(2006) Brides of year 2006

<font color="0077aa">eh princess, thanks.. yah, this was an unplanned search.. so now at least i am back on schedule.. wat you bz with now??

diamond, oic.. then your wedding band must be very unique.. =) both my rings are otr only.. care to share which is the jeweller you go to? i need some jewellers' contacts.. </font>

Hazel, only Meraj and I know what really went wrong on the day. The seating chart plans went missing. The seating plans went awry. The malay dance troop thingee didn't enter the venue through the "proper" entrance as we wanted them to. 2 cartons of the favours were left at home(!) (thankfully my brother went back to get them in time for the reception).

I refused to be a part of the problems which needed to be resolved. My sister was geat in handling the situation --> thus Meraj and I decided to give her and her family a holiday in Langkawi for helping us.

hi tansy. read that u spent a bomb on the wedding photos. i think if you think of how u can share the memories with your kids and grandkids when u grow old, the bonding experience is priceless. i think u can never put a value on that.

regarding the ppl ard u who are facing problems in their marriage, i guess its happening to alot of people. if u think u aren't confident, why dun u seek out a marriage counsellor? i think they can really help for newlyweds esp in terms of expectations changing after ppl get married to each other.

jmonster,
ya lor.. anyway, initially, we also dun wan to top up much.. so good for us lor..

Thanks.. i called my frds up in May, but 1 or 2 commented tat it's still early.. Btw, when is your AD?

Then wat will u gals do if tat say the total no of guests is 282, tat means 28 tables and extra 2 more? or am i worrying too much?

Thanks designfreak. I'm slowly accepting tat $7k bad debts now.

As for my opinion on expensive pretty wedding vs lifelong committed marriage, i choose the latter.

Erm my point is how many of us really will flip our wedding albums and share with our children and grandchildren...our wedding photos...ummm...

I still think it's abit too much to spend on pictures....nbm...since u have paid look on the bright side, you may think it's worth it when you see your beautiful pictures!

*wink*

dear girls... sorry for not writing in like 3 weeks... had a car accident... hurt my leg.. hubby jus manage to put down the internet last weekend.. so i am now..

hows the wedding and weddin preps if any??

adeline! are you ok? must take care okie? sayang...

girls, not that i don't want to open my house for our outing but i was thinking: how keen are you all to go for buffet at hotel? i've always wanted but 2 people go like not shiok leh. must big group leh. how? what you think?

then can find somewhere more centralised (compared to my ulu house).

hi hazel n marnie...

there is always bound to be something went wrong in weddings i guess... my in-laws made us wait / wasted 2 hours waiting for the relatives to come and our schedule went wrong after the wait.. i almost fell asleep waiting for these unconsiderate relatives.. then at night, my in-laws didnt plan for the seating arrangement and tot that the only list i breifly did for them 2 weeks ago were the seating arrangment... so everyone ended up anyhow seated... though my great helpers tried to best to still gathered pple of the same table to be seated together regardless of which particular table tho... and becos of the mess of the seating arrangment, our dinner started so late and ended so late too.. tho my MIL did mentioned the MESS after the weddin.. my FIL actually helped us by sayin its over la, no need to keep talkin about it... haha.. its been 1 month since my weddin and i still hope i had done a better job then...

then the worst came when my best friend started ignoring my the followin day of my weddin till now.. i am not sure what went wrong and had tried apologising and finding out wat went wrong.. but to no avail... i lost a best friend after my weddin... thats the worst part...

i am still tryin to get over this painful part and at the same time, resting at home to recuperate my leg which had a hairline crack... but have tot deep into it that if my best friend prefers to keep the distant from me then i also no choice... just do it her way....

then... sigh... my office... guess wat, no one really care about me n my accident.. i felt very bad that with this painful accident and loss of a good friend, i realised that no one really cared for me... my office pple ( i do accounts ) were only concerned about their pay and no one actually came to visit me, except just to pass me my work stuff... have been going thru a bit of depression initially but now are better.. start to understand life a bit more...

thats life my friends...

gera,
i'm with J&amp;M Design &amp; Photography.. I negotiated for the negatives to be returned when signing up.. Thats why they agreed to give..

Peggy,
okie..will share my photos with u all.. but these few days got no time to scan the photos..i'll do it when i got the time k..
yours is considered cheap liao leh..considering its like ard 3k for 100 pcs..

sinkor,
its me who top up 5k for photos..now heart aching.. but i think i sort of got over the fact that i need to top up so much liao.. what's done is done..i'll flip thru my album more often next time..

hi pinkbunny,

thanks.. am slightly better.. now using clutches n wheelchair cos 1 leg really hard to move about... the injuried leg is still in the process of healing... a merz taxi actually drove over my left feet... ouch!! i was like only about 4m away from my office when i met the accident.... !!

