(2006) Brides of year 2006

Summer and Frais Bleu,
No worries. We had a bad experience with the BS at Bugis too cos the staff was very pushy. Shd try to avoid Marina Square too, or at least not stand near the BS there! Cos they can be quite "hard sell" too!

Think for a start, u could go try a variety of BS if u are really unsure of what u want. I went to designer BS such as Ted Wu, Silhouette etc, but also to Julia's Wedding News and Whitelink to find out how 1-stop BS operate. Found tt i preferred designer BS cos of the gowns and service. Think u shd also consider if u are particular abt makeup or photog cos for 1-stop BS u usually have no choice over these options

And most importantly, try the gowns and decide if u like their look on u. If u find "THE gown", go for it! Hahaha.

Btw, i found that 1-stop BS charges are almost on par with designer BS, at least for the gowns? Felt tt Julia's packages were almost the same price as Silhouette's, and this gave us a shock!

Hi Cecilia,

What is the price like for Grand Copthorne Waterfront? Over $900 nett per table?

Hi HoneyChia, I am also going to confirm Meritus Mandarin soon i think. I saw Crown, though cheaper, it can't take my 50 or so tables and sure get blocked by all the pillars.

I went to crown for a dinner before. quite ok but think may not be as grand as meritus mandarin lor.. Which ballroom are you using at Meritus Mandarin?

Hi Diana,
Thanks! I called Amara but The date i want is taken already.. in any case, i am not too keen on amara as it does not give a grand impression i think...though i think it's quite nice after the renovation but name is name like we all know..its the mindset of people that we can't change...at least to the older folks, they know Mandarin ..hee..i hope! Mandarin is their the only hotel they think it's 5 star i think and hopefully, i get a bigger ang pow to cover my costs at least!

By the way, those interested in Divine, i went down that day and they told me they have a wedding show probably next April and may get better deals but maybe a bit late for Oct's wedding? But the lady said ok le..

I went to Dang, don't like the attitude..so, how nice the gowns also not my cup of tea :p

Hi Yin,
I don't have this so called check list.. I just follow what i think i need to do! haha

The other Oct 06 brides to be might like to share if they have? :-)

yahoo

hi gals, for those doing PS in Dec..i think it's going to be fun..some of the places have started doing up the christmas decos..it's such a festive mood! Too bad my PS is not in Dec..

gintonic, dun worry abt the rain..main thing enjoy urself..i saw this couple's photos before at one of the BS during my BS search..it rained, and they took this white umbrella and posed against some black stuff..wow, like movie star poster..very nice..so maybe for standby sake, just bring a nice brolley

Hey sweets...really appreciate your evaluation list....i think i'll be hvin a hard time sourcing for my BS as now i think i'd go for DB instead cos i think i'm focusing more on my gown n PS....ya and i agree with count those 1 stop bridal can be really pushy...i went marina yesterday n that's where i spoke with the white link ppl....

Hey chomecc, can you help me check with ur cousin whose with white link which photographer they're using? n also the make up artist?? thanks......i guess i'll now shortlist 2 1 stop BS and 3 DB.....hahahhaa....i'm goin to talk to that FH of mine and see wht he says....guys!!

yahoo: thanks. well wait to see if anyone else has something to show me otherwise have to do what i think need to do haha

Those cd with photo thingy which going to show on the AD dinner is done by the AD photography right? Now i am not sure if my AD photographer will do it since this photographer was thrown in by my BS in my package, have to check again? Otherwise anyone care to share how they intend to do it?

how many wedding songs do we need then? I only know ist march in, 1st dish, pouring champgne,2nd march in, thruout the dinner (do we need song too?)

<font color="aa00aa">wow your hubby's coy so good ah? allow such long leave? if only i can take tat long leave too hahahaha *envy*

eh.. u mean 4k for BS + photos + video? dun think likely leh.. not sure of the current market.. but i think some 1-stop BS offers AD PG? but guess the package should be nearing 4k? with video... maybe you exceed slightly?
but pls open your eyes BIG BIG for 1-stop BS k? hehehe make sure that you're really impressed before you sign

good luck~!!!</font>

Hi Yin,

I don't think the AD photographer will do the cd thingy for you to show at the wedding dinner...though i am not too sure. coz i think u need to pay more for such things. Do check with your BS.

