(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

hi polarwhite,
lucky u...*envy envy*

hi koyoyo,
true lor, we r fortunate to b able to get married :p i oso feel dat it's a blessing to rcv some financial help frm parents, i guz his parents wont b able to help liao, juz hope my mum wil "yi si yi si" :p
yah lor, my estimated table is oso at least 35 tables, smore close to $1k per table...shiong

hi tinkybell,
PJ it depends leh, if give more tables, 3-digit can liao abt $888, if less than 4-digit abt $1188, $1288, $1388, $1688, $1888, $2888, $3888 etc can go up to as many 8 n digit as possible. for me, we'll b giving 4-digit ba :p
oh it depends, for me i like to give AP or gift vouchers cos it's more practical, they can buy watever they like...some frens like to buy those baby gift set lor but the babies outgrow v fast, unless u wana get things like play mat etc, but u know lah, some ppl v fussy one, better let them choose n buy themselves :p

koyoyo

tinkybell,
are u close to the fren.? cos sometime it better to give AP. one more thg. A lot of mama fren told me there is this cloth look like indonesia batik but it super useful to carry BB it look simple but rather exp around 80++ (old mkt price) consider htat
any suggestion on how to tekkan HTB?

malchan

actually I sugguested to my mum that we will just give her a bigger pinjing and we'll pay for the banquet. Coz htb giving her 10 tables and she will pay another 10 tables. To me, its like an offset. Therefore, I suggested that we do away with the table thingy and we'll collect all the AB for the banquet. But she refuse to accept my suggestions. haha

malchan

tinkybell, I normally give AP. depening on ya rel'p with ya fren. If very close fren, I will give 88 as a blessing for the baby. Otherwise, standard will be 60. hehe

koyoyo

wow Mal,
u mean ur parents help to pay for table.. my 35 table all me n fh pay. when we say 10 table it mean all AP from these tables are her.. then on GDL must give her PJ n meilng is rite still must give 3 digit . i can only hope she return a lot back else tt nite dinner i really scare dun have much saving tryin to save 10k within next yr hope can do it .. most of our saving are depleted by now... so meilng i can really understd ur shoes...
Still i am gald to be marry n prepare for weddin

~sblbee~

mal, u really v xin fu leh, can afford all those things...if i were u, i go fan nao alrdy :p

hi koyoyo,
duno if it's fortunate or unlucky dat we r in d same boat? fortunate cos got someone to tok to n can understand fully, unlucky cos we'll b paupers b4 our AD...juz hope a miracle will happen :p have to put aside at least $20K...jiayou...

hi tinkybell,
i agree wif mal, usually i'll give $88 AP for close frens n $50-$60 for those not-so-close ones...cos based on my research most parents prefer milk/diaper $ in cash :p

polarwhite80

hi koyoyo,

my meaning is htb no give her any tables which means she cant take any ang baos from the high tea... but she can invite whoever she wants....

koyoyo

i see polarwhite i finally understd.
Meiling, let try to be as positive as much as we can..
honestly i dun gamble nowadays i also try to buy 4d hopin for a mircale .. a simple 2k also good

snowypooh

Hello gals, just a word of advice: have a wonderful & memorable within your own means.

Cheaper wedding doesn't mean it's any less memorable. It's ultimately between the couple (the 2 of u) & the wedding is just the beginning of marriage. Do not be bogged down too much by financial worries. I'm speaking from experience, both me & my hubby are not well-off too but we managed to have a wonderful & "looks grand" ROM at below S$2K. Bet no one can guess that it costs this little to have a ROM as grand as mine. Check out my multiply today!

