(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi Jewelmelody,

I am here

How's your preparation?

rgds

Hi all, long time not visiting this thread :P.
Hows you preparation?
For me I only booked the hotel n BS.
Feel that still too early to do anything else :P

Hi. can kindly include me in the list too? My wedding date is on 4th Mar 07, venue at Rasa Sentosa, Bridal shop is Wedding News BC

Both me and my FH loved the photographer's works...since I studied photography, so I have quite a high expectation on photography and videography. And frankly speaking, many of the other bridal shops I've been to really disappoints me the quality of their works..cos many of their so-called "Photographers" are Malaysians whom came out to Singapore to work for a few years as Assistant and then they somehow became Photographers...many couldn't even answer some basic technical questions I posed...haiz...very jialat..

So when we walked pass Wedding News, my FH was attracted to their photo hanging on the wall..and so, we signed up with them...which till now, they are still very friendly and helpful...and I'm going for my 1st Fitting in 2 weeks time..hee..very excited

Jewelmelody,

If u interested in Wedding News, just go take a look at their pics, no harm ma...ask for their photographer (Ken) and quote my name (Samantha) and see if he's able to give you a better package. He is very friendly and approachable. Try to see if u can negotiate for more pics if u interested to sign up wif them...about 3 to 5 i think...

Hi samgirl,
How much is your package?? Where is Wedding news located?

Hi seafaith, my banquet venue is Orchard Parade Hotel..

Hi Nellie, what happen?

Hi Gelaine and muffin,

Thanks!!! I hope I can book my venue soon too.. have to wait for my hubby to finish his exams before we can go down and see the venue..
Ya, I would have lots of time.. so I will plan properly and enjoy the fun!!!

thanks for sharing gelaine. jaslyn, so happy for u tat u finally get ur date. :D now we can start plng together.

hey gals, if i ask cc to hold the booking for me until after my rom in jun, do u tink is too long? coz they said will hold it until end apr until further review.

Hi nebear,

Thanks!! ya we can plan together..

I think they also have to consider that they have others who also want to book their venue.
I heard from Mertius mandarin that they only can hold for 2 weeks... which is the same lor..

hi jaslyn,

oic... coz i dun want to make a rash decision to plc the deposit. coz after tat tink will lose the bargaining power if left out any items. maybe i try to buy time by bargaining item by item. heehee... very bad hor?

hi nebear,

oic.. ya lor quite true..
we will tend to left out somethings...
no lah not bad.. u can try, sometimes it helps

Try to compare with more places then u will know what to bargain and what you want..
Or somethings that you like can also ask them..

Hi Girls!

I want a April wedding too, but because of Ching Ming our parents are rejecting this month, plus my finacee's dad's b-day is in that month too, but what's wrong with having it so close to his b-day?

hey hui .. jus an update, went to see park view's ballroom. must say it's pretty nice with high ceiling on the main hall, the side hall has low ceiling thou but i think since im only taking 25 tables wont be using much of the side hall anyways. the package is attractive also, only thing is we are not able to sample the chef's cooking before deciding cos the cook is not cooking in any of the hotel's restaurants. so not sure if the cooking make the mark or not. anyone heard anything abt holiday inn park view's banquet dinner standard?

Hi Jewelmeolody,

My FILs don't like my wedding venue and they said why didn't we have a banquet...

Initially, they said everything is up to us and now all these crap...

And they have a tendency to compare ours with their daughter's wedding. (My FH's sister got married last year).

Hello... their daughter married off and I'm married in... very different. Her in-laws are well-to-do and as for me and my FH, we do not want to use his parents' money for our wedding.

I damned sian...

It's been a long time since I log on cos' my Internet is down.

My BS = Bridal Concept
My Dinner Venue = Marriot Hotel
My Dinner Date = 2 Feb 2007

tansy, if i help out fam biz, it mean i wont be able to get the pay im receiving now and also the group of people im facing there are mostly bangala,argh.....
wonder if i can handle them and need to learn tamil or not...now hope my MIL's health can get better and dont feel giddy everytime....

Hi Nellie,
At the end of the day, it is still you and your husband must like the wedding venue and banquet. Unless your FILs help in the $$$ for the wedding banquets, then they have some say in the wedding banquet venue. If they does not help at all in $$, then think it's best they keep quiet.
A table hold in hotel can costs anything from S$500 to S$1000 hence it really depend on the budget of the couple. I chose Club Chinois @ Orchard Parade Hotel cause it's only S$702 nett per table and I would say it's one of the most affordable as compared with other hotels along Orchard Road which range anything from S$850 to S$1000. I dun see a need to spurge too much on wedding banquet too.If given a choice I rather not have wedding banquet but since my PILs and Parents will want us to have wedding banquet, I also chose one within FH's budgets.