I think usually, there is no song thruout the dinner at the weddings i attended.but then, u may want to do something different? :p

Thanks Ade for the tip for Seven. One of these days, when free, I shall pop there then.

Oooh! Can't wait for you to tell us your experiences with PS! Must come back and tell us how it went k?

EL, I didn't go Concourse but went to Tan Quee Lan Street and walked around. Most likely I will go with the white paper bag (the one that looks like those fast food paperbags) and stuff individually loose goodies (like biscuits) in small sealable (sp?) bags and put them all in the bag and top it off with the batik paper which I bought yesterday. It cost $8 for 50 bags. It's quite sizeable. You may want to consider that and then punch a hole on top and tie it off with ribbons?

Girls, Meraj and I spent last night wrapping belly bands around our favours. I cannot believe how something sooo simple can come out great (if I do say so myself..
)! Don't have digital cam but I shall see what I can do and post my finished product here.

Yup... coz he is bonded to the Co. after he completed his studies. hehehe...

BTW, how much would it normally cost for BS + photos + video?

How much did you spend / plan to spend? :>

Hello Bear and whiteangelz,
Heeheee!! I enjoyed myself during all those BS shopping!! And I actually got my poor FH to shop with me.. think the only one that he did go to is Sophia Wedding..heeheee..

I was at Ngee Ann City Tuesday so dropped by to see see the Bliss show..I agree that the French bridal has quite nice photos and gowns..but we, especially my FH was really put off by them from our prior experience! Think they over "enthusiastic" to sell!!

Hello yahoo!
So you dun really like Dang too huh? Heehee..Their gowns are really quite pretty..and I must say that the pricing also quite attractive..slightly above $4k with photography..but true..they are a bit more "off"..heehee..while I was trying the gowns..the whole boutique was so quiet! Think can even hear if a pin drop! No talk talk between the sales lady and my FH..they just stood outside the fitting room..and wait!! So weird!! When I was at Kai and The Wedding Present..the pple there would chat to my FH while waiting..understand more abt what we want and our preference..heehee..like that more friendly mah... heehee..
I also think to be able to click with the BS pple is very impt..very difficult if can't work comfortably with the BS..

Hi Hi Yin!
Are you refering to those video shows that is played at the banquet when you say the "CD thingy"?
Those should be done by ur videograher..not AD photographer..unless you mean those powerpoint like show..then maybe is the AD photographer..not dun tink all AD photographer does that..think mine dun..heehee

hi purpleblur

i am around.. miss me argh? no comments so keep quiet lor... *wink* now bz with my retirement plan.. hahaha.. talk to you when you on msn lar..

hi all newbies...

welcome! have fun preparing for your wedding..

little twin stars

budget for BS + photos + video will varies.. depending on your requirement..

for BS + pre wedding photos, it can starts from 4k onwards depending on wat you want.. if you want lotsa pics, then you will need to top up, esp in the one stop shop..

for AD photos, the price starts from 600 onwards for services and slot-in pics. if you want collage album, you need to pay more

for AD video, i think price starts from 600 onwards for basis package..

hihi sweets.. hehe... you are doing a very good job yourself... love your evaluation.. think you sum the designer boutiques nicely.. kakkaka..

and you are absoultely right is saying that every one of us have different taste..
making us unique.. hehhehe..and i must agree.. kai.. simply dreamy. love his looks..

hihi count.. been a long time since i see you

hihi frais..no problemos... dun worry about asking questions..
hmm.. its not really true that designer boutique will be more expensive than one stop bs... you must consider that the fact that you are paying for the designer's works..and their evening gown are usually for you to keep.. for a very basic package like a wedding gown (mtm), evening gown(mtm), with make up.. some include guys suit.. designer boutique can range from $3K onwards.. there are different prices for different designers.. and i think sweets have sum it well with her evaliuation list.. one stop bs of course give you more with a $3K++ price.. like.. more dresses.. and comes with photos.. but it doesnt give you the option of "buffet" - pick and choose what you like..
i had the experience of signing up with a one stop bs.. and in the end .. i changed it to a designer bs.. and even though i may be spending a bit more.. but like what count say.. i think i have found what i really like in a wedding dress..

