(2008) Brides of year 2008

hoitytoity

hi nec,
can i ask u how many poses did yr JB BS throw in? and for the albums, can you choose diff poses for both? cos' i signed up with a JB BS and they only gave 30 poses and both albums will have the same pix but diff design.

sooch

hi ladies, any of you know of a good place for facial and a good facialist (if there's such a word). Is three months before the wedding a good time to start going say, fortnightly? I've got sensitive skin so I'm scared of trying just any place for facial. My skin is also not in the best condition. Any?

wendily

GND,

I was quoted 4 piece band, 1 x 45 mins for $1000 leh. Quite ex hor?

Where do u all get your cakes from? Just normal cake shop?

stnov

ashley...if im not wrong...she's the same sandy who did my ROM mu 4 years back.....by the way how's ur food tasting thingy?

princessjj

I've picked the AD on 20 Sep, but now looking frantically for venue, as it seems like most has already been booked.

Just decided on BS, day before, its Julia, and I really like their gowns and services.

gingerbread_gal

Thanks for the advices!
MTM seems to be quite a hassle. Cos what I thot is when they come up with the sketch of the MTM gown, it should have already included the embroidery/ lace etc. So this is not the case?
I prefer clean cut gowns so probably will be going for satin gowns.

gingerbread_gal

Hi Nec,
The BS you went to in JB, were they recommended by friends/relatives or did you go there and recce yourself?

I stay in Woodlands, so going to JB shouldn't be a problem. Jus that I didn't hear about any good reviews abt an BS there and security seems to be a problem.

gingerbread_gal

Liting,
*wave*

I'm wondering if its a common practice for jie meis to wear wrist bands and common attire?

Seems like there are so many things to be done which i'm not aware of *stress*

Also, I'm quite worried about getting things done or buying them too early. Cos I'm worried that I will forget where i placed certain things etc....so also don't know when to start buying things like wedding bands...oh no, things will be worse next year *panicking*

chun_chun

meiling, yeah! good luck there!

snowypooh, you got sembawang? i'm staying at SBW now! which area? i got my new flat at Seng Kang. Also bought resale too.. oh, meiling, if you dun mind can try SK... think there will be quite a few release of new flats there..

ocean_blue

Hi hoitytoity,

Thanks! Congrats to you too! We are still looking at venues. What about you? Have you signed up with any BS as well?

hoitytoity

TY Oceanblue. yup. i booked my hotel like one yr in advance cos most of my married frens adviced me to book early due to availability. i signed up with a BS in JB. but at the same time i also rented an EG with My Bridal Rooms in S'pore cos they had a gown that my FH simply loved and wanted me to wear. :D.

if you are game to try JB BS, i can intro mine to u cos i think their backdrops for indoor shots are really unique n nice. i will be choosing my gowns this Sun, so if u wan i can let u see a few samples

witch

Sandy was my ROM MUA too

Albert called to apologise and we have rescheduled the food tasting to 2 weeks later. Have you done yours?

necrosis

yeah, heard good reviews abt MBR also...

er...there are quite a few threads on several JB BS.
so actually, it's not recommended by my relatives, rather, by other forummers.

so far, service was very good when i went to sign up...(naturally, haha)
but all the reviews of my coordinator have been very good

anyway, i and a gal fren spent 2 days recc-ing the taman sentosa area (more than 10) and city square (4 BS there)...we didnt really discuss packages in detail, (altho some pressed us to sign there and then and give very good discount for 2 couples, but of cos need hubby to see first mah)
we tried gowns, talked and see photos..
eliminated many that didnt meet our expectations based on gowns and photos...
some actually allow you buy back all the photos, unedited, for a lump sum, like 1.5kRM or something..then niang jia ben with diff poses (edited 20-30 poses) is additional 800RM ...
so all these are very good compared to the carrot chopping some singapore BS carry out...but they all have to make a living lah.

except for AD stuff lor.

