(2008) Brides of year 2008

lab_baby79

yeah..nothing much to search and prepare..

hi hpryn,
you can do your BS shopping easier by defining what type of gowns you fancy and what kinda of PS style you and yr HB prefer 1st..that how i shortlisted mine in the past.

muddpie

stnov,
IMM i m fine...cos i live west...but not sure of the gers...cos some may not live in the west. they might find it too far to come...

malchan

jesl: I wont be consulting her for the GDL and stuff relating to the AD so soon.. coz might forget everything she said.
The last I paid was 38. I will go and find her again after lunar 7th mth.

Koyoyo: Do look for Rayston. He is a nice chap to talk to though he is hard to budge in throwing in more things.. Yet we still try our luck and kept asking. he relented to some of our requests eventually.

rjwedding

hi all.. i'm a jul 08 btb too.. hope to discuss our wedding preparation with all here.. so excited..

my date is 6 jul 08. venue at NCQ. my bridal shop is sophia wedding

antakusuma

hello divine genie (sounds better than so blur), thts what i am gg to do now. I will ROM on Feb 18 and church/dinner on May 3rd, but i need to book the JP and ROM room, very stress, wht if cannot get! My mother also add fuel to fire, ask me to wear wedding dress on ROM day (the almanac consultant actually say no need)...

My HTB side very potato, they dunno anything. As long as i get married in a church its fine. In a way i am very thankful that they are quite easy going...

divine_genie

haha.. can i call u XLB?? shorter lar.. U can call me so_ blur too.. cos i'm really blur.. For ROM it's very simple. I went to empire (subsidiary of the wedding present) and settled my MTM dress, flower, make up and photog after 2 visits. the dress was very simple and i like it a lot.
then took abt a month to settle my luncheon for ROM. Went to bras basah and bought the cheapest invites (small ones) and printed the invitation details on my own. I only pasted silver ribbons on it to make it look better. Thenduring the prep, i went to tangs to shop to destress and found myself a pair of shoes for $99. All issues settled in less than 2 months. Note though is to settle yr wedding band early as if a size u require if not available u may need to wait for about 2 months.

My wedding gown is OTR. Back is netting so it's only translucent. with some details. front looks like the latest advert from Soo Kee. Can look for Jessica. She has an eye for detail.
Need more clarification, i'll be glad to help.

princessnono

hi gers.. IMM abit too far leh.. I stay in North wor.. but if you gers are ok.. then u all go ahead.. I can collect it seperately fr Stnov..
No worries...

antakusuma

yes call me XLB. I never see sookee ad le, i am working in Shanghai now, hence XLB.

i will make my wedding band at Josi gems i think, tht'll be fast. my engagement ring took me 3 days only. My ROM no fuss la... I'll prob make a cheongsum in SH and thts bout it. I'm just stress tht i cannot book the place. Eh show me some pictures if u have a link or something... =)

i have a blog: http://lovexiaolongbaomore.blogspot.com but no wedding pictures lor only rubbish.

divine_genie

yeah!! Something like that what's in Soo Kee's webbie. i do not have any photos yet as i've not decided on amendments for the gowns and my EG and Teadress are still in brainstorming stage. For luncheon, it's not very popular here yet and they are many possible venues (as compared to AD) ppl can go to for ROM etc ROM itself, beach, pubs, or some alfresco restaurant so booking of location shouldn't be too difficult. My friend's wedding and ROM were held in Le Meridien. Deco looks good if u dun mind the exterior. Mine is at Trader's hotel. Food was not bad. I was in love Goodwood Park too. Try researching.. I only booked mine 2.5 months before.

chipydale

Blessings, where are the 3 venue u've reserved for .. mayb if u r giving upany of them, we can consider too ...

Perhaps give some recommendations for the PG & VG for AD.

My Bridal shop is French bridal too !!

pearlpearl

Hi Koyoyo, i don't have your email add ya. haha.. was waiting for you to give me your email address.

Hi Mal, i intend to get it from her next week and i will keep it. As i don't go to her regularly that i feel safer to have it on hand.

Hello Brenda,

It wasn't till last wk that I start scotting for the banquet and AD VG and PG but to my horror, alot has been book all the way to 09 and its not just reserved but actual booking.