do spend some time.. looking at magazines or surfing the website.. look at more gowns.. pick out gowns that you like..( i will think that there will be some that you think you will like more than others) then spend some time finding out about that bs behind those gowns.. go down with a friend to check out the prices.. make them let you try gowns.. so that you can have a feel of how the gowns will look like on you and if you like the cuts and if its really you.. dun be "pressured" into signing with them immediately.. shop around.. look around... as you try on more gowns.. you will know what is most suited for you.. then showlist those that you really like.. based on criteria that you have set ( be it service..quality of the gown. price etc) .. show it your FH and bring him down to take a look.. try on gowns again and see his reaction to your gown.. how happy is he with the bs... then finally make your choice

i will be happy to go down with you to take a look at the bs if you like.. but it will be good to have a close fren alos who knows your tastes and character to go with you.. ( if you are lost and duno what you really like).. after all she can be honest

my AD is 25th november..have you thought of a date already? as year end dates are extremely popular.. once you got a date.. you must source for your venue and your videographer and photographer

and sure thing.. i will help you check with my cousin..

H chomecc,
My hse is at Anchorvale Link. got to wait till feb 06 before i can get the keys. so, at the same time, i am planning for renovation stuff too.

As for venue wise, i have yet to shortlist. Prob some place i can do an outdoor rom and indoor luncheon. You any good suggestions ? Cos I tot if i am doing lunch, shouldnt have any prob cos most brides will be having dinner. Do u mind to send me ur price list of the hotels?

Wah, u dun mind going to BS again arh ? Later u see others liao then sum si si....

Thanks sweets &amp; count. Sometimes i just cant make up my mind to sign up cos I scared commit already, and will see something i like along the way. That's why taking so long to decide on which one to choose. Thk maybe yvonne creative, ted wu or divine.

Hi ladies,Good afternoon!

Sinkor, so when will you be back in Singapore? No need to be envious. We will encourage and jian fei with you together when you are back! Another 1 month and it will be our PS! So exciting!

Yesterday evening I walked the whole of Balestier road to see the lights there. Dunno where is it, so walk and walk. Now worried about my house. Just signed with ID but think there's like a thousand and one other things must do. Sigh ... Only can come here and de-stress and keep motivated on my jian fei programme! Otherwise, think I'll eat and eat, haha!

Idyll: Hee hee
Paiseh... got that wrong. I know you will be staying with parents, got the wrong set of parents.

Regarding the lunch, no problem at all. Lai2 ri4 fang1 chang2. Still got long time more to arrange.

Hazel: Wah! You sat on your TV console ah! If it were me, HB would shoo me off the console oredi. He is so overly careful with the new flat. When I stand or sit beside the wall, cannot lean against the wall lah... when I wear my shoes near the divider, cannot put my hand at the divider to support myself lah... cannot do this, cannot do that.
324133.gif

We didn't buy a flat in the East side now because we cannot afford it. Initially, we didn't know almost every month, HDB will have something up their sleeves ie they will launch something, either BTO (Build-to-order) or WIS (Walk-in-selection) or En-bloc. So we just bought the Buangkok flat. Soon after that, they launched the Bedok En-bloc flats, which is yours. But so expensive also! Secondly, if we were to ballot for this, we have to give up our Buangkok flat. The chances were like 1 in 10. There were about 1000 ballots for 100 flats or something like that, damn difficult to get, so we decided not to take the risk.

Hey summer, mind sharing a bit of ur wedding stuff?? i may be doin a luncheon n outdoor rom as well....jus wanna keep things simple to avoid all the hassle.....afterall it's our big day.

Hey chomecc i didn't know tht year end is popular month for wedding....nov consider also? if so, i think i'm goin to talk to my FH soon...he's still in states...only coming back in dec...how?? i'm afraid i don't hv enough time to source for everything....we haven't fix a date jus the month in nov because it's his birthday month.

Mayb i'll try divine as my sis also took their package 3 years back price wise is rather resonable....n they're using robin photography not too bad also.

Hey all-brides-to-be....anyone can tell me wht's the rate of hiring a wedding planner?? say if i'm doin my rom n customary on the same day n no dinner jus a simple garden wedding theme....let me knoe if anyone out there has got info on this. thanks a tonns ;)

Girls! Yesterday the curtains were done up and so was the pool table!

