(2006) Brides of year 2006

WooHoo! You're back EL!
296118.gif

What did you buy? What did you buy? What did you buy?

Yep, llina, mine is the ballroom, the one without pillars. Because HB loves that ballroom so much, we are trying to get 40-45 tables (minimum to be able to use the ballroom). Initially, we were eyeing Mandarin Court (dun need so many tables), but there are too many gigantic pillars.

Wow! Sydney! Wow! So exciting!
How did you meet your FH? Tell us more! Like how you are preparing for migration to Australia, how your parents feel..etc... that is, if you don't mind.

Idyll: Huh... you are also going to migrate to Australia ah?

At the end of the day, only half the office is left.
296119.gif

Thanks Wendy..for your email
so romantic..kek kek kek

Hi Sel and Diana, um....maybe you gers are right...what's yours is yours loh...I did not ever imagine that he will be my FH ..Can you imagine I took 3-4months before I am prepare and ready to hold his hands..??? ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaa..cos very pai sei as we had been good friends and buddies and talked anything under the sun...and to hold hands..like....urgh....you know lah...;p

Hi BEAR,....no lah..not very fit..iceglacier has seen me...small at the top big at the bottom lah...lots of running to make the portion (legs) strong and fit..kek kek kek.

Of cos been past over 10years leow..so er...I became quite a ku niang lah..in terms of outlook ONLY...

Hi Pearly, which other BS you checking out..huh? Got $ for M sure got extra $ for higher end BS lor? ;p

Oh EL: Back to updating you on what you missed.

1) We talked about my underwear.
296123.gif

Cos I was complaining to them how I wore nice nice to work, but it decided to rain cats and dogs, and I got drenched even tho I had a brolly, and that I was feeling very uncomfortable. My skirt was so wet it wet the chair. Then naughty Idyll said lucky my underwear not wet. But equally naughty Hazel disagreed. She said "already soak the chair, how not to be wet?"

296124.gif
@ Hazel & Idyll

2) I gave out 2 beauty tips.
a) Must apply base coat before nail polish to prevent nails from turning yellow.

b) Wash hair with cold water, cos hot water is drying for the hair.

3) Ade revealed her occupation. She is in ... shall I leave her to reveal herself again?

Snowangel, I got my beetles@work package during their open house for about 1k. Includes photog for 12 hours and they'll give you an ablum with 300 of your selected shots. If you want to keep all the shots, have to top up abit to get them on a CD.

If you are interested, might be better to wait for a promotion cos it's about 1200/1500 on the website.

I covered well with the right clothes lah..babe...;p you should have seen by disgusting cellulite..after not exercising enuth!!

Well gers..working three times a week at the gym...to get a firmer butt...heh..

Nope..we met when we went down to Dang to check out their rates...and try on their gowns..so we like having blind date...very fun...

Maybe we should all meet up for a gathering..kek kek kek

haa...for outdoor shoot.we are also intending to wear jerseys...and shorts..so training at gym to look fit and good mah....heh heh..

So Dang said you got nice shoulders..so u need to look for one that show your shoulders le..;p..I also dunwan chee-na ones..so which ever other BS you checking..keep me posted...;p

Thanks Janf for the infor

AXL,
I just signed up with Chris Ling for their ROM photography at $250.00. I took their services becos 2 of my frens had used their services recently and the photo colour effects are nice. You may want to go down and take a look
when is your ROM??

Morning ladies,

Hey.. HDB has launched the Coralius BTO in Punggol.. anyone interested in it? the design is very nice.. and good view too.. but its in punggol!! so far away..

wah...3 girls?! hm....i'd also like to have 3...but i wan both boys n girls..=) but i think now too early to plan 4 me..haven't even passed my 24 year old bday yet..haha..so effectively only 23 still...but i plan to have 2 before i'm 30...so still got a couple of years to go..no hurry...

prinzess - i was told that for studio shots, take film better coz picture quality is better as compared to digital... but coz we aint expert, we prob cannot tell the difference... there was some discussion archived above.. you can check them out..

on the other hand, digital is more appropriate for AD where the photographers need to capture the moments at an instant....

but again, it depends on wat style you like... coz i think utophia and montage style is diff and finally, who you can click with better...

janf - no problem lah... i guess i am too harsh also...apologies if i hurt you unwittingly.. you are welcome here to share with us your wedding preparations...