~sblbee~

hi koyoyo,
yah lor, b positive, anyway we still got each other :p
i dun buy 4d or toto leh, dun have such luck, even lucky draw oso nv teo b4....

hi snowypooh,
thanks for ur words of wisdom! will bear dat in mind

hpryn

Hi Korice,

U took your ps already? So early?
Me haven't go for my first fitting. Looks like you gals really very fast..

princess_sue

wow.. its only been a while and so many posts.

mei, dun worry and get upset, perhaps, she is just worried about you and want the best for you. At leasy she dun ask for like 10-20 tables.. and demand like $8888 for pin jing..:p

i understand how you feel sometimes, mothers can be rather tactless when it comes to their children... so well.. just have to close both eyes and ears and give them the benefit of the doubt .
Its added blessing if the gals side parents helped..but it is the tradition that the guy's side is supposed to be paying for everything... otherwise... some of those older generation will start to say that the guy is useless....

tinky, the last time what i got for first month , was order online hahaha . ( bloomdale) looks good with delivery and their packaging is really good. If you have UOB and sign up as member ( foc) you get 10% discount of the price indicated as well.

hey polar, you mean there is no banquet and only a family affair?

my mum ask me.. if i needed any help from her so i jokingly said.. yeah i need lotsa $$ hahaha

koyoyo

hey snowpooh,
i agree with u.. i dun have rom celebration to some they are wondering y .. to me cost is 1 reason but seriously i am ok with simplicity.. and yes i am still a happy bride amidst all those $ issue... best luck i gain so many listenin ears here.. SO my life cant be more bless..
words of wisdom: there are always 2 sides to a coin. Dun keep look at the bad side, it will darken ur day!

No dark side for me .. alway bright bright heheh

koyoyo

Never learn to envy people
instead always feel happy for them ;P
envy get u no where but bitterness
sharing of joy give u more satisfaction then u can imagine

polarwhite80

hi sue,

there will be no dinner banquet, high tea for close freds n relatives, thats all... thats why our tables for high tea is ard 15 tables only....

polarwhite80

woh, got to learn from koyoyo n snowypooh.... look on the bright bright side.... when the boat comes to the bridge, the bridge will be straighten for the boat to pass thru (direct translation & lousy translation).... hahaha....

yun11

Morn ladies!

Korice: wow u are going to have 8 jiemeis? i was thinking of only getting 3 cos i m worried that it would be awkward if i combine 2 diff gps of friends together.. any opinions on that?

malchan

koyoyo: no le.. my parents not paying us for our wedding at all. How I wish they can help by sponsoring... haha
What i meant was, my htb will give my mum 10 tables, if they want additional tables then they will need to give us the $$. That's why i suggested to my mum on the 'offset' for the no of tables to her...
But I guess, its like a formality that the guy's side gotta give them some tables besdies the pinjing lor..

~sblbee~

im going off frm wk to go to facial liao cos on 1/2 day...need a break :p meanwhile, happy posting, i expect to read until i pengz when i return home
have a gd day at wk ok? *hugs*

malchan

Me also very blur about the giving table thingy lor..
Coz like wat polarwhite mentioned, the 10 tables that htb giving to my mum, we can't take the AP for the nite. And if she wants, additional tables, then she will give us the $$ for her request but the AP for that nite will also go to her....

snowypooh: I agree that having a memorable wedding does not mean it will cost alot..
Coz i backside itchy lor... alot of things need to source from outside and that added to extra $$..

snowypooh

Wah, MeiLinG so good life, know how to "steal half a day off to enjoy life".

Mal, I'm a perfectionist & expect to have a perfect wedding. That gave me alot of stress whilst I was preparing for my ROM to the extend that I almost wanted to cancel my ROM. I agree with Polar, the bridge will straighten when the boat arrives cos that's what happened to me.

