(2008) Brides of year 2008

earthsea

On the subject of wedding bands, has anyone checked out D'Meyson and its sister shop (can't remember the name, but it's in Central)? My friend told me that the rings are much cheaper than other stores, and they don't outsource like the other stores like Lee Hwa.

My FH wants comfort-fit rings but I find them so expensive...one pair starting at $900+...

itipit

Esther,

I took up the package directly fr Legends, bcos it's the only place available that's within our budget on the date we want.

I'll also be busy on AD. Tea ceremony, ROM n dinner on same day. My HTB is Hakka. His family is more traditional, I'm not. Just wondering how to politely tell them I'm not kneeling to anyone during tea ceremony. Is that considered rude?

But I think i'll still try to do certain things like having a child roll n jump on my bed, not hv anyone fr HTB 's family step on my gown, etc... hehe... superstitious...

bunnyhop

Thanks Parmida...
Hows ur wedding prep coming along? Hav both ur parents n p-i-ls met up w each other yet?
Oh ya, mged 2 get a silver pair of swaroski crystal type of 4 inch (i think) Vivie shoes @ Orchid OG this weekend.
20% discount...(nett, ie no 7% GST) Although thot of see see look look a while further but scared may not find wat i like in e end so buy
loh! (",) Happi Happi! (9 Dec e last day 4 such discount)
578890.jpg

captain_piglet

I'm a Christian Bride too hee...will be following the traditions like tea ceremony, wearing kua but definitely not the superstitious stuffs since we don't believe in them. Will commit everything in God's hands. Have you guys attended the marriage prep course? I went thr mine in August...really benefitted a lot from it!
Now my biggest prayer is for my dad to walk me down the aisle in church...he's an atheist and quite anti-christianity...will be v sad if he doesn't walk me down..cos i've already lost my mum, if he doesn't even wan to walk me down i will feel like an orphan.

marcy

Anyone here gonna wake up really early on your AD? For me.... My hubby have to come pick me up from my home after 5am and we must reach his place b4 7am! that's damn early lor!

parmida

Hi PSH,

Wedding preparations are abit slow for me, cos i still have a no of things not settled... Bz wif work and also lazi at the same time :p

My parents and in-laws met before on our ROM.. Haven't arrange for another session yet for the discussion..gonna do tat soon...

U got urself a nice pair of shoes..But I dun think I will be able to fit into them cos they look too dainty for my broad feet...

pinky81

Marcy, yup.. do agree it's early. However, you would have enough time to go out with your jiemeis and bothers for outdoor photoshoot. =)

pinkyting

Hi Jac,

Lets work hard together ba... keke... Jia You!!

Hi plasterbride,

Thanks for your advice.. maybe i shld buy that book too.. keke...

Hi earthsea,

My hubby's sister juz buy materials from spotlight.. her wrist band is nice loh.. coz its elastic, so when ur jie meis wear dt hv to scare that the ribbon will loosen.. so u may wanna go see see.. keke..

Hi nectarine,

The very first time i see wedding band and reali fall in love with it is from gold heart.. its a mix of white and copper gold leh.. got wave design.. out surface got small white diamond den inside got blue stone.. i think is celestial wan.. den wan to love & co.. quite like the desin too but ex leh.. duno la.. still looking around.. hope u can find ur fav wedding band.. keke..

pinkyting

Hi Jac,

Our case is different la.. both my parents and hubby parents is at hougang so i hv to get hse either at seng kang or punggol loh.. so nearer to our parents.. moreover i grow up at hougang wan.. move here or there still hougang.. haha..

Hi Meiling,

Nvm la.. do one thing at a time or do it on a manageable stage loh... dt make urself too stress later not mei mei liao..

Back to facial topic hor.. my cousin juz share with me that she juz bought meiji collagen duno wat.. is for face to be more radiant too leh.. cheaper then fancl wan leh.. my cousin say now got promo, 2 box at $99 something leh.. is to drink wan.. one day one scope ba.. maybe wanna try.. Fancl product for face radiant wan, now got promo leh..

my hubby very stupid leh.. he saw the ingredients for that fancl thing.. is a combination of grapefruit, apple and orange juices.. so he say i juz drink these 3 fruits juices can liao.. dt hv to buy liao..

flora_bliss

For corsage, I think I'll juz research around for design and try to get the materials from spotlight or those art & craft shops.