Hahaha all of you gals so funny. Diana's joke on the yue lao got me laughing out loud!

Haha Bear, we can high 5, I also lazy heehee.. but need to start exercising soon. Must look good for my gown fitting!! Jia lat!

Snowangel and Pearly,
Yup most of the package settled already so now I can concentrate on my flat hunting and probably after that is sourcing for reliable ID.

Pearly, thanks alot for helping, will turn to you for more advice soon!!

Actually I also dun want to have big headaches thinking and deciding on too many things so i didnt source alot for all the video and AD photography etc. The Motion Image one is coz PP had some perks that time when we signed up with them and one of it was a free photo montage done by Motion image (coz they tie up with PP) And coincidentally, our friend who got married last year took a package with them and my FH was the brother of the groom,he said the Motion image guys were very friendly and can click so we tot why not?
Opps, I forgot the exact details in the package I took. They have a few and we paid up deposit first, they told us that when our date is nearing, we can upgrade or something like tat. But I'll find out and post here again hee..

Bear, the package I took cost 3188..is MTM package.Got 28 pics,2 table top pics,2 big frames,2 mini albums..and the usual car etc.Actually they throw in a ROM package also,I dun need since I doing solemnization but I tot just take,since they give hahaha..then maybe I can just use the extra gown.

prinzess,
Utopia & Montage was my 2 choices too.. in the end, i took Montage cause hubby cannot click with Travis..if both are similar to you, better you go for the one u can click with

janf, it's okie
guess you've found urself a good PG tat's y

Hello gals, hows ur day so far? I just came back from lunch.

aloha llina..welcome!!
Wow..u r marrying off to sydney. Me havent been there leh. must b a very nice place.

ldyll..haha!! dun mind dun mind. Work so stress liao...then must cum in awhile to release mah.

hi prinzess,

bbq chix wings.. onz..

dear all.. eh.. still on hotel.. i know i veri slow.. but once i am done with it.. will announce lah..

Sel,Yah..man..Diana has great imagination..kek kek kek...

I headache...how come all video photography so expensive one? The one iceglacier send me on [email protected] jaw neary drop!!! So expensive one huh? How much is your huh?

Hello m&m!
296208.gif

I think the rest of the gang is probably also very busy. Seldom see them skive anymore.

EDIT: Anyway, a fortnight ago, I bought 2 pairs of shoes from VNC, 1 pair open-toe, 1 pair covered-toe. I've worn both pairs. The open-toe one doesn't give me any pain. But, today, after mustering the courage to wear the covered-toe one, alamak, gave me blisters.

Hey Sel,

Ur package is rather gd. U can MTM both EG and WG? ya u can use ur extra gown for another change of EG lor...

Why dun u wear their gowns for solemnization?

Hi Girls!

Yeah lor. Lipstar guessed correctly - I've been way too busy clearing my files off the table, floor and cupboard in prep for the move at the end of September. Too many files already. Making me sneeze....

Ehh...yeah......I just realise with help from M&M that indeed another 29th April bride..

Lipstar : You awake yet?? (I'm craving for choc today....*sigh*) Still contemplating whether I should have any....

Girls : I'm going to my BS tonight - going to take measurements and talk about my wedding dress. Oh..and try to negotiate about the package more. Then off to Ikea - hope it will not be too late...Sooo exciting!

Wah! Idyll, your office is moving ah? Aiyoh, so many things to do! I know it all too well. My office also relocated from somewhere in town area to the West in May. The last few days before the move, everyone packed like xiao! Then on Saturday, we had to come down to unpack. Then start work on Monday. In fact, many old things are still unpacked. Couldn't find some files.

Wow, must be so exciting to talk about your wedding dress!
296220.gif

Last Thursday, HB and I went down to IKEA. That was my first time eating the famous Swedish meatballs.
296221.gif
We were looking at this cabinet cum mirror for the master bedroom toilet $98,
296222.jpg

cheaper than a similar one quoted by a shop in Balestier selling bathroom accessories $170.
But alamak, the plastic tiers look very flimsy, so we didn't buy anything either.

Hi Cat, what's the package at Beetles@work like? My one together with AD photography is $1200, think videography is $800+ if i rem correctly. Then I top up to do the video highlights..
Have to dig my receipt..

