he is already fully booked on that day.... sad sad... haha....

summer_ice

Hi Fruittea

Happy New Year to you & all BTBs!

The response was more than wad my HTB and I had expected. And thankfully my parents are ok with the idea of us staying with them after marriage and after we manage to get a flat. I have never considered staying with my in-laws at all, coz I do not wish to have any conflict with my MIL.
And I guess I am considered fortunate that my MIL does not mind that her son is perpetually staying with my family.

luvz17

Hi Nec,
Yup I confirm Regent already. We like the place and confortable with our coordinator. I think that is the most important. How about your MM?

Hi Flora,
I dodn't get any complimentary wine. Will source my own. Agree with what Valerie said.

What should I fdo next after I confirm my venue? Now I am looking for AD/ Video & MUA. BS will only contact about 6 mths before, thats what they told me. Anything else I should get ready by now?

praisey

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 & 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

mage

Hmm.... think I'm seem to be the most relax one here! Hehe!

wendily, I'm doing buffet but its a luncheon. I doing long table seating and free seating as I forsee seating arrangement headache. Hehe!

I still have not bought my GDL stuff yet. Have not decide if I want to do photo montage or not. AD schedule also not finalised... hmm... seems like lots of other stuff to do!

stnov

thanks gers for ur well wishes.....still trying to tidy up loose ends here & there...will be back after my AD....thanks once again.....=)

cordie

jus wanna wish u gals a happy new year...and may 2008 bring along joy and happiness for all of you and me of cos...

treegirl

hi selina...i jus had my PS oso..rained on tt day as well..eh...hubby n myself were pretty disappointed with our photos...no nature, no beach...no nice scenery n e photos dun look impressive.
u chose 40photos? can fit into a mag style album?

superwoman_cqy

hey fruittea great you found your BS so down one worry :p My PS will most probably in June/Jul so the album will be ready in time on AD. For gowns, Im still considering though and my deadline for gowns designs is in Jan08 urghh..

Im not sure about spa packages though but did you try amore? Im attending their fitness classes and they have spa boutiques too :p

Christina its not too early to confirm your BS now (i confirmed mine in Oct:p) .. anyway you will also need time for gowns selection whether OTR or MTM and also confirm details like photographer etc like what fruittea said..

ling27

hi treegirl,
Yes. It can fit into one album of 20 pages.
No nature and beach? Then where did you take ur photo shoot? U never postpone it since the weather wasnt good?

luxelass

luvz17, if you need the contact of the wine supplier, let me know k.

Thanks Mindy for the explanation. I yet to settle anything except for the venue leh. Seeing all of you hard at work, I'm getting all excited too!!

micmattina

Nec,

Erm...I booked vanda ballroom for dinner on the 20th....

I am a little confused now....

When exactly is your AD? 20th or 21st Dec 2008?

Amanda,

Yapyap looking forward to try the food...When is your AD?

~sblbee~

hi adeline,
welcome, yah he's my 2nd AD PG...

sorry, was MIA for a couple of days cos was busy wif wk, glad dat i didnt missed out much. happy new yr to all of u here!

~sblbee~

hi sue,
yah lor, we r both busy bees...was so busy for these past few days until i dun have time to log in to chk out d forum :p

pipi,
i saw d new inspire wedding range too frm aussino at j8, d red chinese couple one rite? actually had wanted to buy but it doesnt come wif d bedsheets...hopefully they will come out if a nicer range :p

hi adeline,
welcome, was waiting for u to join us here
btw, any info for me to update e.g ur banquet vanue, BS, PG n VG etc?

mrs kel,
so happy for u...congrats! did ur fh proposed to u on xmas eve? wah, finally u have waited for tis day to come....

sweet_lady

hi Swee,

my preparation is still '3344' i think. i still have a lot of undone things... food tasting, gown selection, wordings for the invite, photos album layout, guo dali, and many many more which i can't think now. Not in the mood of doing too. need a break... need to breath a little while. haaha

babyiguana

Happy New Year all Jul 08 BTB!! =)
Updated details on ROM and PG..

