(2007) Brides of year 2007

twinkle_stars

SiriusPink:

Im really not too sure abt the moving mattress thingy..guess if u intend to follow the tradition to an chuan, then its better to abide all the 'rules' given ba..

Hehehe..heh he's one lucky guy whom my parent din ask too much from him..

HedgeHog:

My parent will get 5 tables inclusive of the VIP. Anyway, even they want more oso dun hv..u know la, GS only can accomodate max 26 tables. Dividing them equally, each of us will only get 5 tables each (inlaws, my parent, me, hubby)

SiriusPink/HedgeHog;

Do ur hv any multiply or msn?

por

sher: no prob at all.. hee.. my diy actually nth great lah.. cos hor also no much design.. so diy a simple 1..

por

Twinkle Stars: ya.. GS max is 26.. but we are not taking up to the max.. cos will be quite clamp.. ya i have both multiply and msn.. my multiply id is chanelnivan

key_word07

Hi Twinkle star(twinkle star)..guess we have the same nick! ahha...

Ladies..i will have An chuang..but no combing lor.
Cos combing from what i know is you need to comb at the same time with your hubby! Then u need to find a old old and happily marriage couple to comb for you. We find it a hassle..haha..so we skip this.
According to what i know..dun have to buy new mattress one lei for an chuang..maybe it differ from each religion and dialect group ba. Mine will be very simple only...just change to new XI bedsheet,then my PIL will prepare the the,kum,loutus seed,longan etc etc,place them inside a tray and put it on the bed. I also learn that need to put ang pao or coins at the four corner of the bed. Then nobody can sleep on the bed or touch the bed till the wedding day!

key_word07

Hi aurora (blue_aurora)/Hedgehog(por)

Ya.i had call my MUA and insist she give me pirority to my timing in the morning. She will come at 630pm to do my Makeup,i think the another bride take earlier slot at 4am.
For evening..i had to compromise lor..my MUA also coming at 3pm to help me make up.
Very early!!so i must ensure i dun move around much. Cannot sweat. Hahahaa....if not later make up melt. :p

Think we can touch up ourself abit..before the we go down to reception...

jhoo

oh dear kaye. try to relax, take a deep breathe... talking about deep breathe, whenever i take blood test, my doc will tell me take deep breathe before he poke the needle in, then he will be angry after that and said, breathe out breath out.. haha. im always so nervous when taking blood test and will hold on to that one big breathe i took in

hey von, welcome back. Wah, at least ur hubby help to cook, mine won't. That time i asked him if im sick, will he cook porridge for me. he said no and will tabao from the coffeeshop

Mei, think you going bintan right. check with you, i do not think bintan is affected by the recent indo earthquake right? planning to go there celebrate my goddaughter's birthday, but not so sure where to check. i guess if bintan affect, singapore will be affected equally too as we are so near each other..

Hi Jazol, how's ur new job?

meie

jhoo, yup, I'm going in 2 weeks' time.. I think bintan is safe, not to worry. Let me see if I can find out more details for you.. then I let you know.

Anyway, this is the best season to go leh. I checked online, it states that the dry calm season from late March to early November is characterized by clear sunny days and calm pristine water.

mrsgan123

mei, i admit that my mil is very care and concern to me.. but our lifestyle is so different. Every morning, she will ask me to eat breakfast, drink water, ask me if i forget anything, etc.. treating me like a pri school kids. during breakfast, she will complaint about almost everyone or tell me history about herself. Night time, if i return home early, usually i will pack my dinner.. she will check on what i eat and say this is not healthy that is not good. If i return back late, she ask me where i go, eaten alr, etc etc.. when watching tv, she will look at me.. i feel so uncomfortable... or she will starts her complaints... she will also complaint that i didnt wash the toliets, dont know how to wash the clothes, my table very messy etc etc.. haiz..
My parents have never nag at me... or monitor what i do... sometime when i was doing something on my laptop, she will go and peeped and see what is the contents etc. there is one thing, i was helping my colleague doing a wedding montage, she say the photos and she start asking me questions.