For my AD, my husband will pay for all the 20 tables, of which 6 tables are reserved for my relatives (my parent's side) & 4 tables for my colleagues/friends. The "proceeds" from 6 relatives tables will go to my parents. On top of that, think my parents asking for "pin jin" of about S$3K (S$2888) bah. I almost got into a quarrel with my dad over how many tables he getting, luckily all's settled now.

korice

hi hpryn.. when's ur ad? cos i went aussie for ps.. so have to timed it to our schedule.. so sep was the best time for us to go.. i still have a local one at the end of the year.. keke.. gonna meet the designer for the mtm wg next week lor..

yun11.. tat was exactly my initial thots too.. so it was either 3, 7 or 8.. 7 is if i combine 2 groups.. but i thot it shld be alright.. cos the main 3 jiemeis will be the "in-charge", while the rest are just there to tekan the groom & bros..

i've another qn.. must the number of bros be the same as the number of sis?

koyoyo

well mal,
i wouldnt say u itch backside. i guess we all still wan a "perfect wedding" therefore tend to stray off the normal package.. me too custom made my wedding band..
meiling so good can take half day go facial. I also not bad buy a cheapo mask pack hopefully tonite can go home n put mask haha

koyoyo

snowpooh, i can really understand how u felt back then. hehe i like the way u say "proceed" sound like we are host to NKF charity heheh
so is ur donation line 1900-XXXX

yun11

Korice: I dun think its a muz be the number of xiongdis to be the same as the number of jiemeis.. but maybe cant be too far off else the xiongdis might be tekan to death hee..

korice

hehee.. yun11.. i dun mind the xiong dis being tekan.. & i thot like xinyi too.. same number like nicer hor.. hmm.. oh well.. need to check wif hubby too.. cos ANG BAOS need to be given.. 14 ang baos a lot ar..

snowypooh

Koyoyo, LOLZ. My "proceeds" = ang pow money lah. Haha... But if u wanna donate some to me, (preferably in mulitples of thousands) I don't mind. U can dial 1900 - 766997664 (snowypooh). Haha...

snowypooh

Now, I'm not putting much effort to my AD lah cos still got one year more to go. Now concentrate on doing up our Home Sweet Home. Wait until next year then I start to panick again, lolz...

xinyi_reiko

korice, 14 angbaos alot leh.. haha..

I think alot of factor involved when selecting jie meis and xiong dis. Have to think of their transport, their clothes, for jie meis maybe makeups.

tinkybell

thanks for all the suggestion on the 1st month gift... i go walk walk see see later whether there is anything to buy b4 the final choice of AP come into place..

Enjoy ur facial Meiling..

Mal, u r definitely a lucky girl to be able to have everything in place according to what u desire... envy...

Snowypooh, where is ur love nest??

korice

yah lor.. so i think will end up with 3 jiemeis.. sigh.. =p

erm nec.. i dunno leh.. i see how much i get for my upcoming one in oct okiez.. *lol*

yun11

So the angbao $ is given to the jiemeis when they tekan the xiongdis izzit? Or is that one an additional angbao? Aiyo lidat feel like Santa Claus hee

necrosis

wah seh...$68 is quite a lot if you have many xiongdijeimeis leh...

how about maid of honor? that one i guess has more work? *frown* not sure ah...

xinyi_reiko

nec, that time only have 3 jie meis including me.

From what i know, parents will also give angbaos to them.

I think bride herself also got give angbaos personally to the jiemeis..

snowypooh

Hi Tinkybell & Koyoyo, I haven't gotten the keys to my nest yet leh
gotta wait few more months. It's gonna be in Sembawang. Now doing research on the kind of designs I want & the things to get for the house.

princess_sue

hey snowy, saw your rom photos.. soooo sweet.... at least one load off your mind for now. :p

wah... envy mei... go facial.. i also want... hehe :p

hey polar, high tea was what i initially had in mind.. but my Htb dun wan... sigh... he wan all to sit down and enjoy instead of serving themselves... aiyo.. but being served = more $$ ..

ok... so now we muz all learn from koyoyo.... look on the bright and sunny side :p

good news... my htb called to tell me that the geomancer asked us to fax the details to him... well.. at least its a little tiny weeny progress after so long... wish me luck that i get my choice of date and get to fix up and appointment to meet him this week.