I've actually settle quite a few stuff for the wedding like hotel banquet, BS, AD PG, AD VG, wedding bands, and live band entertainment.

nectarine, for AD PG you may wanna check out my photographer Bobman (http://www.bobman.com/gallery/). His charges are quite reasonable.

flora_bliss

Liting, I can't really take Fancl leh. Everytime i take it, i tend to fall sick. I oso bought the meiji collagen. But at the moment can't comment much on the effect coz I always forget to take it since it's safely kept in the kitchen cabinet. You know lah, out of sight, out of mind mah....

jo82

hi added mine - 26/03/08

axeljes - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Gate - Bliss Bridal
feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
Missyheng - 1/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Venus Bridal
piggytinky - 1/3/2008 - Dragon Phoenix - J & M Design
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church & One Rochester - Dang Bridal
Mary - 8/3/2008 - Yan Qing Shanghai Restaurant @ Chijmes - Bridal ZOne
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
poopy - 8/3/2008 - Oriental - Sattine Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
vysweetapple - 8/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel- Graceful Image
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
bedime_bear - 9/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Santiago Bridal
Jesteress - 9/03/2008 - Traders Hotel - Golden Horse Awards
laura_yaya- 9/03/2008 - Carlton Hotel - French Bridal
sylvia - 9/03/2008 - The Laguna
Violet - 9/3/2008 - Club Chinos - Digio
dolphin25 - 15/3/08 - Carlton Hotel (lunch) - Ala carte
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
yu83 - 22/3/08 - peony jade restaurant - z-weddings
spacebar - 22/3/2008 - shangri la rasa sentosa - The Weding Present
Fsling - 23/03/2008 - Holiday Inn Park View - Zz wedding
Yoko - 23/03/2008 - Oriental - Bridal Veil
JV_moments - 23/03/2008 - Hilltop @ CSC - Bridal Concept
KLCC - 23/03/2008 - Grand Copthorne - Bridal Concept
jo82 - 26/03/2008 -Orchard Hotel - Bridal Concept
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Minolta01 - 29/03/2008 Church Wedding, Lunch Reception
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J& M Design
minolta01 - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium - Di Gio
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Strawberryangels - 30/3/2008 - RELC International Hotel - Seletar Bway

icyxiaozhu

Bklinktulip, thanks for your information =") Will keep track of it.. hmm.. i'm hokkien and my htb is Hainanese.. not sure of the confusing tradition but luckily both side agreed to simplify things.. =P

providencia

Hi Marcy, no worries, it's every woman's dream to have a fairy tale wedding.
Hi Christina, I've also signed up for BOWS, but can't be sure if I'll get anything there, looked thru the vendors, not very keen on them - but will keep an open mind.
Nov 08 must be a good month for wedding.

koyoyo

wow sure miss a lot by not loggin in over the weekend.. let me see..

Snowypooh
Meiling already help me by mentioning the shoe cost $99.
Sorry Mrs Kel,
I didnt ask her about the embellishment, I went there rather late so I overlook and didn't ask her on the charges. In fact i only enquire about my own shoes after i decide to buy it.
To all,
Belinda share with me on servicing a group of forum brides.. too many cilents wanting to try shoes at the same time can be hectic for her. I sugest we go into maxz group of 4.
Meiling,
Not to worry Belinda will surely ask you about your sizes before making an appointment with you. In fact she has so much ideas on wedding preparation that it such a joy to go there and listen to her talking... however shoes is her hobby not her main job so she only free at certain time.

Sue
seriously i am tempted to try slimming centre but i doubt they will work unless u are those that only stick to a diet when u are force to go to a centre.. how is your exercise at Amore going? Sigh if only u are cali membeer.. i kinda of stop for 2 month already.. still looking for partner to go together...

koyoyo

Hey
Saw you guys posted on threadcount.. seriously is the feeling on sleeping on TC = 200 and TC=400 a big difference? And i wish to get a new bedsheet u know for the AD .. since it still far i am in no rush to buy just wan start shoppin around cos it xmas hope to get it during sales.. any good brand or design to intro ?

chun_chun

meiling, good luck to your application!

kyoyo, if you dun mind, i can be ur partner!
am a cali member too! anyway, shall share a slimming method taught by a fren who shed quite a lot of weight - eat only carbs in the morning (have a full breakfast, but of cos dun overeat), take lunch and dinner as normal but just eat very little or no carbs at all. also, try not to eat anything after 8pm. looking at her, i think it worked quite well *envious* can try
also impt thing is to cut down on sugar and chocs! hard but must try! all for the sake of being mei mei on that day!

koyoyo

hey chun chun
Which gym do u frequent often? Hmm the toughest part is no food after 8pm i had supper last nite and now i feel so guilty.. sigh...

irene_yong

Any Hakka BTBs here? I am one, but clueless abt the traditions and customs..

My SO is a Teochew, do I have to stick to their tradition of fetching the bride before sunrise?

hapimint

My sister has done the corsages for me....

