(2008) Brides of year 2008

poopa

so far these are some of the things not done..

1) printing of inserts
2) Guest List (80% done)
3) AD prog
4) Brothers and Jiemeis' duties
5) Photo Montage
6) Food Tasting
7) Purchase of GDL items
8) packing of my room..
9) Things for AD and honeymoon

mine also not short... wan to faint already..

ryu

Hi Dor,
I'm having tea ceremony, ROM and lunch on the same day 14th sept ;O) shouldn't be a problem.
ROM followed by lunch then tea ceremony or if time allows ROM, tea ceremony then lunch.

mage

whiteswan, photo montage to show during the reception. Most restaurant and hotels only provide you with the cards but not the inserts. Inserts you have to have it printed on your own.

Yikes, I forgot the GDL stuff as well as my hubby's suit! haha! More to add on to my list!

sleepycat1

whiteswan, it is up to individual if you want photo montage. In my case, I dun have much space in the church and restaurant to put up screen and photo montage so I am doing away with it. 1 less thing to do also...haha...

necrosis

mmm...i know M hotel is having their open house this weekend...and i dont think i can just sign up with them after looking at only 1 wedding show leh..
havent been to other hotels...

apart from that, dont know of other wedding shows..
oh, of course there's BOWS in jan 08.
do you gals think that will be too late to book then?

what are the things to look out for when searching for venue?

i've done the BS search thingy, so i can feedback on that if anyone has any queries..

goukisg

Should be able to do so. One of my friend just did it. gate crash+tea+rom+lunch.

I think if you are able to book a function room for tea ceremony+rom, things will move faster. i intended to do that too.

vysweetapple

Hi serlz,

We will start looking for PG & VG this weekend as bf will be back on Friday finally. Hopefully can settle on one fast fast. My bridal shop seem very busy, they can only offer me a another date for gown selection on end Nov '07. We will start to reno our house in early Dec as well as photo shoot.

But mummy say i am too relax for a March bride-to-be, making me very worried.

renel

Hi goukisg,

$2,700 sounds ok..considering u get to keep 2. Can I ask if u MTM according to what they already have OTR and u did abit of customising or u gave them a totally new design to make from scratch?

d0lphin

mentos: same here! But have u choose your gowns yet? will it be MTM or OTR? My designer said it takes 3 mths to MTM a gown so I m still very early..

goukisg

hi reneL,

It will be from scratch. Buy bridal mag and show them what you want. They will advise if it is suitable for you. Eg. plump, short legs, etc. Basically they will design a gown that suits your body shape.

The things is.... they dont have OTR for you to try. Its a leap of faith to believe what they suggest is good for you.

I believe MTM from them is better than bridal shops(hope so...) since they are tailors and do repeat customers for gowns. They are not pushy, so its good to go there and talk to them and judge for yourself.

skyea

Hi ladies!

Hi Zen, my PS will only be in Feb. It's quite late compared to the rest of the girls here. Hehe. Will be going for my gown fitting in Dec and i keep eating too. Lol.

Hi valerie,
Ya man, definitely have to get someone to watch over the dog. Hehe. If not he will run wild. Btw, the pet farm sounds interesting le.

Hi xinyi,
I agree! Didn't want to wake up this morning. Haha.

~sblbee~

melody,
dun worry, at least u only have a tummy to get rid of, for me, my arms, waist, tummy, hips n thighs all problematic...den when i look at my fleshy back in d mirror, sigh....i cant wear those sexy low-back EG cos i got nothing to flaunt even at d back :p

tinkybell,
i agree wif wat u say, whenever i feel demoralised, i'll ask my fh if im pretty, haha...

sue,
i think perhaps i'll go on a cruise to experience after my wedding cos cant afford to put on extra weight when im alrdy gaining kgs by d day, wonder when will i start to face reality to make an appt for my 1st fitting :p

gingerbread_gal

Hi Nec,
What's your budget for the wedding reception?

