(2008) Brides of year 2008

rommie

My ROM was on 060607 and I took up a ROM package from Jess Haute Couture (there is a link on this studio under the ROM couple).

$388 Package is pretty comprehensive:
(1) MTM ROM Dress (to keep)
(2) Make-up and Hairdo at the studio
(3) Hand Bouquet

However, must give about 2 to 3 mths to make the dress and for fitting.

Am happy with the service and dress fits perfectly and am thinking of using it as my tea ceremony dress too.

Do check out the website at http://www.jesscouture.com.sg/

mano

Hi! New here... I'm at Jan 08 BTB too! AD will be on 26th Jan.

i'm doing my facial at kose too. It is indeed very good with friendly and experienced beauticians. i frequent the takashimaya branch. :D

hatemenot

hey piyopiyo, me goes to taka branch too! beautician is JAY =). who's yours?

but i must say Kose dont do those harsh and thorough extractions.. so if you prefer very very thorough extractions, kose is not the place.. hee hee but the stuff they use are very good!

mano

i dun have a fixed beautician so far. have tried jay, yvonne, sandy and sheryl.

jay is very friendly and very patient. I intend to stick to sheryl though.

mage

Jojo, Flower is on the 2nd floor of Ngee Ann City, next to Larry Jewellery, near the escalator where LV is.

I just came back from Four Seasons Bridal Showcase. Nice place, nice gowns, nice jewelleries. Hehe!
Didn't win the lucky draw though... :p

Then I went to Allure Charix to try on a few gowns. Their largest size is L or Size 12. I can't even zip up but at least i know roughly what kind of gowns suits me but I want to try more. Allure's boss, Annah i think, went to dig out a plus size gown for me to try. Its corset looking top and A-line bottom. The gown is about $280 including $30 alteration. The price is very attractive but I didn't like the bottom with crystal embrioderies on the overlay organza material. Kinda old fashion looking. Was thinking of redoing the embrioderies but not sure redo to what and whether worth to redo or not. What you gals think? Shall I buy the gown and redo the bottom design or shall I go back to YC for MTM gowns?

pinky81

sky (skywu)

Ops... Should be 2008. Din realise that until now. The date is a dummy date because parents have not decided on the auspicious date yet.

pinky81

Tiffy (shyantiffy), mine is also on 22 Nov! But that is a dummy date. Pray hard that the day is auspicious enough for my parents and his!

stnov

thks cabbage & noreen.....guess mi would have to go for extraction & scaling soon....'face turns pale'.....=(

toking abt facial....it's been ages since I went for one.....=)

princessnono

Hey Mage, I feel tat you should consider going back to YC to MTM gowns than to alter the original one fr Allure.. cos the overall feel will be different.. & MTM gown cost abt the same price rite just that we can't keep it.. ??
*Just my tots!* kekekke...
kao_babydust.gif

princessnono

Hey Stnov... get it out of the way soon... before there is any decay... For me, the whole wasn't as painful as I expected.. I didn't take any painkillers till now.. just waiting for the swell on my pain to subside... hopefully soon.. No worries yah!!

blur_queenie

Hi Tete,

Thanks for the info, think i should try Kose facial. Mine cause $95 and i think the beautician seems to cut short some things. The menu indicated two masks included but i only recall one mask done.

I bought my wedding bands yesterday finally..phew..Didnt went to Flower though. Both me and FH were so tired going around the shops that we just settle once and for all at Goldheart. Took seperate design as he did not prefer the guys' version for my design but both rings are in rose gold and white gold. My design is from felicite and his belongs to Celeste as GH trsf the range to celeste due to the diamond use.

One item down, a few more on checklist to go. Had the meet parent session yesterday, both of us were stress up that we didnt eat much. Think the food at Grand shanghai was overrated, they werent that fantastic as people had mentioned and one of their signature dish which is the claypot beancurd with crabmeat was so "fishy" that they exchange another dish for us.

xinyi_reiko

Congrates.

Yesterday went to HIPV for wedding dinner... those who consider having banquet there.. may want to reconsider..

The food was cold. No food is piping hot. There is one staff drop a tray of plates and bowls on the floor, which I am pretty shock. Sound system was bad. And there is pillars around the ballroom.

princessnono

wow.. jojo.. congrats tat u finally found your wedding band!! me still in the mist of searching for design... haiz... stress... kekekke...
Your parent's mtg session is over.. must be a big relief yah.. mine will prob be in sep or oct during our food tasting.. super stress...cos I not in very close terms with my mum...
kao_frustrated.gif
haiz...

ai_hui

I'm also a June'08 bride. My AD is 7th June. Actually I crossed over from the Dec'07 thread. I was supposed to get married this Dec. But I fell sick so had to postpone moi wedding to next year.

zhuoen

hihi ladies... its been a while since i last came in... and gosh... missed out so much... hahaha

if u have any queries of rom details just let me know ya... had my rom in dec last yr... hehee..

Hi Mage,

Perhaps you wanna check with Muddpie. She has lots of "dealings" with YC, maybe she can give you her 2cents' worth of comments.