I blocked quite a few..but all have their pros and cons. Either the parking problem, or cost high, or location problem, or food, or actual setting etc...not my character to book here and there but turns out alot of couples actually blocking alot leh. Sianzzz...

Have sorta finished my site inspections. Now, only sorting out which one to book.

Aiyo Brenda, not that me selling fish but hor...banquet places really limited. Unless I confirm mine, will then I be able to release those I've book. I should be confirming by this week. But if its in any chances u look for mid range one...must have the preparation to be disappointed :-( Cos its all booked up. Allow me to share with the packages I have on hand after I book if thats fine with you? Now sorta hammering myself for selecting 22nd Nov cos really really limited banquet venues :-(

Brenda, whats your budget like? Cos I realise this week that if one has budget...very hard leh.

For PG and VG details, you let me know your addy and I'll send it in a zip file. Cos I think I have abt more than 2 dozens files on AD VG and PG.

~sblbee~

hi mal,
wah, oic, i got their quote a few mths ago, didnt know so fast they changed liao...
i got d quote frm gallery thru jesl so i didnt contact them directly, didnt know it's so bad, but personally if i were u, i'll oso drop cos i cant stand rude coordinator esp when they feel dat ur biz is insignificant as compared to wedding dinner etc

hi koyoyo,
have u confirmed ur AD date alrdy? u taking 4 Oct 2008? did you try hilton hotel? hmmm...furama city? hmmm...if u dun mind, u can try, personally i dun really like d place as my teacher's day dinner was held there.
u can contact rayston, he's quite a nice guy to tok to, i got both my quotes for wedding dinner n ROM package frm him...though im not taking both. my fren held her wedding at MC tis jul, was q gd, food is nice n ambience is gd...but i do hear feedback frm tis forum dat he's abit particular abt d perks, not sure of tis though :p

malchan

hi meiling

I think the revised package is also due to better dishes.. haha.. with abalone le... mine don have.. I think mine is lesser than 888nett for weekend. Need to go home and look at the contract again. One of the reasons we took MC is the waiver for wine & liquor which are additional costs and its NETT. haha
Yeah.. Rayston can be quite sticky abt giving extra perks.. but overall I feel he is a great guy to talk to la.. maybe chemistry that bf & I had lor.. haha

koyoyo
What about weekdays? Or are you looking only at weekends?
Holiday Inn? Regent? Hilton is great too. I had my D&D there.

chipydale

Hi Blessings ...
My budget is anyting below $800. Perhaps u could drop me a mail on which one u've blocked a slot. So in anycase, could be the one i wanted & u dun wan it, i can grab hehe .. Of cuz i won't mind u sharing even if u'll book it.

My email [email protected]

~sblbee~

Hi Mal,
No wonder the price for MC is different now...you interested in getting their ROM solemnisation package there? Perhaps being a MC bride, they'll give you more perks, I got the quote, can forward to you if you want...it's about $45 per pax...if you want poolside, it's $500+++ more, not worth it, my friend had her solemnisation there before her banquet, no deco, it's quite plain so she had to do up her own stuff :p
Hmm...the reason that I took MM was also because it's nett price an they can offer me to upgrade to Sat dishes and there's free wine for each table booked, which helps me to save up the cost of getting so many bottles of red wine. :p I like the ambience and the reception area is big, the only con is low ceiling :p
Yah I must agree that Rayston is a great guy to talk to, felt a bit pai seh when i asked him for the quote and he asked me about my wedding banquet...he was saying why I didn't wait for the wedding show to enjoy more perks before I signed with MM. Well, it's too late :p
koyoyo doesn't want Holiday Inn cos her FH doesn't like...Regent is off her budget already, it's more than $1000 per table....Hilton still can try cos it's depending on auspicious dates of your AD....the menu is special :p

Hi koyoyo,
My suggestion is weekend lunch....any chance on doing that? You can go to the nicer hotels with that budget for wedding lunch. Most big hotels are already booked in Oct especially around your budget, unless you don't mind going a bit higher, above $900, then you'll have more choices...

antakusuma

I'm having my ROM at the ROM, fort canning. Not gg to organise anything extra, its too much for us. Plus 18 Feb is a monday, no one's gonna attend my ROM except family. Boo hooo....
Prob just dinner at somewhere nice after tht. U didn't take pictures at traders? When was ur Rom?

pinkcolour

Hi Chimes,

Sorry for my late reply. Haven't been visiting this forum for quite some time.

