(2008) Brides of year 2008

hatemenot

hi mage,

they really printed that!? gosh... me oso having luncheon.. it's not so cheap nor lunch.. but actually me and hub aredi dont think that we will be able to breakeven, just hope not to lose too much can liao.

okay.. 3 more days to 7% GST and my ROM! excited!! about my rom of course.. not the gst thingy. hee hee

mage

tete, yup
The exact sentence is "If you are headed for a lunch or afternoon tea, expect to give about half of what you normally
pony up for a 10 course dinner.". I wrote an email to feedback on the article! haha! Dunno got use or not :p Told hubby about the article he also say how can like that print, will cause many couples to suffer... We also dun expect to breakeven for our luncheon. Hopefully the deposit is enough to buffer and we don't have to top up anymore.

So you all set for your ROM? Must show us pictures!

hatemenot

hi mage,

i think i will write to them too.. and tell them how much my lunch is going to cost... it's not that cheap nor... 4 star hotel dinner about that price too.. like hotel rendevous dinner is about my luncheon price.

really faint.. luckily i only have 16 tables.. otherwise i will kuey1 da4 ben3~

ROM.. both nervous and excited.. especially scared all my guests will come late.. then cannot start.. then die..
will show you galz the pictures when it's ready!

mage

tete, ya write in... the more people write in the better. Hehe! Me too... only about 140 guest only but still its a misconception that should be cleared and not continue to mislead readers.

Think somehow guests will be late one... typical you know. Can't be help so you must be prepared for it.
Most importantly, must have fun!
Enjoy ah!

090308bride

Hi Serlz..

Oh.. another intercon bride.. I am a Intercon bride too!

What gown do you have in mind? I think the bridal studio which you have selected really depends on the type of gown that you like..

~sblbee~

Hi Tiffy,
Just booked my BS with White Link and gona book my dinner soon, should be with Marina Mandarin. Have to settle the 40 tables requirement before I go ahead to book, had actually wanted 32 to 35 tables. I'm also looking at actual day photography and videography. As for my ROM, was thinking of going up to the Singapore Flyer next year but FH afraid of heights. :p Haven't set the date yet. Gave up my appointment for the WIS for HG, SK and PG flats yesterday. Have to wait for Aug WIS as I prefer AMK flats.

Hi Valerie,
Don't be nervous, it's actually quite ok and you'll be happy with the results. It's the first time in my time that I can see so clearly without my glasses, though expensive but worth it. I only have to wear glasses during meetings and at the movies, still can see quite clearly so normally no need to wear. Can pluck your eyebrows, don't worry.
I did both together. Try not to swim for one month and be careful of the soap when you bathe. As for eye makeup and face powder, recommended to avoid the eye area for at least 1 or 2 weeks, but I cannot tahan, eyes look small and naked without eyeliner, so I put on after 1 week. Try not to rub your eyes, use eyedrops to wash out the dirt. Some people have dry eyes or mild night-blindness, but overall it's ok. It's just the follow-up checks that's troublesome, 1-week, 1-month, 6-month and 1-year. I was offered an enhancement as I still have leftover to correct my vision but declined as I may not have perfect eyesight due to my 1000+ history and I did not want my cornea to be thinner. The doctor also advised me to keep some degrees so can avoid "lao hua yan" when I hit 40s.

Hi Mindy,
Congrats! You're one of us....rest well, how come you got 1 week MC so good. I only got 2 days' MC. Have to apply leave for my 1-week follow-up checkup.

prispris

but how much did u pay for ur lasik>??
both my eyes are now 750 each and i am so scare i will go blind one day... but heard that even after lasik u will still have the degree back???

btw ladies any place to intro for pedi and mani?? the one i always go, are always fully booked... so i intedn to source out for others...

shyantiffy

Hey Meiling.. wow.. thats fast! kekek.. me will be going for my wedding bands tmr, meeting up with jit of silverlinig & Lance Lee for pre-wedding photography..

Anyway.. dunno y I'm not that ganjiong anymore.. hahaha... got fren who is doing ROM & dinner at 1 shot in nov also not ganjiong.. kekeke.. so I'm gonna take it slow..

beachgirlz

hi meiling

nice to see ur long reply! got so much info

can trim eyebrow.. but how to? cos when triming, the lady's hand will 'press' on our eyes at certain angles.. wont tat dislodge the flap or wad cos he flap is still healing?

ur degree is 1000+, how much exactly? low 1000 or near 1500? mine is 1000 each side. hopefully wont left much degree.. ard 50 is ok hahaha. how much degree u have left ar? use eye drops can wash out the dirt ar? so have to apply a lot like continuously?

serlz

Hi BrideBride,

Actually looking for some bareback and two piece growns. Thought of using Chris Ling photographers. What packages did you enrol for?

sweetbeng

Hi Tiffy, saw in the CA thread that you will be getting your wedding bands there. I was at their Suntec branch yday looking around. So many nice designs that I couldn't decide which one to get! Which design did u go for?