I didn't go for any wedding shows. We went to selected hotels (before that, we had emailed the hotels asking for their package). For us, we were more particular about the ambience of the place as well as the co-ordinator, whom we think its impt that we can communicate with them. I think for hotels, see if there's waiver of corkage charge, what are the flower arrangements included in the package, complimentary parking, changing of items in menu, deposit payment, cancellation policy, video projectors availability etc

I think, its better you don't wait until Jan 08 to book esp if its going to be Dec wedding. From what I understand, Dec weddings are quite 'hot' and some hotels are rather full already. So do try to finalise your hotel asap.

Which BS have u looked at? I'm haven't started shopping for BS yet. I do know that I will be looking for clean cut gowns, most probably satin in material. Any idea which BS are good for the type of gowns I'm looking for?

melo_ddy

meiling

who says i only hv a tummy to get rid! i also have all the problems u listed haha. We are so similar & yet we are both too lazy to move. hehe

princessnono

Hi sleepycat1, she is excellent.. very pro..=D
would be better if u have a high chair your bridemaids to sit on when she does their makeup.. or ange's back will be very tired.. =D I prob going to use her again to do my bridemaid's too.

bunnyhop

http://www.greymatterphotography.com/
Hi parmida,
Check out Kuang's skills in PG...wow! breathtaking! No wonder even e PG i got in touch w has all praises 4 him...
Hmmm... u may wan 2 check out e thread under Wedding ROM/ Soleminization PG/VG.
U can locate e thread on Greymatter n read others' comments abt him...
Happy searching! (",)

girl_next_door

whiteswan,

The montage is something like slideshow using all your favourite photos (childhood, teenage life, adulthood and courtship etc...) and compile it into a simple story cum introduction about the couple. It really depends on individuals, whether they want to have the montage to entertain their guest.

As for my reno... Yupz.... We spent tons of $$$ to renovate.... Actually not me but my FH. I almost fainted when he told me how much. At this stage where our reno is almost completed, he has an estimated 'damage' of about $60k++. *Faintz*

vividz

I just went to my friend's BS yesterday. After that we signed with them, lazy to go around looking as mostly it's abt the same, since my friend tried before should be alrite, if got anything wrong at least can ask my friend to help me ask why, hee hee. Updated mine.

<font color="ff0000">Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&amp;J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
Praisey - 6 July 2008 / No venue / No BS
Sharon - 06 July 2008 / Marina Mandarin / White Link
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 &amp; 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) &amp; Marriott Hotel / Flamingo Bridal / Linn Kong Photography
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News /Oneeyeclick
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / J &amp; M
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House &amp; Marina Mandarin/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Flauntiq- 26 Jul'08/ No banquet / French Bridal
Stef - 26 &amp; 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room</font>

oh ya, a gathering will be great but I'm more of those quiet type, might not be talking much. =P

princess_sue

hey gals... dun be demoralised..... i signed up for AMORE but have yet to go for any .... which is worse... ! hahaha..

and u r both right, tummy, arms, thighs... sigh... when will we rid of those excess... i dun mind excess cash... but not FATS hahahaha

hapimint

Iwent for a few wedding shows but well, I heard that it is better to sign up during wedding shows...

More perks... hehe....Bows got more choices but well, running a risk that the hotel that you want may be booked....

koyoyo

hi all really long time since i last drop a line.. sportgal u mention the market rate for MUA is $500 are u sure
most of my fren pay around 120 to 180 for one hairdo n one makeup thus i was thinking around 280 for 2 makeup..
Meiling if u want 4 hairdo then most prob the whole dinner u will be MIA plsu it depend how many tables u have for AD dun forget the long tiring table to table toast that take up a lot of time.. and i am still tempted on extra EG...

sealy_me

Thanks for the advise elmo80.

