(2006) Brides of year 2006

Yay Jean! I am happy for you and your granny. Glad she is up and running.

Marnie- got your email!
And ya lor, i am racing with Jean, trying to catch up with her hehhee. NO lah, i had nothing better to do and had naively thought that doing the seating arrangments would be fun. But i am glad i did it early, at least i won't feel so stress nearer to date.

Hey peps! I can now join you all for reno discussion!! I have found my love nest
...FINALLY. Its at bukit batok ave 3. Jean you can update that...

Lipstar: my vote: a lighter color table top. Think if u choose another dark color, kitchen will look very gothic like wat marnie said unless u play it up using some colorful decoratives? How abt taking some pics and showing us?

Awww...thanks Lipstar & M&M. You've been great help in minimising my stress as I have been mulling over the Good Friday weekend for months! *phew*

EL: You mean you got that dream flat with the condo layout?!! SUPER DUPER! Congrats girl! Now can go park yourself at Borders and lounge there going through and taking notes down for reno.. So exciting. Another one out of the cuckoo's nest.

Er....left me only haven't buy my parents' flat.....Looks like I have to up my race!

Lipstar: Yah yeah..I kaypo want to see your kitchen!!! Meraj and I always prentend that we're Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson so want to have a cook's kitchen...
Also my intention for stainless steel kitchen is to cool my chocolates faster!

Oooh. ohhh...I'm meeting Ngiap Heng from the Pond tomorrow! Soooo exciting!!! I'll let you girls all know about it tomorrow......

Jean: Pan Pac is VERY good...Work with you closely for your wedding. You must be rather pleased with the coordinator, eh?

*trying to recall what designs Pan Pac offers for cards*

Hi Angeldust,

Have you gotten actual day photograher?.
I am letting go of my CL package due to certain reason.
If u are, can you leave me your email? I was thinking if i can tranfer the pack to you.

Gd morning gals.

Hello Wanda, welcome. I dunno why Traders like not very interested for business like that.. I called them personally and have yet to receive their package. But as Diana said, it seems a bit on the high end. they no longer sit 12 ppl per table liao..

Hey Diana, how many ppl are u looking at? will u be going to the GPPR's wedding show? me thinking of doing so and signing up with them to get more perks.

magical

jacky's price is for 380 fotos, comparatively more than the usual 300 fotos offered by many other fotographers. and hes negotiable so u cld juz give him a buzz after chking out wif ur BS ya.

btw, whens ur AD? =)

hi charsiew

u can chk out www.injackstudio.com

jacky's AD fotos & video are quite good. he's negotiable in price. am using his AD fotography svc. other BTBs oso engaging his svcs. do give him a buzz if u are interested. hes a funny man.

Hi Sel, izit..I checked also their rates high also leh like marina mandarin...marriot and Hilton all the price's gone up.. I have only about 20 tables so definetely ganna the function rooms.man..haa..

I had confirmed with Hilton Singapore which the rate is slightly (I asked them to honour the old price, cos I made the enquiry beginning this yr!)below PP as I have budget le..got to settle church wedding logistics side somemore...realy broke soon.

Hi Yvonne, still need your bridal inclusions for Focus Bridal.I have channel down to michellehumin, x-zen, z-wedding, TY or mr & mrs wedding mainly becos of the gown and photography.

Hi Diana, comparing amara and grand plaza, I think for at least a break even choose amara instead of GPPR cos they were renovated and claimed to be 4 star. (suite room not too bad) ballroom abit of squeeze..tables too near to each other) As each of us have very different taste, it would be better that u go down see the ballroom or function room set up depending on the no. of tables..

whooo hoo, so exciting Marnie! Yah, let us know abt ur meeting with Ngiap Heng.

Nope i didn't buy the unit i was eyeing on. I got a house from the same blk, but its much bigger and cheaper. Got it at a very good rate...and plus it also has got the condo layout which i like!
Yup, and now i can move on to my next step...furniture shooooping!

Lipstar, yah lei- show us lei...hehehee :P

Hi charsiew,

Wow u oso 18th mar...super hot date in this thread.

I can recommand u victor @ 97600288 cos i am using him for my rom...and my actual wedding is sam wong.

Victor works is very creative in his colours contrast...and he does photo collages too ...
He a full time photographer / videograhper too.

I guess u cant use sam wong on 18th cos another bride shelyn will/might be using him too ....

Morning ladies!

Hi Asura,
Wow .. Congrats! Soon to be certified accountant. I got tot of studying ACCA before (still thinking abt it though) but it would be a switch from what I am doing now. Big decision.
So good. Ald got urself a lovenest. Me still looking ... hunting ... anticipating ...
Me looking out for WIS now .. Ultra stress ah. If u gals heard any news of coming up WIS must first thing inform me leh ... Wanna make sure I get good queue no tis time.

Hi Asura,
I am also having headache with my renovation. Just met up with my id yesteday and I am not too impressed by his design...Will be meeting up with him again on Saturday for more discussion.
Who are your shortlisted contractors?