My mil had some "heart knots" with my sil (bro's wife). so one night, she told us that if we going to move out, she will remain in the current flat and rent out the other rooms instead of moving over to bro's place. she say she cant stay with sil. i have talked to my husband abt this matter, he had been avoiding me... or he will says he is working hard now and trying to save up for big house to accomodate both of us.. etc etc... he never want to answer my question. or he will just throw this questions back to me "my mama how?"

mrsgan123

jazol, you can plan for nov, if i'm not wrong there are a few PH...

aiyo... jhoo, u so funny... taking blood test, you can nervous till forget to breath.. must relax, truth you doc..

jhoo

Haha, von, yes i trust the doc, but it's the probia of drawing my blood out. There's once when there's not enough blood that the doc had to squeeze my arm, biangz took so long to draw blood...

I will also find it uneasy to have someone 'monitoring' me. Does your hubby knows about your problems you face? Maybe he feel that his mother is not making things difficult for both of you so he tot it is ok for everyone to stay under the same roof

meie

von, this is going to be a rather long post as I have quite a lot to comment with regards to such issues. But what I do is my personal take on my situation, so you may take it as an insight on someone who has more or less the same feelings as you. But what works for me may not work for you.. it depends on the relationships between all the parties involved as well as the outcome you are ready to face. Why I am saying this is because for my case, what I am doing now causes my monster-in-law as well as my father-in-law to be extremely unhappy with me, which results in us not talking at all, so it may not be the ideal 'solution' for you. I admit that my situation is extreme but I got no choice as I do not wish to give in to her unreasonable demands & live my life feeling miserable. Life is too short for that. My hubby supports me so it makes everything much easier. The way my situation is being handled is hard as I am prepared to just have a cordial relationship with her now & in the future. I really do not see any way that my relationship with her will improve. It is extremely difficult to live with a person who wants to control every aspect of your life & does not take 'No' for an answer.

I totally understand how you feel. Like you, my parents trust me to handle my own life & have never interfered in any way. Now that I am married, I am supposed to feel like a 'full-fledged' adult but instead I feel like I'm back at being a small kid, with my actions being monitored & being told what & what not to do all the time. My MIL have never showed me any care & concern before, all she cares about is her own son & family, I would dare say she is a very selfish woman. I have never ever felt relaxed in the house & it is getting really tiring, both mentally & physically. I have always told my hubby how I feel all the time, I always update him on what his mum says or does to me. I feel it is very important to let him know how I feel. I did not marry him to make my life miserable so I do not keep everything to myself. I feel he is entitled to know exactly my thoughts & feelings, it is also unfair to him if I keep things to myself.

I have tried reasoning with her many times but the message doesn't get across. She just won't give up on pressing her ways on me, she is The MIL & I am the DIL so I have to listen to her, no room for negotiation. In the end, I had to resort to the extreme method. Maybe I am more defiant so I free myself of all these misery by avoiding my monster-in-law.. for me, I go to work early in the morning & return home late at night, unless my hubby is home early, I'll return with him as MIL does not bother me when my hubby is around. Of course, I greet her when I see her, but that's about it. Throughout these nine months that I have stayed with them, my hubby has seen for his own eyes the countless situations that I was placed in that was not in my favour & he understands & acknowledges that. I understand that he can't do much as the person involved is his mother but it makes me feel so much better that he totally understands what I am going through & tries his best in whatever he does for me.

I guess it's easier for me as my hubby knows that I would never get along with his mother as our characters & even our views clash. Forcing us to stay together will only result in disaster. That is why he has never once tried to persuade me to stay on in the house as he knows I am very firm in what I want.

von, at the end of the day, it's open communication between your husband & yourself. I am sure there can be alternative arrangements that can be discussed like promising to visit his mother more often when you guys move out, things like that. Try to talk to him & be really open about how you feel. Explain to him that you have lived in a very different environment with your family for the past 20-odd years & so it's hard for you now. Like jhoo mentioned, he might not even realise that you are feeling this way as this is the way he is being brought up & he thinks it's ok. Once he is able to put himself in your shoes, it'll pave the way to solving this sticky situation.

