(2007) Brides of year 2007

Jas>> My HB only sends me to work occasionally....he usually goes into the office at 9.30am or after, hehee.

He works in the East and me in town so ERP very ex...so at times, he will just send me to the MRT.

Shirley>> Is it? hehee. I didn't know got 1.8m one though.

aGnes>> I see. We selected the tiles last Sat. but we were given a range (i.e. up to $3.20 psf) for homogenous tiles in the living area.

The one we want is $3.40 psf...so we need to top up a bit. But my HB wants those super-glossy type which is $4 psf!

I objected cuz it's too ex liao! So now we are still deciding.

Looks like my HB is the one who cannot control his budget when it comes to house reno.

von, I agree with you.. it's not like we go out late all the time, it's really once a while.. I suddenly feel like a 10-year old kid staying in that house.

We just got to tolerate & have a 'heck-care' attitude, or else they'll just drive us into depression.

Don't worry too much, check into this forum now & then to let out your frustrations.. we'll be here for you.

Junie: I got them to customise for me. Coz i need at least a 1.8m table to squeeze 8 pple around the table.

By the way, its quite difficult to main the glossy tiles. You will have problem hiding the scratches, especially. Tho it looks nice, but in the long run, you will spend more $ maintaining it.

Von, thanks for your well wishes!

Mei, i hv a feeling thta ur MIL is up to something again. I think ur method of handling her is good! Direct confrontations is the worst!

U njoy ur Europe trip and i hope u find a new house soon to move out!

junie, i see... dat time when we selected the kitchen wall tiles and floor tiles, we selected those dat cost $3.30 psf.. but is ceramic ones coz ID said no one put homogenous tiles there. end up we oni doing the floor... yesterday hubby agreed to do extra kitchen cabinets, so need to spend more $$. tink have to forgo blum system for the kitchen drawers liao

Hi Pastilles,
I oso don't noe where to go for my outdoor PS yet.. haha.. Just have a "french modern" theme in mind.. don't noe how to explain that idea.. but I'm oso looking at more urban inspired look rather than greenery (just like u) hehe..

Anyways, no worries abt the NATAs fair. I heard there's another one coming up in Sept, but maybe a bit late for us Oct BTBs. I'm sure u can find gd bargains here & there in June. (sch hols)
I got a pretty gd bargain. Less than $2000 (inclusive of SQ airfares, private deluxe villa accomodation wif own pool, spa & other honeymoon perks) to Bali for my FH & I.

It seems that most of us keep adding on to the cost during the entire process of renovating. Hmm.... Check with you pple, do you all intend to get designer switches or just the normal ones?

aGnes>> ya, kitchen cannot put homo tiles cuz not water resistant & it's slippery.

actually good to have the blum syst if possible for you. maybe set aside a little bit more budget for kitchen? Otherwise, depending on what kind of your drawers u r using, IKEA also has similar item like BLUM....but it has to be put at the back/end of the metal there. aiyah, very hard to explain. :P

our drawers come with blum syst as it's provided by our ID & included in the quote.

junie, we've actually set aside $700 for blum system for 8drawers, now doing extra cabinets gonna spend abt $2k more leh.. maybe HB will take back the budget for blum system. oni the ikea pull-out drawers with mechanism like BLUM for our tall cabinet is confirmed buying liao.

Hi Carol,
I don't think I can help much in regards to JP, coz my solemnizer is a pastor.
But my sis just ROMed and her JP is called MR Phang.
He's a very "papa" kind of figure. He speaks fluently in Eng & Chinese.

shirley, we are getting those big rocker switches, but is Fong Yip brand. gonna get a discount fm my classmate's hubby shop. we bought our lights from them also. can get legrand, tis brand nt too expensive as compared to clipsal or MK

Me too. Mine is on 24 Nov! When is yours?

2 things on my mind right now: Caterer and helpers' list.

Have chosen my gown, bought my shoes and decided on my photographer.