We LOVE the living rm curtains. But the MBR day curtains - red sheer organza look a bit eerie... We are contemplating making another white organza curtain for the MBR. Got to incur another $200. The red one will be wasted.

We took pictures last night. I send the links to you now. As for snowkat, Ati and Adeline, I don't have your email addresses. If you want to see, leave ur email addresses here!

hihi ladies!! i'm bac.. had lots of fun yesterday.. super tired today.. sad leh tmr gotta work.. hee

thks frais bleu for ur wishes.. it was a fun n memorable day for me n my hubby

hi purple star,
My BS is Emanuel B. couture. Are you also looking around for banquet venues?

hi ~e~,
welcome back!! So what is your confirmed venue? I think that's the most important..&amp; I havent confirm banquet venue! heh..

HI Yin

Are you refer to photto montage?
Normally BS dun provide for it.
For our case we intend to enagae AD photographer, so may ask him to do it. but with extra charge.

Videographer does also provide photomontage if not express highlights.

Hope this help u.

Anyone still keen to look for photographer I can share with u the contact that i have have seen their works.

Hi Popie,

U forgot liao. I have booked my venue at Carlton hotel. Hehehe.
Dun worry, definately i will ask fm u for help if i need it. We are good buddies already, right? Hehehe.
U too, need any help fm me, must tell me hor...

I will try my gowns in this Dec.
Hi Aiko,

I have 1 MTM &amp; OTR. I think I will take a look on OTR gowns 1st. If i can find OTR for both WG &amp; EG, i can deduct $200. Hehehe.
As wat popie has said, browse throu those mags &amp; see which one u like &amp; see whether can ur BS do a bit similar design of d gowns.

hi phyo. whos ur ID? . whats ur budget for reno? is urs new flat?
i also looking at reno now and so many stuff difficult to decide. are u having the false ceiling thingy?

Hiya Ladies!!!

AXL > Thanks... I will go and read my email.

Phy *o* > Yah... Sinkor, no worries, like what phy*o* said, we will encourage each other.
just make sure you dun over eat in Korea can liao. Phy *0* when is your PS? My one is exactly one month and one week more to go... Kekek!!

How is you ID? Is he expensive? Phy, sometime, over stress also not very good, instead of losing weight, some ppl may gain weight ( like me!!

Just keep up your good work in applying the cream and I think you can make it...

hi ya ya

thanks for the info. Actually i also think so but didnt want to spend extra money on this. Guess maybe my FH will do it by himself (he said he will try haha) that shd save a bit.

Hi Marchbride,

Thanks 4 e suggestions... will kip that in mind. Had my final fit ytd, &amp; brought along all my barang barang that is needed for tomolo to ask e BS to kip for me. Yeap i gone for my medi &amp; pedi ytd too... jus got back from washing my hair... haha vain vain don dare to use my finger too much in case e color came off... :P hw bout u.... everything prepared? hopefully u r &amp; waiting for e PS to come...
my BS allows me to bring my personal fotographer along for e indoor shoot, therefore i think i will get 2 see my photos once i get home.... hee....

Peggy, thanks for e info. Will check w my hubby whether he wanna give Ubin a try... like Spring... me also very easily attract mosquitoes... haha mayb due 2 my blood group... :P So kind of e passengers in e boat ... u muz b very happy on tat day...

Oh yes... almost forget.... Marchbride... njoy ur PS tomolo.... &amp; smile smile smile....

Hi Lipstar,

BTW, girls.. i went over to the Oct walk in selection flats in Punggol and Seng Kang today..
Heehee.. actually we had purchase our flat but we are going there to have an idea on how to decorate our unit

The one at Punggol looks nice

Snowkat,

Hehe, snowkat, if u choose punggol, then we can be neighbours liao..hehehe...cos my new flat is at punggol but it will be ready only in Year 2008. It's next to the punggol plaza..

Hi Enrica,
My ID is Wilson fom R and R. We've compared with a few other quotation that people had and found that his is reasonable. Also, there's no hidden cost. A friend recommended us to him. Yap, mine is a new flat. My FH wanted the false ceiling. I'm fine with it. Thing is now we want to add a ceiling fan so we gotta ask him where the ceiling will start. My FH is very into the reno of the flat. We agreed that I design the kitchen. Though now we have some trouble over the toilet as we forgot to include shelves. Ya, we've got to put a lot of thought into it as if you are really living in it and imagine what you need. That's the stage I'm at now. Design more or less finalise, just a few things. If you interested, I can recommend you to him.

