(2008) Brides of year 2008

baipipi

hi gals, don't the hotels loan AP boxes? i requested n was able to get... didn't look at it though. even if ugly, i oso sian to do 1 myself

saw a lot of boxes at a stationery shop in bugis junction, shop name is something like "ABC" but price in the range of $20s. the slit is oso ready!

necrosis

jac..
i've seen joho works and yes, very good...
i think i've a whole list of PGs and their quotes...

i've seen daniel's works too...he and his wife take together...how much was his quote? i can't remember offhand...

i like plushphotography and lyrical moments and let there be light also..
and wansheng from feldberyl (my all time fave!!!)
his rates are $4k !!!
sigh.

jac,
i think liquidminds does album printing, even layout.
if i remember correctly, abt 1k+ per standard album...12x8 or something... :p
you really need to check with them, my memory is leaving me!!!!

waverine

Hi girls>
my AD is on 26th Jan this month...
can anyone give me leads on where to find Double Happiness Bedsheet?

I tried Aussino but seems like its out of stock....
Any suggestions?? dun want too cheena kind...

xinyi_reiko

rach, its ok. my PG also recommand mixture. Anyway will decide when i see the layout and the flow of each page. Will probably be able to see the layout soon..

necrosis

meiling,
ray ong is also available on only one of my 2 days.

me very xian of looking for PG liao. ask them come and look for me lah.hahaha...

i also wanna give up on church hunting liao...like everywhere all booked or left the ultra early time slot.
piangs.

xian!!!!

jedilim

Hi berry, it's ok, think i just confirmed my AD photographer. so how's the design and color of your EG with Jesline? what design u getting?

i had my first fit on WG, quite ok,but haven't got the lace on yet, so nothing v much to see. EG i showed her some designs, so managed to get one my favorite color the dark pink/purple kind of color, and she designed the rest. going for 2nd fit for WG and EG mid Feb. i couldn't quite fit into most of the EG though so sad....

the other BTB i met at another forum thread, so slim, fit into everything nicely....

i went through photo albums, abit confused now la, cos all abt the same pattern to me le...and everyone on forum recommends Ben. i saw another PG Henry, quite ok too. so u choosing who??

pearlpearl

Hi tinkybell, im fine ya. how about you? As i saw a shop selling wedding accessories and tempted to get it, really nice ya but maybe see how first.
Talking about ang bao box, i also intend to DIY myself. As to me it is a waste, i will only use it once and dump it so don't wanna spend money on it.

~sblbee~

hi pipi,
yah my hotel has but it's v plain n small...d base is not broad enuff so it cant even stand properly, i dun think it's sturdy enuff to hold my 2 sheeps...so either my fh have to diy or we have to buy...
i dun think it's worth it to buy a box if it's intended for a 1-time use...i'll consider d heart shaped box at $2 frm daiso instead, regretted not buying when they carry d stock for s bigger boxes a couple of mths ago...

~sblbee~

jesl,
where did u find a nice wedding accessories? wat's d price range like? i was looking at swaroski set but couldnt find anything i like.

~sblbee~

hi flora bliss,
long time no see, so u managed to rewrite ur emcee script? i havent even got d time to look at it, i really hope to start soon...

nec,
dun worry, there r plenty of gd PGs ard so im sure u can find many who r available on both days for ur wedding...dun give up

hmmm...let's see, is it possible to rent a venue n hold a church ceremony? my fren did dat as well...or if no choice, have to get those v ulu church or get d earlier slots...

queenie10

ann,
i can recommend my PG to u,his name is leslie & he is from AM.PM Photography.
All the following package are including:

1 10 hours services
2 Unlimited Shoot
3 All image return

Actual Day Photo Shoot Package

Package $1,000.00

- 150psc 4R in slot in album
- 8pcs 8R
- 20% Design

He can be contacted at 98413593. When is ur AD? If i'm not wrong he'll be in overseaa till 14th May, actually he can't make it for my 17th may wedding, really glad tat he is willing to bring forward his trip.Better call him fast cos heeard tat he is quite fully booked for may 08

gingerbread_gal

Hi nec,
Daniel is quoting $1600.
I liked Wansheng from feldberyl too. Do u know abt the Changi Terminal 3 contest? Wansheng's photo was the winnning photo! So if you do decide to splurge and go with him, I think you'll have fantastic pics.
I was interested in let there be light too but I can't seem to find any gallery to view their portfolio.

I always wanted a church wedding (though I'm a free-thinker) All along, I thought Chjimes is a wonderful venue....
Are you Christian or Catholic? Did you try St Joseph's Church?
Don't give up yet Nec, you must quickly source for the church!

Flora Bliss,
I feel like setting up a wedding website too...just too lazy to get started. Is yours almost set up?

Meiling,
no probz...I'll just go through the other threads

Anyone has any experience with Daniel Beh??

raragal

mentos> Yeah.. for GDL... I guess its rather easy to hit $200.. a mere 25 boxes will hit liaoz... i like the mixture of heart shaped and swiss rolls and mini tartlets... nice.. only $7.80 somemore.. hehe..

floating25

Is sorting out the seating arrangement really that stressful cos I haven't started thinking about it. I thought since mine is a buffett, I'll just let the guests sit where they like but from the thread that I've been reading, perhaps it's better to pre-arrange all seats!

