(2008) Brides of year 2008

simplyserene

BBIguana - glad to see someone with the same date as me!!!

I attended my best friend's ROM on Sunday. Was the designated amateur photographer. Food was so-so but it was great fun. I roped in my fiance to help take photos as well so it turned out to be a very enjoyable couple activity for us too.

nelle

Back after some wild blitz of travelling on and off. Partner and I have decided that 14 Sep 2008 will be the big day. haha...

princess_sue

hi meiling, have email the photos to you.. check it when you are free
wow.. such a long thread of msg for a weekday.. woo....

Hi ismywedding, me too ... m excited to see your photos.. pls email me at [email protected]

hmm.. well i am a newbie here .... meet up seems nice..and m staying in changi. Weekdays after work seems like a nice timing too but hope you gals dun mind ..from the thread it seems that you gals have known each other for ages.. :p

btw, do all of you have msn? If so , can always chat through there too.. drop me an email for your msn addy ya.

sue

snowypooh

Phew, so many posts since morning. Now then I free to check in again. I'm also staying in north area. Haha... if u gals want, can get a few PG/VG to join us then can view their portfolio on the spot & exchange contacts. Haha...

MeiLinG, it's a good idea to have a group outing to visit those shops & shop together! Hehe... by the way, that shop in IMM is kinda small lah, with a big bed in the centre of the shop. Anyway, there're similar shops in Far East Plaza & Chinatown too.

Someone going BKK? Can buy lingerie (*smiles cheekily*) and bedsheets lor. Alot of those small souvenirs (e.g. scented candles, incense, etc) can be great gifts for helpers/xiongdis/jeimeis too. I know Singapore have but it's definitely much cheaper there lor.

yun11

Hi Ladies!

I m also a Jun BTB *skips* so far i have only confirmed the BS.. hopefully can confirm the venue n AD PG by end of this month

Xinyi: are u a BC bride too? ;p

midori

i'm also a June 08 BTB!

Have confirmed venue, BS, AD photographer.

Now looking for JP, Videographer.. Any suggestions?

~sblbee~

hi jesl,
noted....any preference? if not, den weekend wld b better if u've problems travelling...

hi sue,
thanks for sending the pics to me. u got any info to update me e.g ur hotel venue, BS, AD, VG, PG etc? hehe...wat do u think? we juz started tis thread in aug...only a couple of mths n so many posts, guz we r super on though we r small in no...:p
u can add me on msn at [email protected]
meanwhile, take care...

hi snowypooh,
finally see u back in action...d auditors r going home soon so can come in n drop a post :p yah, it's a gd idea abt d VG n PG, i dun mind as im KP but it'll b difficult for those who have engaged their own services already, esp hard when a few of u have d same AD date :p
yah, i like d idea of shopping for stuff tgr, mayb can bargain d price down since we r doing bulk purchase...hehe :p yah i havent been to all these places dat u mentioned leh...must chk it out soon

tinkybell is going to BKK...yah lor, i heard dat a lot of souvenirs can b used as gifts for d helpers, it'c a lot cheaper there...too bad i didn't buy last yr cos had no intention of getting married :p

tinkybell

Hi Snowypooh,

saw ur post on the purchase of lingerie n i cant help smiling to myself cos my colleagues, already placing order... (buy g-string, t-back, boxer, etc... hahaha)... n guess what, a closer male colleague even ask me to get him cute cute boxer...

Princess-Sue,

i will email u my msn addy when i reach hm... if i dun, pls get from the rest okay...

and it may seems that we have know each other for ages... but not true lor... this thread is created in end aug n it is only mid sept now.. n jus weeks into the conversation n discussion over the forum, we have all grown closer n slowly develop the unknwn frenship... kekekeke.... amazing rite??? and with the night chatting n discussion that some of us r engaging in msn in the nite, we have all get to knw each other better...

n i am sure we all will behave like those very close frenz when we mit...

looking forward to meeting u girls...

n jus 1 sad thing abt me that i wanna share w u girls... especially those that r wearing contact lens.. rem not to rub ur eyes too hard k...

my right eye was quite itchy jus now (around 4plus) n i started rubbing my eyes... n without knowing, the rub was actually to strong n i accidentally burst the blood vessel above my eye lit.. not obvious if u r looking at me from far, but once i pull up my eye lit, it is quite bloody...