Keke.. i bought my wedding sandals le...$53... :p
nice....

shyantiffy

Yo Pinky! Hi 5 on the same date!... I dunno leh.. the date given for me to choose is solely base on me & my HTB's birthdate... our parents on the other hand... dun believe in those auspicious date thingy.. kekeke.. so we'll go ahead with 22 nov 08!

KoKoBrok... i where got good figure?? trying to make myself more boopy.. kekeke.. scare the top will slip off! hahahaha...

vyn1436

blurz_ger, Tke for the advise! in fact i have sourced and check out 1 BS and am currently considering their dress while i look ard at some boutiques
But at least i'm getting somewhr!

rommie, Congrats! Whr did u hold your rom? Can i see some pictures of your dress? If you can, pls email to [email protected]

Tiffy, haha i'm sure you've no prob filling up the dress
How does your dress look like? Do you mind if i take a look?

witch

Noreen, if you like, you can try Fairy's Inc to design your own wedding bands. Initially, I wanted to get my bands from Fairy's Inc but hubby was too kancheong to quickly buy wedding bands cos ROM was brought forward.

yfeb29

Hi Netfinity,

Nice to know someone is sharing the same AD as mine. Did you go thru a geomancer in finalising this date? I did for a fact.

Another coincidence, we share the same age too!

Banquet Venue is not thou

U have chosen Furama Riverfront, I plan at NCQ.

poopa

Yippie... i've got a call from Goldheart that my ring is ready for collection...

Mage, i also think that u should go back to YC since it's a MTM...

blur_queenie

Hi Noreen,

Thanks! Think you should ask your mum what does she wants and transmit the info to ur FH side so that both parties are well prepared and will not end up arguing who should be paying or following which custom. I'm abit disappointed now cos my mum wasnt too happy with my FH side. She felt that they are too protected over their custom and wanted us (bride) to follow them instead. Being the modern bride , i also hope that the event will be as simple as possible however we have to follow my FH custom and my mum was hoping mad on giving in to them.

And i lose my battle to convince my mum to either take pinjin or tables. So in the end, she took both but will return a portion back. My FH side wasnt very happy with such arrangement as they only practice either PJ or tables but they agree to my mum's request. Now both of us are kinda stuck in the middle facing slight unhappiness from both side parents. My FH do not want to bother much about such custom and just follow what the elderly want to do. Sigh.. my mum even told me that it'll be best not to have banquet, such a waste of time and money..
If she has told me earlier, i will not even bother to have it but think FH side might not accept it..oh well...haiz..

rommie

Kokobrok, thanks!!! I held my ROM at Teahouse @Chinasquare. Solemnise in the function room with 30 relatives and friends around followed by tim sum high tea.

You have got mail!!!

ecclesia

Hi feilinc and Jerlene,
I should be with RH, but my FH not so happy with the menu
so we didn't confirmed with them.. now trying Traders, can share with me your package/menu ?
thanks..

hatemenot

hi jojo and noreen,

i totally agree! it's best to communicate with your mum or ask your FH to communicate with his mum first on what kind of stuff or how much they are willing to give.. that kind of thing.. lao ren jia very sensitive to these kind of things.

my mum oso taking pinjin and tables.. hopefully she will return a portion back.. if not, i guess no choice oso.. ultimately, i guess we just want everybody to be happy in this kind of preparations. =)

qiqi81

Same as tete.. My parents are also taking PJ and tables.. Since my hubby and I are paying for all the wedding, my parents will only be taking 4-5 tables and paying the rest of the tables. Most prob, they won't be returning any portion back. Anyway, we feel that as long as they are happy, we are fine with it..

As for my PILs, they didn't mention about anything since everything is paid by us which includes my "si dian zhuan". As for all the traditions, I think my PILs are those modern type and since they do not know what are the things we should do and not do so most prob, they will just follow my customs.. But I will never know if I am right about my judgement until we have the meetup session. Hopefully they won't get too sensitive during the meetup session..

bigfish

Hi charlyn,

My coordinator is Mark too.. agree that he is a very nice guy... i dont think that i wld go for the dream theme, in-laws wldnt like so much dark colours...

i am still looking for makeup artist... and a caterer for my church recep in the noon.. guess the rest are pretty much done up already...

now i am jus waiting to see my PS pics...

princessnono

hi gers... I dun mind my mum taking both pin jin & tables if the amt is reasonable.. cos in the 1st pl, she requested $10K pin jin with no tables.. after tat she wanted 3 tables.. now she thinks not enuff so wants 5 tables.. i am very pissed tat she only wants to take everything to her benefit lor.. haiz.. so my bro talk to her & she says she will pay for the additional 2 tables.. but pin jin is quite a lot rite?? wat do u think... hmmm.....me headache.. now we are having cold war.. kekekkee... better for me.. cosi can plan my stuffs easier with her.. =P luckily my dad & bro very understanding...

qiqi81

$10K for pinjin is quite alot but then she still have to return a portion of the pinjin back to your FH's side.. Maybe she will return more than 50% of the pinjin back..

