(2008) Brides of year 2008

pearlpearl

Hi Meiling,
i have forward a few more for you and Mal. Erm, for me i will set a budget how much i want to spend for the ROM, from there i will go down to view the venue that is within my budget. The Ang bao i collected is more than my ROM package. haha.. im so surprised and touch.. But not enough to cover for my mini honeymoon.

simplyserene

Hurray for you us_mei! I agree that you shd check out the venues first. Since your trip's gonna be short, make appts with the events coordinators first.

~sblbee~

Hi Jesl,
Thanks for forwarding the quote, I'm trying to keep within my budget of $1500 for 30 pax...dun mind to exceed a little but not beyond $1800 cos I already spent a lot on other aspects of the wedding :p
Do let me know if you require any help in other areas

~sblbee~

Hi Flora Bliss,
wat happened to u? hope u r feeling better now...do take gd care of urself n have a gd rest ok?

yah same here, gona wait for d nxt balloting or if not, have to look at d resale flats alrdy.
hmm...u r looking at videography? wat kind of package r u looking at? d basic kind or with montage, video express, wedding highlights etc, i may have a couple of contacts for ur reference...if u r interested, email me at [email protected]

muddpie

ashley....wow...ur SIL waist real slim ah...only 22"...if i hv like 24...will b flying to moon liao...not to mention 22
anyway..thats gd news to ur SIL...
for my package it state there EG mtm to keep but WG on rental...it doesnt really matter to me...actually i dun wish to keep...cos no plc to store..but since is stated to keep then will c after married hor lor...=p

sleepycat1

Muddpie,

My ex-boss also had her WG done at Bridal Veil 1-2 years back. Recently, she got a call from them saying that they are giving her back the WG as a gift. So good of them hor?

crayongal

yeps... us_mei.... take a look at the venues u shortlisted...

pg/vg can book abit later.. but if u can squeeze in time to meet one or two of them..would be gd too.. hee =)

hmmm... i forgot... how abt yr gowns.. ? would be bought frm where u are at or here ?

~sblbee~

Hi Mal,
Changi Village is a nice venue, been there for my retreat a couple of yrs back...but it's a little too far for me as i prefer smwhere central...r u considering it? How's d package like?

pinky81

hi jfaith

Mine is tentatively 22/11/08.

That is our dummy date actually. Waiting for geomancer to confirm. metioning about the geomancer, I really do not know what to say, counted the dates for 2 months and still nothing out yet.

flora_bliss

Down with gastric flu since tue. Now still suffering from stomach upset. Sigh...

For videography, I'm lookin at the basic ones with express highlight to be played during banquet. I'll definitely drop you a mail.

Thanks!!!

polarwhite80

wah, this post getting hot so fast.... hahaha.... was busy last wk, no time to update.... went marriott & conrad last wk... most or less finalise on marriott... now waiting for the banquet sales to work out on my package... quite like their service....

~sblbee~

hi polarwhite,
glad to see you on this thread at last, wah... you have done your homework wor, do let me know of the finalised outcome so that i can add to our compiled list...

polarwhite80

hi addy,

is better for u to seek geomancer's advice... as they will choose a date that avoid the zodiac sign of urs, ur hubby, parents, parents in-laws and even ur bro (if u have 1).... for my case, she did ask me abt my bro's zodiac sign as my bro need to open the bride car... hahhaa... i even have timing to reach my hubby's house.... for my date, zodiac sign of chicken cant be in my sis grp...

blur_queenie

Muddpie,

How's the design coming about? My ex colleague got hers from BV too two years back. Clean cut design and heavy too. Only had two hours of outdoor photoshoot cos too hot in her duchess satin gown.

Hmm, i would prefer weekday evening too but i'm fine with Weekend afternoon. Let see what the majority says.

Just had PS yesterday. Thank God the weather was good. One word to describe my make up and hairdo : "Dramatic!" but no regrets. My photographer show us some unedited shots on her camera and it's nice! Cant wait to see the rest.

vividz

hi, I just signed up at Novotel for 20th July package. The dates r really fully booked, so I got no choice but to take 20th July. I just told my mum abt the date, she scolded me said no one gets married during chinese 6th mth one. Anyone heard abt this b4?

I felt so hurt when I told her tat date happily, in the end everything got spoil by the remark she said. Sigh...