hapimint

hey, the doc that i went to told me that he just did a case, 1250 then after the lasik, she is only left with 50... so it is optional if she want an enhancement.
Mine also 700+ so went to do... now okay le...
I have to go for 2nd review before I know need to do ehancement anot....
Lucky, I from beginning to now always dare not to pluck eyebrows so no problems... cos I dun do it... hehe....
I put my eyedrops like every hourly or two hourly that I am awake... good enough le... basically, not much discomfort....
my SO paid about 2.8k for both my eyes... including evaluation, 1st review, 2nd review and 3rd review. Also includes a free enhancement with the first year....

shyantiffy

Sweetbeng..I haveta go for the wave design coz my fingers are too skinny...all the round ones makes my hand looks ugly coz there'll be gaps inbetween fingers... only their wave design looks & feel comfortable so going for that... as for my FH... he going for the stainless steel base (the interchangeable one) with a scroll that has got many small diamonds around it....simply love the CA's design...

princessnono

hey.. I also wan to write in.. I haven't read tat article yet.. hmmm.. how could they write such an article yah... =( I also having luncheon leh...hopefully, they can do something about it in the next issue.. otherwise sure hai si heng duo ren!!

hatemenot

hi mage, can i trouble you to post the email of the editor here so that we brides can write in?
cos i dont have the magazine.. thanks!

yeah will enjoy myself! trying to psycho myself not to worry too much.. thanks tris! will upload them when i get them =D

090308bride

Hi Serlz.. bareback.. sexy .. hehe.. Silverlining has very good bareback cutting and design.. Divine couture too..

For me, I only settle on the wedding gown design, not yet on the photographers. But most probably I will choose Tucky, I think.

muddpie

mage,

agree with tete...post the email here...or if u can mayb can scan tat article to show us? i oso 1 2 write in..thou i not having luncheon...but i feel this is really very unfair to tos ppl having luncheon...the editor should do some research b4 she writes this...

ahbao114jp

I'm a March 2008 BTB too!

My AD on 16-3-08. Chose this date coz it's 1 week after my work contract ends & it's basically a "OK date" for wedding. It's a Sunday though.....

Dinner at Oriental. Bridal shop is Sattine. AD photo & video by Moomedia. Now just relaxing till date is nearer before planning details...

But quite excited about how AD program will run, songs to use etc... any suggestions?

kist

I have just bought a chole bag for my mother from http://www,topbagzone,com. The bag is excellent. I like it very much.
The company carry the following brands : Hermes (Birkins,JPG birkin, Kelly, etc.), Louis Vuitton, Chloe, Chanel, Gucci, Fendi, Christain Dior, Marc Jacobs, Balenciaga, Mulberry, Prada, Alexander McQueen and so on.

090308bride

Hi Serlz.. what is AA? My friend got Margaret Brides for her gown.. pretty.. especially if you like lace and structure gown.. so princess!!

I have use Kai for the bridal gown.. but not yet settle on the evening...

Getting a good AD photographer really need a lot of research.. been looking around for a while.. but so far only find lyrical moments really suit my taste.. but not my pocket.. haha..

Planning .. planning .. planning..

wow ahbao.. you really plan long way ahead har.. I keep thinking there is tons of time previously.. now it seems like everybody is trying to book their favorite vendors at this moment.. I have so busy settling on my house renovation, which just finished.. so.. now.. doing one thing at a time.. shag..

serlz

Hi BrideBride,

AA means Angels Antelier.

Ya... A lot of planning to be done for this 9 months. Luckily my hse TOP ard 2009 so dun need worry abt that.

Btw, what type of grown you had in Kai?

~sblbee~

prispris,
Sad to say I paid $5k plus for everything and I had my degree back due to neglience. So gals, pls take gd care of ur eyes ok? Dun end up like me. Aiyo, I'm den scared man, cos I'm abt 1200 degrees for each eye.
I juz signed up a pedi package wif House of Colours @ E2 Novena Level 4 cos Bellus (De) Charme too many ppl liao. Tink dat shop was featured in Her World a couple of mths back. If I didn't remember wrongly, shd b $165 for 5+1 classic pedi.

Tiffy,
At least u better than me, I haven't got my wedding bands yet. Any update? Tink I'll get mine frm Lee Hwa. Any gd recommendation? Tink I've to act fast leh, more n more ppl more kiasu nowadays, was told my tentative dates in Nov, alrdy got ppl bk n I was on waiting list on 1 of those days. Where u intend to hold ur wedding? Perhaps all of us interested in a particular hotel shd mass-bargain for better perks :p

Valerie,
Mis-interpret ur eye-trimming, tot it's u maintain on ur own. But for eye-trimming, better to wait for at least 1 mth. For me, I'm oso very scared to rub my eyes too hard during my 1st yr cos I'm afriad dat my wound won't heal properly n my cornea flap will b affected. But heng, nothing happen so far....touch wood...:p
Mine is ard 1200 on each eye, actually d results for individual differs. Some will get perfect eyesight, but I'm happy wif wat I've as compared to the past. Now 1 side ard 75 1 side ard 175. I always tot it's increasing but smtimes it's juz dry eyes so must lubricate wif eye drops or blink more often. Juz apply when necessary, perhaps once an hr or 2 hrs in d beginning. U can wash out d dirt by eye drops or use tissue on d side of ur eyes but avoid using ur hands to rub when ur eyes r itchy. I've got a colleague who got over-corrected, now she can c v far. Hehe...

