(2007) Brides of year 2007

hey hey angeline>>

it's ok lah.. i understand how bosses like to walk around.. hehehehe

wah.. u spent quite alot for ROM leh.... im abit worried now.... we intend to ROM next yr Jan but havent even decided on budget.. haven't even decided if we really wanna rush and ROM next Jan also....

yah... vera wang is international lor... it's available at The Link. I think they take ur measurement and then ur gown is done overseas.. and then the gown flies over to let u try for fitting and then fly over again for alteration if any... that's what i recalled reading somewhere.... the gown more "xing fu" can fly here fly there.. hahahah!

tomolo go back work liao... *imagine the war torn office when i return..* hai~~

collected my rings liao loh!!!! heheheheh keep taking it out to admire. hehehehe *giggles* never engrave because havent decided when ROM... but his ring is so big, mine can fit right into his and still got space... but i guess it's good also... because the words on his rings we intend to engrave is longer! *evil laffs*

hey celestine>>>>> next yr got say anything abt monkeys anot? heheheheh and snake too! good or bad? good for marriages next Jan? *paiseh... got to consult u liao*

Cinnie cinn cinn...

how i wish can participate in yr chatting in the day!!haha i will only appear at nite coz no chance access net when at wk leh.need 2 move ard quite often.

so at nite i muz do all the reading n reply n comment one by one.

Cinn,

who pays for wat??as in when we go out or for the marriage??

we never realli say who pays for wat for the marriage.we hav a joint a/c.guess we will juz used the $$ 2 pay for the wedding lor.hee of course he contributes more than me 2 the a/c.sigh but the a/c bal still veri insignificant for a wedding...haha..muz wk hard 2 save lor....but i juz started wk for nearly 1 yr then got 2 pay my insurance n sch loan =(

angeline,

haha i realli duno how 2 describe the location of greenridge shopping centre.tink its near blk 500plus.mayb u check out street directory.

Like Cinn, i am not really into embroidery as well...seems like u like those "louder" gowns,at least diff fr the normal gowns.

but i saw tis real sweet gown by bridal veil at their bridal show.its a pink wedding gown.so sweet n diff fr the normal white ones.haha i am into pink!!

hey i never heard of vera wang.since their gowns flies here n there muz b super ex lor. =)

hey Cinn,

when u rom??izzit jan coz u ask abt jan???

hmm....quite late liao.muz go ZzzZZzzZZZzz...back again tmr nite!!

haha saw something 2 share wif u all be4 i go dreamland:

taken fr another thread:

JB's Biggest Wedding Expo is coming again!!!
this is a joint event by a SIN events company & a M'sian company;
their 2nd time organizing it, 1st was last year & response was reali
good!!!!!
Following are some highlights:

- 17-19 september 2004,(fri-sun),11am-10pm
- venue:eden garden hotel JB, expo hall, level 6
- 1-stop wedding expo (13 top bridal salons
(there were 09 last year),renowned beauty
salons, geomancy, home furnishings, fitness
centre etc etc etc)
- bridal showcase presented by SIN models!!
(18/09(sat) @ 6pm, 19/09(sun) @ 3pm)
- all visitors stand a chance to win attractive
lucky draw prizes (top 3 prizes are air tickets
to italy, osaka & bangkok!!!)
- freebies & goodie bags will be given away
- FREE air-conditioned coaches catered to
ferry visitors to the expo from SIN & vice versa
- look out for their ads, coming up soon in i
weekly & YES!93.3 radio!!!!
- SIN enqiries hotline: 6223 6232 (chris)

REMEMBER TO MARK THOSE DATES IN YR CALENDERS!!!

hey r u all interested in JB BS???i find kind of troublesome but heard its quite cheap.

-----

hello... checking the page before i log off and zzzz....

tomolo wont be able to particpiate in the day liao.. will join cherz and come in at night coz tomolo is back to work...

oh yah hor... cherz.. still got the joint account hor? hmm.... moi FH and I dun have one... we are still very much on our own because like u.. i got insurance, and sch loan to pay.... plus starting my MBA in oct... another big amount....

heheh u like pink ah? must be very sweet and girly lor? i like white.... pure white...

we actually intend to ROM next yr Jan.. which is why I'm still trying to get some ideas on how to have it cos the date we want is on Sunday, ROM not opened.. need to get JP to officiate lor. then again, we are also looking at finances... he's buying new car and we intend to ROM liao quickly get our EA flat at woodlands.... that's a whole lot of financial calculation to be done... *faintz and goes into coma again*

headache liao... better go dream and hope got 4 numbers win 4D first...

good night gals...