Hi Gals, i am back!

Sorry for MIA so long...haiz..busy with work...wah...like a lot of Dec 07 Brides.Just to update, i have sign up my BS too. I still have not sign my contract with Hoilday Inn Park View yet..keke..forgot to call them to check with them when can we go down.

ykfoo, any T&C we need to take note when signing the contract?

The place sounds great.
I can ask my colleague for your abt the food cos she attended a wedding there not too long ago. Will let you know.

How's your search for a flat? I'm in the midst of the negotiation with an owner. Really praying that it will pull through..:P

Hi Jolene,

Glad to hear from you again. Its been a long time since I posted my message here too. I have signed up with Marriot too and my wedding is twenty one days after yours!

Hi Jaslyn,

Thanks once again! I'm planning to have 30-35 tables. How abt u? N how's ur sourcing of venue?
Saw in another thread....u got ur date already right. I also have gotten a few dates but seems like there's only 2 good dates for me in Dec. So I might considering have my AD in end Nov. Another headache is.....we still can't decide to have it on a weekday or weekend cos the price diff is quite great. I hope to find a venue with a nice outdoor setting for my solemnisation too cos I'm having it on the same day...kill 2 birds with 1 stone...very greedy hor...hehehe

jhoo.. preparations are going well according to our schedule.

yuki, LD's pushy with you? I guess they were not pushy with me as I told them that I like to relax & not get pushed with packages when I went for the trial & they asked me how I felt during the treatment.

Hi jonic,

Welcome!!!
oic.. yup.. i got my date finally.. wait until the neck long.. haha!!
i am planning to have 45-50 tables..
cos my dad wants to invite his business friends..
I looking at Mertius Mandarin and Orchard Hotel,
waiting for my hubby to finish his exams so that I can go and see the venues..

which dates they give u?

oh.. u finding an outdoor venue ah?
Rasa Sentosa.. very nice..
got a cousin held hers there..
so romantic...
The price is quite reasonable also I heard..
although quite troublesome but they got provide transport..
no lah not greedy.. cos like that can save $$ mah..

Ya, wkday and wkend the price got alot of difference.. I have no choice cos my mum want it on sat.. If u dun mind wkdays then its better to save $$..

Hi Mei,

not sure .....after facial, they persuaded me to sign another package for half an hr ......haiz.

maybe different ppl .....

momo, think maybe they think will chiong with ur FIL birthday bah... most ppl are quite pantang abt these stuff lor... as for qingming rite most brides here think its ok and not all dates fall on qingming in e whole mth...

Jaslyn,

The dates which are given to me are 11, 17, 18, 28, 29, 30 Nov & 2, 8 Dec.
We planning to have it on 29 Nov which is a thursday. Ya...rasa sentosa quite nice....been to a dinner there b4....but since we are going to have it on a weekday...sentosa is abit inconvenient. I'm looking at sheraton towers (cos of the food) and grand copthorne waterfront (cos of the outdoor setting) at the moment.

So how about ur BS? Started looking for one?

hi jonic,

oic.. Dec only on wkends, then only got 2 dates..
so u confirm having on 29 Nov?
i was only given one date for Dec but just nice it is a wkend so i took it..

Sheraton towers the food there is nice ah?
Do you have their packages?
Ya, Grand Copthorne have very nice outdoor setting, heard that their ballroom can see the scenery outside but its too ex for me..

my BS ah.. I think I will choose Amanda Lee..
Cos i like her designs..
but I do not know whether to sign up 1st anot cos I want to lose some weight 1st.. hehe..
or u think i should sign up 1st?
how about u? staring to source already?

I am also looking for actual day photography and videography. u?

hi All, I'm new to this thread becos finally gotten my AD fr the geomancer.
ROM date : 060606 (wow.. so many couples here with this date too!)
ROM venue : The V Tea Room Esplanade
AD Date: 010707 (hi Lynda Lee, we've the the same AD & ROM dates)
AD venue: Orchard Parade Hotel Antica Ballroom
BS/PG/AD-PG/MUA: Sophia Wedding Collection
Love nest: Yishun resale flat (still pending for the HDB Loan to be approved)
362156.gif

Hallo Ladies!

Din check this thread for quite sometime..

Jhoo, hmm... I think mabbe u help out when u feel that the time calls for it. I think family business is also another set of different problems also...

Yuki, how s preparation? Did u sign up for the package at LD?

Meie, how s preparation too? U got ur shoes at Essex Walk already?