Cheer up!

*Ok, I realise I can go on & on about MIL issues.. this is a pretty long post.. hehe.

smilez

Been such a long time since i drop by... finally found the 'crack' to come in .. hee~

Mei, ur hubby actions are so sweet. Can imagine ur face when he pour tat cup of orange juice into the toilet bowl. hee~

Jazol, dun worry. Bb will come usually when its least expected

Piglet, *drool*
keke.. hubby n I have been tinking of gg for cooking class for a long time. But somehow we never got to do it. Opps..

Kaye, must be anxious abt ur princess arrival. Therefore, all these dreams. Dun read too much into it

Jhoo, brave gal. hee~... i also not a fan of needles.

Von, I also agree with Mei. Do communicate with ur hubby on tis. Let him noe how u feel tactfully. Jiayou!!

kayemoss

Hallo ladies,

Yup, will try to relax so that I dun have such nightmares!

Mei, its understandable abt your long post on MIL issues. Each one of us deals with it differently.

Von, i will say your MIL treats u like one of her children. But, you re not bought up in such a way thus, it might take time to get used to it. I guess being a housewife might be boring for your MIL especially now her children all grown up. That's y she focus her attention on you.. Like kpo on what u do on your laptop etcc....

As for your husband, he has his point about, "What about my Mum?" but he had forgotten that both of you need your own private space etcc. Like what Mei says, must keep the communication open and tells him how you feel about the whole thing and must let him know that by avoiding the issue... Nothing will get solved!

For my case, my husband told me that if touch wood anything happens to his parents whether sickness or death. We have to look after them and they might have to stay with us. I also LL got to accept this even though, my in laws have 4 children!

So, Von u just got to let your hubby understand your point of view and stand on the housing issue. If not, Men will usually think they avoid the issue and later, the issue will be just disappear into the thin air.

tryphena

von, my new job is good very much diff fm my previous job. the cols are fun. i m also currently staying with my MIL and prob she's more open minded so we dun hv much conflict jus that we learnt to accomodate with one another.

in fact the tin I learnt is to open/ close one eye and tell urself to be patient and tolerant.

jhoo

mei, i wrote in to the resort and ask if bintan is safe, and it is wor, haha... but too bad, me not going liao

smilez, im not brave, im very KS one, hehe. and also the doc skill is very important to me, coz i dun like to have blue black. By the way, hw do u manage to 'crack' in here?

rubberducky

Thanks for your answers girls - I always assumed that the MUA follows us the whole day!!! :p Oh crap. Now I have to check with my MUA - otherwise got no make-up for dinner!!

Twinkle Star, good thing you managed to settle your MUA! After 3pm, must prop your feet up & nua until dinner. ;)

kyra

Hi Rainie

Congratulations on your BIG DAY! Be a pretty bride and have a smashing good time in Mandarin Court!!

To evon & suika as well, I remember both of you are also having ur BIG DAY tomorrow. My sincere wishes to both of you as well. Stay pretty and cool!

All Other Sept Brides - TAKE A DEEP BREATHE!! I am freaking out soon though :p

rubberducky

Hi again girls!