Hi Celestine,

I know we always pass by Pelangi plaza but am not sure are we refering to the same mkt. ut i find thee food there okay to me lei. Maybe i have not much tastebuds. Kekekek.......

I agree. I would rather want a good date than a weekend to convenience everyone. Look at my ROM day. Its a Mon.

Hey how about doggy an rabbit? Heee......

Hi Cinn,

Actually i plus a lot of things upstair. Work out a budget for the following items:

1. His and Her attire
2. Flowers
3. Photographer (Optional)
4. Venue to makan after ROM

Since you bought your rings, think the budget to set aside will be much lower. Better ot to rush. When budget is reached and the day is good, then go ahead.

Wow, i never knew this kind of service is available. The gown get to fly here and there. And i'll say no wonder its so expensive.

You mean you decided what to engrave and his is longer. Heee.....Evil girl man.....Ha.

Hi Cherz,

No problem at all mah. We never missed you out in any posting. Your presence is felt always though you log in different time.

Okay. I'll go back ask my hb to find directory. So sua ku lei. Should be a very prominent place with so many shops there. Thanks....

Yup. I'm into loud gowns. Its a once in a lifetime thing and i wanna feel and look like a star. Hahaha.....Just joking.

Heee.....Pink is definately very different. Am sure it'll definately b very outstanding.

Would love to go. But i suppose hb would let me go JB w/o him tagging. Will check with him to see if he's free. You going?

Wow, Cinn, so much things in a go. Must really calculate then. Heee....So how's the dream? Wanna share.....Hahahah.....

Angeline

Cinn

Hi, it ok! I like to share to u all.
if i not wrong monkey not very good must pray pray n snake not very good lah t detail will type to u on tuesday & (include toto & 4-d)! hahaha... hope U CAN strike BIGBIG...

Cherz

is ok to chat at night we'll wait for u! will not left out U

Pink colour m... very outstanding colour!

so r u going to JB for BSshow! I've intention get my bs in johor coz cheap... But I think MUA, car, photographer must get for s'pore abit troublesome.. so no choice search spore bs under my budget 2.5K!

Cinn

Hmm.. yr loan! I personally feel tat get yr rom,hse,renova,study loan & AD done first! if u get car loan commitment is 10yrs every mth loan $600-$700++ hvn't plus season parking for multi storey carpark $90+ insurance 1yr $1000+ see what type of car u take not t same! road tax 1yr abt $1000, inspection, petrol & maintenance! is a long term commitment.. very siong...

Angeline

mayb i ask my hb wan is d name of d place! coz i dun really know..

me too my rom date also fall on monday!

will reply to u on tuesday! rabbit not very good must pray pray & doggy can't remember will get back to u wif full detail!

My dream grown wan to look like princess colour white white & unique! N pefer KUA..
Hi all if got good BS one remember recommendation me!

4 animal rooster, horse, rabbit, monkey must pray pray god!

who is female for d animal & male is which one d detail & luck will mayb different one!

I can only remember horse next yr not good for marriage!

Hi Celestine,

Thanx Celestine. Hmm....Surprise that you're interested in all these. I een do read-up on these animals compatabilty. Me too boh liao lar. Hahaah.....

Angeline Doggy, Ken Rabbit.

Angeline

Hi Celestine,

Leo are very egoistic and selfish ppl. They are not very prepared to share thier property. Most likely he will. But dun think is gonna show out as Leo values friendship a lot. But both of you are alone, then i'm not sure.

Most cases, they might pick up a fight with you. (Not all the time lah. But you can see that he's obviously upset by it) They have a temper of volcano. Think you should know by now.

But good news. They get angry and over easily. "Stroke" them at their mane and by seconds, they forgot what they are angry. Let them know (in tems of action or body language) that they are always your priorities and how "attractive" they are to you.

Angeline

woah celestine.... u really calculate all that financial stuff for me liao ah? hahahaha... so nice of u....

but he already just made the purchase for the new car so bo bianz...

me same same as u.. must have princess gown.. the big big ballgown kind.. hehehehe and Kua too! They say brides who wear kua on their wedding day very very lucky one... bring prosperity to the hubby too! =)

bo bianz lor.. hubby good= I GOOD GOOD mah... hehehehe *selfish reasons*

celestine, i've signed up with Sophia... so far my frens who have been with them no complains... for me.. sign up only so dunno yet but salesperson is super frenly.. can be pushy but as long as u know how to "block" shouldnt be a prob... once they know u are firm, they wont push.

