(2008) Brides of year 2008

whiteswan

which type of cake are you buying? traditional?
does groom side need cake? or juz for bride side?

seems like my GDL is the most simple. juz AP. MIL & mother side both agreeed.

antakusuma

PSH, u shd go and surf martha stewart wedding website. Got a lot of flower ideas... hard to picture the look u're going for. But i don't think orchids go with baby breath. Orchids suit leaves more. but i think PURPLE tulips are nice, not sure about purple roses. =P

anyway, yes i'll discuss with sattine on wht to exchange with. DON"T think i paid in full. need to go back to check. hee hee.

can't wait to go back. i miss chicken rice

wendily

Hi Cabbage,

I'm looking for a 4 piece band who can do pop rock music. (Musicians and MALE Singer) LOL

At least 2 set of 45 mins around 1k will be fine with me.

Includ all set up and speakers.

witch

Hi GND, i'm not too sure what the $65 includes. Best is to check it with Sandy...she is a friendly lady.

As for my GDL cakes, I'm going to get cupcakes...hehe...since I only need a max of 10 boxes. Have sent an email to Carnival & Co. to enquire about their cupcakes.

princessnono

hi gers, i just went chinatown last nite to buy those chinese traditional stuffs but i didn't got all the items. only selective like the lamps, sewing box, ruler, money coins, "xi" stickers, red threads, that's abt it..
& my GDL prob ordering only 20 boxes.. only give to relatives a box per family..
I think I not enaging any MUA for sisters & mothers.. they doing makeup themselves..
I just selected my wedding songs & the background songs over the weekends. (is 55songs enuff??)
Now i am finding photos for my montage.. hmmm..
Finalising my guest list & had sent out some invites already.
wat else is left to do yah?? quite scared that i left out some.. =)

irene_yong

I am looking at simple and elegant gowns.. shouldn't be a problem i hope..

bit curious on the fantasy style... can elaborate little more on that?

Julia = Julia Wedding news? where is it located?

mage

Angel so bad ah? She will be doing makeup for my mum and she doesn't want thick makeup. Hopefully if we tell her on that day she will follow accordingly... sigh!

ryu

Hi Irene,

Julia = Julia Wedding news, it is along the tanjong pagar stretch.
The BS i signed up with is http://www.signorianuziale.com/ you can take a look there

simple and elegant.. think Bridal Viel does that style but they are a bit over my budget...
My bridal room seems like a nice one too. Julia and Magaret Brides are more towards lacy kind of gowns. Think Magaret Brides doesn simple style too

baipipi

hi koyoyo... really good choice you've got there . i didn't choose that design coz the colour n material didn't suit my ROM gown.

it's ok, i just wanted to know the area coz very high chance i will go back to her for my AD shoes. i will check with her then

btw, can anyone alert this forum once aussino is having sales or when the wedding bedsheet set is back in stock? very excited after seeing all the posts. was quite fixated on Sintex sheets previously coz very comfy. but now i change my mind
anyone knows what is the threadcount of the wedding set?

hoitytoity

yep. we have to trade convenience for the cheaper price. but i dun mind cos everytime go in aso can stop by the shopping mall to shop shop. kekeke. i will send u the pix once i have some to show k?
which BS did u sign up with? when we booked the hotel, we didn't think abt the guest list. just that we fell in love with the ball room. so we burst all our budgets and booked 4seasons hotel. starting to regret it liao but have paid the deposit, so no turning back *sob sob* just wondering, what is 'BOWS'? hehehe.

nelle

Sometimes, when I take a step back to assess everything. The root of all our problems is lack of MONEY...... hahahahah.....

necrosis

eh....you all stress what?
i'm still not done with the venue and AD date!!
all i know (and hope) is it's in dec next year!

by now all the hotels are prob booked...so ....:p
i shld be stressed...
jac, you chill!

tinkybell

Koyoyo, congrats on the selection of your ROM shoe... i am waiting for my gown selection and once confirm i will go shoe shopping n will put Belinda on the top list..

Hi Pipi, if i m not wrong, the threadcount refers to how many threat within a specific area (cant recall whether is it cm sq or what).

for example, 300 threadcount means, more thread use, as compared to 200 threadcount. threadcount can also let us know how close the thread are on the cloth and those of lower threadcount usually have a bigger gap if u put the sheet under the light.

this is my understanding. if u girls have a better way of explaining this, pls leave ur msg here.... n do correct me if i am wrong...

btw, u girls to fast go look at bedsheet le. Can anyone share your design with me?? i haven start sourcing and look at how fast you girls have proceeded with ur preparation really stress me...

pinkyting

*wave wave* Jac,

It will look nice when ur jie meis wear the same colour at least not so messy mah.. with the wrist bands is to tell ur guests and hotels that they are ur coordinator so anything can look for them ba...