Hi Bear, Ya can MTM both gowns. Yours also can?
Oh I plan to use the ROM gown that they throw in for solemnization. Then probably exchange the EG for more pics coz I may MTM a kebaya elsewhere. They also say I can rent a teadress for the tea ceremony. Anyone of you gals plan to wear Kua? Very hot hor..

Hi beachygal,usually hotels have promos twice a year. Think in Sept will have another, do look out for bridal magazines like Style weddings,Female brides. They will inform the public abt wedding shows

Sel, my package is the same as urs.. also MTM both. I also have made my kerbaya. Why dun u wear ur kerbaya for ur tea ceremony? or else there is no point of making it right? when did u wanna wear ur kerbaya? For evening? i m wearing my kerbaya for PS, tea ceremony and as my last change for the evening.

No not going to wear kua... not me.. sorry.. me not chinese enuff.. :P

Bear, wow so fast you have made your kerbaya..where did you MTM? I tot of wearing for EG lor.... coz in the morning we supposed to wear WG right, then go hubby house change to kerbaya?? then go my parents place, change again??? I am still thinking of how and when, for change of clothes..coz my mom mentioned that have to wear Kua..so I tot just use Kerbaya for EG.

Bear and Iceglacier, both you gals are peranankan?

Hey bear, update me and iceglacier..I too getting a kebaya instead of kua...my family side are peranakans..so I tot it would be nice to wear one...kek kek kek

Hi Sel,as I am really poor with no savings...and in order to cut cost for my FH who is paying for the major things, I decided to get a quote from FH friend who has his own videography company, this chap used to work for mediacorp..so should be quite safe...

For photography in church, I got a girlfriend who is quite good to take pictures after the church service.

AD photogrpahy,hopefully can find another friend who specialised in photography for my AD..during wedding dinner COS can't possibility stress the same one for the evening..

Looks like only me the kiam one here...haaaaa.....

Hey gals... wah such a flurry of posts.

Okok i made my kerbaya from Amor Meus. there is a thread in this forum. The owner is called Francis. very very gd with customers and his materials and embroidery is top notch. Even my granny thinks so (she wears kerbaya). Francis is currently making kerbayas for Ho Ching, SM Goh's wife and MM Lee's wife. My kerbaya top is already $800. Have yet to add the sarong in. My 2nd fitting is end of the mth.

If u guys dun want the expensive ones, u can get the cloth already cut out for u. Mine is I specially chose the fabric and the flower patterns. With those ready made (ie embroidery done only, haven't sew into a blouse), the whole set is abt $700 only (inclds sarong).

Sel ah, u change only once at ur inlaw's place. come back dun need to change liao.. straightaway go to hotel liao. So the events are: WG to ur hubby's place, tea ceremony, then change out of WG into Kua or kerbaya and then go back to ur mum's place for tea ceremony. then go hotel.. change once only... if u want to wear kerbaya as ur EG then u need to do a bit of beading or gold thread to make it more eye catching... this means a bit more ex liao...

Hee.. you guessed right Sel.. My mum's side is peranankans.. And when my parents for married they wore the traditional costumes (their pics are even kept by the museum!) I tot of wearing the traditional ones for PS, but think its a hassle cos of the headdress and etc, dunno if the make up artist will charge more for changing hairstyles so many times. So decided that wearing Kebaya better option and easier to get. I am thinking of wearing the Kebaya when going back to parents place in place of the Kwa.

Cat, I also want to be kiam, but I dun have any friends who can take pics/video except my bro who can do those MTV things. So no choice have to Pay and Pay. That's why we not having videographer, but got a good photographer instead.

OK...BEAR...!!!! thanks for info...I shall check with my aunt for her kebaya details..kek kek kek...a kua is a no no for me..so I will check out and let you gers know of any updates.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ I dun have... SGD 800 beyond my budget...;p

But I still feel majority of you gers like got machine at home to print $ leh..kek kek kek..it's either your hotel expensive..or photography expensive if not your BS is expensive!!! Wah piang eh...