I'm also starting to feel the stress of the wedding. I made a list of the events happening on the big day and I've delegated out to my jie-meis. Stressed ah! I really hope things will go as planned!

Just to share a very good tip with all of you: Start writing down what needs to be done and then delegate it cos you won't be able to direct everything on your wedding day. You need helpers or a very good wedding coordinator!

Just to update the list -

Nick: stnov
Date of wedding: 02 Jan 08
Venue: Furama Riverfront

Nick: Qiqi81
Date of wedding: 05 Jan 08

Nick: gnd
Date of wedding: 06 Jan 08
Venue: Ritz-Carlton Millenia

Nick: JoJo
DOW : 06 Jan 08
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel

Nick: Floating
Date of Wedding: 18 Jan 08
Venue: Rasa Sentosa

Nick: Mage
Date of wedding: 19 Jan 08
Venue: Fours Seasons

Nick: Eve
Date of wedding: 19 Jan 08
Venue: Orchard Hotel

Nick: Sleepycat
Date of wedding: 19 & 20 Jan 08
Venue: Trinity Methodist Church and Peony-Jade Restaurant

Nick: Wendily
Date of Wedding: 19th Jan 08
Venue: Changi Village Hotel

Nick: Lovebytemi
Date of Wedding: 26 Jan 08

Nick: BabyFifi
Date of Wedding: 26 & 27 Jan 08
Venue: Blessed Sacrament Church & Holiday Inn Park View

Nick: Princessnono
Date of Wedding: 27 Jan 08

Nick: Elaine
Date of wedding: 27 Jan 08
Venue: York Hotel

Nick: Witch
Date of wedding: 31 Jan 2008

Congrats to Qiqi, gnd and JoJo!!!

praisey

hi MT, how come your fitting and actual photoshoot so far one? mine is just 1week away, in case there's any change in my body size. I am from TP, i went there 4 times before i sign off the contract.
I cannot fit into mermaid EG cos i am potty. heehee. tentatively i have booked the champagne EG in Her world brides latest issue, last few pages.
my gown selection is on 17th jan. PS 2nd april, then i fly off for work next day for 2weeks!

mage

hi gals, I need some advise/help here. How much angbao to give to jie meis, brothers, helpers? Do we give a seperate angbao to cover their petrol, etc?

asami

Hi everyone, Happy New Year.

My AD is 25May at Oriental, doing the lunch banquet. Saw someone above with Oriental too. You won't happen to be the couple at the dinner slot eh? :D
Got my BS already with La Vie, looking forward to my photoshoot now in Feb, going to be a daring one to do it after CNY. Gonna be a challenge not to put on weight or have any breakouts. Ciao.

vivicaleb

hey, mentioning about GDL .. hub and myelf had a long yet fun discussion w/ family yday. now then i know GDL custom has sooooooo much things to work on. mom said during the GDL session (the Bride to be will be asked to 'hide' in the room) can only come out after the 'session' is over. ha!
also, mom said Bride to be supposed to buy at least 12 sets of new clothes to bring over to the new home as symbolic for 'a prosperous life' ahead. wow!!!
12 sets of new clothes!!!!

maybe can ask hub to sponsor :p

vivicaleb

Rach - thanks for the detailed comparison. me juz worried of the trouble of havign to deal with them on designs, amendments and collections leh ... me will try my luck to source around first. will keep u posted if found any good and cheap lobang.

witch

My GDL is over.... one thing down!

Mage, below are the angbao amounts that hubby and I intend to give to our helpers:

Jie Meis and brothers: $68 each
Emcee: $60
MUA: $20
PG: $28 each
Gatecrash: $8, $60, $100
My brother who will open door for the groom: $88
My sis who is my jie mei and emcee: $88

Hubby is driving his own car.

raragal

vivi> nah.. u are welcomed. its quite hassle free one.. u just gotta go down with ur wedding card, choose from their design, and the layout u want.. then go shop ard for an hour plus while they do sample for u... according to my fren, there's alot of stuff to shop for at that level... wedding stuffs.. like shuang xi stickers etc.. so after shopping.. go back.. if okay with the sample, just go home.. wait for their printing.. one week later just go back to collect.. if you have any doubts just call the number stated above or email them loh.. i likely going down next sat to see see also.. its at City Square.. so its rather near to JB..walking distance.. been there a few times, but didnt take note of the printing shop.. hehe...

necrosis

jac,
gosh, i didnt know wansheng's pics were the winning entry...(T3 contest)
mmm...anywhere i can view those pics?
i really really like his online portfolio...like i cannot stop obsessing abt it.
is this a sign? LOL...
another dude i'm looking at is johnlim. also very fantastic online portfolio...also not cheap.
hmph.
all these pple, work for a day and post-process for a week and earn more than my 1 month salary!!! hmph.
lol..