have seen a doctor at 5plus n given some eye drop.. will drop it once i reach hm n remove my lens... (mitting my PG&VG, so cant go hm yet)

so my advise to u girls is, dun rub ur eyes n be like me okay...

ling27

Hi Jingsjings,

Haha.. the 4 of us (jiemeis) tot of 3 tasks to tekan the groom. 1) Groom to sing a song chosen by us (lyrics provided by us) and xiongdis to be actors behind him while he sings. 2) Groom to write 10 reasons he loves the bride which will be pasted on a cardboard. This can serve as momento for the bride to keep. 3) To taste 4 flavors (sour, sweet, bitter and spicy). All these acts will be performed in front of the videographer and shown during the dinner!!!

Fun right??!!

ling27

Hi Xinyi_reiko,

Ya i think u can consolidate our info into excel then upload...
Another way is we can just type onto the thread but it would be messy loh. hee

~sblbee~

hi tinkybell,
so sad....didnt have much chance to chat wif u gals at nite as my bro is on d comp all nite everyday...i guz melody n d rest have more chances to interact wif u on msn

hmm...hope ur eyes r feeling better now, wat did ur doc say? is it serious? aiyo, must take care of ur eyes, it's an impt asset esp when u have such beautiful eyes
for me, i've learnt not to rub my eyes too hard esp after my LASIK surgery...cos i scared my cornea cant take d pressure :p
ok har, b a gd gal, d lesson learnt is dun rub ur eyes too hard
tend to b a bit lo so cos u r a xiao mei mei :p

princess_sue

hi tinky/meiling, wah.. its been just a while and you gals have so many posts woo.. so happening.

pardon me.. what is BS, AD, VG, PG? well.. we have really yet to decide on the place but we will be down to raffles hotel this sunday for their bridal fair.. and on the 29 sept we will be going down to fort canning for their bridal fair at the grand marquee as well. Its look beautiful.. hey meiling.. check out fort canning legends, its really pretty esp the outdoor night scenary.. :p

wow.. didnt know this actually started only in august coz i see such a long thread of posts.. it seeems like it has been forever.. haha.

sigh... have yet to see the wedding date.. so everything is still unsettled.. once the wedding date is affirmative at least, things can get moving.

cheers.
sue

~sblbee~

hi sue,
BS= bridal studio
AD=actual day aka ur wedding date
VG= videographer
PG= photographer
wah....raffles is really off my budget but my cousin held her wedding there a few yrs back...so nice, my fren had her ROM solemnisation there too...too bad, i dun have dat kind of budget...do share wif me wat r d perks offered at d wedding show ok? curious :p
fort canning i got d quote but it's ex as it excludes d setup cost...still must +++, so i dun think it's worth it for my ROM as compared to hotels, though it's beautiful...
dun worry, b4 u know it. everything will b settled...btw i juz need a ROM venue now

~sblbee~

nelle,
u r lucky to get a venue for dat date as when i chked wif d hotels a few mths back...all were fully booked :p do i took another date in oct

skyea

Hi xinyi_reiko,
Good idea! How about something like this?

Ade Heng: 07 June, Swissotel Merchant Court

Welcome!

Hi Kim,
The average prices for AD PG and VG are around the range of $1000-$1500 each. Well-known/super popular PG and VG would be more expensive. Maybe it would be good to work out your budget first before shortlisting your PG and VG. That's what we did.
By the way, all VG should have a package which includes the express highlights(edit on that day itselt to play during the dinner).

Hi Midori,
For JP, you can consider Dr Phua Tan Tee as one of your choices. He was the JP for my brother and his friend, myself, my friend and my cousin. Hehe. Very friendly and nice guy. If you need his contact, you can let me know.

Hi Selina,
The part about the xiongdis acting behind the groom sounds really fun! Hehe.

sushibabe

actually, i'm not a mainstream teacher...i teach in a special school in the early intervention program dealing with kids from 3 months to 6 yrs old with intellectual and/or physical disabilities...

usually, our hols seldom have any meetings or trainings, but who knows...better booked all my closer friends...haha~

so far, i've taken my pre-wedding shots, ROM in this coming dec, waiting for my house also...

tinkybell

Hi Meiling,

i am getting better... not so painful le... dripping eye drop every now n then... Dr told me is burst of the blood vessel in the right eye... (have similar experience when i was 17),.. jus hope i can recover fast so i dun need to be in spec... furthermore, need to go out for mtg n presentation on thur, sure look ku-ku in spec..