Hi Ginger,

My PS is on the 13 Dec. A little more than a month. On the 12th, I haved planned to go for facial, eyebrow trimming, teeth polishing, french mani and pedicure and put a lot of G-cream on my tummy. As for hair, that would depend on whether my MUA comments when I go for my trial make-up. Sorry, must write down, otherwise too many things cannot remember. Did I miss out anything? Oh shoes! What type of shoes are you all wearing?

By the way, can you all enlighten me, for french manicure, do I need to keep long nails? For pedicure, short nails can?

As for my ID, he's all right. Not too expensive. He does things close to your budget. Also, he gives a modern design. But in the end he will suit it to your taste. Are you looking for an ID too?

Hi Yin

No worries.

I just pass down what i learn from the other brides. I am in the process of finding photographer and videographer.

actually i find it too early to do it now as next year still a long time to go. but it seems that a few thing must take note all hotel and restuarant is almost fully book for hot dates. This apply to photographer and videographer also.

Girls, dunno why.
Can't seem to send it out. I sent three times, and selected the option to send a copy to myself, but i didn't receive it either. I go and shower first. Later, I try again. If not, I use kodakgallery.

Wah... today very tired. This morning woke up at 5am. First time stayed over at new flat. I ate chocolate waffle biscuits and watched VCD. Then went back to sleep at 8am and woke up at 10.15am. Then just now I slept from 5-8pm.

HI Gals I am new here
My wedding will be at 30 dec
See that there is quite a lot of bride from GHA
. Me GHA yishun. Sourcing for Videographer and photographer now.

Ok, I tried for the fourth time using yahoo photos. I received a copy of the mail. Let me know if you still didn't receive. Then I use kodakgallery.

Ade,
Bring a bottle of mineral water with straw, portable fan, wet tissue, loose powder for the touch up...

Lipstar,
I also very poor thing...had to remove my shoes when goes into the hse.
Its so dirty...luckily got water to wash my feet..
If dun let me sit at the TV console, I dunno where to sit...

hi frais,
thk mine will be very similar to yours. k, but i have not start research yet. but we can work hand in hand. haha. for a start, i am now trying to gather quotes from different hotels which will provide an outdoor place for doing ROM and indoor luncheon. If price is reasonable, will go down to the site to see and check if the date i want is still available. k, if i got any updates and found somethg nice, will let u know.

hi dorami,
remember to send us ur pictures too

Hazel: Ya, 4 photos. The pool table is also in the living room.

You look at the blur picture called "poolblur". Before the main door is the divider. In front of the divider, got a colourful floral cloth? That is a bedsheet temporarily covering the dining table. In front of the dining table got a squarish space to put TV console and sofa (not in any of the pictures, because haven't bought yet) . So my living rm got pool table, dining table, TV console and sofa.

The next time we go down, I take some more clearer pictures. paiseh...

Hi Phy,

I see, so when I come back from my PS, you are actually going for your PS.
Erm...mmm dun think you miss out anything but a word of advice, I dun think it is good to do a facial before your PS. COs later after facial, later your face will become a bit reddish and hard to conceal with powder. Perhaps you can do your facial 3 or 4 days in advance?

Shoes for PS... good question I do not know yet. WIll have to check with my coordinator when I am selecting my gowns for PS.

From what I know, you can do manicure and pedicure regardless if you have long or short nail. Hey phy, maybe one day we can go and do it together... I think it will be fun.

I am not looking for ID now but maybe will need one in 5 years time. Flat will not be ready after 5 years.. i guess. :p

gintonic,
mine's 4th dec..=D
1st fitting is next sunday..yayy..can finally get to see my WG for the first time! really kan cheong...scared it won't turn out nice...that's also when my hubby will see my WG n EG(the one i bought online) for the first time...i already warned him must say its nice...haha..

hm..for mani n pedi i'm planning to use the UOB promotion ..both for 35 ( i think) cant rememebr the outlet thought..its one of thoes in meritus mandarin shopping arcade..