Hello Gals!!! sorry for MIA for so long.. been busy with work...
Jaslyn, do you mind sending me the package for Grand Corpthrone? my email [email protected]
By the way JAslyn, you had your ROM at Carlton? Was the food nice? coz that is oso in our consideration list since it is quite convenient..

ACtually heard that Rasa Sentosa quite good, budgeted and nice food... but then you have to cater transport though they did provide 2 buses.. But heard from my friend that they paid about 750 nett for everything excluding buses bah..

So JAslyn, when are you going to hold your AD? settled on the venue already? So envy all of you .. mine still not going anywhere.. hiaz my FH is now still looking for a job.. so can't confirm anything but hope can make it in time by next dec... if not got to postpone leh...

anyway do you gals prefer weekdays or weekends packages ah? will the turnout rate be low if hold Dinner on weekdays..?? any nice BS to recommend?

Hey jo23,

Sorry so late then reply. Actually did reply leh but dunno why never register in. Heh... Our lovenest is a resale 4 room at Bukit Panjang. Near my in-laws. Getting our keys in early june i think. The house pretty nicely renovated since it's only 5 yr... and quite modern couple... so we dun intend to re-renovate. Only wanan repaint with our colours... they use baby purple... my husband say too sweet liao he dun like. Hah... You leh?

Anyway for the KUA, i definitely will rent i think. hah... had always wnted it. But my hubby keep telling me KUA make gals look fat. HAh.. he still rpefer CS. But aiyah still got so long... slwoly think lor. Heh...

Hey jeraldin,

Sorry i do not have the package in soft copy. Mine is given to me by my coordinator Eunice when i went down. Eunice is alright but think some ppl find her insincere as she dun really bother to remember her couples she handling. A couple of my friends were pissed off by her due to her insincerity. She seemed abit forgetful and rush when handling her clients too. But so far i have no problems with her and my hubby thinks she's nice too.
I think it depends on individuals lah.... I can talk to her pretty well though majority of my other friends dun like lor.

But Carlton assigned coordinators by surname. I think so far other than a coordinator name "Ap**L" (if i din rememebr her name wrong), the rest are all quite nice.
You can view the venue and get the package from them. Carlton's package quite comprehensive. But i suggest u hunt ard b4 deciding lor. Coz there are better deals ard. For us, we decided it immediately coz we had always wanted it there.
We considered PPR too... it's as comprehensive as Carlton... and the coordinator we had was Felicia. She's the best we met so far.
Quite a nice lady. And Meritus Mandarin... a guy called Christopher i think. Heh...

Any other hotels u considering? Basically for me, i think coordinator is quite impt issue lor. So do meet up with them too.
And of course, package must be good. So when is ur AD?

hello jeraldin,

sent the package to u already.. take a look

yup, i had my ROM at Carlton, the food was nice and the coordinator was friendly also.. u can consider..

Rasa Sentosa is romantic and budgeted.. I also heard $700+ nett got everything.. but did not know they only provide 2 buses and have to pay for the rest..

I just got my date from my MIL last wednesday.. It will be on the 1st of Dec 07..
Venue havent settle yet cos still waiting for my hubby to finish his exams so that i can go and view the venues..

Don't worry.. smile

last time when my hubby came out from the air force.. i also worry that when he can find a job, when can i get married.. hehe..
but now it is settled.. slowly..

i heard from my mum and hubby saying that wkdays turn out rate will be low but i do not know cos never attended dinner on wkdays..
for me i got no preference wkdays or wkends as long as i got what i want for my wedding.. hehe

so far, i find Amanda Lee gown not bad..
going to have a look.. hehe
white link also not bad.. can have a look..

Hi Gelaine,

Thanks for your advice.. we are also considering Grand Corpthrone and Oriental Mandarin.. looking at below 800 nett hopefully...

AD should be around Dec 07.. hopefully.. =) but we are getting engaged this coming year end.. so start looking around first... =)

Hello Jaslyn,

saw the mail leh... the package looks quite good and it fit into my budget haha.. must discuss with my FH... Actully I am sourcing around first.. he is now still very stress up with finding a job so didn't want to bother him with all these details first ..wait till he settle down his work first.. so glad there is this thread where i can find "sisters" to share their experience and findings ... so glad...

Feel happy for you ... at least you got the date settled leh.. that is so GREAT! we are now planning for engagement this year then our love nest next year then at the same time plan for AD next dec... dun noe if can get the date since it is quite popular to have dinner at year end...

I haven even start looking around for BS... still looking for engagement ring.. that is quite stress oso.. didn't want my hubby to spend too much but a decent one will at least cost < 1K... hope my hubby can find a job soon and we can really start planning...

oops.. so sorry... to "flood" you with my "trouble" ... so Jeslyn, your hubby still studying? going to grad from uni issit?