(2008) Brides of year 2008

gingerbread_gal

Hi nec,
See if you can manage to get appt with the co-ordinators for the weekend. Normally, they will be tied up. In that case, can just go to the hotel to get a 'feel' of the place.
I agree with Flora Bliss that some ballrooms might be locked up.

So exciting....i'm going BS hunting!

~sblbee~

hi cordie,
sigh...dat's y i was worried when i heard abt d price, so better apply other places in case d price is rocket high n i cant afford :p wait have to wait again...cant afford to play d waiting game :p

flora_bliss,
i think 20% downpayment can b made frm cpf...not too sure abt d 5% option fee, i heard need to pay $2K in cash (duno for wat :p)....

hi nec,
gd luck for ur hotel hunting! which hotels r on ur hunted list....hehe, do keep us updated of ur outcome ok?
for me, i usually based on my criteria, chose a few hotels n den go down to recee n den if i like, i'll make appt :p

pinkyting

Hi Meiling,

One of my friend face the same problem like you, so no choice the hubby hv to stay at her hse for a while b4 the hse is ready loh.. but of coz ur hse if got enough space den can la.. rite? all problems can be solve wan, there will be a solution for everything wan...

Hi Cordie,

Ya loh.. i oso hv the same thoughts as u.. if hubby not going home den i go back to my mum's hse or meet up with friends.. but hor, she sure angry that nvr go home and help her hor.. OMG!! wat to do huh? keke... if not both of us can meet up for chat hor since we dt like to go home.. haha...

Hi Flora Bliss,

From wat i know is 5% option fee is cash, 20% downpayment is from ur CPF loh... usually they will wipe out everything in both u and hubby CPF la...

Hi Nec,

I think by now u will know wat hotel u wan rite? based on ur budget and ur dream wedding.. my thougths is juz make appt with coordinator to get the best perks they can give and juz block the date u wan loh... Or u make call to all the hotels and ask is ur date still available, if yes den make appt with them loh.. That time i oso make a call to check date available anot den make appt loh.. I dt think u can juz see see 1st b4 u book liao.. time is running out for u leh.. U see which way is better for u loh..

ling27

apple_gal.. to think it was sunny and hot on Mon and Tues! Never thought it would rain on Wed.. arrrgh...

hi ladies.. as quite a number of us are having PS these two months, it's better to have some backup plan in case it rains on your PS.. have a few sheltered places in mind.. especially if your BS charges for postponement of outdoor PS.. Last words.. good luck to everyone!! Pray hard!!

~sblbee~

hi liting,
yah lor, i think i'll have to do d same thing as ur fren until i get a flat, luckily my home is big enuff...but hor, juz dat cannot squeeze in a queen size bed as i chose d smallest rm in d past :p so no need to an chuang lor

princess_sue

hi mal... ya... paragon is the biggest for aussino lovers. they hve almost everything there.. i got my wedding bedsheets there too.. :p mine is the pink embroidery.. with a cartoon bride and groom in the hot air balloon.. really cute. and the veil of the bride is like 3d lor.. so cute.. hopefully i dun hand itchy go and pull it out. hehe

~sblbee~

sue,
u got d same set of wedding bedsheets as my cousin, she was using it for her wedding tis yr n i found it so cute
how much is a set of bedsheets frm aussino on d average? wah....nxt time must ask u along if i wana buy

witch

Madame Butterfly has very nice cheongsams and oriental-styled clothes. I like the outlet at Takashimaya level 1 and it will be the 1st stop for me to bring my mum to.

nelle

Have been really busy over work lately so didn't come in here.

Jac, I think you ask me about what to do at 1st appt at HDB. It's where the buyer & seller meet and sign many docs, and also the HDB will assess your financial status and show you how much will be deducted from your account as well as what to pay etc. The 2nd appt is likely to come after 1 or 2 months after the 1st appt.

MeilinG, yes, I have extreme personality sometimes. I can very determined till I 'kill' everyone off or so chin chai till I blend into the wall. hahaha....

Also meeting up with many photographers and MUA lately.

princess_sue

hi mei... no prob! hehe .. i always buy during sales period.. so i pay about 30 for quilt cover and bedsheet. ( S single) ... when they have sales its really worth it.. their bedsheets can be like 9.90 nett for all sizes and the quilt cover.. like 12.9-.19.90 from single to king.. so its really a good buy.

cordie

Hi meiling
yah lor.. htb also say we look at others, if find one we like than forsake amk dbss.. no choice... if not dunno wait till when and dunno if will have friction to have so 2 daughter-in-laws under 1 roof...hee

hi liting..
sure thing...if both of us really have to stay with in-laws then we meet up lor...til hubby goes home..or like u said go mum's place..we 2 very bad...hahaha...anyway, i will wash my own clothes and clean my own room, so she cant complain abt me much...besides...now is new era le...daughter-in-law not equal to maid....

cordie

hi meiling...
my htb rm also very small leh... but will try sqeeze in at least queen size, if not he sleep on the floor also can hahaha...he too long...hahaha

nelle

one thing about staying with parents is, I don't know how I am gg to deal with my private stuff. Imagine looking at your parents/siblings straight in the eye when they are watching you hanging up the frilly/lacey undergarments which you have bought to, um, 'enjoy' with your partner. hahaha....

koyoyo

yo sue do u have picture of that bedsheet.. it sound wonderful
hey mal,
I saw some nice platform satin shoe from salvatore ferragamo on female bride.. very pretty

maple_leaves

Ooo i see, thks for the clarifications...

