(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi lipstar,
so what exactly are the topics that asked both of U to discuss?

Home & Decor
btw, I went to my new hse last sat, my ceiling is up & down...all diff ht. tot both the "down" ceiling shld be the same ht....then my FH act cute..saying cos its not enough materials, that's y diff ht, getting smaller & smaller...

hi ooshie,
still quite sored abt the phuket trip lei. my colleage also going phuket one wk b4 me...she booked separately...and got 100 bucks for tiger airways....so mad...

yours is a 5 star...mine is a 3 star. sighz. now praying that the hotel will be fully book so we can get our refund. think if we do separately, we can go stay at burasari too manz.

Marnie: I also didn't see you leh. I wanted to ear a floral blouse but my HB asked me to change. So in the end, didn't wear any flower. I didn't see anyone with flower too. My HB was carrying his guitar, you saw us??? Sorry for MIA for quite some time. Was in my new place, no computer so no access. Cos my new place's ceiling is leaking water. When we call HDB, then we realise that their pipe burst and NO ONE is staying at the flat. my HB went up with the officer and saw a pool of water on the floor. The plumber was called in. The ceiling is ok now. But we are not sure whether the same thing will happen again when the new owner clean/mop the floor. (I doubt so loh, don't think that anyone will use so much water to clean the floor.)

I am FINALLY going for an interview tomorrow. Hope that everything will turn up alright.

m&m,
that's what happen to my new neighbour too...
Its at the living rm....
y can burst ah?
Initially I tot is cos making of false ceiling ,drill too much & hit the pipe....so leaks...

Hazel: The entire session revolves around communication. We were posed many, many questions, after which the guys and girls will alternately go out of the classroom to another area to write our answers seperately so that we won't feel pressured to write only the positive things had our partner been sitting beside us.

After fifteen to thirty minutes, we will sit with our partners and talk to each other about our answers. There is no inter-couple sharing which I agree, because had there been that, we might have only talked about the positive issues and skirted the negative problems because of "face.

The topics include how to love each other and live together unitedly, how to ask for forgiveness in a more beneficial way, how to manage our finances in future, our priorities in life now and our priorities in future when we live together, Natural Family Planning (NFP) which is a natural way to chart when the woman is fertile and not, to determine when we should or should not have intercourse in case we want or don't want children, ..etc. It is against Catholicism to use artifical contraceptives.

count.. thks for the info.. i'll put it dwn as 1 of d BS to c oso heee

made a appt with jawn happy ever aft for wed.. ritz in d midst of shiftin to new premises so gotta wait awhile

Hello Kastine,

Me very worried now...

Will update you again when HDB get back to us and when we go for our 1st appointment in late Oct..

M&M : Hmm...maybe too many people at the workshop - didn't see your FH carrying the guitar leh....Nevermind lah. Next time maybe we can meet up.

Did you see the way the people were "attacking" the food?

Anyways, bowl the interviewers with your personality and capability - wish you the best girl!
Tell us how it went when you come back k?

Turin : Sounds rather comprehensive. But it's good to trash out these things before committing any further. Meraj and I also talk about a lot of things but both us are very different in terms of communication. I like to just tell him how I feel about something but doesn't mean I want him to do anything about it unless I specifically tell him so. But Meraj always thinks that that is the underlying message I am giving him....*sigh* So sometimes, before I start any discussion with him, I tell him that this is me just telling him how I feel and my opinion about something. No action required on his part. So far, we're quite alright.

Hazel : Think it's the trend now is it to have differing thickness of false ceilings (?) Correct me if I am wrong. My sister's place got something like that. Headache.

Anyone here know if 07-july-06 07/07/06 a good day for wedding? I am planning my wedding in July but not yet fix a date. Any input will be useful to me. Thanks in advance

Hi Jesmine

I got my mattress at Robinsons --King size soft version -- Manchester

Newbbi
I went to Natas on sat ---booked A korea package for honeymoon next year.

M&M: I hope for you too, that everything will go smoothly for the interview. Gambatte! You can do it!
311665.gif

Idyll: That's good. Yah, just have to make clear your stand before the talk that you are not expecting him to make changes.
If I were at another forum, my friends and I would have said MEN
311666.gif
followed by a rolling eyes smilie. We like to make fun of the men there.

Hazel: Your ceiling up and down, different heights?
Never heard of it before. Check with your ID why like that.

HOME & DECOR: My walk-in wardrobe was installed last Friday! This Saturday see got chance, I'll snap a pic or two and show you girls!

HOME & DECOR

Hazel: My dining chair is also a backless bench. Bought ours from Lami, a shop in Great World City. We bought backless because it is much cheaper. Backless $120 each. With back $420. (I think)
311669.gif
almost 4 times more expensive!