Adeline,

dun worry abt yr best fren &amp; colleagues..
most importantly is to get well first.
tat shld be yr priority..

hi hazel... i do understand that but just cant help it to feel that way.... imagine.. best friends lei.. but yet now like acquaintances... sigh..

pandalic, he is actually my FH's sister jeweller. His name is Raymond. His sister is a regular customer of Raymond as buying jewellery is her monthly hobby. Raymond deals in precious stones such as diamonds and ruby. Once customer has selected the stones, he will set them in white gold, yellow gold or platinum, but white gold being the most common.

i have only met raymond briefly at FH's sister place as my engagement ring was made by him &amp; given to me as a surprise by FH. i understand from FH that his parents also went to Raymond to get jewellery for me

Raymond's rates are much better than what the retail jewellery shops are offering. When i asked the latter for a quote for my engagement ring, I was really surprised that it was >100% of what Raymond charged my FH.

pandaic, i will pass you Raymond's contact when my parents meet him to get jewellery for me.. is that fine?

Peggy, my AD on 18th June
will be getting my album 4 days before AD haiii~

Piglet, i write those invites for the confirmed guests and those not confirm ones i will put aside and give them a call maybe by last week of May since my AD is 2nd week of June
then if i need more tables i will call up the restaurant to change the no. of tables lor

<font color="0077aa">hi diamond, thanks but when will that be? possible for you help me to get his contacts soon? my FMIL is very kan cheong abt the SDJ so i want to get that over and done with before she tells the whole world i not bothered abt the wedding.. wahahha..

i set my eyes on the tiffany's swing series but FMIL prefers i go for yellow gold, so was thinking of finding someone to come out with the design i want in yellow gold. i got a couple of jewellers but they dun really want to take yellow gold orders.. =(

think your FSIL's hobby must have helped your fiance to secure a really good price.. =) too bad i dun have a FSIL like that.. my case is opposite of yours.. when i got my engagement ring (also a surprise from fiance), some of my frenz criticised that he overspent.. =(</font>

Wah...
So much happenings.. i missed out ALOTS sia..

Btw, i jz collect my Album yesterday.. heheh
so heavy.. my cousin counted for me.. i got 70 Pics ar.. he was laffing at my top-ups.. aihz..

pandalic, i will try to get the no from my future sister-in-law when she comes back from her biz trip about 2 weeks later. i also not very sure if the price for yellow gold is good b'coz so far, i only see the jewellery set in white gold.

aiyoh, your friend should not criticise that your hubby overspent because everyone's budget is different. Eg, my future SIL is only interested in diamond ring that is at least 2 carat and above, but then, do i call that extravagant? no, b'coz she can afford it. but when i look at the people around me, my friends &amp; colleagues, i hv yet to see anyone wearing such ex jewellery... even 1 carat is rare..

I have upload a few pics in the multiply.. they are those softcopy of wat i have selected.. those with effects are not given to me..

i will try to upload all the 70 pics in my yahoo later..

OL / elven_princess (elven_princess) - thanks for the advise ....i hope tmr will go smoothly

What kind of gown are u all taking? I am short n small size, any idea what kind of gown is more suitable?

yuki, u choosing your gown tomorrow ah? so exciting... do keep us posted ah

i am going down to the BS next Sunday. I also dont know what design to choose.

diamond , yap choosing tmr .....excited but oso scare cant get wat i like .....coz i planning to take PS in July ....before 7th mth ....keke :P

but if i din get wat i like maybe will drag during lunar 7th mth

u choosing soon too ....so counting down to the day

hey any of you are body shop fans? cos i'm a member (ya, auntie mah, everything member), can get i think 20% for the month of june (birthday month HINT HINT). can pool together if any of you is keen.

adeline, sorry to say but weddings and funerals really show you who your true friends are. when i was bridesmaid at my best friend's wedding, i was very upset cos she was so involved in everything she didn't take into consideration i had just been dumped by my then fiance couple of weeks before (zao sai). maybe have a good talk with her la. you never know, maybe either one of you said something you didn't mean or what...

yuki, my package comes with MTM WG and EG. But, i am lazy to think of a design and to go down so many times for fitting. So, op for OTR loh and give the MTM part to my FH so that he can keep his suit.

pandalic, u are defintely not "cant be bothered with wedding". i shld be the one. i hv not done anything so far. my parents asked me to help them get the wedding present for my FH but i told them still too far away, dont need so gancheong.. same thing for the jewellery that my parents are getting for me. wahahha

Gals, there is a lifestyle21 exhibition going on for furnitures at singapore expo hall 6A...admission is free and its till 14th May from 12pm to 10pm

Another event is the Metro Expo sale at Hall 5 from 11th May till 14th May and time is 11pm till 10pm....admission is free too