Yeah!

aGnes>> big rocker is the same as designer switches rite?

yours one pc is abt how much? My HB had a friend who bought theirs at Marsiling for less than $10 each I think.

shirley, i haven get the price yet, coz my classmate HB usually give a lump sum discount, nt based on percentage. once my reno starts next week n the electrician confirmed everything den i'll go n get the switch. will let u know the price later. for legrand, u can check out self-fix or home-fix

shirley, welcome... yes, check out compasspoint. dat time i saw it was at marina square but nv get coz we dunno need how many. ID told us wat ever switches the electrician shift will be changed to those rocker switch but we no need to pay coz is included in the quotation. those not shifting, we have to buy ourself n the electrician will change for us.

wow, i missed out so many tins....

after hearing all the abt the relationships wif MIL i begin to hv the fear cos i will be staying wif them after June whn we complete the renovations... hope it wont be tat bad.. bt my MIL does complain to my hubby abt his SIL.. so i hope i wont hv any....

gals, lets all learn to tolerate our MILs as its another chapter of life that we r going thru...

ivied, thanks for sharing your wedding photos. you looked great... didnt see any gate carshing photos, did your husband need to go thru that?

I have replied your email with my wedding link... enjoy viewing...

We are MRS now!

We had a lovely church ceremony and the church was packed! Felt that it was also a celebration of all the love our guests, friends and relatives showered upon the two of us, in addition to a celebration of our love in Christ.

The dinner was quite hectic and there were some minor hiccups but Shang was great and our guests had fun, so guess that's what matters! Got lots of compliments on my gowns and food (angelis was very well received) so was beaming like a nut the whole day and night.

Yes Mona you are right, helpers are lifesavers. Can't imagine doing this wedding without their self-less help.

I paid for my HM to NZ at Natas and got two luggage bags, heh. We're going off in mid-april so looking forward to the second break oredi. hee. all the best all the other March brides! the hectic day will be over soon and then you'll be married happily ever after!

oh oh... Mei, von, don't be sad. Be strong ok. Indeed, dealing with MIL is always the worst fear and the hardest 'task' after marriage. We are somehow a 'newcomer' to the family, they are not accustomed to our way of life yet and vice versa. It takes time and effort to pull through this 'ordeal'.

I do find that communicating to your MIL is the best solution. Mei, perhaps u may not agree and given your MIL's character, it is not possible to get anything clear to her. But somehow, give it a shot ok.

My MIL would compare me with her daughter, whom I lagged behind in many aspects. She has her own style of doing things which I disagree upon too. But I opened up to her. I would grab my chance to talk to her whenever I see something wrong. I'm rather headstrong too, neither do I like to be controlled and compared. But I believe in being truthful and let her see the picture. I may not be right all the time but at least I get my points across to her.

Everyone has their strong points as well as weaknesses. It may sound rather fake, but you can try to praise her when she does something well or compliment on her dresses for e.g. We have to build up the foundations in our relationships with our MIL, else it will really be a disaster when our kids are in the pic in future.

jazol, do not be fearful. Learn more about your MIL's behaviour and soon she can be won over by your warmth and sincerity.

I hope I'm not being too naggy. But I hope this can motivate you gals to be more optimistic and hang on there. von, 2010 may seem far far away. But who knows you could have build up the bond with your MIL by then.

von, thanks for the compliments. Yes, I do have gatecrashing. But my JMs did it in a very different manner: they welcomed my hubby with the gate wide opened, invited him into the house and 'tortured' him in front of all my relatives inside the house.

btw, I could not access your link. Is there any typo error?

wah so much post today.. hee..

i guess mei and von has a long way to building up a relationship with their mil... dun worry gals, u might be able to see the light soon...

i guess as daughter in law, we got to play a more initative role in buildng the relationship. coz they are older and care more abt the face.. so sometime we got to give in to them...

Hi twinkle... yup most of us here MRS already

We also paid our HM at Natas, got 1 20" luggage and seamboat+bbq thingy. We are going to Europe (Italy, Switzerland and Paris). Since young I always want to go to Europe for HM, it will be the first time i step my foot there he he. Will go for my HM early May.

Gals, do share ur AD photos when you get it from ur PG.

i booked at the SA Tours itself, which is 1 wk b4 natas fair.

if u extending your stay in tokyo, do u fnd the accomodation yourself or SA Tours help u on that?

in fact, i cn see the favouritism my MIL is showing esp my BIL has a son so my MIL takes extreme care to my SIL and towards the grandson... like yesterday, we went out for dinner as a family, thn they came late, my MIL kept asking the eldest DIL to eat and volunteered to take food for her to eat thn i ordered another plate of salmon sashimi (sakae sushi) she commented like wow another red plate tot u ate tat jus nw... i was quite unhappy bt jus smiled and my hubby say tats wat we always eats whn dining there... she thn kept quiet... his 2 bros jus kept mum abt the bill and thn we need to take the tab in their eyes, we are earning more thn anyone of them and that we had recently change our car so everybody tot we r rich... so everytime we take the tab and they wont ask how much or volunteered to share.... *sob*

sorry, jus want to vent my frustrations and displeased cos i cnt complain to anybody nt even my hubby....

what happened to the rest of the pple here ah? Busy ah.