By the way, BOWS 2008 will be starting next mth so perhaps can also go n see see what package the BS are offering... Heard that the package for these type of exhibition are much better than if you walk into the BS itself...

girl_next_door

wendily,

sorry for the late reply. Got no time to log in here for the past few days.

Have you already checked out other available band?

Replying to your email - They charge me $900 for 2 x 45mins performance for a 3 piece band. Did you ask them how many piece is the $1000 quote for?

I tell them outright when I email them that I am on a very tight budget thus he quote me a 3 piece band immediately. For the norm, it should have been a 5 piece band and $1k is a reasonable price as the other cheapest 5 piece I found was $1250.

Probably you can discuss with them, ask them whether they can give you a discount since you are also on budget like me?

samanthaquekys

so many posts in just 2 days.

thanks for all the advice on bedframe n mattress.
i'm planning to go shoe shopping too! but only after i confirm my gowns. at least in jan.. still a long time away. keep me informed abt any shoe shopping k? =)

and i didn't know aussino can be that cheap. i always see the king sheets on sale at 50+ or 80+.
anyway i just bought a simple silk and cotton quilt set from BHG tampines. 130+. and they gave me 2 free pillows. but we start buying stuff now where to keep them?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Nelle,
Thanks for the info on the first meeting. Most probably, we'll be getting new flats from Hdb, so no need for meeting with sellers.

Hi Meiling,
from word of mouth and from the magazines, I have short-listed a few like Silhouette, Blush Blush, Margarte Brides, Precious Moment Bridal. The first few seems to be quite high-end type...so guess will depend on the service when we're down there...Don't want to spend too much on BS, mainly cos I only need WG and dun need EG, so was hoping can save some $$$ based on that. Any advice here?

So wanna check with you gals, MTM WG means the WG will be designed based on what you want?

One other thing I'm concerned with is some of the higher end BS don't provide the PS. So in that case, it means that we have to source for PG for PS right? Then will the BS allow us to get more gowns for PS and how many times we can get the WG out for PS?

I suppose these questions would be better answered by the BS, but I'm so impatient...any help here?

mage

sleepycat, I note that we share the same AD, 19 Jan 08 ah... may i know what time you book Angel? Cause I booked her at 9am to do my mum's makeup. Just checking to see if she got double book or not. I'm quoted $60 for 1 to 3 pax plus $20 transport.

I just finished my GDL discussion last night. Quite smooth and most stuff represented by AP except for oranges, liquour, 6 boxes of cakes, 2 pair dragon phoenix candles and a 12 page / fold invitation. My aunt say can go few days before my GDL to buy will do. Phew! 1 item down!

piggytinky

I have left :-
1)Confirmed guest list
2)Choosing WG ,EG, car decor & bouquet for actual day
3)songlists for dinner
4)confirmation of helpers/jiemeis
5)guo da li things to buy
6)intend to do corsages for jiemeis myself

yah... we almost all there.

2months to give out invitations? i havent done my inserts yet...
how do u all feel now? I'm feeling alittle stress already, like alot have to be done, and i never seem to get them done...

meiloc20

Hi JJ/nehoc,
Its been quite some time since i last log in to this thread...I'm updating my photographer bobman to the list below, will be using bobman as my AD photography, had gone through some of his work, think its not bad.
The package he offers has lots of attractive complementary services, u might want to check him out:>

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / No BS
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 & 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

What I dont like is she actually expected you to read up her blog every now again to check on her prices lo. I mean, she shld have the courtesy to inform those clients whom she has confirmed & not juz increase quietly & expect you to find out herself. I only got to know her change in price when another bride (muddpie) from this forum told me. She was also tinkin of engaging her but in the end, gave up coz of her attitude.

Not only does she increases her prices, she now charges additional for transportation too. Wah liao... so last min. I really dont know what to do. Tot I had at least settled my search for that. In the end, gotta do some more findings.