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14(AD&ROM) & 19(Dinner) July 2008 / StarDuS(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography & Mokey (AD&Dinner) / Fairys' Inc
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

flora_bliss

Nec, my HTB and I actually went to regent to snap some photos on 28/12/2007, which is exactly 1 yr to our wedding. The place was beautiful.

luvz17, I'm currently trying out some wines. So far hv not find anything to our liking yet.

baipipi

congrats mrs kel! how did he do a surprise proposal without you guessing he was up to something? guys are usually quite bad at such stuff while gals' sixth sense are like radar

hi meiling, i didn't even realise it doesn't come with bedsheets coz i just saw the TC and walked away. ya, it's the red chinese couple. it also comes with towels and teacup set sold separately. what other brands sells wedding theme? worse come worse just buy red/ maroon bedsheet... at least you will use it subsequently, not just a one-off thingy

luvz17

Hi Vallerie,
Appreciate if you can provide me with the wine supplier. Trying to find out more about wine.

Flora,
What are the wines that you had tried? Was at Carrefour yesterday, but we were like....dun understand a thing.. My friend says can try Jacob, Penguin, Kangaroo..I don't know if they are existed.

luxelass

Hi Luvz17, I heard that Jacob is abit too hyped up. Try a general retailer which sells wide selection of wine. For a start, you may want to check out Wine Connection at Dempsey. The owner imports in wine direct from source and it's suppose to be cheaper.

Reds are generally more common than whites, but what type of wine is usually a personal choice. For a start, merlot or cabernet is more popular. Pinot and Shiraz would be more 'personal'. Go drink by glass at Wine Connection, and over time, you'd realise what you like.
A general rule of thumb is that when you drink the wine, it's smooth, doesn't taste too 'dry'.

Meanwhile I will get that number for you.

vividz

Happy New Year, everyone.

oops, ya, my AD changes to 22th June (lunar 5th mth) but wedding dinner still 20th July, abt one mth difference. better to let them decide the date if not anything wrong, we will be in trouble, hee hee. (*touchwood)

2008 should be a busy year for us, can't wait to go for my gown fitting. I will try to upload them if possible so u all can some suggestions for me.

necrosis

mich...
oh, my AD is on 20th lah. but banquet is on 21st.
me also taking vanda

will you be staying 2 nights there in the suite?
maybe we can meet also...haha...i'll be staying there after my church on 20th...and on 211st night.

luvz17,
some cheap wines will give you a bad headache the next day.
kangaroo is quite nice.
most pple prefer reds, altho some will ask for white at a chinese banquet...so i think 80% red, 20% white is an ok ratio to stock up...

rule of thumb for me, french wines are usually good, aussie and african wines are good too, but must know or taste first, some can be quite yucks.
californian wines are ok....again, better taste first.

some wines are mixed, so you may have a cabernet-shiraz etc etc..still ok...usually the shiraz spicer taste will be mellowed by the cabernet...

there was a thread abt wines on consignment, so if you open , you pay, else you return the 'new' bottles to the supplier...may need a min order of 1 crate or something...

LAST NEW YEARS DAY AS A SINGLE!!!!
woohooo....

treegirl

hi selina...no..didnt postpone, cos was bright and sunny in the morning..who knws after tt rained..took our PS on 15th dec..went to SAM and Fullerton lor..
well, wondering if you brides out there also had such instances? Rained at 4pm, didnt postpone yr PS

ling27

hi treegirl.. oic.. i went to SAM also.. the photos turned out to be quite nice..

hi lara, so ur photo selection is today. How did it turn out?

hi apple_gal, it's gonna be your turn to go PS soon!!

unicorn_pmy

New to this thread but having my banquet in June 08 at Hyat.. Could any of you advice what preparations have you done so far as I think I am very behind in my preparations... have only booked venue and recently started searching for the wedding bands

By the way is anyone thinking of hiring string quartet for their wedding dinner? any recommendations?