Hi Sue,

ur hubby is so sweet, willing to go for all these fair w u... my hubby is not at all keen on the wedding show n fairs... i was more than happy when he went to BOWS with me in March this yr..

ur choice of venue are the better 1s i suppose, class but exp...

do keep u posted of ur searches ok...

btw, jus to keep u all update of my visit to InJack. hubby and i mit up w him at his place at 7.30pm and the deal was close in less than 20min chat after we finalise the details...

you may be surprise, cos we din even bother to look at his work... jus go thr the details of the package n the rough arrangement... hahaha...

nw that i have one more thing dwn form the outstanding list, i can now go search for master to decide on the date and time for GDL, AC, AD, etc...

bunnyhop

Hio so blur/yvonne/sushibabe,
Thanks 4 ur reply.
So far, my wedding prep is still qite snail pace . . .jus confirm e timing for church wedding and date for WB/ venue of wedding dinner. All thanks to my boy boy! ("p) Hopefully can speed up e pace during upcoming school holiday . . . so no sweat!
Now muay turn to look @ Bridal boutiques. Hmm . . . hope i can get a good deal n not get ripped off unnecessarily. ha ha. Aniwae, thanks.
PS -Yvonne, I will let u noe if I'm keen on the package. Where is this place located?
Jia You Ladies . . . May Brides Cool!

xinyi_reiko

Hello ladies,

I have done up a excel spreadsheet. So that everyone can download and update anytime.

Do remember to upload once you have updated.

I have already updated mine.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Jun 08 Brides.xls (15.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

us_mei

heh, i think i haven't fully confirmed the dates but tentatively, AD is 5 July 08 and dinner is 6 July 08.
so yep, my fear is the difficulty in booking the dinner.. duno if there are still restaurants out there that will hold it for me until i come back in Dec to book. =|

~sblbee~

hi tinkybell,
glad to know dat u r feeling better!

aiyo, so funny, although i've settled almost everything already but my fh kept asking me to attend d wedding fair so can kp n can win prizes for fun...he more jialat than me :p
wah...same here, most of my deals i closed within 30 min...nv bother much...juz pay deposit n signed :p nv even tok abt d arrangement, jialat :p

princess_sue

mornings bridies,

hi meiling,

thanks, now i know what those means. oh ya one more thg what does FH means? :p

well.. have yet to settle the wedding date so none of the above is done
supposed to be seeing the master last sunday but didnt get to see him as he is going out of town so well... unsettled.

There are lot of nice places for solemisation really... how many people are you thinking of inviting? I can browse through what i have and send you the details..

hi tinky,

nah... it wouldnt be too grand an affair, it will be small and simple.. planning to have about 10-15 tables actually and would be a luncheon if possible. Do not really want to go through the late night dinner and sheer exhaustion afterwards.. ( you still need the night right? hehehe * wink* )

and no la.. its not raffles hotel its raffles town club. Think its pretty nice too...for an outdoor wedding. Well i like outdoor wedding just afraid of the unpredictable whether .. what do you gals think?

well.. ya my hubby to be is rather obliging in going to the fair.. told him that the fair has everything ma.. in fact what they will do is like doing up like a wedding.. and you are there to attend the so called ' dinner' then they will have those BS vendors etc... let you have a feel of the atmosphere and the actual day and how it is all done up.. then you may actually have more choices... and meiling is right about the prizes to be won.. hahahaha ( keeping my fingers crossed for the $9888 worth of prizes ) that will save up alot on the BS/VG/PG hehe.

Seriously.. maybe you bridies may want to start ' brain washing ' your Hubby to be to go for this fairs. Its worth it.

Well.. will fill you gals in on more info next week once i see how it goes this sunday. :p

Hi Snowypooh,

wah.. buying lingerie? i see a lot of nice ones from VS on the internet.. maybe its worth flying those over?? ( wink) i went to BKK last year, but didnt see any nice lingerie ard... do they sell nice ones there?

