(2008) Brides of year 2008

koyoyo, it's the norm for MUA to charge additional for fake eyelashes & ampoules. No other way around it, even if you bring your own supplies, they will either say it's not suitable (doesn't match the gown) or not good for skin, etc etc & insist u to use theirs. No point arguing with them de lah.

I also know of some BS provide makeup but doesn't provide hairstyling & require u to pay additional $$$ to do the hairstyle. Some also charge on per hairstyle basis. Sometimes, they'll quote u one price then on the actual day, they quote another price. So it's better to check & make sure these additional charges are documented in your invoice/contract.

Hi, wow so many posts, i think i miss out alot.

Sue, happy for you ya. Hope that you get your date real soon.

The ampoule is really ex, but yet we can't do without it.

Koyoyo, So i guess we will need to be carrot for our big day.

Sorry ya, i can't meet you gals tomorrow. Im meeting my frd in Toa Payoh hub... haha. too bad not Ang Mo Kio Hub.

too bad snowy pooh i only know this fact recently . I already signed up w a bs. my fren has 3 basic hairdo include ROm on top to change bet White WG to her red EG she need to change hairdo n her artiste charge her by Hr.. which mean it super exp..
$25 and ampule u are lucky meiling
and i find ricco very cute esp the part on his backpack. remind me of my exp who love to wear gold n when u tell her taking foto she will purposly pose heheh.

yah i agree completely wif snowypooh on her view, it's out wedding n once in a lifetime, usually d MUA will want to make some pocket $ by making us pay for ampoule n eyelashes...so no pt arguing wif them...juz pay if u want, if not, dun use at all...it'll b an insult to them if u bring ur own n ask them to put for u...they didnt get a single cent n have to do tis job :P

Hi Rainbow,
I am doing my PS earlier so that they have enough time to slowly do my layout.
For some, they might use their trial for ROM, but my ROM was over liao.
I went for their trial, but I think is nothing much of great help, cause you will expect different from your PS.
PS MU will be heavier than trial.
If you can changed your trial to something else, maybe you can think about it.
This is just my personal thinking. =)
Hope this will helps.

mmm...plus dress plus make up plus ang pows...

actually got lotsa "hidden costs" in a wedding eh... :P

my in-laws to be gonna meet my mom today...
in like 3 hours!!
woohoo...wish me luck!

hi koyoyo/jes, thanks.. i also hope to get a date soon.. :P

hey gals.. for facial, you may wan to consider trying dermalogical .. i signed up for package at bedok ( PERFECT BEAUTY) they are using demo products... you may try it i signed up for 680 for 10 sessions.. well the place is rather cosy and nice. with soothing music too.

hi sue,
i used to use dermalogical pdts too but too ex liao, thanks, i'll stick to mine...used to her liao n it's cheap, saw d effect too...must save $ liao, cannot afford :P

Hi Netfinity,
Very very sorry for my late reply. I was in abroad last week.
My photos will be ready next mth.
I took @ Venus bridal, JB

Hi Angel,
My MUA is my best friend, so it's not a prob.

I'm agree with Bubblebell, to take PS early so that they have enough time to do the layout nicely

good luck nec!! wonder when in-laws will come ti qing haha..

ya i agree there's lotsa hidden costs.. so scary when i think abt it.

I better call my BS and ask about the ampoule and eye lashes. Is it necessary to put on ampoule for ROM?

Meiling: I like facials that do manual extractions.. must feel abit of pain then i shiok.. haha sadist me..
Coz the current one that I'm going is good but the price is always increasing like nobody's biz. Started with 68 3 yrs ago to about 120 per session now. with package is about 100.. very ex le...

My BS is charging me 50 for the MUA to do the hairstyle for my ROM. I used the trial MU for my ROM. And they told me that the trial make up don inculde hairstyling therefore, need to top up 50.

hi koyoyo.. ya cozlab has one at tanjong pagar.. i am using my htb package too.. 2 yrs ago he signed up for mlm .. and up to now have finish so i m going to use it for him.. heheh.. to be frank.. it is good.. but so damn ex.. results can be seen just after 1 facial treatment.

OMG mal.. u serious ah.. you like extractions? i hate that part the most ...at times i do my own extraction at home.. hehehe...

i only like the massage... but its over before i know it. :P

yeah, very nervous...
cos different backgounds, traditions and language!!!