i've a secret plan. i'll let my FH to see both these shiok shiok photographers, then later we'll see some other more ordinary (but affordable!) ones...like that he MAY agree the high price is worth...*evil grin*

thanks for the encouragement babes,
i didnt call st joseph, but i did call sacred heart and the nice guy told me the church is air conditioned! praise the Lord! lol..can't imagine how to look glam and serene with sticky skin and shiny face. :p
oh, and available for my date and time. =)

emcee script...?
*fainting again*
think i might as well remain unconscious here... we have to make our own scripts?
or how? how do you guys select emcees?
piang, i don't even know the program, how to come up with a script? *still unconscious*

cordie

me a bit blur like nec...emcee scripts for which part of the wedding? we have to write our own? and from what i am reading here...seems like we brides are doing a lot here... what are the grooms doing? marriage is a 2 people's affair ah...shouldnt the other half help in some way or another? :p

princess_sue

hi gals...happy new year.

wah.. diy is too much for me i think.. no time to actually go and get myself down to that.

wat jes say is true.. it will be a waste coz its only used once. so we shall not get something too ex... :p

Hi tinky/ Mel/ Mei/ Koyoyo,

How are you gals ? Bz bz also? hehe

I am still in the office... sigh.. have been working late since 29 Dec even new years eve. for my past 3 years here,. i have never have a chance to celebrate new year. haha... i count down in the office haha.

Ytd was was midnight... i want to go home... i dun like first week and and new year...
everyone enjoying i am work my butt off. sob sob

gingerbread_gal

Hi nec,
I saw the winning entry in today's Straits times. Maybe you can try finding it in the online version.
Maybe your plan will work. It worked for me and my HTB. We set quite low budget then find that we tend to gravitate towards more expensive stuff
But we are willing to adjust the budget after seeing much nicer work. I'm with you on your *evil* plan

So are you going with sacred heart?

I know for my hotel, they have some emcee script that we can use...they also have chinese one...I suppose we'll use it as a reference and make amendments when necessary. Check with your hotels.

fruittea80

Thanks Karen, will drop you an email or get the details from you via MSN. =)

Providencia - Yes, Spa Botanica looks expensive. I am quite keen to try Spa@Aranda though it's also quite far from my place, will give you my feedback if I visit them too. =)

lovebytemi

Wow...
My angpow is definately less... I seem to have so many people to give.

4 Bridesmaid
4 Groomsmen
PG, VG & MUA - Actually we pay them for the service already still need to give ang pow so much?
Driver
12 Sword Bearers (military wedding)
GateCrash
Brother who open door...
church choir...

$$$$$$!!!!

hatemenot

yeah my angpow definitely lesser too.

but i have treated my jie meis to a meal before that.

my day is on 6th jan. last minute preparations now! packing all the things and making sure i dont miss out anything.

flora_bliss

Meiling, for the emcee speech I only write the English one. And it only up to the part of starting the solemnisation. I hope to complete the whole english speech by this weekend. Though I have some templates, I still prefer to write something original for my own wedding.

Jac, my wedding website only has the very basic info such as intro, our love story, solemnisation ceremony, banquet, wedding vendors, RSVP, guestbook and contact. My HTB wrote the love story bit. Still need to update the part on About the bride, groom, proposal story, wedding party, wedding events and photos.

Cordie, I did most of the research work then get my HTB to give his comments. Then we reach a decision together. Being a perfectionist, I'm not confident in him doing the things alone.

raragal

treegirl> I guess the difference is not just mag style or not.. it depends on what is in the package as well leh...
I've got 1 MTM gown. If just the basics, my package is $3988 with 30 pages digital..

waverine

thanks valerie!

I happen to chance upon Bliss Collection shop at Chinatown area

Just update you girls:
Bliss Collection - Double Happiness Bedsheet is satin material kind... costs about $160

I manage to get the Aussino- Nuptial at Great World City Outlet... the cartoon very cute

but its only a quilt cover and 2 pillows at $79.90 (100% cotton). Need to call outlets to check if got stock.... cos i called tampines and junction 8 got no stock..... They also have double happiness towels in white and pink.. comes in a pack. of 2.. $12.90

blur_queenie

Me too, last min finalisation of namelist!

My AP also lesser cos got 6 Bro & 6 Jie Mei, got JP, Photographer, flowerger, Driver + car, 2 Emcee and more. BTW, anyone give angpao to Banquet Mgr and the sale coordinator??

What is the market rate for angpao for Emcee? Is $38 too little?

antakusuma

hi queenie, i hope my gown really turn out nice. going to choose fabric tomorrow. I am starting to worry about decorations and catering, cos the vain stuff mostly settle already.

i also meeting my invite card vendor tomorrow to discuss discuss...

BTW, i have an alcohol source. my friend say cheap. i will ask for it and share...

congrats Ann and Sammy, welcome to our May Brides Forum. =)

baylee

Hi Sixeggs,

Initially wanted to PM you but you dun accept private msg.

Anyway saw ya posting on French BS thread, a recommendation i can give you on good MUA is a lady named Jin Yan.

My fren had her as MUA and her makeup was beautifully done.

If you wanna check up or discuss abt FS, you can always PM me and we can share loh
cos i "mistakenly" signed up w FS hee...