Angeline,

i dreamt abt work leh... so sad hor.. workaholic... anyway got some kinda promotion today... more ppl reporting to me liao.. *faintz and wait for hubby to "mouth to mouth* hehehhe

here i am again at nite!!!

actually if i wld 2 rom on my "dating anniversary" ,it wld b a mon next yr too!but i tot quite troublesome coz ppl hav 2 take leave 2 attend.but if on wkends then may hav 2 invite more ppl.

can i ask who do u all invite 2 yr rom??

the problem wif inviting frenz is dat u hav 2 invite their partners aso,a bit paiseh not 2 invite.so wkday mayb the attendence will b lower coz their partners may not wan 2 take leave.

Cinn,

we had our joint a/c a few yrs back but we ended up spending what we saved.only tis yr then we started getting more discipline!if not duno hav 2 wait how long 2 get marry.

i aso wish i strike 4D "dreaming" my frenz stike $10K n got his renovation settled.so lucky hor.

angeline,

my FH not in s'pore at dat period so unless i can find kakis 2 go the JB wedding show then i will go lorr.

celestine,

i am monkey.ya tis yr is not gd for me but so far still ok.but i hav a frenz who is monkey every mth sure MC once!!!last yr she only MC 1 day!!!

cherz Monkey, FH Goat

hey cherz! me monkey too!!! heheheh

hmm i think 10k also not enuff for my reno leh.... heheheh

the date that i intend to ROM is also our anniversary... and it falls on a sunday next yr thats why... altho its on a weekend, ROMK not opened on sundays so quite troublesome also... gotta spend more $$ for venue.

ROM most probly will invite colleagues cos wedding dinner wont be inviting them. Just as well lor.... even colleagues also invite only those closer ones.

cherz Monkey, FH Goat
Cinn Monkey, Jimmy Snake

Cinn,

i was born early part of the yr.dats y i monkey lor.

y invite colleagues to AD but rom??i tot shd b the other way round??does tis means yr AD wld b a cozy event wif more relatives??

how many ppl do u all invite 2 rom???

Hi Cinn,

You dreamt of work. You muz be too stressed. Rest and relax more. But then again, if no choice, stressed also meant you get some special treatment on them mouth off and on so its fine. Hahahaa.....

Hi Cherz,

I know ROM cannot bring more than 20 person in. So i toopid and follow it closely. I only invited 4 of my frens. And 7 of my relatives including my elder sis and parents. 11 from my side.

My toopid hb never control. His side 24 person lei. I was shocked you know. We never discuss this properly and when reach there, i almost fainted. I really scare they dun allow them all in. But later the guard smile smile and let us go up. So my ROM on Monday and 35 person turned up.

So most likely, you going for weekday or weekend? Yup. No choice, partner's partner also need to invite although might not be that close.

Dun think i can ever step into Malaysia w/o my hb. He was really mad at me for going to a fren's wedding at Tampin over last weekend. He and my parents felt its not safe for me to go. So against all odds, i went ahead. Some hiccups happened and he made me promise that i'll never step into Malaysia w/o him. So sorry. If its Singapore, i'll sure join you.

We decided to source Malaysia for our PS. Be it studio or outdoor. So if anyone of you going, let me know how it went okay.

Angeline

hi angeline,

heehee...dat time my frenz rom we sneak in by the back door(u noe the exit when u came out) coz she invited like 50 ppl!!n the whole room was packed till i was standing so close 2 my frenz.haha became the backdrop for most of her pics!!!lucky the JP close one eye.

i aso duno goin for wkday or wkend.no dates settled so far!

hey Cinn,

wat u intend 2 wear for yr rom???i noe Dang having sales now for a mth.u can go look look since yr rom in Jan.

hello all...

haiyoh....angeline.. how can not be stressed? i used to have a handful of kittens under me only.. suddenly i got a whole litter of cats and kittens under my care (read: promotion in workload, not status).... *han binz!*

Cherz>>>me born mid of the year but still monkey... hehhe u see. the whole idea is.... invite colleagues to ROM so that dinner no need to invite liao also they know me married lor... dinner is formality for all relatives so no need to invite colleagues then can cut down on invites for dinner mah!

somemore colleagues not very very close compared to good frens.

dinner can never be cozy one lah.. esp when its supposed to be a grand affair with relatives i've probably never seen in my life! hahaha

we are looking at doing the solemnisation at Sentosa (either beaufort or shangri-la)... probably invite abt 30-40 pax lor. Hi-tea buffet or soemthing... will let u guys know after my research is done. hehehe

ROm ah? hmm.. i saw this really nice toga gown that looks very "eden garden" flowy and all by frederick lee in a mag.... *beautiful* very ethereal!! maybe.. just maybe....

ok gals.. i'll go dream abt it then let u know again.. hehehehe sweet dreams all!