Yes, we booked the venus ballroom. We like it very much because its spacious, pillarless and high ceiling. Wil u b gg to the bridal show?

crayongal

hehs.. berry_egg,
so u 're gonna be having your photoshoot after CNY ? dat is early Feb ya.. ? hmmm... shld be fine la..
so, u'll only confirm the gowns so late ? i thot after going down 2-3times .. have to confirm the gowns le. keke =)

crayongal

Adding R&J.

Ami - 5 July / Furama Waterfront / no BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / no BS yet.
S'rene - 19 July 2008/ Peony Jade Restaurant /Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008/Novotel Clarke Quay
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / nothing on bridal shop yet
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008/HIPV/My Bridal Room

crayongal

hehs... seems now , our hottest date is 6th July?
hmmm... anyhows, R&J, welcome!! did u sign up during the wedding show last Sat ? coz.. ya. u're jus joining us now.. keke...

hmm, i'm also an ncq bride.. but i signed up with them few months back.. jus to get the date i want. heh =P
u'll soon realise .. im quite a kiasu bride. haha =P

amias

hey guys.. just a lil correction.. its riverfront not waterfront.. hehe

Ami - 5 July / Furama Riverfront / no BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / no BS yet.
S'rene - 19 July 2008/ Peony Jade Restaurant /Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008/Novotel Clarke Quay
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / nothing on bridal shop yet
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008/HIPV/My Bridal Room

pinkcupcake

Hi blessings and anne. Ya, scary hor. We booked a year in advance liao yet still cannot get venues /dates we want. Very true. The mid-range ones mostly booked already. I'm really glad i managed to get my GCW. And 2 weeks after i confirmed my photographer, he told me someone also wanted him on my AD. Luckily i booked him already. Ya. So nov brides who have yet to book their venues, Photographer MUA etc, DO be more kiasu! :p

aiyo gals. I went to my BS thread to look look....wah...i am dying for the year end to come quickly, so that i can look at my gown again and start MTM my gown etc....design my evening gown... can i ask, do you gals pop by your studio after booking your OTR?

jazzy_chimes

Hi Xin, yup, we will be going for the wedding show, heard from my coordinator Terence that they will be featuring some new themes for 2008. Who's your coordinator?

Hi mei, I thought it's a little early to book AD PG as it is more than 1 year away? I did call up some photographers to ask but cuz most of them are free-lancers, they said it's way too early for them to know their schedules and confirm ...

Brenda, erm...I'm afraid under $800 ones I don't have. You can try Copthorne King's. This one I've given up though I blocked it. And you can try ParkRoyal on Kitchener Road and ParkRoyal Hotel on Beach Road. This 3 you can try. Sorry la...but now, in the midst of narrowing down my search. Afraid won't be able to share with you till maybe latest next week after I've confirm my venue leh.

I've just booked my AD VG and PG. Very reasonable price

3 DVDs

Express highlight with NG scenes

Photo Montage (30 - 45 photos approximately 1 song)

500 (4R) with borders in (12 x 12) suede hardcover covers; slot in album with hardcover box

1 (12 x 12) laminated professional collage style magazine with fur velevet hardcover (20 pages/ 10 sheets)

1 (8 x 12) fabric hard cover coffee table collage style magazine (40 pages/ 20 sheets)

Early surcharge (Before 6am)

Including church ceremony before 2pm

12pieces (4R) collage (each different)

Won't be saying over here lest I get ban hor. But its very very reasonable price consider 2 coffeetable mags and slot in album.

Ya mei, the AD VG and PG I tried to book already booked up. Was very surprised. So, I've booked my AD VG and PG today. Less one burden on my shoulders.

skyea

I thought i could leave everything till next year since i've already settled my BS and venue. Hehe. But now gotta source for PG and VG. Headache!