~sblbee~

hi sue,
FH means future husband...
oh, dat will b great, thanks! im only looking at 30 pax, juz gona invite immediate family n close frens...preferably in town n chinese sit-down lunch :p
oppsss...frm wat u said, guz shd asked tinkybell to buy some lingerine for u...will need it *wink back* for us, we'll b exhausted n need d nite to slp....*zzzz* oh, my frens simply loved d lingerie there, say it's nice n cheap, i bought some myself too...they bought lotsa g-strings n bras :p *shhh* hopefully there wont b any guys lurking here :X
oh, u like d country clubs? for me, it's ok but juz have a backup plan in case of wet weather, u know lah, weather in oct a bit siao siao, duno when it'll rain oso :p
hey, if u gals going for any hotel wedding shows, jio me along ok? hehe...kinda fun to have our gathering there oso...den can root for each other during d lucky draw, i went twice wif my fh alone, kinda strange cos duno d ppl there :p

serlz

Hi Jen

I also will have my PS in end Nov or Dec this year. Now still thinking of which locations to go for the PS. How abt u?

tinkybell

Hi Sue,

Raffles Town Club is nice... i have explore the place last yr when preparing for my solemnization...

Hi Meiling,

in attending wedding show, part from the normal c c look look, i am also keen on the lucky draw, but hubby prefer to spend time on better things than for the lucky star to drop on us..

anyway, if u girls gg, jio me ok... i dun mind not having him around.. kekeke...

Girls,

as for lingerie... my fren who jus came back in july told me like nothing much to buy cos all the sizes abit on the S n M cut... i am not sure yet, shall check it out...

snowypooh

Hi Good morning, Ladies. Wow, u gals seem to chat overnight too?!! Haha... Anyway, it's good to go to those bridal fairs, especially if u're keen to sign up on their packages as there're additional perks, such as discounts, freebies (such as additional barrels of beer, wedding favours, free night stay, etc etc), additional lucky draw chances, etc.

As for the lingerie, yah those in BKK are smaller in sizes as the women there are more petite lah. So if u gals are S or M sizes, lucky u. The designs are plentiful but quality wise, u get what u pay for lor.

mage

So far still like not much actions yet... just settled my SDJ and dowries... gal's best friend! haha!

I will be going down to BS for final measurement and finalise design end of this month. As for the rest of the preparations, I'm lost... dunno what else need to prepare for...

how's yours stnov?

polarwhite80

good morning to u..... i am going to meet up wif tinydots tonite to view his works....

i like lightedpixels works but is way too out of our budget... no choice got to give up....

might not be engaging a VG cos bro n cousin can take for me......

snowypooh

Ah Yat Abalone Banquet Hall http://www.singaporebrides.com/venue/ahyat/index.htm

Furama City Centre hosts “La Vie En Rose†– a Wedding Showcase
http://www.furama.com/citycentre/lavieenrose/

Furama RiverFront "Happily Ever After @ Furama RiverFront"
http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/furama_riverfront.htm

Grand Plaza Park Hotel, Singapore
http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/grand_plaza_park_hotel.htm

Holiday Inn Atrium, Singapore
http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/hia_special_moments.htm

Holiday Inn Park View, Singapore
http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hipv/index.htm

Orchard Hotel Singapore
http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/orchard_hotel.htm

Raffles Hotel "The Promise of a Raffles Romance"
http://www.singaporebrides.com/temp/raffles_hotel.htm

de_princess

Actually I checked with a few of the hotels and they are still available. But now I am worried abt budget... coz I have my Arts Hse booking for matrimony/reception and plus dinner so think may not recover cost. I'm looking at around 20 tables max so many venues are out... haiz dilemma

US_mei, think can ask the hotels to hold for u tentatively the dates...let them know u are overseas?

polarwhite80

hi tinkybell,

are u better ?? try not to rub ur eyes too often esp u wearing lens.... i am also wearing lens, dun dare to rub also....

wah, so many bridal shows coming up.... i think there is 1 at marriott hotel on 13th Oct...

yvonne_ecclesia

The Aisle is actually a new boutique offering bridal services. I went there and i find the coordinator and marketing manager very friendly. Plus, the package offered to me was really very comprehensive and affordable. So i thought, you may want to go there and take a look. All of their gowns and suits are brand new with some of them imported. And being a new boutique, they are willing to throw in many value added services. Yaya, so if you are interested, you may go there to have a look and you can mention that you are referred by me.

Happy bridal searching!

tinkybell

Hi Polarwhite,

my eyes are much better le... but still need to be on eye drop... thanks for your concern...

so many bridal shows coming up...