MTM you really make a one of a kind gown...
sometimes the shop already has very gorgeous gowns, off the rack (OTR), no need to MTM liao..
i went to sophia wedding in tanjong pagar (yes, i also checked out SG BS) and found gowns i really liked there, OTR!
but their package started from abt SGD 4K +.
then comes with standard 30 poses (Or something!?)
i can imagine if we bargain to 40 poses (that's a lot for a package in SG), we'd still need to top up 10-20 photos...that's extra $650-1k+.
out of budget liao lor... sigh...but their gowns very nice!!

oh, fyi, for an albumn similar to the samples on display in most BS, req abt 50-60 poses.
so that's my basis for calculations.
(why they show us nice nice samples, and dont deliver the same in the package????)

ryu

Hi Jac,
Guess during the designing stage you should double check with the designer if what has been drawn requires any top up or not

my BS is reasonably priced too ;) have a look around and see what style you like

pearlybling79

Hi hi..
sorry that I had been MIA. Too much of wedding stuff..cannot stand it liaoz.
Hehee hi princess, think Julia will be busy with both of us..mine is on 13th sept so next week, they will be busy for you liao!!If Dor joined us..it will be hectic ya..good business for them..hopefully, we will be in good hands.
I haven think of place to stay..as my fiance's parents place is selling off..but the money is not for us. So we want to settle the both elderly ones. And my parents are moving out to punggol..so more or less..we just take things slow. Not planning for kids yet though..i love babies but not children..they drive me crazy.haha..so told bf 2 yrs to live our lives out, earn whatever we can, save as much as we can, then have kids. don want to be an old woman then still gotta chase baby ya.

cheers:p

pearlybling79

Btw, my ad photographer not FOC..he was pre booked by someone else..sad sad..so am going to look for photographer still for actual day..
Can I ask you ladies, what time are you gals staring on the AD? My plan was (A)my fiance come around 9am..the sisters will drag him abit, then we ll go over to his place..then do tea ceremony, then my place tea cermony, then church at 1230? Buffet at abt 1330.Is it too late?Dinner at 7pm. Timing ok? Or(B) He pick me up at 1030, we go church at 1130, then proceed to lunch buffet at 1300 then tea ceremony for both family at 1430?Then dinner at 7pm.? Bearing in mind, its a saturday, and dunno our relatives can wait that long for tea ceremony. But good thing is that they no need to rush to my place early. So I m kinda stuck.
How ah?

Cheers:p

stnov

dats good then....we have kinda decided not to have food tasting due to several reasons & tis oso spark off an uncalled for 'argument' wif him....u shd have read abt it in my multiply...=)

l3x

me new to this thread here but i'm holding my dinner in Nov 08. I jus bought my flat, jus booked my banquet and signed up with my BS a year and half ago.

Lin

koyoyo

hi lynn
Welcome to OCt thread? Are you looking for long term facial or just facial in preparation of your Big Day? If it the latter, when the last time u did have a facial. The reason for asking if bcos it is indeed true that regular facial 2 month or 3 months before the big day help but if the last facial was like a year ago then i suggest u go for a facial say 4th mth b4 ur big day to make sure ur face can tahan the extraction process then as the day approach u can go for facial tiwce a month maybe for the last 2 month...

koyoyo

Just return from a trip to loe & behold. Belinda the lady is super friendly and nice consider i pay her a visit rather late. It rather a remote place and gosh i forget to bring cash even though i was reminded .. luckily my fh did , that save me a trip really cant resist buying with such friendly service and boy she like walking encyclopedia on marriage affairs... It overall a funny experience to buy shoes from her.. Make feel like buying more shoes from her... New stock coming in 20 Dec and i already fell in love with one of the model so any of u need kakhi ask me along.. btw, it really remote so try get a friend to accompany.. however surprisingly there are a lot of cabs.

dol39481

Hi gals, thank you so much for your replies.

My date is presently fixed on 13Jul08. I'm still considering whether to stick to it or change it.

Your replies will be helpful in my decision. Thanks again hor.

l3x

me a 28 Nov 08 bride. Got my flat, booked my AD and BS already but have not gone into any details yet.

Lin

girl_next_door

wendily,

that kinda ex wor... Hmm... Maybe vocalist cost cheaper cos they dont hv to rent the equipment? I hv only 2 piece - sax and keyboard + 1 singer.