Hrmmm Cat, u might wanna borrow a suit from ur mum or aunties. In Katong there are a few shops that can do it, but embroidery not as fine as Amor Meus. u can go and check it out. For me i rather pay a bit more then to worry lor. $700 for the whole thing is rather reasonable to me lah.. I also no $$$$ one.. haven't even got my flat yet. haizz dun even talk abt reno man.

Anyway u guys can just walk in and look at the kerbaya.. Mine was a pink colour top, something that i tot i won't wear but Francis told me to try and to my surprise it looked gd on me... best of all my Granny approves!

orh....correct lah..but I believe I only using that for my tea dress..so not gonna spend so much loh.. I also got no house wat..staying with in law first..but to spend 800bucks on kebaya...nah.....I dun wan..I believe it would look very good on you! So much money ok..must be good ok! ;p

Eh..I dun think I can fit into mama kebaya..um..but on the other hand thanks for reminding me..I can borrow from aunt for teas dress!!! haaaaaa.....

Well me will check it out the cost anyway it's a long way to next year...so must consider carfully..

BTW, gers..do I wear the WG on the day he come fetch me change to kebaya, proceed to in law place..come back home change again...and than proceed to church? Or what is the best way?

If I keep wearing the WG...think pple will get bored anot..cos dinner time my entry is WG again leh?? Kind of really confuse leh!!!

I am new to this thread. Planning to have my AD in Nov'06. Have not started anything on the prep. Am I abit too late ? :S Beginning to feel panick now

Hi Zen, U are not the oldest lah. Me same year as you. Next year is dog. Dog and horse very good one.... Hee Hee

Wow now come into the topic of baby..... Me want 4. 2 boys and 2 girls. 2 "hao zi". At least they not so lonely lor. Just thinking only lah.... Ha Ha Ha.......

serene....dog n rooster good anot? got alot of rooster babies getting married next year ley... ;-D

btw, sorry to sidetrack abit...
how many jie meis n xiong dis will we need? n what exactly are their duties?
i'm planning to have 5+5...total 10...but some ppl say odd numbers no good...dunno should believe anot...

hi ladies...
I m home today....
got food poison..so MC for 2 days..yesterday & today...
tried to go online in the morning..but always got the page can be displayed when I post my message...after taht all the pages cannot be displayed...
I callled Singtel and he asked me to go download antispyware fr microsoft & the prob can be solved.
*faint...if I can go to any of the site, I wouldnt bother to call Singnet helpdesk, rt?

Hi Angel!!

Yupz.. no need to panic at all.. we're the kiasu ones here.. haha!!

u have any questions or doubts that u need help with? u can post it here and we gals will help u out..

do you have your date set already? then i can post it in the table..

Have not set my AD date yet.. waiting for parents to confirm. Will keep u gals posted. Now must start looking out for hotel/BS/PG package liao . Any good recommendation ?

You are most welcome, cacphin. Hope the quotation helps.
So did you go to the exhibition?

Hi Cindee,
Yes we have to pay the 20% all at one go. Also if you are taking up the housing loan from HDB, they would deduct all that you have in your cpf account.

what's your budget like angel?

then maybe from there can recommend u a few places or BS.. or another way is to go to the threads to take a look and read their comments from the other brides..

Sayang sayang Hazel, i hope you are feeling better. The fact that you managed to get your message up, does that mean everything is well now?

Lipstar: i was eager to know about ade's occupation so i back tracked hahahaha...see the power of kay-pohness. SO, i know i know!!! Its engineering!!! clever or not?

And yes, i read about your wet panties....hmmm...very hmmm...ermm...educational??? hehehheeh

My bangkok shopping made me realised one thing...i can't shop for long! After about 2hrs of shopping, i get backaches and can't go on for long. And i got bored with the shops cause they all sell the same stuff; so if u seen one, u have seen them all. But ya with some patience u'll be able to find some unqiue stuff. plus, there are loads to imitation stuff there, which i am not a fan of. Despite that, i spent quite an amt there :P. I bought 3 belts, 1 sunglass, 2 skirts, 1 pair of teva slippers, 5 pendants, a bag, tailored a suit, 1 t-shirt, 6 bras and countless panties. hmmm, i could've bought more. All in all- I JUST LURVE THE PARIS HILTON LIFESTYLE. I miss that.......hmmmm...trip was too short, i will be planning for a longer one. But my next trip will likely be my honeymooon...chey so long...