Jas>> BTW, I'll be getting my AD PG from my BS. Save $$...though final product not as nice as Jon's works...but just have to make do with it.

aiyo, so 'cat'... how about going out lesser with them? or why not cum to billing, quickly go toilet??

I'm also someone who can't live together under one roof or sure there be endless of quarrels. Just like recent case where MIL said my hubby's pant 'LINE' not obvious, not nice. end up i told my hubby we each iron our clothes. what for must have that line and end up having short lifespan right.as long as the pant is not crumple ok mah

Im going back my mummy's home tonight
guess i can't stay at home alone, or else im gonna miss my hubby alot in that empty house.

oh, then we booked at SA during the same fair lor
but pity that different departure date. SA Tour suggest i look for own accomodation cos it'll b cheaper

ya lor.... we had been paying for the dinner most of the time.... hope my hubby will recover the money fm them if not i will be broke again....

yes jhoo, go back to ur mum's plc is the best choice... unlike me my mum stays wif my elder bro n her relationship wif my sil is strained so didnt wan to go back too often too..... sigh we hv no plc to go except my sis's plc bt a bit far...

This is a sensitive issue.. I think for family dinners, best for everyone to take turns to pay, if not very hard for the couple who has to pay all the time & the others just keep sponging.

jhoo.. no matter what we do.. there is definitely something for them to comment on one.. so best is to ignore.. it's easier said than done.. but I'm learning..

the tin is tat they always go for sakae sushi jus bcos i hv the VIP card and got discount so most of the time we pay lor... so the next rd i m nt going to pay, if my hubby wans thn he pays lor...

yes mei, i agreed wif u... jus ignore and do watever we cn... even staying wif my aunt oso got prob... watever we do sure got comments wan... so we had learnt to bo chap and jus do out part...

ya lor...quiet. so u & me talk lor, hehee.

Our ID is suppose to get back to us on the cost of top-up if we want to use the super glossy homo tiles...till now, he didn't get back.

So now, also dunno when reno can start.

I think sometimes dunno issit cuz the ID & us are very "gum", then he take our friendliness for granted.

but hor, if they really buay zi tong, they really die die wont pay one. my BIL is also well know to be niao... maybe my MIL is always so kind to pay for every meal, but sometime i will force my hubby to pay if me and hubby got chance to go out for dinner with my IL and hubby's bro..

strawberries and macjoe,

i'm also going for a short trip after wedding, but in Aug and not June, because FH needs to go for reservist in July so we delay the trip.
as for honeymoon, delay to year end or early next year instead, tight budget now.

Jazol, there are ppl like that.. I think you can talk to ur hubby abt it. If next time, they want to eat Sushi, just tell them ur card expired or lend it to your sister etcc.....

For my case, i m the eldest in the family.. So i m always the one paying... Resigned to my fate liao... but my siblings will zi dong like i treat dinner, they treat dessert like that.... My parents also the same.... So, its like sharing the dinner cost by proportion...

In my in laws case, i buey tahan my ILs always the one paying.... So, sometimes i will ask my hubby to pay lor... As i got 2 SILs, one of them wont pay coz of her financial situation... That i understand... The other one, i tell u... No need to pay, eat more and know how to order expensive food!

junie, sometimes need to push ID for reply. like my ID, i need to call him many times b4 he get to my on the cost. *pengz* so now i always call him early in the morning, ard 10am b4 he left the office for jobsite, otherwise hard to the cost from him.

cannot let them take us for granted coz we are paying BIG BUCKS for reno

How was your wedding Mona? Which was your favourite part?

Yr HM sounds great! I've been to those places, although in Italy only to Venice (which is v v expensive!)... Geneva is not so exciting, so spend more time in Luzern or where there's the dramatic mountain. Paris is nice but be careful of pickpockets. I think I liked Switzerland the best. Very clean, very 'singapore' in a sense.

brightstar,

not sure where i'm getting the red wines yet, maybe getting from cold storage or ntuc, seems like they have cheap red wine too, from time to time.

u??

jaspire,
i have not sent my inserts for printing too, haa. ur're welcome!