Hi charsiew and Summer,

Yup... i'm using sam for 18th mar.... =)
i think 18th march is really a hot date hor... now tongshu not out yet already so many.. wait til it's out then i'm sure will have even more.

Hi summer ask u huh..
did Sam charge u his new rate or old one?? Cos I think now he's one of the partners for emotipix.. and they charging higher rate leh and i also read from other forum that Sam's rate is raised....

hi YY,

you can try Kenji from Natural Shots...his rates quite reasonable...think they having promotion now too...

i will be using him for my ROM as well as my AD on 110306...

My hubby realise his classmates is with Image Garden, thats why we want to get Image garden now...so any takers for my CL package?
Details:
$2888
AD Photography
AD Videography
but my VG only include the first half day and express highlight. if u want the whole day + express highlight, have to top up i think....

EL: YEAY!!!! Cheaper and better layout is ALWAYS a great deal....Furniture shopping is sooo exciting I bet....*can't wait for mine*

Me leaving work at 4.00pm. Busy now..(Psstt...or trying to be *whispers)....then later I skive.

Me excited! Still haven't come up with concept though about the PS. Meraj and I are going to be in trouble with Ngiap Heng and Christine.

Welcome cacphin. Perhaps you wanna let us know more about you?

Chaiyo,
You may wish to subscribe to HDB's eAlert service (via the website) whereby you'll get the first hand news about HDB's Sale launches.

Hey cacphin ...
Welcome welcome ... When's ur AD? Found banquet venue ald? Can refer to the above table for booked hotels.

Hi Jes,
I got subscribe. But my news still somewhat slower than others leh ... Haiz ...

Ladies: Thanks for your inputs!
The kitchen is now bare except for the tiles. The carpentry work hasn't started. Once the kitchen is done, probably in a few more weeks' time, I will definitely put up my picture, I mean the pictures of my kitchen. Hee hee. Maybe I will pose with some cooking utensils lah! Dunno how to cook, but act act first.

Question: How many of you <u>cannot</u> cook? Will you be learning to cook before AD?

El:
291937.gif
on getting a cheaper and idea layout home!
Is it walking distance to MRT station?

Hazel: Is your flat the 90 sq m 4-room flat up for balloting the other time? Or resale?

I just discovered this thread! So happy to find that there are already a number of Mar brides like me!

Just to share some details so you can know me better..

My dinner will be held at Hyatt Hybiscis ballroom, was seriously considering Meritus too but was swayed as the Hyatt co-ordinator is really accommodating.

I've jus confirmed my BS with Emmanuel B. Saw a gown on display &amp; my FH was in love, he even bought it for keeps. Kinda wasteful but really sweet.

Have not confirm PS &amp; AD photograher. Was considering Chris Ling but still thinking.

Intend to have my ROM &amp; dinner on the same day too.

YY
The Sam that you're discussing, does he have to website to see his work. Which studio is he from?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>AD Photographer</TD><TD> AD Videographer</TD><TD>Email</TD><TD>Love Nest</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yan06</TD><TD> 11 Nov</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD> Pan Pac</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> [email protected]</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>my_gal</TD><TD>11 Nov</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>Holiday Inn</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Rivervale Cresent</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cp</TD><TD>11 Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheers</TD><TD> 19 Nov</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>Sheraton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Aspella</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>petrina</TD><TD>25 Nov</TD><TD>Silver Cloak Couture</TD><TD>Bliss Garden Rest</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD> Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>charlene</TD><TD>26 Nov</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>denise</TD><TD>26 Nov</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Pan Pac</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD><TD>[email protected]</TD><TD>Aspella</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacqueline</TD><TD>26 Nov</TD><TD>White Wedding</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> [email protected] </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorami</TD><TD>28 Nov</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Water Front</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> [email protected] </TD><TD>-</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Last Update on dorami

Hi Gals!

welcome to lipstar &amp; cacphin! &amp; congrats to Asura!

Wah! Thanks so much for your inputs! At least now I know I'm not the only one who shares the cost! (hehe when i first told my FH i heard the guys side pays for all, he almost fainted! ;p)

like u gals say, if we share the cost i wun feel so bad mah, then we can choose the Best that we Both can afford together, n i personally tot it made us more bonded and made the preps more enjoyable, it's like those outward bound sch where they train teamwork, we feel so "together" (hehe, sorry if i sound mushy ;p) but it feels gd to make "life decisions" together...then we can both enjoy the process, instd of i enjoy he sweat... hehe..

but chaiyo, careful he come n tell u he need new shoes, new silk shirts, he oso needs facial n solitaire ring etc *hehe*.. guys things cost a bomb ok!

gini> we r oso gg to start a joint acct, now citibank n hsbc got promo rate, higher interst! we might open there...