Help!!!! Arrgh.....

necrosis

hi jac,

MTM means you can get a few magazine/internet photos and discuss with your designer what you like...
then the designer will draw a few designs for you, incorporating your ideas and any suggestions he/she may make....cos sometimes they know what's more suitable...

oh girls...this weekend, we'll just hop around and look look see see ballrooms within the number of tables....if make appt w coordinators, each will take so long.. :p
we;ll just look first..
then shortlist from there lor..
i think quite rush, maybe not much choices left for my hotel humt.. :p

icyxiaozhu

PinkyBTB, I didn't know abt the more than $3k cannot buy 3rms flat.. well.. hard to decide right.. market crazy also =/ i also sian.. wait for 4-5rooms in Jurong till neck longggggg..

ryu

Hi Irene,
Welcome to the thread what type of gowns are you looking for? The BS i signed up with is more into fantasy style..

I'm not looking for a place yet... will do so later as most prob moving out of country after getting married.....

stnov

thank kymmie for sharing....have not realli got down to check wif mum to see wat outfit she like to have.....=)

ryu

Hi Jac,
When choosing MTM package remember to ask BS to show you how a MTM gown without any top ups look like. This will give you a rough guide as to how much lace, embroidery you can have on the gown. If you require more lace or embroidery, ask BS to show you a gown that has top ups so that you get a rough idea whether your dream gown is within your budget

stnov

mage....ur GDL is onli having 6 boxes of cakes....mine is abt 35 boxes...fainted!! mum say for close relatives we have to send 2 boxes each....explaining why d surge in total number of boxes......

ryu

Hi Liting,
I got some wrist bands from a store in bugis for my jie meis. It's one of those push carts, found the flower and design not bad so just bought them. Last time i checked the push cart still there if you wanna check them out

lovebytemi

HAHA mine is requesting for 38 boxes of cake cos after that must return cake also. So keep 30 return 8.... i was like HUH so many cake for ah??

As for angel prices, i was quoted $40 just for her cab fare which is rather ridiculous i must say

necrosis

oh yeah...
i took an MTM WG package in JB...
costs total abt 3k SGD ah..
included lots of poses and 2 big albums...

of course, quite a hassle travelling to and fro but for the cost....
oh, no AD MUA/car/PG/VG provided tho...another headache...

simplyserene

Hi JJ, I recommended Snapxot because one of the photographer (Andrew) is my friend. Having known him for a no of yrs, I've seen his skills improved over the years. In fact, he's one of the finalists presently for the photo competition for the Singapore Flyer. The price list is at www.snapxot.com. Drop them an email and you can ask to see either Austin/Andrew's portfolio

simplyserene

Btw JJ, if you speak with Andrew, tell him it's Serene who recommended. Updating JJ's details:

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / No BS
Piggypang - 06 July 2008 /Marina Mandarin / Whitelink
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design /Bobman Photography/ Candy Cake Shop (3 tier cake)
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 & 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Plushphotography[ROM]Oneeyeclick[AD]
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB) / Snapxot Photography
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J&M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House & Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
JJ - 26 July 2008 / M Hotel / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

princess_sue

hi koyoyo.. ok. when i go to my bf house i shall take a pic of the picture.. then show you.. hahaha..

hi mrs kel.. ya it is tt cheap during sales.. tt is why it is really worth the buy.

sealy_me

Is it too early to give out the invitation on CNY? And heard that some ppl some pple dun like to receive the "red bomb" during CNY. How true is this?

bunnyhop

I happened 2 engage 1 florist (frm e forum) 4 my church wedding deco. W a budget of 1-1.5k, she has given me a reasonable proposal of wat 2 expect.
My colour theme is purple + yellow. Not sure if itz nicer or i shld hav purple flowers (tulips/orchids/roses?) with yellow babybreaths and using white organza 2 complete e look?
Oso, yet 2 find out frm e hotel florist arrangement...heard frm my florist tat she oso did her own banquet floral arrangement cos hotel tends 2 give qite std arrangement. True?
If so, i don mind using certain flower pieces in church deco as entrance pieces 4 e banquet. Perhaps in e evening, yellow (champagne?) wld take precedence so it looks more glam ma... brightens up e function room...whereas purple flowers will b interspersed ard e area...

Mayb some kind souls here can enlighten me...thanz!
Im ok w e stuff she has drawn out based on tat price but personally, i wan 2 check out more b4 committing 2 1.

witch

The cheapest MUA so far that I know is Sandy Ho. She charges $65 per her website www.makingfaceX.com. Replace X with s.

Please share with us if anyone knows of any MUAs that charges less than $70.

bunnyhop

Hi love xiao long bao...read frm ur earlier threads abt Sattine...
If u oredi hav ur MUA, perhaps u can highlight this n see wat they can replace w... Oso if u see anything u like, feel free 2 let them noe. I presume u hav not paid them fully yet ah? (",) Then u can hav a stronger negotiating voice.

apple_gal

Hi, Selina

Weather is unpredictable... I think yesterday all around the world, the weather start to turn cold. Some places having heavy snow. Or even flood & landslides...