I went to Lee Hwa, Soo Kee, Meyson and a few more jewellery shops but just cannot find what I like and so finally decide to custom make lor.... Now still waiting for my wedding band to be done... Cant believe it, next month is my ROM liao... haha....

ceo38

Hi Marcy, my AD is 1 day b4 u!! Haha. Mine is on 21st Nov 08 @ The Regent. & Yes! Me same with u! I will have to wake up early 2. Shd be abt the same timing as yrs. ;)

I have more or less made up my mind on BS already. I shd be taking Ritz Couture. & I do tink we have similar taste cos the 3 BS u have shortlisted are also the 3 that I like most. Wahaha.

hapimint

haha... finally planned for my facial tomorrow... better start if not, too late....

Already kind of late considering that my ROM is next month... haha....

necrosis

hey girls...
i finally confirmed my AD!!
it's on 20th dec!!!

my FH got so xian of waiting for his parents or mine to decide (they've been taking months and will take months more), so he just say a date.
that's it.
lol.

now abt the hotel hunt..
we saw the few on orchard road...and he likes orchard hotel.
those more budget friendly options like NCQ and HIPV like very far away fr mrt...i'm too lazy to walk there.. :p
so we never look.
next sunday we'll check out marina that side...and prob sheraton....and still i'll be too lazy to see NCQ and FRF. :p

necrosis

oh, i've heard lots abt these collagen drinks leh..
mmm...i wonder how they work...
cos after all, if you drink, the stuff is digested, then get absorbed as the basic amino acids....then...???

anyway, my mom uses imedeen, for like the last 20 years....so far, her skin looks better than her peers....but in the end, still have fine lines...anyone has any experience with the tablets kind?

mindy,
facial where?

meiling,
MM is marina mandarin or meritus mandarin?
meritus will be under-going renov next year, so i've removed it as a venue.

my cousin had her wedding at marina mandarin, yam paste was YUMMY!! :D

~sblbee~

hi tinkybell n sue,
ok sure, will let u know once i've made any appt wif her....so based on 4 max, shd b koyoyo, sue, u n me :p

pipi,
congrats! finally found a nice pair of heels....d price is reasonable as well

koyoyo,
yah lor, so true cos i got tempted after hearing so much gd reviews abt belinda frm u

chunchun,
thanks! juz put in my WIS application...my fh managed to put in d 1st application but it's not 1st come 1st serve basis

~sblbee~

liting,
hehehe...yah juz put in my wis application for dec...hope i can get an ideal unit...my fh is eyeing 2 units in sengkang :p hehe, it's ok for me, cos im not mei-mei, mayb have to yi du gong du :p

nec,
hi, congrats! finally got a AD date!
oh, my fren is looking at marina mandarin, same as me :p wah....glad to hear dat d yam paste is yummy cos i chose dat as my dessert

ryu

Hi Liting,
Sorry for the late reply. Hmm can't remember the exact location liaoz... it is further along the way, after all the xmas stalls, inside bugis junctions. It's the same push carts that sells all the cross stitch stuff.

nelle

I have told my mum about my intention to get married next year! To my surprise, she just ask if we have got a place. No one can imagine the relief & peace I feel. To the uninitiated, my mum is one fierce dowager.
To top it off, she says my in-laws should not expect me to cook (btw, I hate to cook & she thinks I am putting myself in danger when I hang around the cooking hob) and list of other domestic chores.

princess_sue

hi chun chun,
wah... really works ah... i must try it liao. no chocs..? so tough... :p

hi mei,
thanks for your shopping update ah.. but didnt mgt to go in the end..went for dessert instead at tongshui cafe at liang seah st.

hi koyoyo...

hope you are feeling better now... .

you had supper last night? me too.. my dinner was ard tt time ah.. worse...

~sblbee~

nelle,
hehehe....guz to ur mum, it's in d cards, no longer a surprise as she's expecting it ti happen
so happy for u....wah, she's so protective of u like a princess, lucky gal

ryu

Hi nelle,
Congrats hehe, glad your mum took it in her stride

hehe my mum used to really worry about me cooking... she says the way i handle the knife is so dangerous XD whenever i cut something she don't want to see XD

nec,
my aunt has many friends using imedeen for their age group. Seems to work for them.

nelle

Thanks, girls.

Nec, u better book quickly. Weekend dates are extremely popular. Many places are booked up to June 2009. I am serious!
Any of you have yet to book any place for dinner/lunch? Or still choosing dates?

baipipi

hi koyoyo, TC really matters leh. u try going to aussino, i tink they have display of the different TC. u just go n feel n will know wat i mean.

hi meiling, how does your fh know he's the first applicant? by the registration no. izzit? i ever saw on the flowerpod forum a few mths back abt people sharing how they got the flat thru balloting. seems like those who applied first thing in the morning got much smaller numbers. although i don't think its by first-come-first-serve basis, it may be the case for the first few applicants? i saw these posts after i bought my resale... no chance to try to see if it is true, but good luck to you!