:P

later we all brain storm how to cut cost and still have a gorgeous luxurious wedding!!!
now me going to collect the 2 sets of parents. lol

well mal welcome to the club... i like the after effect of manual extraction. kinda of feel face cleaner.. but everytime i do extraction my "fet eye" will weep n the baeutician will ask am i ok haha
only 1 unhappy incide at "hatch" hehe

Mal,
If ur ROM reception is long n u wana take pics after that and want your MU to stay, den better use ampoule, will help to keep ur MU in gd condition n ur face wont b too oily :P but if ur skin condition is those powdery like complexion, den dun need to waste $ :P
hehe...same here, if not, i extract myself n leave more scars, lagi worse...i used to take up her package when she has a shop but after that she do it at home, no more package, juz $30 per time. for me, it's enuff cos it's affordable :P
aiyo, so bad one...must top up another $50 for hairstyling, u chk it's nice or not? if not, top up alrdy heart ache, might as well get smone else :P

hi sue, me too, i like massage, esp my job always have stiff shoulders one, smtimes i go to those $10 express massage...to relieve my tired muscles...:P no $ to go spa :P

hi Sue, i also sign up for the cozlab 1yr back but i breakout after going so i give it to my hubby. They are really ex lo. Regreted signing from them.

Mal, i thought for ROM they will do both make up & hairdo for you. $50 for hair do is not cheap le.

Hi Iris_met,

Have not confirm my BS yet.. still looking around.. will be going to Sophia Wedding tonite to take a look.. Yup. their service in my bridal room is very good.. feel very comfortable and not pushy at all! Annabelle let me try all kinds of gown eventhough I told her that i will be bringing my FH in my next visit. I 1st came across this shop when I went for the Style wedding show..

Just a rough guide of the charges by BS (varies from BS to BS):

false eyelashes: S$10 - 20
ampoules: S$20 - 30
hairdo: S$30 - 50
corsages: S$8 - 15

Do budget & be prepared for these additional costs & they're non-negotiable. Most of the times, CASH only terms, payable upon application (of makeup/hairdo). These are unavoidable miscellaneous charges.

Koyoyo, like I'd said, it'll vary between the various BS/MUA. Some charge higher, some lower. For hairdo, my quote is based on per hairstyle changed. If you're referring to charges by the hours, it's usually applies to whole makeup process. Cos sometimes, u need the MUA to be around to touchup.

For ROM, usually u only need 1 make-up & 1 hairstyle.

For AD, typically will be once in the morning before groom comes & another time at night during banquet. But some couples may request for additional change in makeup & hairstyle during the tea ceremony (when the bride change to tea-dress/kua) & during banquets (when the bride change to EG). If u removed makeup in between, you may be required to pay for an additional bottle of ampoule for the 2nd application.

woh... so many posts already.... was busy in the morng as this mth is my quarter end.... 1 more day to quarter end, stressed.... hahaha...

hi sue,
htb n me kinda of sick of sit down dinner... is like sit there, finish 8-9 dishes then go off... is like too "traditional"... so we tot of high tea where u can take wat food u like, the amt u wan n even can mingle ard wif cousins or relatives...

hi mal,
my fred did use ampoule last sat which is a hidden cost bcos my fred paid the MUA at the end of her last make up (dinner make up)... i rem my fred paying $90 for the ampoule n fake eyelash... but i forget how much is the individual cost already... she used 2 ampoules n 2 eyelashes.... the ampoule did help to make the makeup "stay"... but oil wise, my fred still have oil on her face... this is maybe she has a oily based face...

hello gals...

i also thinking how to have a gorgeous luxurious wedding with little cost.. i have been cracking my heads.

I thinking of getting my jie meis to wear something different during the day.. any ideas??

so fast so many replies liao ah..

Sue: I'm sadist le.. like to feel the pain. Don really fancy saolns that use equipment for extractions. Like wat Koyoyo said, I feel my face is clean after the extraction. Coz my face damn cannot make it one. My beautician can spend more than an hour just on extraction.
My treshold for pain quite high so she knows I can tahan unless I start jerking or tell her that its painful...
I love the massage too.. very shiok. And the putting on mask part. I always sleep when she puts on the mask for me..