Eh, I just found out from my designer that my MUA will actually be with only me that day. But she also leaves after the first make-up session and returns at dinner time. Guess it works out to be the same.

mrsgan123

I have talked to my husband and tell him how i feel. But i find that he is useless.. once i stress him abit, he will take assignment and go oversea for weeks. haiz.. i gave up on him. but i will never give up on my dream.. i will definately flight for what i want.

jazol, great to hear that there are at least someone who can accomodate well with in laws.

to me, i always believe that xiang jian rou yi xiang chu nan. these 9 mths i also learnt to open and close one eye + open 2 ears.. (when one words come in, it will go out thru another)

i'm like mei, if husband in sg, i will be home most of the time.. in and out together with him.. when my husband around, she dont dare to do those small actions.. cos my husband will shoot her back... if my husband is out of town, most of the time, will be hanging out with friends or return to my mama's place..
to avoid her as much as possible.

mrsgan123

jhoo, understand ur phobia.. in the past i'm scared abt blood drawing.. once i get nervious, my blood vent will collapse.. doc have to look for another one.. so i learnt that have to relax during the blood draw.

there is one time, my husband brought me to his family doc for hep b testing.. that doc try at least 5 times and cant get any blood.. i so angry and scolded her.. and leave the clinic without doing anything.

por

hi..

my MUA will only makeup for 1 person per day. so he will be "mine" on my AD but just in the morning and evening for my wedding gown only.. after tat he will leave liao wor.. this shall be the common practise bah... how i hope he can stay for my 2nd march in.. but dun think is possible lor..

dearris

Hi gals..

My Ad is 12 Oct.. and my GDL is coming Friday ..

May i know the places to ge GDL stuff ?

Heard there is one in bedok, one in Chinatown, One is Yishun, .. But i do not know the exact place

I just know where is the one at Bt timah .. But heard that place is slightly more ex..

Which one is the cheaper one ? Any idea..

Pls advise ..

Thank you very much

Pls advise..

meie

Hi Girls.. it has been a terrible weekend for me.. at 4am on Saturday morning, I woke up feeling terrible & realised I had serious food poisoning. I vomited & had diarrheoa non-stop. The worse thing is I could not hold anything down, even liquids. Whatever I drank, I vomited out a few minutes later. My hubby brought me to see a doctor & I was given a jab to stop the vomiting in case I got dehydrated. Lucky I brought plastic bag with me to the doctor's.. I vomited there too.. so paisey... hehe.

I'm feeling better today but still have some stomach cramps.. so sad.. today I was supposed to be a friend's jiemei for her wedding, but I could not turn up because of this. I hope I'll feel better later so I can attend her wedding dinner.

Yesterday, my PIL went to china & in the airport, MIL called my hubby & told him she appointed a property agent for us. As my hubby was occupied with taking care of me, he did not call the agent. This morning at 8am, she called my hubby & screamed at him for not calling the agent as the property she wants us to buy is sold out. She is crazy lor, the property she wants us to buy is a terrace house.. how can we afford? I guess even the choice of home we want, also got to go through her.. so angry lor.

von, I guess your husband is trying to avoid confronting his mother. I really don't know how you can handle the situation but I am glad that you'll continue fighting for your dreams. What about your FIL?

gayletan81

the one in chinatown is very near CK department store. facing the store front, walk towards the right, then left then right again. its one of those shops below a block of HDB flats. theres lots of construction going on n theres a durian shop nearby too.

think the prices here are reasonable.

qiqi09

hi gals, busy with work last week...

jhoo, y u not going to bintan already?

Mei, u feel better already? poor thing.. aiyo y ur mil like that.. never find out wat u wan and get u to see a terrance house!!

von, aiyo.. ur hubby always avoid also no point... u to to tell him that avoiding is not solving the problem... but i guess ur mil dun mean anything bad.. just tat she is just a bit naggy and also she is trying to get to know u better.. u need some time to get to know her...

kayemoss

Hallo ladies!

Mei, hope you re getting better! Better watch what u eat during the wedding dinner!

Ur MIL really very bad.... Just ignore her. Dun let her affect your mood!

On Friday, i went to see my gynae. My little piggy weighs 2.7kg and after telling my Mum about the weight. She told me not to eat too much junk. She is worried that i might have a difficult birth if the baby is too big. My gynae told me that based on the baby's position, i might have an easy labour. Keeping my fingers crossed that it will be true!

cherimoya

Hi all, I'm in Zurich now, it's 3.14pm and am pretty bored cos it's a Sunday and most shops are closed.