Hi Cherz,

Actually i seen that before. A lot of ppl sneak in via the exit. But the problem is, i only found out while i was leaving the ROM building.
If not, i wouldn't break into a cold sweat when i saw so many ppl.

Hi Cinn,

Look at the brighter side. You are getting more and more impt to the company. Anyway, remember to rest and relax more. If not, will sure go crazy one.

Hey Celestine,

Where are you? Din see you ard lei.....

Angeline

very busy wif my work lately n office computer down! so if i miss out anything?

Angeline

Doggy
The dog zodiac'll encounter "sick goblin" n surmount boundary tis yr. one should avoid visting t sick or eat any food of a hsehld that has recent furneral. Bussiness dealing signing of contracts,inheritances, sell n buying investments might hv a change in stand; 1 shld handle t above situation wif care. 23yr old man n woman shld b careful in driving n might encounter legal problems.

career: tis yr water related work, person'll enjoy self-fulfillment feelings.

Water dog 23yrs 1982
Junior M/F may not fare well. those who take up new venture may meet wif obstacles, or b face wif uncertainties in their destiny. still 1 hv 2 go through all t risk,but wif strong heart n mind, u'll b able 2 emgere a wineer.those wage earner may not hv their wish ans easily. may encounter diffculties n relationship problem at work,there may lack of cooperation n t field of work. different view point masy bring abt mistakes n group project work. not a gd yr 2 change job, best keep 2 routine way. try 2 calm,lte t bad days,tails off as t mth goes by.health r lacking,b cautions in night travelling,note traffic safety.love relations may entail trouble,rashful acts bring in more mistakes.senior 2 celebrate grand bdthday 4 good.

ToTo
Jan-5,9,19,25,31,42,45
feb-2,7,19,26,37,39,40
mar-6,16,19,22,29,36,41
apr-1,4,18,29,34,38,44
may-3,10,19,25,30,35,43
jun-5,9,16,20,26,39,45
jul-7,10,19,27,31,39,40
aug-1,5,10,25,29,30,45
sep-2,9,11,21,29,35,42
oct-3,6,10,20,24,34,43
nov-1,5,19,25,37,39,45
dec-1,7,10,15,27,38,40

4D
jan-5951, feb-7962, mar-6996, apr-8419, may-0395, jun-0659, jul-7009, aug-1950, sep-1291, oct-6034,
nov-5519, dec-0715.

angeline yr HB later type 2 u!

Hi all, sorry t rest hv 2 wait paitence hor.. i bit busy!

cherz>>>> i do credit control...

angeline>> hehehehe thanks for your consolations.... actually i think im a bit looney liao.. hahahha

Hi Celestine,

Hey, thanx for tying the details. Very sweet of you. From what i see, overall is not good. Be it health or carrer. Even before you type, i already knew roughly what its gonna say. Its the same for all these years.

Thanx again Celestine. Wah, got 4D and toto. okay. i'll take it all down and buy next year.

Hi Cinn,

What exactly do you do? Chase ppl for payment? Or its in a budget control center of a company? Your job sounds interesting lei.

Angeline

Beware of Fake Photographer.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/127706.html?1093162289

I believe some of you would have received AD phtography packages from Chris Soh via email. His packages are very value for money. BUT in his portfolio, he used Albert from Everafter.

Read: He used Albert works and claim it was done by him. A few brides had been conned so dun be the next one.

Please see below for his email.

To: [email protected]
Subject: AD photography package
Date: Mon, 12 Jul 2004 12:54:00 +0800

I understand that you are looking for actual day photographer.

The details for the full day wedding photography package are as follows:

==========================================
Full Day Standard Journalistic Digital Package at S$488
==========================================
1. 300 prints in 4R with mixture of color and b/w photos
2. Choose between Gloss/Matt, with/without white border.
3. Photography service from 6:30am onward to completion of wedding dinner.
4. Unlimited digital photography.
5. All images on cd which contains
- edited copies of the 300 printed photos
- duplicate set of edited copies of the 300 printed photos in black and white.
- un-edited copies for the rest of the photos taken within the day.
6. Cover-Photo with Dates &amp; Names
7. One slot-in photo album with all photos arranged in sequence.