I think i'll be going to the furniture fare tmr nite
hope i find something i want hehe

diamond - mine package is 1 MTM WG/EG and 1 OTR WG/EG ....but my FH say if can take OTR coz scare MTM come out not wat i like ....so tmr if really cannt get then maybe do MTM ....haha

Hi hi stepford..
It’s better to get more..i think best is u taste it urself..haha..oh, i paid close to $300 I think for a rental for the Kua..if I didn’t remember wrongly, think need to go back &amp; check the receipt leh..haha..but Kua # was 203..the Kuas from House of Etiquette really very impressive one..i used it as my EG..coz I wanted something diff..i know BS also provides Kua but the designs they have is really very limited lor..actually wanted to get the gold colored ones..but hubby complained to ex..so I took the lower range lor..but something very unique..i m very happy with the Kua I rent from them..

Hi hi designfreak..
I also served hard liquor &amp; beer..for my total number of 41 tables at RTP, I served a total of 12 white, 36shiraz/merlot/cabernet+24merlot, 30L+additional 20L coz not enough, I think close to a total of 15bottles of hard liquor..i guess my FIL has lotsa of business associates so that’s does bring in the increase lor..haha..

Hi hi Diana..
Take photos &amp; show me ur photos of ur new flat leh..hehe..

Hi hi tansy..
Wow..u really spent a lot leh..for me, I managed to grab a gd deal of 30 photos, then got to top up additional 20pcs which I also find it ex lor..moreever I had 2 photographers with me for my outdoor PS at McDonald..wah..really hard time to choose lor..haha..since u have paid..then pls bring it out to view at least once a mth ba..hehe..to make ur $ worth..as for ur 2 gfs..Sometimes it’s hard to say one..it’s fate that bought 2 strangers together lor but I find that as long as ur gfs are willing move on life..this is impt lor..u must b there to encourage them..like what skk mentioned, treasure what u have now..also the pple ard u..cheers~

Hi hi skk..
U must know..a wedding not only consist of a couple’s celebrations..for each side of the parents..an additional daughter &amp; son lor..so it’s 6 pax involved..just relax a little &amp; give &amp; take more..discuss out will be the best..hard to give in one lah..tell u, this is ok lor…ur real headache comes when u r doing ur table arrangement..cheers~

Hi hi Beatrice..
U r most welcome..i m glad u love the Kuas there..me too..was browsing the bridal magazines when I saw it..i was like this is what I want!coz most pple will use Kua as tea-dress..but I wanted it for my EG lor..haha..

Hi hi Xiaobai..
Hmm..for the house catering hor..i think u got to call them &amp; find out what u r looking at, like how many dishes, for how many pax etc..as for the cakes hor..prima deli also got..u can find out more ba..cheers~

Hi gals..long time never pop in here.. how's everyone's preparations?
I have settled my rental of kua at hse of etiquette &amp; design of my MTM EG, photoshoot in mid June. Yet to choose gown for AD. Hopefully everyone is on time. Waiting for great singapore sale to buy some furnitures &amp; bedsheets..:p Enjoy your preps gals..

pinkbunny,
I prefer Natural Source....
esp the moisturiser cream

I still ve 2 Body shop body scrub in my old hse.
think this fri, I will go there &amp; move some of my things over...
married for 1wk...yet already been home 2 times.
1st time is to go home to get the father's jacket fr my mum to return to BS
2nd time is to go home to get some misc light items &amp; voting

Hi frais bleu.. did u book David Loh as your JP? Heard that he is retiring. One of my friends who booked him as JP has received his call. And DL said he will confirm again whether he can still be her JP by this month. Or else she will have to find a new JP asap..

its end of the day and i haven finished my work!! win oredi!!!
ha ha haha ha... anyway taking a breather..

yuki - gd luck with ur search for the perfect WG/EG.

panda - so fast talking abt SDJ. me cant be bothered. watever MIL gives i just take.

ok gals, guess u all are well way ahead of me in terms of gowns. my 1st appt is schduled 3rd week of June. HA HA HA HA HA :p

<font color="0077aa">hi diamond, thanks.. you can let me know when you got the contacts..

i agree with you.. its a personal preference on how one wanna spend his/her money.. but you see, there is always some kind of pp who compares.. thats why i get affected.. one of my closest fren compared our engagement rings and commented that my fiance is such an idiot.. i was very upset with her.. coz i expected her to share my joys instead..

hee angel, you know me lar.. i quite bo-chap in the jewellery thingi coz i dun really accessorise myself usually.. but FMIL thinks that "getting the SDJ" is the wedding.. so she can get quite naggy abt that.. remember i told you abt her nagginess??

yuki, when choosing your gown, your BS should also take into account your fiance's built.. but generally, if you are very small size, you may want to go for small details for embellishments so that the bodice will not overwhelm your physique.. if you cannot carry off bustier coz too heavy for your small build, you may want to think abt halter or scoop neckline.. then for skirt, i think A-line will be safe bet..
but of coz, there are other considerations to note.. like wat you like, your wedding theme, location.. etc</font>

angeldust - thanks

pandalic - thanks for ur advise

i was hoping to take bustier .. with some folds at the gown ...tmr will have a look to see if it is too heavy ..my wedding theme not decided leh

Adeline: Oh dear!! BIG HUGS for you.
368292.gif
Hope you have a speedy recovery.