princessnono

hey Tris.. knowing her.. think she won't return so much.. most likely, she will expect my FH to bao extra so tat she can keep the $10k.. HAIZ...super stress...
anyway, I am already too numb to bother abt her leow...
kao_angry.gif

hatemenot

hi noreen,

communicate with ya mum more and talk to her nicely...dont have cold war yah..=)

but 10k is really alot! sometimes i think that mums are just very protective of their daughters.. and maybe she will return. ask her about that =)

princessnono

hmmm.... yap.. I know.. but everytime we talk sure end up in arguement.. same character no choice.. hahhaha.. so many years leow.. kind of no feel already.. =P Me & FH are taking things as it goes lor... see how... luckily my MIL very understanding.. knows wat my mum is like..

prispris

haha thanks... aldies me ROM pic not up yet... still with my sis... but i only took 2 pic.. as... my ROM only 5 mins haha haha

muddpie

i m back in this forum...hehehe...too busy with work & other stuff thus didnt come in for a week...took me more than 1/2hr to read all the post...kekeke :D

well...updates on my progress...err...i hadnt done much yet...start from bs...i think my hubby wants to give up on yc...he still prefer xzen...shld be having a final decision by mid july when he settle dwn after all his oversea trips..i wouldnt say yc gowns not nice..mayb their cutting dun suit me...actually i saw quite a few nice gowns...but when i try on it...seem like so so oni...not as nice thou...hehehe...mayb prob with my face & body ba...=p

oh...abt bands...we did get our bands from gold heard a couple of years back when we ROM...& decided to get a new pair now...since my hubby's ring like quite tanish & out of shape liao...pls dun mistaken gold heart quality is not gd...their quality are fine...jus cos my hubby used to be in the navy...so u noe lah...do alot of rough work...so bo bian lor..
went to Fairy Inc like 2 weeks ago...we happen to like some of their unique designs which they showed us...& price wise i think my hubby can accept..cos he used to think custom made bands are pretty exp & not worth..."heng ah" after the visit he was like quite impressed with the service they provide...kekeke....i will b visiting again towards end of next week...to discuss more abt the designs etc...but meanwhile i oso wanna shop at other plcs..to see if we can find something nice & unqique b4 we settle with Fairy Inc...kekeke...me very fickle minded hor...

btw i attended the marriage prep course last weekend...tat was my 1st lesson...will b having another lesson next week...i think it quite beneficiary to attend...:D

Parents meeting session will be ard sep..previously my mum oso ask for a great deal in terms of pinjin & tables..which i think total up will be ard $10k...i was not very happy...kekeke....cos in the 1st plc..i didnt want to have the dinner..it was her insisting it...cos hubby parents are ok not having...leaves everything to us...my dad...no objection...he feels wedd is btwn 2 of us..so we shld decide...so oso had cold war & quarrel etc...hahaha...then i think my dad told her since everything we are paying, take pinjin & table she cun take...lucky my dad talked her out...

Noreen,
i think u could let ur mum noe tat a whole of $10k will b quite hard on u if both u & FH are paying for everything...talk to her nicely...i m sure she oso dun 1 u to suffer or b indebt after ur wedd...
in the end mums are alwas worrying abt their daughters even after they are married off...i think majority of the couples faces this...communicate more with her..if not u wont feel happy throughout ur prep process...

sorry for my long post ah...too long didnt post liao..:D

oh...1 last thing...our next gathering will be after mid july or towards end of july...cos i think tete will be busy with her ROM...i have 4 wedds to attend...will hv a hole in my pocket...so need abit of time to recover 1st...kekeke....shall update more when dates are nearer ya...=)

blur_queenie

Noreen,

Best if you can come to a common point for the matter with both family. Ultimately it's a happy event. Dun end up like me that both side are unhappy with each other. Have told my FH on my mum's request before but not too sure if he told his parents. Neither does he want to bother much about the custom as he felt it's a waste of time (which i do agree). All these banquet and customs are actually meant for his side so he also bo bian. Even my mum want to do away with it but without agreement with PIL side, think just got to go with the flow.

witch

My parents are asking for pin jin as well as 6 tables. We are paying for everything. Hubby is feeling the stress now cos we are also going to renovate and buying furniture and electricals for the house.

blur_queenie

Muddpie,

At least you are fortunate to have your dad to talk it out with your mum. My dad didnt even say a single thing and my mum was screaming at me on how disgusted she was with my FH side for being so "cheap skate" to give either one which in the end they did agree to give all. So the 1st impression is already gone. Even when i have mentioned lots of time that both of us be paying the banquet, i too got screamed at why do i pay for it whereas it's guys that have to pay for everything..haiz. Sometimes i think my mum just do not understand the society well enough and still stick to the "guy must pay everything" mentality. Noreen, I'm not very close to my mum too but I try to make things easy for both side. But seems like it's hard to please both side when my FH just refuse to burge to please everyone.

jlynn

Hihi btbs, another June bride reporting in..
Currently, only my venue is confirmed, BS and AD photographer are left with final confirmation... How about you gals?

Hi Ai Hui, my AD is one day after yours, 8th June.