But our parents are more traditional. My Dad and his Mum who went down to see on separate occasions both give disapproving looks, like "Huh!? Why dining chair got no back?!" My Mum saw, and helped to mediate by saying "Yahor, people eat finish will walk away, no one sits at the dining chair for long." Hee hee. Kudos to my diplomatic Mum.

oh really? but i just wanna look at their EGs..i alredy have my BS..so odn't think will go down for the show..but thanks for tellin me! =)

Hi Kelly,

I am quite pissed off now. No updates from my HDB officer and tried calling many times and leave msg but don't bother reply.

Really cant stand govt ppl(Sorry if I offend some govt brides here hehee.) They cant imagine the anxiety ppl have waiting for them n yet cant get hold of them.Wat is the point of stating their contact no but no ppl ans.

Somemore next week my FH on revservist and informed her abt it to try arrange the 2nd apptment earlier and said she "yes"

ladies,
I had chk with my ID on that day I saw the ht diff, she said its the design, which I can ve the feel after the completion....
U all would not believe it if I tell U I had only seen the draft of my perspective design....cos I let her do whatever she wants...I told her I would go after her if not nice.
I dunno what's my wall color, I meant I know the color, but dun remember it......as I didnt see the color scheme of my drawing....
cos I half half my reno....think her co only earns abt $13K fr me...the rest of the $13K, I go direct to those companies.....
still remember my time I bargain fr afternoon till exhibition ends for the laminatd flooring...
In the end, I paid more than my ID gave for my laminated flooring...reason is cos its 12mm timber flooring instead of 8mm laminated flooring

Talking abt yr camp, I m interested in FNP
tonight ch u got something interesting...at 11:30pm
kao_embarrassed.gif

yea, their gowns at CHC ARE nice..so if u just wanna buy something then sure, no worries..thats what i did anyways....and for the price u pay, it IS VERY reasonable...but if ur like getting a BS package with the service and all..u'd probably want something with good service just for peace of mine ya?

Hi everyone...

I need advice!!!! I'll b getting my frenz to b my photographer for my ROM.But I feel like giving him ang pao but dun knw how much should I give him.Does anyone knw the market rate???

Hi gals, i be starting my search for actual day photographer soon. Any gd recommendations and what's the price range like huh?? i kinda like works from Montage Studio & Yew Kwang...

chipdale, my AD is 8 july. let's just hope that its not going to be any busier for me.... argh.

yah. think we shld meet up soon lah. talk so long already. hahaa. actually one of us suggested sunday lunch rite? tot tat is a good idea leh. i am free either this or next sun. anyone wana meet?

hello madrock!!

Hi Babysquid
haha
still can't decide what to wear so right now I've got a 3.5inch silver satin heels...most prob using to increase my height for the WG and EG...one 2inch black heels and one light blue canvas shoes for the casual shoots....barefoot...may consider too

Hi Rachel,
Remember when we got ROM, we engage a photographer (Wai Peng) at the same time my friends also volunteer to take photo for us. We did not give him ang bao but we treat him to a meal lor.
Hmm if i were to give ang bao, maybe i'll give $100 lor, cos even if you engage from outside also need at least $200.

By the way ladies, any of you already look out for the cakes for the GDL one. Can share which bakery you guys looking at?

Hazel: The NFP dscussed in my camp is very brief only. If you want to know more about it, you can also attend NFP classes at churches in the evenings. I have a whole list with me, sorted according to the days. Classes typically start at 7.30, 8, 8.30 or 9 pm. You let me know which area (ie North, South, East, West or say Bedok area.. etc) is convenient for you, then I narrow down the list and type it here for you.
311729.gif

hi gin

my colleg have engage yew kwang be4 and the end product is really gd ... thumbs up ... value for money ... last yr the rate is ard 800 plus if not wrong my colleg told me, yew kwang rate has increase liao ....

Hi Cindee,

yah .. just check my booknig yesterday its $75 each $150 for both of us .. i think i booked it during the $9.95 promotion hiaks hiaks but dun fret lah ... i book very early leh .... book early always got good deal
my mum just booked for phuket at $180 each pax so it depends on whether you look out for promotions.
yap i go phuket at least twice a yr just to chill out once in april and the other likely in sep during my birthday . i just need to take one or two days leave plus over the weekend then its 4 days liao

Hi Bug!
will update the chart when i get back

Hi hi kastine & kelly..
Sorry, cant advise u on this..coz I do not hv any info, maybe u all can call HDB & speak to the officer in charge to get more info abt the deferment? Hope u get this issue sort asap..at least one major issue to load off ur mind..Ya lor..now weather very bad..me still having bad cough & sore throat..now got flu & nose block..i think I will pref to have flu than to have sore throat..really got to look into the preps..this SUN is my GDL..majority of the items are ok liao for the GDL..except to get toothbrush, whc I forgot..haha..guess what, FH hvnt ordered the roast meat yet..alamak..he will be placing the order today, my mum doesn’t want to have roast pig whc is also gd lah, no need to carry so much things..i m just wondering how is he gg to carry 40 boxes of cakes from bengawan solo & bring only 20 boxes to my house by himself..haha..just a note to share too, if anyone of u gg to order roast pig for ur wedding in the 8th mth, usually must order slightly earlier & also the price will surely be very expensive in the 8th mth..