I think if you r really keen in engaging a band, probably u can discuss with them about yr budget concern? And do check out other band for comparison wor, mayb will be able to get a better deal

baipipi

hi koyoyo, which design did you buy and what size?

where exactly is the place coz when i talked to her, she didn't tell me the venue since my sizes were out of stock

crayongal

haha...... hey JJ... same date as us.
hmmm.. seems the 26th is also a hot date ???
anyone noes if the date is good in the lunar calendar/almanac or smthg.. ? coz i din chk. keke =P

koyoyo

hey pipi,
I bought rebbecca ivory color.. it nice n belinda was telling me how to add on to it with a rose but i need to get some ribbon for it.. Her hse is far n remote .. i heard ppls say that ministers live in those areas.. like HK "shan ding" residence hehehe.. if u interesteed i will PM u.. not nice to reveal on forum it afterall her residence..

cordie

eh...think i quite slow here...i have not even sign the BS yet...hmm..ryu...thks ah...i didnt know MTM has top ups de...think i ask properly also....

hapimint

Jac, dun panick so fast... haha.....

I am quite relaxed mode even though my ROM is next month... as if.... now trying to slowly give out the wedding cards only.... faintz.....

As for the AD in Dec 08, trying not to think about it yet....

Worse, I still got renovation to consider about next year.... sheez.....

Hmm... I think it is a common practise to specify the colour scheme for the jie mei and also prepare wrist corsages for them?

That is what my sister did during her wedding

gingerbread_gal

Thanks for sharing tips with me on the BS.

Flora BLiss,
Yeah, we'll be going down to MBR to take a look too.

Hey nec,
now that you mentioned it, I realise my confusion was further worsened by the albums on display in PS whereby there are so many poses. So I had thought that there will be at least that many poases in the album that we'll be having and hence didn't understand why the need for top-up. Now I know better!

My friend is having Sophia wedding as her BS. I agree that the package is really expensive and the top up cost an additional 2k. I went there before with my friend, somehow didn't quite like the gowns there. Probably also becos did not take a closer look at the gowns they have.

Anyone here signed up with Silhouette? or have friends who did?

hapimint

I did think about going to BS in JB.... but my SO totally disagree... he says that security is bad there...

In the end, we took 2 packages. One in China. for SGD800 and one in Singapore.... the normal one...

I wanted to go al carte after the china one as it turns out quite well... the whole effect....in the album... we were quite happy mar....

But my SO lazy lar... wanted to take a package in Singapore so that he doesnt need to think and prepare things... haha....

gingerbread_gal

Hi Liting and Meiling,
Was reading some older posts regarding the flat. You gals mentioned that its not advisable to get a new flat before your AD since its less than a year? May I ask why not and what are the considerations?

Cos we're thinking of getting a new HDB flat so that after our AD, can move in. WE thought that with a new flat, renovation could be an easier job than renovating resale flats whereby we most prob will remove the furniture which we don't like. And also, with new HDB flats, can get the flat within 2-3 months right (for those already built)?

ocean_blue

We were exploring the idea of getting a BS at JB after one of my friends used 1 of the BS there and it was sooo affordable! But, the hassle of going in and out of JB, etc, put us off. So, we signed up with a BS here lor. But, yes, I still want to see some pix! hee...
Which Hotel did u book? As my number of guests is small (about 130-150pax) and we have a budget yet we want to have a big space, alittle difficult to find lor. I just wonder of the BOWS event will have anything to offer. Hmm... Are u going?

mage

stnov, we actually didn't want cake but my aunt says no cake not like GDL and wedding. So we asked for 4 boxes but MIL say 4 not good number so increase to 6 boxes lor.

Ashley, the website of Sandy Ho that you posted is missing a .sg

snowypooh

Hi Koyoyo, how much u got the shoe for? I'd seen similar designs in Pedal Works but are with crystals instead of the pearls & it's going for S$99.

babyfifi

I find that Angel's makeup for younger people is ok. But for older ones, seems to look abit unnatural & abit too thick.

Yah and muz cover her taxi fare too. And she never even ask abt time. So I worried that she book many people then anyhow schedule.

And what cabbage say is true. She expect you to read her blog.

--

My side asking for about 20 cakes (& vouchers) for GDL.