=========================================
Full Day Premium Journalistic Digital Package at S$788
=========================================
1. 300 prints in 4R with mixture of color and b/w photos
2. Choose between Gloss/Matt, with/without white border.
3. * 20 pages 8R collages.
4. Photography service from 6:30am onward to completion of wedding dinner.
5. Unlimited digital photography.
6. All images on cd which contains
- edited copies of the 300 printed photos
- duplicate set of edited copies of the 300 printed photos in black and white.
- Un-edited copies for the rest of the photos taken within the day.
- edited copies of the 8R collages
7. Cover-Photo with Dates &amp; Names
8. One slot-in album &amp; 1 Large photo album

For all the packages stated above,
(a) If service is required before 6:30am, a surcharge of S$30 applies.
(b) If customary and dinner are held on two different days, a surcharge of S$100 applies.
(c) Confirmation of booking is based on a deposit of S$200 and an email/letter which contains the package details agreed upon.

Other Services:
1. Wedding Photo Collage:
8” x 10” - $20 per piece

10” x 15” - $30 per piece

12” x 15” - $40 per piece

Minimum of 3 pieces required if not there will be a surcharge of $10.

Package deals

5 X 8” x 10” - $90

5 X 10” x 15” - $130

5 X 12” x 15” - $180

10 X 8” x 10” - $170

10 X 10” x 15” - $250

10 X 12” x 15” - $350

2. Photo Montage (slideshow) at $100 per montage
3. Express Photo Montage for day highlights (for digital package only) at S$120. (Minimum of 3 hours required for this service)

Please feel free to contact me either through email or call me at my hp 98437705 if you required any clarifications. You are also welcome to arrange for an appointment with me to look at my portfolios and at the same time allow me to clarify any doubts you have.

Thanks once again and I look forward to hear from you.

Have fun in your wedding day preparation, CHEERS!

Chris
Homepage : http://chri*wedding.com
Email : chris@chri*wedding.com

So unethincal. Please dun fall into his trap and do inform your fellow frens.

Angeline

Angeline

Thks.. I'll take note! my video is ready but my sis said she try to send to me but my yahoo too small can't sent! is they any ways to put in?

Hi Celestine,

You mean she tried to send you using her yahoo mail to your yahoo mail?

If i'm not wrong, if your sister use Outlook Express to send, should not have a problem. Maybe you can ask her to try. (I used to send very big attachment via outlook express to other email)

I help you source internet website that allows ppl to upload video. What format is it on? Any idea?

Angeline

Angeline

I only know My sis burn d dvd to me! she said 16 mad for dvd she said no doubt 16mad not very big but can't fix in to yahoo &amp; my yahoo only 2 mad..

New rules is out! Parenthood Package announcement take look a it!
Press Release

NEW PACKAGE OF MEASURES TO SUPPORT PARENTHOOD

The Chairman of the Steering Group on Population and Minister for Trade and Industry, Mr Lim Hng Kiang, announced today a comprehensive new package of measures to support parenthood. Going well beyond financial incentives, the new package takes a holistic and coherent approach to help couples have and raise children.

2. The Steering Group on Population, comprising Mr Lim, Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister for the Environment &amp; Water Resources, and then-Minister for Community Development &amp; Sports; Dr Ng Eng Hen, Minister for Manpower; Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, Minister of State for Finance and Transport; and Dr Amy Khor, Mayor, South-West CDC, had been tasked to recommend specific proposals to address the problem of declining birth rates in Singapore.

Overview of the Package

3. Mr Lim highlighted three key features of the new package. First, the new measures address not only cost issues but a broader set of concerns preventing Singaporeans from having larger families. The measures seek to give parents the opportunity to spend more time with their children, pursue a range of childcare options, and strike a better balance between work and family life. Second, the new measures have fewer conditions than previous measures, making them more accessible to Singaporeans. Mr Lim cited as an example the removal of mother’s age and educational qualifications as qualifying criteria for the revised tax measures. Third, the new measures provide greater flexibility in supporting the variety of choices that parents make because of their differing circumstances. For example, there will now be support for a wider range of childcare arrangements.

4. “We have taken the approach of asking what we can do to help Singaporeans at each stage or aspect of their journey as parents”, said Mr Lim. The new package of measures can be grouped under five broad categories, each addressing a specific aspect of parenthood.