Anyway, I went to see the gynae just before I travelled and could only see a sac. Now waiting to be back to Singapore to see him again and this time shld be able to see the heartbeat and hopefully it's no longer an embryo. Hehe..

It's a tough trip for me since I'm always feeling nauseous. The food here just don't suit my appetite. Too salty, too much bread, cheese and creamy stuff. So sad.. I really missed Singapore's food.

Anyway, will keep you guys updated! I'm really bored here. Hope Thursday will be here soon..

meie

Hello! I'm back from the wedding dinner. Lucky I felt well enough to attend.

piglet, thanks.. I feel so much better already.

kaye, that's good to know what your gynae mentioned...
Feeling really excited for you.. can't wait for you to share your photos with us next month after your delivery.

samanlyt

Me just finished my AD on 20 sept (thur). Veri tired, but rather fun! Lucky no hiccups and no last min 'aeroplane'
Hmmm...no honeymoon for me & hubby yet. Gonna save more $$ and delay till Jan 08 perhaps. Hows things for those who jus had their wedding? Wanna share?

belleteo

Hi hedge & ariesann, i ask my MUA the price for 2nd march in is abt $180 which i think is so ex but still considering to pay for it are not.

Hey ladies, around how much ang bao r u ladies going to give yr jie mei?

cutienottikitty

hi girl... my mum also told me the same thing...cos my sister in law... a cantonese though... throws something out of the car before it moves off...

according to my mum...throwing the "san zi" means throwing away ur surname and taking on ur husband surname...

my mum didn't do it though... and i was telling her i am not going to do it..cos i'm planning to use my own surname...

key_word07

I think i am giving brothers and sister abt $60 each? Enuf or not huh? Those brothers who drive will give $20 extra for their petrol ($80).

mrsgan123

mei,my FIL had alr not around for years.

aiyo, ur mil best, even look for places for you guys to stay in.. is it somewhere near her place? I tot your FIL is asking you guys to wait for the property price to drop??

piglet, yap.. i also know that my mil dont mean anything bad... just that our lifestyle is so much different.. i think i'm a pampered child. :p i cant really cope with her. now, what i try to do is avoiding her..

kaye, that's really good to heard that... btw, which hospital will you be going for delivery?

meie

Morning!

von, your FIL is not around anymore, I guess that's why your hubby feels uncomfortable leaving his mum alone.. I actually have a suggestion which one of my relatives are doing.. but of course, you'll have to discuss this with all parties involved & they have to be agreeable to it. It's like a rotation arrangement, like MIL stays with a son for like 3 months, then moves on to stay with another son for another 3 months, so on & so forth. In this way, everyone gets to share responsibility for the single parent & with no long term permanent plans of staying together, conflicts will be avoided. It is working quite well for my relatives & everyone is happy with this arrangement. This is a suggestion which I feel you can consider. I don't mean to be a wet blanket but since your MIL is a single parent now.. I think it'll be hard to avoid it.. maybe you can really consider my suggestion & discuss with your hubby? I really feel it's the next best solution if you can't get your husband to agree with your views.

About the terrace house, you are right, it is just the next lane to her house..
Actually it is contradicting, my FIL ask us to wait for price to drop yet MIL is pushing us to buy a house of her choice now... it is really confusing. But hubby & myself will stick to our decision to buy a house we both want & can afford & not give in to her just because of her demands.

Just last week, she passed a mean comment. Last time when she knew my hubby was dating me & she opposed, she tried to introduce one of her friend's daughter to him but my hubby was not interested. She told my hubby, I am so stubborn & don't listen to her... he should have married that girl instead & told him she'll introduce the girl to her younger son, because that girl is so 'guai' & will listen to her. I'm wondering is she looking for a DIL who loves her son or a slave who listens to her & gives in to all her demands.. *rolls my eyes*