I oso feel panic leh.. As for wedding bands, still can wait till next year ba... The rest slowly then buy loh... we can remind each other loh... keke.. help help mah...

nelle

Jac, new flats not easy to get. Unless you do not mind unpopular areas/units.
Maybe Liting and MeilinG are thinking about the amount of planning/work done about renovation. It is hard to manange planning for wedding and renovation together.

I will most likely be starting my renov in Feb/Mar. We are going to be our own contractors, i.e. getting our own carpenters, flooring contractors, plumbers, etc. We have been through this for my mum's place so to us, it is manageable.

pinkyting

Hi Jac,

my own views is usually new flat will be ready max up to 5 yrs, if ur AD is next year i dt think ur flat will be ready in time on ur AD rite? For my case, i nw waiting to chose unit if there is, it will be ready 5 yrs later.. next year is my AD so i shall stay with in laws first before my hse is ready mah..

On the other hand, if everything come together, u will go mad and provided u got enough $$ la.. for me, i dt hv so much so i will do one thing at a time loh.. some of my friends will one year ROM, following year hse renovation den 3rd yr shall be customary wedding liao..

At the end of it, depend on individual hw u wanna do it loh... must think u can manage anot, can take the stress and money concern anot loh.. Anyway, best of luck for watever you decide to do.. everything will be fine.. keke... Jia You!!

baipipi

hi tinkybell,

i know what threadcount is
but want to know if aussino's wedding bedsheet is 400 and above? anything less is not comfortable.

annpanda

hi, i'm new in here.
had been searchin for a hotel but most are fully booked on 7 dec 08.
any recommendations? we don't wish to change our weddin date.

lovebytemi

Hey Girls,
I went to source for a florist for church venue last night... It is going to cost me like $700+ just wondering if anyone has any contacts for florist. Got a budget of $300+

THanks

samanthaquekys

pipi, you sure have high expectations for bedsheet. 400 threadcount is quite high right? i have to agree with you though. =) but everytime i buy bedsheet, i always ignore the threadcount. maybe should start paying attention to it.

koyoyo, nice choice of shoes for your ROM. saw from the site that she does embellishment for shoes too. was thinking of getting her to do that. coz most bling bling heels that i see in the shops all has ankle strap. and ankle strap design don't exactly look nice on me.
anyone know what's her charges for embellishment?

princess_sue

hi pipi... normally i will rec their newletter for sales.. i can let you gals know when it hpns.

threadcount for wedding bedsheets also depend on what quality you want. ranging from 2-300.

hey tinky, wait till i go my bf house, i shall take a pic for you to see :p

baipipi

hi mrs kel, i used to ignore threadcount until i bought one with 400 TC. so comfortable compared to the rest of the bedsheets i have. thot it's very impt since i sleep a lot... haha

sue, the ad looks too good to be true. i'm very skeptical abt beauty n slimming ads coz i always think if it's so easy to lose inches, there won't be fat people in the world liao. some pple may think spend $380 to buy hope but the hard-selling that salons subject their customers to is a major turnoff for me.

princess_sue

hmmm... you are right... the hard selling is the one that really disgust ne.. but for the inches that i can be rid off.. haha.. i dun mind tolerating.. provided i can really rid them off but that is the doubtful part .. hm..

jedilim

Hi S'rene, thanks for updating... and all of u who's giving suggestions on AD PG, appreciate it alot. So Berry who's ur designer in DiGio?

My email is [email protected], so if you gals have any quotations do sent to me if it's not too troublesome. thanks alot. Got so many choices, i abit lost too...
Stef, dun worry the date 26 Jul is auspicious date in the lunar calendar and on a Sat, so that's great! cheers!

luvz17

Hi Ann,

we have the same wedding date and am currently looking for one too...
What are the hotels that you had contacted?

samanthaquekys

well sue, personally i'm quite skeptical about those slimming centre. how about control diet n working out a little? really works but needs lotsa determination. which i lack... =(

anyway, anyone into home deco? my fh and i thinking about how to do up his attic room, which will be our temporary love nest after we get married. ideas anyone??

how to blend beige and grey well? coz his room is basically divided into 2 section. the furniture and colour theme of one section is beige and the other grey. too much work n money involved to change the colour of the room. coz of all the new furniture we have to buy. we are not planning to spend too much as this is just a temp place. or anyone has great DIY ideas?? need help... thanks!

gingerbread_gal

Hehe, now I dun feel so bad....at least have u gals to 'panic' with...:p
Mindy, actually hor, we're thinking of getting a flat next year, so i think next year will be a real stressful year.