Meiling: will do my own mini extraction at home too.. but on my nose & chin only la.. coz my face really damn terok cant 'house' anymore scars.. otherwise, my concealer will crack when i smile.. I think I'll use ampoule. Coz my face oils very easily. I can offer you fried chicken by day end.. haha

Jesl: 50 is also very ex le. That's why I'm contemplating to engage a MUA outside to do the MU & hairstyling..
Coz the BS told me that the trial MU dose not incld styling. If i want, i need to pay for it..

side track abit ah..

Anyone intend to do IPL for underarms? Me thougt of going for it le.. Any reco?

And waxing for my back coz alot of fine hair le.. I got scolding from my frens when I tell them that I wan to go wax my back then it will look nice if i wear low back gown..

thanks snowypooh for sharing so much...will use d pricing as a guide, my BS charges in between lor, so shd b q reasonable ba

ultimately wat u spend is ultimately wat u r comfortable wif...esp if it's sth u need, dun save...think for ampoule n fake eyelashes cannot save one cos u can really see d difference...
when i saw my fren, she really gangho leh, she didnt touchup d makeup for d whole day juz use blotters n own powder, smhow it doesnt look as nice...but afterall, if u think it's not worth spending tis extra $ to look mei-mei, no one will say anything one...smtimes u spend so much oso no one knows den u heartache :P

mal, u really v brave leh....i scared of pain until now i dun even dare to pierce my ears leh...

polarwhite, i oso like ur idea of mingling n casual buffet hi-tea style, like dat more personal n informal (more candid n natural shots) but my mum dun like d idea...cos old ppl dun like to walk here n there, prefer to b served...

Oh im confuse, meaning my hubby gives my mum 10 tables and that 10 tables AP money still goes to my mum ah. I hope my mummy is kind enough to donate those money back to me. Ha Ha Lets all hope ppl who attends our oct wedding are all generous ppl.

Im bringing junior for checkup. In case of some of you wonder, junior is a golden
Doc says his back legs are a little weak, currently he is taking med for his joints, and he has bad skin problems so bringing him back to the doc for review. Mal, im scare of cats too but i love hello kitty ha ha

Koyoyo, i use jeannie yong for my rom last year. I think she is not bad. She use ampoule on my face too, says it will help to makeup stay longer. My face is those oily type, so my face still gets shiny but i think it does help to keep makeup longer. I visited one BS, the lady also told me have to pay ampoule and fake eyelashes.

I went for a few sessions of facials before my rom last year. I think its a disater for me. Every session, i will come out red and swollen. But after a few sessions, i dont see any improvement at all, in fact i think it was worse than before. Now im too scare to go for facials.

haha mal,
U are so cute mention abt fried chicky at the end of the day from the face.. i like fried chicken but will thini twice after ur suggestion of "fried chicken" actaully i am keen on doing IPL for arm to.. i feel it beat better than shaving.. i oso do self-beautician at home as a result my nose is like big graveyard for pimple , blackhead n whatever dirts particles u can source..as for wax on back hair... think i may pass scare it too painful .. waxing is a big pain affair..

hi melody,
yes u are allow to wear ur AD gown for outdoor shoot but sometime depending where ur outdoor is .. some bs is afriad u may get some accident stubborn stain

do you gals think I shld engage a MUA outside for ROM instead?

Hi Melody, how much is jeannie charging?

koyoyo: I hate saving coz will get those ingrowns.. damn irritating..
Let me know if you have any reco for IPL underarms k...

hi melody,
some BS actually dun allow u to allow ur AD WG for outdoor for fear dat u'll stain it...unless u buy dat gown...den dat's a different story, actually i think it's better for u not to wear it outdoor cos d BS will rent u another WG, u have 1 more WG to wear, isnt it better to have more variety?

oh melody, it's poor junior, for a moment i tot it's sidney...cos she's older :P but take gd care of him n hope everything will b fine

koyoyo n mal,
tot abt hair har...i got super hairy arms dat i cldnt b bothered to do anything, anyway andy lau once said dat hairy women is sexy...haha *dat's my way of consolating myself* i shave my legs n arms har....leave it lah...in tis kind of cold weather, will need d warmth frm hair :P

mal,
i can recommend a lady, im intending to use her for my AD 2nd march in n sending off guest...she's on my multiply, she's called angel n her charges r reasonable...do pm her ok?