Now praying hard that on my PS day will be good weather. (keeping fingers crossed)

Think I will be going to Botanic garden and Punggol park for PS. Seen some photos really nice there. hehe

Think outimately, is the bride and groom that needs to stands out and not the background. haha

koyoyo

hi xmasnowy (xmasnowy) welcome to this thread.
hear u are the only 10 oct bride.. think of it the positive way no need to worry that the PG , VG or mua that u want it been booked already.. n you will be that special bride of that day.. arent that great?

serlz

Hi June

Dun worry. Currently I am also very relax. Maybe Jan and Feb will be our most busiest time to do some shopping on wedding stuff, cards printing and planning the guest lists. Dun put too much pressure on urself and you be the most prettiest bride to be.

~sblbee~

sue,
aiyo, at least u bother to sign up courses, i gave up all my hope liao. i agree, but i always dun have excess cash, only excess fats :p

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
yah i guz i dun mind MIA cos i dun have much time to go ard tables to mingle anyway (35 tables)...hehe
i'll try to make it a quick change...im oso tempted on d extra EG too, hopefully i'll have enuff time to drop by ted collection wif my fh tis fri b4 i go n colour n cut my hair :p

xmasnowy,
yah, i agree wif koyoyo...being d odd one out oso has gota benefits so juz look on d positive side

lovebytemi

Wha after reading so many i realse that there is a lot of things to do still

I've actually designed my own E-invite, Church Invite and Dinner Cards. I did away with the hotel cards cos they were really ugly to me lah... don't even have the shuang xi at all man... Just wonder how much it is going to cost me to print ONLY my dinner cards.

So here is what is left for me
* House --> Curtains (this SAT!!)
* Church --> File for ROM
* Church --> Church Decorations
* Church --> Bridesmaids Dresses Confirmation
* Church --> MUA for Bridesmaids
* Dinner --> Montages (DIY)
* Dinner --> Guest List &amp; Sitting Arrangement
* Dinner --> VG
* Dinner --> Wedding Cards Invites
* Dinner --> MUA for Mothers

So many things so little time... sigh

uksportgal

koyoyo, AD is diff from ROM... if ROM yes.. it will be about 120-180.. For AD they will quote you more one... $500 upwards for sure... but that will be 1 morning make up plus hair do and 1 evening make up plus hair do... :p

blinktulip

Hi Lovey and Strawberri, i m also tinkg of fixing the 1st appt in Jan n PS in May/Jun, not sure if it's fine? Btw, any recommendations for MBR's MUA?

de_princess

Hey Sharon we share the same name and same venue too keke.

I guess a gathering will be fun... while we r still quite free fr wedding preps!

piggytinky

3 and half more months to go... what are the things we shd have done by now and what are the things to be done in the next 2-3 mths?

I've done my PS.. have not done the card printing (leaving it till next month)guests list out but not finalised... Are there any things a bride shd buy for her wedding? Me no clue...

necrosis

hi girls..

phew...in-laws-to-be have just left the country....now can relax a little..heehee... :p

jac,
you looking at singapore BS or JB BS...?
i pretty much went to both before deciding on JB....really more value for money lor.
and not just because of the exchange rate..
of cos, pros and cons for each.

in singapore,
for more clean cut gowns, can try jazz and bliss and vol@ns couture, MBR etc etc... most have leh..
but remember to bargain hor..
i sat and bargained for 3hrs and i got 90 poses in 2 albums, plus MTM WG full embriodery for 3k sgd (but in JB lah)

mmm...you guys have the hotel packages in softcopy can fwd to me please?
i'm leaving for a holiday next week..then when i return, will be christmas season (and have to clear backlog of work) so looks like hotel hunting is kinda minimal till jan.. *stress*

piggypang

realli....

yeah... but hor me super stress becos house coming also very scare cant get the flat haiz... dun wan to stay with in law after AD. also taking my degree quite stressful but i think its gonna be fun if all the BTBs are gonna to meet...