Promoting Marriage

5. HDB Top-up Grant for Singles who Marry. Currently, qualifying singles may receive a CPF housing grant of $11,000 to buy a resale flat. Singles who have obtained this grant, and who marry on or after 1 Aug 2004, will now receive a Top-Up Grant to the prevailing CPF family housing grant. Based on the prevailing family grant quantum, a couple can receive a top-up of up to $29,000 . The top-up can be used to offset the mortgage loan of the existing resale flat or for the purchase of another resale flat.

Making Child Birth More Affordable

6. Use of Medisave for 4th and Higher Order Births and Pre-Delivery Expenses. Currently, Singaporeans can use their Medisave to pay for the delivery expenses for their first three children. They will now be able to use Medisave to pay for pre-delivery medical expenses (e.g. ultrasound scans) in addition to delivery expenses, for all their children . These measures will apply to parents of babies born on or after 1 Aug 2004.

7. Use of Medisave for Assisted Conception Procedures. Couples who face difficulty conceiving will be able to use more from their Medisave accounts to pay for Assisted Conception Procedures (ACP), such as In-Vitro Fertilisation. Couples who start their ACP treatment cycles on or after 1 Aug 2004 will benefit from this change.

Providing Financial Support for Raising Children

8. Enhanced Baby Bonus. Currently, the Baby Bonus is given only for the second and third child, with the cash paid out over 6 years. The Baby Bonus will now be extended to the first and fourth child, and the cash paid out over 2 years. Parents of Singapore Citizen babies born on or after 1 Aug 2004 will enjoy a Baby Bonus of $3,000 cash if the baby is their first child, up to $9,000 cash and matching contributions if the baby is their second child, and up to $18,000 cash and matching contributions if the baby is a third or fourth child. The accelerated disbursement of the cash component over 2 years will give parents more immediate support, as costs are generally higher when the child is younger. The matching contributions can be used readily to defray expenses such as infant care, childcare and kindergarten expenses for all children in the family.

9. Parenthood Tax Rebate and Working Mothers’ Child Relief. Parents of Singaporean children will also benefit from enhanced income tax benefits. The new Parenthood Tax Rebate – without age requirements or qualifying claim periods - will provide tax rebates of $10,000 to $20,000, depending on the birth order of the child. The new Working Mothers’ Child Relief - without qualifying educational criteria - will provide working mothers a tax relief of 5% to 25% of their earned income, depending on the number of children they have. These tax measures will apply to parents of Singapore Citizen babies born on or after 1 Jan 2004 (for Year of Assessment 2005).

Enhancing Child Care Options

10. Longer Maternity Leave. Working mothers of Singapore Citizen babies will now have a total of 12 weeks paid Maternity Leave, compared to the previous 8 weeks. The additional 4 weeks’ leave may be taken any time within 6 months from birth. Employers will continue to pay for 8 weeks of maternity leave taken for the first and second child, while the Government will pay for the additional 4 weeks for the first and second child, and the entire 12 weeks for the third and fourth child, subject to a cap of $10,000 per 4 weeks. The extension in maternity leave will be legislated on 1 Oct 2004. For mothers of Singaporean babies born during the period 1 Aug 2004 to 30 Sep 2004, the Government will also pay the extended maternity leave if it is given by their employers, subject to a cap of $10,000 per 4 weeks.

11. New Childcare Leave. Working parents with any child below 7 years of age, will be eligible for 2 days of employer-paid Childcare Leave per year, from 1 Oct 2004.

12. Infant Care Subsidy. Parents of Singapore Citizen infants, aged 2 to 18 months and attending licensed infant or child care centres, will receive an infant-care subsidy of up to $400 per month, from 1 Aug 2004. MCYS will look into ways to increase the availability of infant care places if there is good demand.

13. Foreign Domestic Worker Levy Concession. Families employing foreign domestic workers will now pay a lower Foreign Domestic Worker Levy of $250 (compared to the current $345) if they have a Singapore Citizen child aged below 12 years staying in the same household. The lower levy will also be available to families which have a Singaporean parent, parent-in-law, grandparent or grandparent-in-law aged 65 years and above staying in the same household, or if the employer or spouse is a Singaporean aged 65 years and above. These concessions will take effect from 1 Aug 2004.

14. Grandparent Caregiver Tax Relief. Working mothers whose child is being cared for by his or her grandparents will get a Grandparent Caregiver tax relief of $3,000. This applies to working mothers of Singapore Citizen children aged 12 years and below as at 1 Jan 2004 (Year of Assessment 2005).