Hi Wendy,

Hopes ur preps are going well... Relax and enjoy the process! Sorry i MIA cos i was warded in the hospital for 13 days for meningitis. Now on MC trying to tie up loose ends for my ROM next wk!

Just went for my first appt with HDB yesterday. I am like u Kastine and Kelly, I bought a resale flat. They told me they definitely need my marriage cert on the 2nd appt. No compromise. The officer not very friendly one.. face black black cos i didn't bring my payslip. haizzz hope u guys will get an understanding fella. I know deferment is ok for those that buy those new flats but not for resale buyers... unfair right?

Hi Peg,

wah... u managed to find 3.5 inch heels ah.... i need to get a 4 inch one... hahaha cos i v short... can let mi know where u managed to get urs?

went to have my 1st appt ytd... everything was fine... choosen everything that is needed... 1st fitting on 31 Oct since my PS is on 7 Nov... so better search around for e heels fast in case leave not approve again... sigh....

hi Rach,

give e amt that u & ur hubby are comfortable with... ur frens wont mind about e amt. e fact that they attend ur ROM is to share ur happiness...

bluegal: wat kind of cakes are u looking for? e traditional cream cake (per pcs) or sponge cake type w a "xi" word?

hello poohger,
wow... you booked your HM ... hw much is the package & hw many days?

Newbbi,
i went to Natas fair on fri...as my fh cant go with me to the fair coz of work... so i went to see alone.. no booking done

Hazel: I think cos the pipe is made of metal, The flat is too old liao, so the metal rot, then it started to have holes, then burst...

Marnie: ya loh, Singaporean... I step back when I saw a couple of me rushing to me. But i find the food so-so only and some food is cold. Quite disappointed with their set-up. ButI like their shepherd's pie and of course, strawberries with chocolate... yum yum. I just came back from interview. The job that I applied for is filled up. They offered me another job. 4 persons interview me. Working with youths. Will know the outcome by next week.

Lipstar: Thanks for the support. How about you?

Gintonix: [email protected]

snowy,
i also din booked any tours during the fair lor cos we plan to book the air ticket and hotel ourselves lor ;p...

saw any pkgs u interested in?

Hello Bear! Hello Kastine!

That is really not very good news!!
Heard from my agent that for resale is stricter coz we're getting grant from HDB..
For me and my FH..we will never be ready by 2nd appointment! We have not prepared anything for ROM yet! Haizz.. must go warn him liao.. So headache..

I also feel that quite a few of these pple are not very nice.. heehee..got nice ones.. but very few.. they make me feel quite silly when I try to clarify things.. sigh.. guess now can only pray to get a nicer officer.. Must go "bai4 bai4" liao.. :p

Hello Wendy!

It seems that there are many things to do for the GDL huh! Can share share your experience with us (when you are less busy)? I dunno any thing about GDL..got read some other threads but still blur blur!! :p

And the funny thing is both my and his parents can't remember the bulk of the tradition!! :p
And we also very scare "ma2 fan2".. think it will be a very simple one for me..

You take care! Rest more! And have fun with all the preparation!

Bear,
You take care too! Rest more and get well soon!

hi peggy, yes, tats a gd advice.. tink we will consult both set of parents out of respect, to minimise any unwanted misunderstandings.. hehe

haiz... my 1st fitting will oni be due nex mth... cant wait.. haiz..

Hi Wendy,

Wow you are still checking the thread despite your busy schedule. Do take care & don't stress out
BTW i've changed my AD to 30 Nov'06. Hope I'm still welcome on this thread ;p

Hi Kelly, Bear & Kas,
Dont worry too much. The govt depts tend to drag the process so things will work out.I'm also applying for extension for ROM cert but I've not sent in my letter yet cos waiting for my hotel co-ordinator to change my date in the contract so that HDB wont asked too much questions :p I got my flat since Mar so actually i think they will send me a letter real soon if I still dont write in for extension ;p

Bear,
Take care of yourself

Linda,
its last wkends lor... I bought a hairdryer for $32.Outside was selling for abt $45 lor...then tink most of the things are cheaper than the items sold at COurts or Best Denki lor...so hb and i decide that we won't buy anymore Philips items until their next sales next yr ;p.