Mindy,
Yes, I had 1200 degrees on both eyes n was offered enhancement as 1 side is 75 n 1 side is 175 but I decided to keep some degrees to prevent laohua. Wah....so gd, ur price is abt 1/2 of wat I paid.
Hope ur 1st review is ok as I was really nervous every time I went for my reviews.

ahbao114jp

hi BrideBride

I've to plan early coz FH not in S'pore, need to do all these by myself. Also need to arrange for his relatives to come from overseas...

hi Snow,

I'm taking 10 tables at the Garden Suite. Now still thinking whether want to hold solemnization there or not...

beachgirlz

meiling.. ok got it. tks for the info! will take not hehe. don trim eyebrow v ugly.. but i guess eyes more impt haha.

tiffy and sweetbeng.. wad is the CA u all talking abt? i also wan see.. i'm looking for bands too hehe

zhuoen

wah, reali arty farty... unique...
had engaged kelvin koh.lightedpixels for my rom last yr...
anyone interested to view, let me know ya...
but need to have multiply.com account...

sweetbeng

valerie, it's Charlotte Atelier. They have 2 shops, one in Suntec and the other in Ngee Ann City. They carry the Gabrielle diamond and Niessing brand.

snoopy78

I'm new here. My AD is in May 08.

I am currently looking for my BS. I've only shortlisted 3 BS to visit >> Amanda Lee, Ted Collection and Happy.Ever.After.

I've went down to Amanda Lee and Ted Collection already. After i'm done with Happy.Ever.After, it's time for me to make the final decision.

By the way, did any of u gals happen to take up any packages from any of the above 3 BS?

Will appreciate if you can offer me some feedback.

090308bride

Hi Serlz.. oh.. I never been to Angels.. can't help you on it..

I get Kai cos I like the soft look.. thinking of a ball gown design.. hehe.. with the hope that I will look like a fairy.. hehe

HI Ahbao.. oh.. no wonder you plan so early.. now you must be relaxing.. envy..

avelinekoh

Me is 02/02/2008 bride too... It will be my outdoor solemnisation.
I already done my homework..and i know the design of my gown to be...Now i need recommendation for doin my gowns and also freelance MUA..

mage

I also think I should scan the article first and let you all have it first before you gals write in. I will do it next week can? I'm travelling up to KL tonight and will only be back late Sunday night. If any of you happen to have a chance to flip thru the magazine, the article is on page 108.

So glad that so many of us have the same thoughts. Hope that the more people write in they will do something to ratify the article. If not really will hai si ren one.

witch

After more than a month of bumming around, I'm finally getting my ass back to the workforce again. This time it's also an ad agency though I will be doing slightly different things....got new things to learn and new challenges to overcome! Hubby is kinda sian that I'm back to agency life cos it may means long working hours again.... Have promised him that from now on, family and my health will come before work

If I have the chance, I wouldn't want to work but living in Singapore with just one source of income is tough. Better for both husband and wife to work.....

shyantiffy

Yea... Val... if u wan you can check their website http://www.charlotteshop.com/shop/index.html to have a feel of their design...

SweetBeng..I went down to buy the rings today...but need 4 weeks for the arrival of the rings.. coz they say those on display are not meant to be sold to customers... they'll order frm germany again base on your finger size lor..

Meiling...I haven't decided on the banquet yet... now busy with solemnisation..kekeke.. but today very fruitful.. Today went to silverlining & met up with jit... glad that he knows exactly wat i want & had given very good suggestion.. I haven't really got his package price yet.. but well...I'm bend on silverlining gowns la..

joylin_bb

Hi ahbao114,

I am having my solemnization during afternoon time at the function room (5th floor). I wanted to hold outdoor, but extra money which hold me back. What time is ur Solemnization?

You are fast. you have plan everything. I havnt start finding my BS, photography, VJ, JP,...

Now very stress cos have to do my renovation 1st. Cannot relax.

imac

welcome aveline..outdoor..hmm...where's yr venue? i used to love to do so but kinda afraid of hot weather out there :p

ahbao114jp

bridebride,
Forgot to add in that another reason why i so kiasu to book everything now is because of the prices. Wanted to "lock" the contracts at 2007's prices. Every year vendor prices go up...so the earlier i book the better, esp. with GST going up!

snow
I'm not sure to hold solemnization during dinner or just before dinner at the reception area in Garden Suite, or at home/hotel after the morning stuff...
Did they charge u extra for taking the function room?

I feel guilty after seeing that so many brides here have booked their wedding banquet so much earlier. I only start looking around for banquet venue this week hehe.

MeiLin,
I have emailed you the GCW package 2008. That file contains both their 2007 and 2008 packages.