Encouraging Better Work-Life Balance

15. WoW! (Work-life Works!) Fund. Many Singaporeans have said that their decisions to have another child depend heavily on whether they can have a healthy balance between work and family life. To help create a workplace environment that helps Singaporeans harmonise family and work commitments, the Government will introduce a new $10 million WoW! Fund. This fund will provide financial support to companies to develop and implement family-friendly work practices, such as flexible work arrangements for staff. Organisations may apply to MOM for the fund from 22 Oct 2004.

A Sizeable Package Benefiting a Large Number of Singaporeans

16. ”Our declining birth rate is an issue of long-term national significance. Efforts to promote parenthood therefore warrant a substantial investment by the Government”, said Mr Lim. The new measures will cost the Government an estimated $300 million each year, bringing Government’s total annual expenditure on pro-family measures to about $800 million per year. Most of this money will not go towards financial incentives, but will go instead to the child’s educational development, paid leave for parents, and provision of more child care options.

17. Mr Lim said that the measures will benefit a large number of Singaporeans. For example, some 35,000 Singaporean couples each year are expected to benefit from the measures related to childbirth, such as the use of Medisave for pre-delivery expenses, the enhanced Baby Bonus, and extended paid maternity leave. About one in four households have children aged below 7 years, and therefore stand to benefit from the new childcare leave, while about one in two families employing a foreign domestic worker will benefit from the foreign domestic worker levy concession.

Public and Tripartite Consultation

18. Mr Lim said that the new package of parenthood measures was the result of extensive public consultation and feedback from Singaporeans. He elaborated that the Steering Group took into account feedback gathered from some 1,600 public emails, 380 telephone calls and 650 media stories and forum letters. The Steering Group also organised 11 focus group sessions involving about 150 people and invited a tripartite panel comprising employer and union representatives to submit its recommendations to the Government. Thanking those who had contributed their views, Mr Lim said the feedback has enabled the Steering Group to develop a package of measures that is “coherent, practical and helpful for Singaporean families”.

A Long Term Effort by Everyone

19. “This package is not only about helping to increase our birth rate. Ultimately, it is about making Singapore a great place for families,” said Mr Lim. He cautioned, however, that it was not realistic to expect improvements overnight. “This is a long-term effort that will require mindset changes in our homes, workplaces, and society at large, on the value of family life and parenthood. But I am confident that we will get there, through the combined and sustained effort of parents, employers, the media, the Government, and all Singaporeans,” said Mr Lim.

More Information

20. Members of the public may call the Parenthood Hotline at 1-800-511-0000, or visit the Parenthood Website, www.family.gov.sg, for more information on how they can benefit from the new measures.

Date: 25 Aug 2004

Issued by: Steering Group on Population

For media enquiries

On the Housing Top-up Grant for singles, please contact:
Ms Florence Keh
Housing Development Board
DID: 6490 1141
FAX: 6490 1164

On the new uses of Medisave for delivery, pre-delivery and Assisted Conception Procedures, please contact:
Ms Esther Wong
Ministry of Health
Tel: 6325 7429
Fax: 6224 1677
Email: Esther_wong @moh.gov.sg

On tax measures, please contact:
Mr Chua Loo Lin
Ministry of Finance
DID: 63327407
FAX: 6332 7435

On maternity leave, childcare leave and the foreign domestic worker levy concession, please contact:
Ms Cindy PL Lim
Ministry of Manpower
DID: 6317 1654 (o); 9627 5248 (hp)
FAX: 6534 4840

On Baby Bonus, the infant care subsidy, and all other issues related to the parenthood package, please contact:
Ms Ho Chee Har Mr Harold Lim
DID: 6354 8305 (o); 9090 3051 (hp) DID: 63548174(o); 9749 4138 (hp)
FAX: 6258 8605 FAX: 6258 8605
Email: [email protected] Email: [email protected]

Hi Celestine,

Thanks for sharing the artcle. Wow, ever since Lee Hsien Long took over, a so comprehensive package is out.

What you think? Is it gonna work? Its not gonna work for me. Erm, i dun know how to explain although i read it thru.

Hey Celestine,

I checked one whole afternoon to see where videos can be uploaded but i still can't find. Maybe try somemore tomolo. So sorry.

Angeline

Angeline

to me dun know lah.. I think'll not benfit to me too at tis time..

Thks.. for helping me to search! U so.. gd

hey angeline,

yeah i basically oversee collections by a whole bunch of collectors. (aka da er long) hahahaha!