I know what you mean. So many bad things happen one after another. No amount of cyber hugs can make u feel better, but feel free to confide in us anytime!

Sigh... ur colleagues really too much man.
kao_sad2.gif

pinkbunny: Canal? U sure it's not just a short short drain?

I don't use BODY SHOP products, but thnx for sharing lobang.

Idyll: U r so cool man!
368295.gif

Just one question to ask. My wife's designer says her complexion is too dark. Needs to "whiten". What do you gals do? Which lotion/cream do you all recommend?

OL-oic.

pandalic-oh ok..ciderjuice. then if all done then we can share share video. hehehe...my jewellers contact is actually fairy's inc. their price abit high end but we lazy to look for others liao so settled on them and gve them the design. ring will be out b4 our PS in july as well.

yuki-if u hve nothing in mind, very dangerous. cos they might throw u OTR. unless u dun mind OTR. hw long depends on you lor. my FW took abt 3hrs and 30mins i tink then i took abt 30mins. u noe lah, groom nothing much to choose 1. dun be shy if u wan to try wearing it again and again just to compare. if not very difficult to make up ur mind. i told my FW to try a few pieaces again also. the TV i duno nice anot cos i nt installed yet. reno still gog on. when done then i tell u lah. but from samsung site and other reviews, the TV seems gd. bt the theatre systems does not seem gd with the reviews...just normal standard. but wat the heck. its free. hehee.

angeldust-better stay away from the pool till u recover. nurse back ur health liao then exercise.

Orh... gib u one roh... Come we shake hand.

368301.gif
Hee.. kidding.

Come... all of us together... group hug!
368302.gif
This icon shows hugs for all of us. Don't hv icon with more smilies hugging.

pandalic, what is SDJ? my guess is J=jewellery. but as for "SD" i am lost. well, according to my FH, my FMIL has also chosen the jewellery for me &amp; is been made now.

AS for WG, i wan to have one with a long train behind. for EG, i want a modern cheongsam in mermaid cut... i hope BS hv it OTR

hi fintonic!
congratulations on your smooth sailin AD!
after so many months of planning n preps you finallu saw your pen n paper plans in action..=D

Hi designfreak, my caterer told me that more people drink red but to be on the safe side, serve some white too. ;-)

Hi tansy, it's kinda costly. I don't think I will spend that money but then again, I have not had my PS yet. I might just end up splurging too! Fingers crossed!

Hi Tansy

I think it is alright to spend so much money. Me too my package original is $2988 only, but after I top up photos also become $5300 plus liao. Mother in law think that we are wasting our money and the album will collect dust after some time. But me and hubby think that it is worth it, as we both never done make-over before. And we think since the photos are so well-taken, we also spend a lot of time and effort in the phototaking. So I think the money is well spend to spend on the additional photos. As long both u and ur hubby are happy then everything will be worth it. Don't need to worry so much.

Take Care
Xiaobai1

Thanks for the contact Jam
will try it out

Angel, my email addy is [email protected] (u can PM me too!)

did someone here ask me for the AD schedule? sorry, would u mind pm-ing me again? i accidentally deleted it, sorry!

<font color="0077aa">SDJ is SI DIAN JING.. my FMIL prefers i choose.. so thats the whole dilemna.. wahahha.. i rather she decides and thats it.. i am diehard tiffany fan.. but i dun think i want her to feel that i asking for the sky.. wahhahaha..

WG is more than a long train.. kekek.. you gotta consider the kind of fabric, the neckline.. the waist.. then your dream EG does not sound like its gonna be available OTR.. CS is usually MTM.. which BS are you from?

da man, i been to fairy's inc.. but din end up with them.. coz their quote was ridiculous.. they quoted me higher than wat i have to pay tiffany for plain platinium bands and insisted that white gold is better... kekek.. can you beat that???

but i must admit they are pretty creative in their designs.. </font>

Hi popie,

Body shop things are quite ex. So i also dun noe wat to get for my jie meis.

Hi leafmemories,
No need. If u bao ang baos to jiemeis &amp; xiongdis, it is not necessary to buy gifts for them lor. It all up to individual on what is ur budget &amp; how close are u to the jie meis.
No problem, rem not to drink too much water b4 10pm. Sleep well &amp; put on ur best smile for PS.