Liting,
i think sometimes the panic wave hit then feel quite panicky hor...like when u see a post here and there on certain part of the wedding, then u realise u haven't done it or it has to be done, then the waves come....

Yeah, let's remind each other abt what has to be done....

gingerbread_gal

I understand better now....
Liting, are you talking abt the BTO flats? For us, the idea of new will be those from HDB. Our family is in Woodlands. And since our workplace will be in the north-west for the next few years, so we're considering flats released in Woodlands. I understand that Woodlands is a super unpopular area, so hopefully we have better chance of getting a flat here. *fingers crossed*

Money is a concern too...we're thinking of jus getting the basic reno done....then slowly do up the rest of the house as we save....so I think only the living room, kitchen and one bedroom and toilets will be presentable...the rest of the rooms have to be locked when guests come over :p

Nelle,
What's your etimate for the cost of your flat reno?

blinktulip

Hey all, I've gotten keys to my new house today! So happy n excited
It's an exec mansionette near lakeside mrt..we were lucky to get it during the Oct Bimonthly. hey to those who r aiming for West areas, try ur luck at Feb n Apr 08 Bimonthly yah..next Mon 10/12 will b the hougang ones...

Would like to recommend My Bridal Room as BS too..they reali go e extra mile for customers.thumbs up!

bunnyhop

yaya love xiao long bao...
Tink u will love 'more than xiao long bao' when u talk abt food in Spore... I think tulips r nice...oso saw some flower ball kinda stuff in some florist websites...really cute! (",)
Oki, will do wat u suggest... Martha Stewart website...hmm how 2 get there? Jus type e name n do a Google search? Does it hav a specific website?
Thanz! Let me noe if u keen 2 meet @ Sattine...pretty gals oso can meet each other leh... ("o)

itipit

blinktulip,

congrats... You are so lucky to get your house. Like so many others, I'm having big headache about not being able to get a place. Guess will have to stay separately until we find a nest of our own cos both our families doesn't have extra room for us.

Esther, you with Julia too? Who's your coordinator? I heard fr my friend who's in the bridal industry tt Julia's photographer is v "dao". And also there was and incident that they lost a couple's negatives for pre wedding shoot. Have you heard about that?

I forgot to ask for "simpler" gowns to try. Do you think they have that kind of "simpler style?

BTW, any teochew brides out there? =)

berry_egg

Hi JJ,

we are sharing the same coordinator and designer at Di Gio.....really coincidence man. how's your WG design coming along?

plasterbride

Hi gals, Jac & Liting...I read your posts...
maybe getting started on a checklist will help ? I bought a wedding planner journal book from KALM that day, it really helps. there are a section whereby they guide you on the things to do for wedding, by month, down to weeks nearer to your wedding.
just sharing my 2cents worth.

I have drawn up a time schedule for myself, because like all of you mentioned, there are tons and tons of things to do, especially I will be doing my flat renovation next year too, and with wedding prep. & also likely change of job, i expect myself & FH to be stress. **STRESS** = ** high chances to quarrel ~we don't want that to happen !! ** so we draw up a timeline, so that we will know what to do first and be on track etc.
if you gals like, i can share the time schedule with you all.
just email me at [email protected]

hi luvz17 & Ann
my FH & I also wanted 7 Dec 2008 too at first, it was an auspicious date, and following day is a public holiday, so super hot date. We went to almost all the 4-5 stars hotel, all fully booked confirmed booking liaoz, including even business hotel like trader hotel. maybe you can try Amara Sentosa or Rasa Sentosa (last month we enquire, they are still vacant, not sure now, but i feel their management & service not so good, but it is up to individual again, maybe just make sure you get all black & white in contract.

anyway, in the end, we change our wedding date to 12 Dec 2008. our parents object it at first, but we consult a Shifu, he tell us this date is also ok & suitable for us. So we change and convince parents by telling them, 7 Dec 2008 long weekend, wait all the guests go overseas trip, no one attend our wedding, *faint* and hotels all booked, luckily they are ok...or else we really faint. :p

sooch

hi koyoyo

thanks, was here before just that not so active :p it's more for the big day. last facial was abt 2 months ago, just wondering if there's a better facial place that you guys can recommend, thanks!