Celestine>> thanks for sharing the info man! this is the time to make babies!! hahahahahah

Hi Celestine,

The whole plan will only benefit more if you have one child and above. But with the payout and the few days of leave is able to lighten the burden for caring a child. I really dun think so. With salary fixed with no increment and things getting more and more expensive, no wonder nowadays ppl would not wanna have kid. Not to mention the stress we face at work.

Hee....dun mention. Its my pleasure. At times, i'm free at work mah. See you ard....

Hi Cinn,

Must be a very interesting job.

Angeline

Angeline>>>>

stressful job more like it.

ladies, question of the day: Favourite flowers.... what flowers will u use for the wedding?

Hi Cinn,

Sigh.....Everyone is in a stressful job nowadays. Must take good care of yourself. My high blood pressure must have shot up. Have a shouting match yesterday with my contractor. Really blew my top man. Anyway, glad its all over now.

Hi Celestine,

Been looking ard for you. I came across this website. www.myemovie.com But i have yet to find out how to sign up as a member and to login. Now looking elsewhere to upload.

Angeline

Hi Cinn,

Huh? I all along no reserch on flowers. But i like thse following flowers. (Common ones lah.)

1. Babies breathe
2. Pink roses
3. Lily
4. Sunflower

As for my wedding, 1. or 2. most probably.

Angeline

hey all,

disappear for 2 days.was quite busy wif work n went for facial yesterday.

u all go for facial??
actually i was wondering if i was too young 2 start facial but on the other hand if i put make up frequently n dun remove my blackheads n everything,duno if anything serious may happen 2 my face.

hmm but facial ex lor...but veri relaxing leh =)

hey angeline &amp; celestine,

tks for sharing.

i aso received the email fr chris.lucky i wasnt looking for a photographer at tis time.if not may get conned by him since it was stated that the package is attractive.

n "maybe babies" topic!! i dun tink it will help much,mayb only wif those who havent got a child. though the package is attractive, it doesnt look into the long term issues like a child's educational needs.its ex 2 put a child thru university here.heehee like wat a taxi driver told me, tis package only beneifts the Malay.i tink its becoz the malays need not pay sch fees.n the taxi driver still jokingly say if ppl dun hav jobs n face threat of retrenchment,how to hav the mood 2 hav sex.haha quite true aso....

hi cinn,

both bouquets r veri lovely.

but if u wan 2 keep yr bouquet,u hav 2 choose roses coz lily n tulip cant b dried.am i rite??

usually the colour of the flowers will match yr dress rite?

hey cherz... i think white matches anything.. hehehe yah i heard that tulips very short life... i dun think i'll keep my bouquet.... if i like just get FH to buy more for me lor! hahahahaha *evil laffs*

Cinn,

totally agreed wif u!!

though u noe its a waste of $$ 2 buy flowers but u always feel happy receiving them =)

angeline

Thks.. 4 helping me! tis few weeks very busy!!last friday saw t dvd very funny.. 20 mins I'll try on tis weekend..

Cinn

very nice flowers! if yr rom dress is white colour go wif white colour flower abit bland for yr PS but look very romantic if u wif other colour'll outstand yr PS. I hear they said rose very easy die.. tulip very nice I like it! my rom flower white lily mix wif pink forgetmenot &amp; million star... U take a look at cally lily flower very unique..

hi celestine,

i go Adelphi for facials.

Most ppl will find extraction painful.i hate extraction but hav 2 endure lor.but i hav a frenz who enjoys extraction.haha her beautician say she "bian tai" coz she belongs 2 a rare species!!

but thee rest of the facial is veri relaxing.i spent abt 80plus per facial.as i juz started i onli go once every 2-3 mths.like dat dun need spend so much $$.

but u shd go for facial as yr wedding approaches rite??mayb bring yr FH for it aso...

celestine>>> yah calla lily is nice... one of my favourite flower other than the red rose...

the picture i have shown, one of them is calla lily... =)

ladies, i need some advice>>>

you see im thinking of changing job and im about to commence my MBA in oct. If i should serve one month's notice, i will start work in oct as well...

plus the ROM is planned to be in Jan....im kinda very stressed out now and am in a loss... do u think i should postpone my ROM? *sigh*

hi celestine,

i went to Gorgeous.

cinn,

no harm delaying yr rom unless u need the cert 2 produce 2 hdb.

juz dun b stress during rom coz u muz look yr best rite.

y tot of changing job?yr current one too many responsibilities??
hav u found a new one??
i guess wld b quiite stressful coz u b in a new working environment n u hav 2 study as well.