as for the gowns, i think i will go ard different BS to try out the gowns first so i know wat i look good in, then go to my BS to try out the OTR, if i can find 1 nice one, i will change it to make the design look a bit different ;p), if cannot then MTM lor, saves time n the "suspense" (dun wan heart attack near AD!)

cindee> go for the long train!! if u like it n everyone likes it, take it!
its ur only chance to b a bride n hv a "legitimate" reason to hv a long train! u r the star of the day, so make full use of the chance! if no one rembrs the food or the vows etc, at lesat they still rembr "oh ya, the bride wif the long train..." i think since u hv long train u shld flaunt it, only hold it if u r walking steps or need to rush to change etc... dun wori abt ppl step lah, after a while they will get used to giving way one... hehe... ya, n i only look at 8 june not 3 june, we will be siging the contract soon, once we can agree on a free time..;p

ooshie> i m taking the pacific, in cse the parents last min add tables ;p it has lots of breathing space not so cramp, i love the room! i think our perks wld be very different, actually i need it more to see the other terms, like transferring, deposit, etc some cos things like march in etc she never put in leh...

below is updated info!

291951.jpg

My flat only ready in 2009. So dun have the exact reno idea yet but I want my kitchen to be in red and black...The walls between the cabinet and stove to be in greyish mosiac tiles...There was this IKEA mock up which I copied the idea from but the last time I went it was no longer there...

El, luckily U r not in a rush to buy the hse that time...else U wont be able to get such a gd deal!
Patience pays off!

Lipstar,
yup, mine is the balloting flat

Tin Tin, are u around?

Need to ask u regarding church issues.. i've been hearing the 9 Dec 06 falls on period of advent and that many churches and priests wouldn't want to conduct the wedding mass that day.

Just want to know how you went about it?

seems like a lot of couples are getting married during this period! for my side, 1 colleague getting married this sep, another ex-colleague this oct. my own sis is tying the knot this dec, another of my friend also the same mth! aiyoh, preparing to get broke! hahaha...

my own wedding will be in feb, and another friend will be nx june...think this is a period of our lives we all have to go thru yar! =) but it's a happy period! (not for our pockets tho...heehee)

Hi Bing Bing

yeah!!! then we will be able to help each other with the deco and coordination etc hehe coz i also taking pacific.the only diff is yours on weekend mine weekday so maybe you can ask for more perks also
will send you the contract once i get back home.

Hazel, my agent also said the same. It was a good thing we gave the good units, or so we thought at that time, a miss. We got a much better deal!
Thank you Lord!

Jean, great idea hor! Go Ikea and copy their designs. I also go and check check.
You try to collect their past catalouges, maybe they would've featured your dream design in it?

Lipstar- actually its not very near the central..abt 3-4 bus stops away and less than 10mins drive there. BUt my fh not keen to stay too near central cause it would be quite noisy; we prefer the private areas.

Aiyah i am so deliriously happy that i couldn't sleep last night...hahahaa

Hi Ooshie> no no, mine is a thurs, yours thu too rite?? hehe... gd ah? can cham siong...
the perks more or less finalised liao, now going thru the contract to make sure she rembr to write down... ok will wait for your mail, thanks!!

Hazel: The other time hb and I also very keen to ballot for the Bedok flat. Prime location, and in the East (hb has a fetish with the East. heehee...) but
1) 4-room quite small.
2) Too expensive for our budget.
3) If we were to apply for this ballot, we have to GIVE UP our Buangkok flat. Which means if we didn't get the Bedok flat, we would end up with no flat!
291976.gif
291977.gif

Jean: Thanks for the update! We know we can always count on your efficiency!

El: Hee! Then this morning got dark eye circles or not? :p
Just kidding. You know we are all very happy for you too, minus the "lose sleep" part.

WOW! tks alot, all.. haha... seems like 18Mar is a super hot &amp; popular date hor? then mus really research &amp; book asap liao.. hehee, tks leh!
&amp; im so excited!! heeheehee

hi shelyn...

Oh he din tel me abt his price increase leh?
U manage to meet him up?
Me now gg to send sms to him to ask him.
Any idea how much he gg to increase to?
Yah i know he is tied up with emotionp...

Hi shelyn &amp; all,

I hv check with sam, he not gg to increase his price for me..cos in fact i hv tried to book him since last yr.

In fact,he is gg to increase bet $50-$150 for next yr...but if anyone of u wan get him, can quote my name (pls give me a Personal Msg)and he will give u the same rate as he give me.

Seem his march schedule for sat almost fully occupied

He got 2 rates: $580 / $680 net

Hi tissuebox

Thanks for yr advice. Realised a lot of you are getting married on the 7 may and it seems like most of them later than us already got their BS! i feel a bit 'gan chiong' liao...
kao_scared.gif

Hi bing bing,

I think in the past, a wedding dont cost as much so it is alright for the guy to pay. But look at how much everything is costing now. If we wait for the guy to pay everything. We wouldnt be able to get married after 10 years!