~sblbee~

hi lynn,
welcome again! im trying to stick to my normal regime to have a facial every mth, stopped for 2-3 mths due to my teeth prob, hopefully wont b dat jiatlat, have to buck up towards my AD :p

chunchun,
hehe....thanks, i have tried to apply for BTO at compassvale but i think i'll apply d WIS in dec
hopefully i can get a unit near to compasspoint n d mrt station

koyoyo,
yah it was really great to hear dat u had a wonderful experience at belinda's, she's always my top choice when it comes to evening shoes....i simply fell in luv wif her shoes when i saw d feature in hdb tai-tai :p was telling myself dat i'll get my wedding heels frm her if im getting married (dat time when i 1st got to know my fh)
i think i better grab a few pairs in case those i fancy r no longer available :p it's always fun to go shopping n eating wif u...wah, we alrdy met up twice tis week liao, hehe....ok, i make arrangement den we go n meet belinda again :p

sue,
aiyo, no need lah...dun go to slimming centre lah, u r alrdy so slim....no excess place for u to slim down liao....must have some butt/bottom to carry off some gowns, else not nice if there's no shape :p

tinkybell,
when will u b going for u gown selection? when will u b going to loe and behold? i shd b going after 20th ba...

pipi,
wat size r u wearing? how come no more stock? when will d new stock arrive?

mrs kel,
so envy....it's so cool to have an attic room, always my dream to live in one...so fun...mayb u can start to start at home n deco magazines for ideas...even can browse at ikea magazines, no need to spend too much $ if it's only temp but of cos must make sure it's mei-mei so it'll look nice in d wedding pics

snowypooh,
if i didnt remember wrongly, koyoyo mentioned dat d shoes is abt d same price as d one u mentioned...

crayongal

hehs... JJ .. thanks for dat info!
keke
we're not so superstitious or pan-dan.. but now, dat we noe 26th Jul is an auspicious date.. we won't get the folks 'grumbling' abt anythg. keke =P

~sblbee~

cordie,
yah lor, i cannot afford to wait alrdy else have to slp in my ultra small bedroom, but if we hurry den anyhow find oso no gd....so trapped :p oso gd lah, come to think of it, by waiting we can save more $ on reno cos wedding is gona burn a big hole in our pockets, not to mention reno, at least need abt $30K for d basic reno...sigh

nelle,
u r so cute....i havent tot of dat but luckily im not into those lacey stuff, so it's pretty much d same for me if we stay temp at my mum's, hehe...juz wondering if my fh will feel strange abt hanging his undergarments at my place or not? :p

jac,
yah i agree d 1st few dat u quote is more high-end, if u go for PMB den it's a lot cheaper...how much u intend to spend on ur MTM WG...cos it's ok to take up MTM if u want a simple WG but if u need to get an elaborated WG den u'll have to ask d price of top-ups to get ur ideal WG...i was quoted many ++, so i decided to get a OTR instead of MTM :p
my colleague signed up wif Silhouette, he showed me pics of his fiancee's gown in his hp, it's a replica of vera wang's design n she's gushing non-stop abt it...d bride dat i know oso took up a package there n her WG can b wore in many different ways

nec,
do keep us updated of ur hotel venue search...wah, many ppl r looking for hotels, my jc fren is oso looking for hotels as her AD will b d same mth as u...she's looking at MM

~sblbee~

jac,
for me, i think i couldnt get my reno done in time if i get d keys to my flat a few mths later...den additional headache if everything is done at d same time, den i oso lacked vitamin M :p if u looking for new flat, den easier to reno if not, buy a resale dat u like d reno but no need to spend time n $ on reno :p

nec,
i need a donation fund to my wedding too

nelle,
true....u r rite on dat

liting,
sigh....i doubt i can spend my time, energy n $ to deal wif my hse reno nxt yr...so have to put on hold 1st :p

baipipi

hi meiling, i wear size 6 or 7. no stocks liao so no choice, need to start my shoe shopping all over again. belinda mentioned new designs coming in on 20th but no mention of whether the old designs will be restocked.