~sblbee~

wah polarwhite,
urs so detailed, i juz got my date during my 1st visit, d rest have to wait till 3 mths b4 my wedding den go n consult him again...

crayongal

hmmm....vividz , im a novotel btb toO! welcome... u can join us at the NCQ thread too..

erms, as for the dates.. ya.. i booked them abt 2mths ago... so, could get the date i wanted.. did hear that alot of dates for 08 are booked. i guess ncq is getting quite popular.. only thg is .. i didn't manage to wait for wedding fair perks. heh.. din noe they were gonna have one. i guess u signed up at the fair today? =)

newae, i did hear abt the chinese 6th mth thing.. but my FH and me.. we chose our own dates - not pan-dan lah.. so , we didn't tink abt it. but ya... there is such a thing.. his mum did mention to us but since we dun believe den also nm lor. hehe

crayongal

btw, all of us here in the july 08 brides thread would be 'chinese 6th mth' brides mah. hehe
tell yr mum many gals getting married .. hehe.. dun worry!

n dun be so sians or sad.. i guess she jus wants the best for u...
according to the superstition (sorry..for those who believe..) i tink it means half-yr bride coz 6th mth..so evthg is half-half..not complete..smthg lydat.....

so, she jus worried abt dat i guess... =)
still its becoz she has yr interest at heart.. dun sianx.. =)

crayongal

S'rene - 19 July 2008/ Peony Jade Restaurant /Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008/Novotel Clarke Quay
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / nothing on bridal shop yet
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008/HIPV/My Bridal Room

*vividz, i added u in..let us noe where is yr BS! =)

polarwhite80

hi meiling,

hmmm.... dunno leh, she gave me everything liao leh.... i even got dates for my GDL.... as for an chuan, dunno need date or not, will ask my mum when AD gets nearer....

jule

I told my mum abt my date, she didn't say anything abt lunar 6th month.. she told me cannot be in lunar 9th month, for my sign... I guess all these depends.. I got the list of dates from a Shifu so it may differ for each one

vysweetapple

Hi applemuffin,

We have already booked the bridal package. Nw left with the dinner banquet only. We only decided on the date recently as bf wanted to see tong shu first. Maybe will settle for grassroot club as near to the mrt. Where did u book for the dinner banquet?

crayongal

keke.. Jule.. my mum is not pan-dan so she also not sure for my sign/zodiac.. which mth cannot or can..

haha.. i guess the lunar 6th month thing is quite standard wanx.. hehe.. coz is like 'ban-nian' xin niang/wedding.. and its supposedly not gd. keke =P

Yoz...long time din come here to take a look cos busy with work and also getting quotations for house reno.

Anyway just to update, banquet for mine is Swissotel (Old Westin) and BS is Yvonne Creative.

cecilia07

Hi ladies, I haven been logging in for days! My PC crashed! Anyway, I am sourcing for Videographer also. Will share if I have some results!

funfun08

mine is on 11 Nov 2008, actually oso waiting for geomancer to confirm but we went dream wedding at Novotel yday..

So we juz signed the banquet to confirm our day... now abit worry if tt day is not ok... eek!

Hotel: NCQ
BS: Mon'liza Wedding Castle, KL

~sblbee~

hi polarwhite,
wah...seems like everyone got their timing n dates, im juz scared i'll b in for a big surprise if i have to wake up early...hehe, ur mum so expert, my mum simply bo chup, guz i'll make to make a trip down to you long zi in jul nxt yr

ohoh

Hi! I'm a Jul 08 BTB too!

berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / nothing on bridal shop yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone

~sblbee~

Hi Flora_Bliss,
Sent you the 3 contacts as promised, do compare and search for more contacts if you need....

Meanwhile, hope that you're feeing better now

crayongal

Hey winwin,
you being a 6th July bride.. shld be the first on our list la.. keke =P
anyhows, yeh.. our list is increasing... =)
so many july brides next year.

Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone

vividz

Thanks everyone.

I just heard the saying of half-yr bride from my friend too. Maybe cos of that, there are still a few dates left. my mum just scolded me w/o letting me know y tat mth can't, tat's y i'm sad and angry with her. I ald paid the deposit, if need to change date, got to pay some amount. Sigh... Hopefully won't have to change. This date I choose after I checked online, it's a gd day for marriage and nvr crush with my hubby and I and both our parents.

Stef, thanks for updating the list. My BS haven't find yet, my hubby said still early. oh ya, I went for the fair tat day and signed up with them to get a complimentary 1 table free if I came up with 30 tables and also 1 extra nite stay at their bridal room.

malchan

hi polarwhite

Received ya mail. Thanks!

Hi Meiling, my geomancer also did not provide me with the time & I was advised to call her again 2-3 mths prior to my AD to get the auspicious time.
I went to Amara on Sat but we're not impressed with the overall ambience. I was bitten by mosquitoes at the pavilion though it was less than 5 mins there. There is only 1 access door to the swimming pool (which is the buffet area for guests) hence the hotel guests will be using the door to the swimming pool.
We're looking at other venue now.. Will update you

~sblbee~

Hi Mal,
Actually had put Amara as my 5th or 6th choice now, I'm now considering between Hotel Rendezvous and Royal Park @ Scotts, awaiting for more details from the hotels...do let me know if you got better lobangs :p

amias

Hi guys.. i'm new here..

my AD is on the 5th July God willing.. we booked the Furama Riverfront.. still havent got a BS and all since i'm currently in New Zealand.. arghh little stressed.. wont be able to go to Sg till June next year cos i'm still in uni.

well, will be gg end of this year to do the muslim marriage course.. but that's only for less than 2 weeks. aiyo.. what can i do in the 10 days that i am there?

please help!

Thanks so much..