Btw, when will you girls be selecting your gowns (for OTR) and going for photoshoot?

pinkcupcake

Hi chimes, if they are freelance then perhaps you don't have to book so early. But if they are from popular studios, i understand they can be booked a year in advance. no harm asking the freelance photographers you are eyeing when they start taking bookings. better to be laughed at for being kiasu then to be disapointed.
oh dear...i sound so 'aunty'...

at first i also felt a bit silly booking my photographer so early...like super kiasu like dat. Then he told me i'm not the most kiasu - the earliest booking he had was 2 years in advance...wow. met my match... must explain myself - i'm not the kiasu sort ok?! i usually very cool and relaxed one... :p But i find singapore couples extremely kiasu when it comes to wedding, so i got to be also! ha ha!

jingsjings

just join this forum. my wedding is in jun 08. may i know what other preparation need to do or take note? i have already confirm my BS, banquet, photograhper and videographer.

pinkcupcake

oh ya chimes...and my gown..ya. super early hor? eh, kind of embarassed...Never intended to book my gown so soon too. (serious!) I thought i will just look around some shortlisted Bridal Studios. I was thinking i'll just look at one or two studios a month and by the time year end comes, i should have a pretty good idea where i want to rent my gown.

But as fate would have it, I saw my dream gown in the very first bridal studio i went to. I chose the more expensive one to look first so that when i look at the cheaper studios, i'll know whether the difference in price is really worth it. Then, i saw this OTR that was just perfect. And you know la. They claim once it is booked, they won't display it out anymore. So i again 'kan chiong' and decided to book it before anyone else takes it! Wanted to sign the package then and there after trying the gown but luckily my sis was with me and she 'made' me go look at 3 more studios before i went back to sign up with that bridal studio.

yeah...so in the end..venue, photographer and gown all booked...no more fun things to do...

venue also...first hotel i went to. Liked the ballroom and the perks were so attractive, i went ahead to book it. But the first date i wanted taken and the date i had now was tentatively booked! very lucky i managed to get that date. so you see...singaporean girls very kiasu right? how can we not be kiasu too?...

sleepydopeey

wow just a few days that i didn't come in and see see look look and this thread is so active ghee..i haven't really booked AD and VG coz i tot of looking around at their package and some of the things that are written don't really understand and i check wiith you all what is express photo highlights?..me also probably gg to mtm my gown..feel so excited just tinking about it..but some gals suggest that sometimes when the mtm result didn't turn out as what we expect will be disappointed..so now still considering..what do u gals tink?..are you all taking otr or mtm? =)

sportgal

Hi strawberry

Thanks for doing up the table. You may also want to update....my PG & VG with my BS, Precious Moment Bridal

chipydale

Wow really alot of tings to do man ... imagine all of us are Nov 08 brides !!

tHE tot of the wedding makes me feel so excited .. but the preparation part is way to stress liao .. it's like we are all fighting for a place & stuff ... haha

But yet exciting though ..

Mei, the most important is you like it
there ain't any embrassment la. As long as they allow you to change yr choice later should you change yr mind. Think this is fairly important as some BS very strict. NO means NO. For venue, as long as its within you guys budget, IL and family ok, the better to book the earlier.

Sleepy, express photo highlights? Its similiar to express highlights. Express photo highlights are photos taken during the day of yr AD, the photographer has to leave in the afternoon after u have complete yr ceremony...blar blar blar and it is done express so you can show to yr guest during banquet what they have missed out earlier on in the day. It's something like photo montage. Except the photos are those taken during the day.

Brenda, dun stress dun stress. LOL
to be the truth hor...that is how exactly how I feel abt fighting for a place for my venue cos those in my mind before I start checking up are already being booked! Suggest you really go start searching for your preferred venue leh. Cos on 22nd Nov, I can say; the 5 hotels and restaurants I have in mind - all taken up already.

koyoyo

Last night went furama. The co ordinator was nice however the hotel and ballroom feel really old.. looking around plus the gold decro make the hotel look super old and the surrouding look sleezy. After that i went over to MC, saw Royston but didnt chat w him as he is busy w another couple. Got the package from the frontdesk it a bit our of my budget as it around 948+ . There is a wedding fair from MC on 22nd which will be $10 off per table so considering.. Actually after scouting so many hotels abit tired. FH was thinking of "ParkHOtel, legend " anyone has comment on these 2? I want AD to be oct 11 but flexible as bet 4th,25oct n 22nd nov..